About massage and massage chairs sold in Malaysia, Need general information

TSmystvearn
post Jul 13 2019, 06:43 PM, updated 7y ago

6,639 posts

Need some information about massage, massage chairs and the brands. Sorry if the questions seem dumb.

1. brands. Osim, ogawa, gintell l. Have I missed any sold in Malaysia?
2. In terms of rank, which is best followed by and.....? Any good online brands? Lots selling in lazada.
3. How long does a massage chair lasts? Longevity? If spoilt then you have a 5000+ chair. Can it be fixed? Any insurance sold with the chairs?
4. I've read online that some massage chairs are not suitable for some people. Especially the kind that massage too hard like crushing your bones. True?
5. The feeling of stress relief is due to the rupture of small blood vessels at the ends of the limbs. Also it is why your limbs are reddish in colour. True? I've had my feet massage at KL once, near bukit bintang or so, after massage, when I walk, felt like barefoot. Can feel the tarmac, felt the cement. Quite painful. Never felt like that in my entire life. Also, last time getting massage. Went with a friend who really into massages.
6. If 4 & 5 are true, just get something that rubs gently behind your back? I assume that chairs have lots of massage setting function so that you can choose something not brutal.

This post has been edited by mystvearn: Jul 13 2019, 06:43 PM
kkkw80
post Jul 14 2019, 01:04 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Using Ogawa chair for around 9 years now, still works fine
TSmystvearn
post Jul 14 2019, 03:11 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Jul 14 2019, 01:04 AM)
How long is the warranty and any ideas what happens if it dies?
kkkw80
post Jul 14 2019, 07:35 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

I think it was for 3 or 5 years warranty. Don’t know what happen if it’s spoilt as touch wood, it’s still working fine.
capsulr
post Jul 14 2019, 08:21 PM

472 posts

Also want to tumpang question, how is the power consumption? Wonder hoe much increase in electric bill if use often, scared it become like aircon
TSmystvearn
post Jul 14 2019, 10:10 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Jul 14 2019, 08:21 PM)
Also want to tumpang question, how is the power consumption? Wonder hoe much increase in electric bill if use often, scared it become like aircon
Good question
Sedih
post Jul 14 2019, 11:34 PM

99 posts

Massage chair is not for everyone. I feel it's not enough to make u feel 'syiok' or 'lega'. But my father in law likes it so we bought him a gintel despace.

But i bought the beetle foot massage damn good. Better than the 10k massage chair foot part and it's after effect is impressive.
Mel2
post Jul 15 2019, 08:05 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 13 2019, 06:43 PM)

Need some information about massage, massage chairs and the brands. Sorry if the questions seem dumb.

1. brands. Osim, ogawa, gintell l. Have I missed any sold in Malaysia?
2. In terms of rank, which is best followed by and.....? Any good online brands? Lots selling in lazada.
3. How long does a massage chair lasts? Longevity? If spoilt then you have a 5000+ chair. Can it be fixed? Any insurance sold with the chairs?
4. I've read online that some massage chairs are not suitable for some people. Especially the kind that massage too hard like crushing your bones. True?
5. The feeling of stress relief is due to the rupture of small blood vessels at the ends of the limbs. Also it is why your limbs are reddish in colour. True? I've had my feet massage at KL once, near bukit bintang or so, after massage, when I walk,  felt like barefoot. Can feel the tarmac, felt the cement. Quite painful. Never felt like that in my entire life. Also, last time getting massage. Went with a friend who really into massages.
6. If 4 & 5 are true, just get something that rubs gently behind your back? I assume that chairs have lots of massage setting function so that you can choose something not brutal.
1. Those are the more popular brands in the market.

2. I'm not sure which is the best brand. I only bought from Osim. I think it's better to invest in a reliable one than to buy a cheap but not lasting one. Can pay by instalments, with no interest.

3. How lasting? My first unit, I bought 10 years ago. Still using it today. The 2nd unit, more functions, can massage harder, been using for more than 1 year only. Asked once to come service it at my house then they reminded me to ask them to service again before warranty expires in 2 years time.

4. Not sure it can crush bones lol. Just to be safe, if have health problem or recovering from operation, I think better don't use it.

5. Not sure about blood vessel rupture, but after massage, body will feel hot a bit because of blood circulating our body, also certain part of the chair produces heat during massage. A bit warm only, not hot. A good foot massage, is important for our body. Just as a set of good tyres working for our cars.

6. I won't say it's brutal. You can choose what type of massage chairs that you are looking for. Best if you go around and try them before buying.
TSmystvearn
post Jul 15 2019, 10:29 PM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Jul 15 2019, 08:05 PM)

2.  I'm not sure which is the best brand. I only bought from Osim. I think it's better to invest in a reliable one than to buy a cheap but not lasting one. Can pay by instalments, with no interest.

3.  How lasting? My first unit, I bought 10 years ago. Still using it today. The 2nd unit, more functions, can massage harder, been using for more than 1 year only. Asked once to come service it at my house then they reminded me to ask them to service again before warranty expires in 2 years time.

4.  Not sure it can crush bones lol. Just to be safe, if have health problem or recovering from operation, I think better don't use it.

5.  Not sure about blood vessel rupture, but after massage, body will feel hot a bit because of blood circulating our body, also certain part of the chair produces heat during massage. A bit warm only, not hot. A good foot massage, is important for our body. Just as a set of good tyres working for our cars.

6.  I won't say it's brutal. You can choose what type of massage chairs that you are looking for. Best if you go around and try them before buying.
Thank a for the reply. I did try the foot massager, forgot which brand where you put your foot. The machine is almost as high as your knees. Not nice at all. Crushing feet like the one I went to m, but even worse
Sean77
post Jul 16 2019, 05:15 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Jul 15 2019, 08:05 PM)

2.  I'm not sure which is the best brand. I only bought from Osim. I think it's better to invest in a reliable one than to buy a cheap but not lasting one. Can pay by instalments, with no interest.

3.  How lasting? My first unit, I bought 10 years ago. Still using it today. The 2nd unit, more functions, can massage harder, been using for more than 1 year only. Asked once to come service it at my house then they reminded me to ask them to service again before warranty expires in 2 years time.

4.  Not sure it can crush bones lol. Just to be safe, if have health problem or recovering from operation, I think better don't use it.

5.  Not sure about blood vessel rupture, but after massage, body will feel hot a bit because of blood circulating our body, also certain part of the chair produces heat during massage. A bit warm only, not hot. A good foot massage, is important for our body. Just as a set of good tyres working for our cars.

6.  I won't say it's brutal. You can choose what type of massage chairs that you are looking for. Best if you go around and try them before buying.
Wow! Can last so long?
I always thought that 2-3 years, the motor sure rosak
Garysydney
post Jul 16 2019, 05:33 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Jul 16 2019, 05:15 AM)
Wow!  Can last so long?
I always thought that 2-3 years,  the motor sure rosak
It probably also boils down to how often it is used (and how long) - pretty much like tv nowadays. The motor probably has a lifespan of a few thousand hours so the more often it is used, the shorter the lifespan of the motor.
Mel2
post Jul 16 2019, 07:10 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 15 2019, 10:29 PM)
Thank a for the reply. I did try the foot massager, forgot which brand where you put your foot. The machine is almost as high as your knees. Not nice at all. Crushing feet like the one I went to m, but even worse
If you don't feel comfortable using it, stop using it then.

I think a good foot massage machine is not the chair type. It should be those that you place both your feet on it, then it uses acupuncture points to massage the bottom of your feet only. I only trust such machines made in Japan or Taiwan. I don't see any commercial brands offering such machines in the market.
Mel2
post Jul 16 2019, 07:16 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Jul 16 2019, 05:15 AM)
Wow!  Can last so long?
I always thought that 2-3 years,  the motor sure rosak
I use it almost daily, as a chair for me to take my afternoon nap. 😄

The most I use just 1 or 2 sessions a day..

Any motor can rosak easily if you abuse it. Don't keep repeating to use it for long hours.
hksgmy
post Jul 17 2020, 07:46 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(AuntieReviews @ Jul 16 2020, 03:55 PM)
It seem like you have facing some good information about what kind of best massage chair in Malaysia that fit your requirement. I think this article Best Massage Chair in Malaysia good for you.
So many pesky spambots
hc7840
post Jul 17 2020, 08:51 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Jul 14 2019, 01:04 AM)
The leather never spoiled meh? Usually after few years starting to crack. My house got one still working but the leather cannot liao. Just collecting dust there
hc7840
post Jul 17 2020, 08:54 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 17 2020, 07:46 AM)
So many pesky spambots
Loctor you also kuat spam serious k to collect star. How is your post helping Ts? Same as this post of mine. Collecting star
hksgmy
post Jul 17 2020, 09:01 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Jul 17 2020, 08:54 AM)
Loctor you also kuat spam serious k to collect star. How is your post helping Ts? Same as this post of mine. Collecting star
No, I've been posting at Education/FBI/Jobs & Career section and helping them clean up the spam (I'm a little OCD when it comes to that) - but those sections remove spam posts far faster than here...
hksgmy
post Jul 17 2020, 09:03 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

On an unrelated note, I go with OSIM. Have been a faithful OSIM user since their Millennium or Symphony chair series back in the late 1990s. Now we've got a small little sofa massage chair, as it goes pretty well with the house decor, as opposed to the last one we got prior to trading it in (the uLove or uDivine, one of them). The motors run forever, and I'll use it at least once every 3 or so days, especially after a theatre day. The leather is PU (not real leather) but with the occasional cleaning and PU care products, I've never had any issues with cracking.
kkkw80
post Jul 17 2020, 11:53 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Jul 17 2020, 08:51 AM)
The leather never spoiled meh? Usually after few years starting to crack. My house got one still working but the leather cannot liao. Just collecting dust there
Yeah a bit crack on the headrest piece and don’t think it’s real leather

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Jul 17 2020, 11:54 AM
boo82
post Dec 4 2021, 09:22 AM

232 posts

anyone tried getha massage chair? Is it good?
there is fair where buying mattress get free getha massage chair. wondering is it worth getting it?

0.0199sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:22 PM