Military Thread V27

zacky chan
post Dec 3 2019, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Dec 3 2019, 04:34 PM)
2 soldiers injured in blast at National Monument park in central Jakarta

JAKARTA - Two Indonesian soldiers were injured after a blast occurred at the National Monument park, near the presidential palace in central Jakarta, police said on Tuesday (Dec 3).

A presidential spokesman said that President Joko Widodo was not in the palace at the time.

"Initial findings from our investigation... found that the explosion was caused by a smoke grenade," Jakarta police chief Gatot Eddy Pramono told a news conference, which was televised live.

"We are investigating why there was a grenade there. We did not find anything else after combing the area," he added.

Inspector-General Gatot said that the two soldiers are now being treated at an army hospital in Jakarta. One was injured on both hands, while the other was injured in his leg.

Explaining the chronology of events, Jakarta military chief Eko Margiyono said the two soldiers were going through their morning exercise routine when they spotted a suspicious-looking object.

"One of the soldiers held the grenade with his left hand, injuring the left hand quite badly. They are conscious and being treated in hospital," he added.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/b...l-jakarta-media

wah...really brave

got the uncensored video???want to see the extend of injury....
zacky chan
post Dec 3 2019, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(LTZ @ Dec 3 2019, 04:58 PM)
1% pun nk kena consider....waduh2.
hutang wanendibi,najib songlap,korupsi...bla bla bla....cannot give more for defense...

but minister, MP and adun salary and benefit still gooding...dont want to cut whistling.gif

zacky chan
post Dec 3 2019, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ Dec 3 2019, 10:53 PM)
According to Prabowo, the budget for the national armament was at around 0.8 percent of GDP, while other countries set it at 2 to 3 percent of their GDP. He also asserted that a hike in the budget is necessary.

indonesia will reach 1 trillion GDP in next decade right...so 2-3% of 1 trillion huh...fuh.... sweat.gif
zacky chan
post Dec 6 2019, 02:27 AM

QUOTE(DDG_Ross @ Dec 5 2019, 10:06 PM)
lahad datu f-18 lgb strike video from what looks like camcopter S-100?

still remember when i talk to some people about how some of our asset there doing good job such as UAV and UAS,most dont believe since they all believe source who said "kapal selam tak boleh menyelam" politician...even when got reporter doing scoop there and got pic of some UAS nyamuk among other been used as ISR also they still dont believe...haih....

hope more footage can be shown to public just not to justify the next defense spending but also to show public our army done good job with what they have but still need more to give the best of the best...
zacky chan
post Dec 7 2019, 04:07 AM

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Dec 7 2019, 03:14 AM)
actually, you cannot totally blame people also.

ATM presentation very poor. For example, in Lahad Datu pinoy invasion, army chief or something talking also tergagap-gagap in Malay. This I remembered very clear. The press briefing content was about using F18 to neutralize them.

It's perception.
how does that officer tergagap equal to the operation result sweat.gif

zacky chan
post Dec 10 2019, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Dec 10 2019, 08:58 AM)
Graduan Diploma Kejuruteraan digesa sertai tentera untuk gaji lebih tinggi

Graduan Diploma Kejuruteraan terutama yang pernah menyertai pasukan Askar Wataniah, digesa mempertimbang kerjaya dalam bidang ketenteraan secara sepenuh masa untuk memperoleh gaji yang baik.

Ketua Pengarah Jabatan Pendidikan Politeknik dan Kolej Komuniti (JPPKK) Dr Mohammad Naim Yaakub berkata mereka juga digalakkan untuk menyertai tentera kerana telah dilatih menerusi kokurikulum pasukan sukarelawan berkenaan.

“Tawaran gaji pokok yang diberikan ialah RM2,060 iaitu satu tangga gaji yang cukup tinggi berbanding rata-rata lulusan diploma yang memperoleh RM1,500 hingga RM1,700 sebulan bagi semua sektor yang diceburi.

“Malah, saya juga maklum anggota yang memiliki diploma kejuruteraan yang bertugas dalam bidang kritikal dalam Tentera Laut Diraja Malaysia (TLDM) dan Tentera Udara Diraja Malaysia (TUDM) dibayar lebih tinggi iaitu RM2,340 sebulan,” katanya dalam ucapan perasmian Malaysia Polytechnic Territorial Army Annual Camp (MALPTAAC) ke-14, di Politeknik Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah (POLISAS), di sini, hari ini.

Teks ucapan beliau dibacakan oleh Pengarah Politeknik Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah, Mohamad Noor Shahudin.

Yang turut hadir dalam majlis itu ialah Pegawai Memerintah Rejimen ke-12 Askar Melayu Diraja Leftenan Kolonel Mohamad Rizal Saad dan Pengarah POLISAS Dr Abd Latif Ahmad.

Perkhemahan tahunan pasukan Askar Wataniah politeknik seluruh Malaysia itu berlangsung mulai hari ini sehingga 24 Nov dengan disertai seramai 857 peserta dan membabitkan latihan pelbagai kemahiran termasuk menembak, kawad, jalan laju dan pentadbiran.

Beliau berkata tangga gaji yang ditawarkan bagi graduan bidang kejuruteraan itu mampu meningkatkan motivasi mereka sekali gus membuktikan kerjaya dalam Angkatan Tentera Malaysia (ATM) memberi jaminan masa depan.

Mohammad Naim turut berkata secara keseluruhannya, pembabitan pelajar politeknik dalam pasukan Askar Wataniah telah berjaya membentuk jati diri, disiplin dan keterampilan mereka yang mana ramai antara mereka telah memasuki perkhidmatan unit beruniform seperti ATM, Polis Diraja Malaysia (PDRM) dan Jabatan Kastam Diraja Malaysia (JKDM).

sos

whistling.gif
ok la...effort is there just not much to offer really...

imo the army salary was normal and just enough to get through life...they should foucs to advertise the army benefit for example the koperasi tentera. to me that is one of the really good thing for financial things in army career. some of the people i know use the koperasi help to set up business so they gain extra money...
zacky chan
post Dec 13 2019, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Dec 13 2019, 04:31 PM)
kek the reason why china took their sweet time to rebuild liaoning

Also, afaik china oso replace steam turbine engine with commercial gas powered ones. Much more reliable but not as powerful so the speed is around 20knot only
Its future has been repeatedly questioned considering the country no longer has a dry dock large enough to service the ship, but work has supposedly continued on the three-decade-old vessel regardless.
https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/31451...rier-is-on-fire

kasi chan la macha...they doing the best they can with what they have.... cant upgrade or do complete maintenance sweat.gif
zacky chan
post Dec 14 2019, 06:13 AM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 14 2019, 04:50 AM)
Btw guys I just finished watching Black Hawk down, and was wondering why the "elite" Delta was riding on the smaller choppers (Little Birds?), while the the "normal/primary force (lol)" Rangers were riding on the more heavily armed/armoured (?) Black Hawks?

Ironically though, none of the Little Birds crashed while 2 BH got downed.
Presentation is everything. A lot of US governmental agencies have PR people to ensure their ability to positively present their case to the public. When public support is high, politicians would be willing to increase the national budget for these agencies - this is the realities of running a country, there are no ways around it.

NASA for example, are very careful about their discoveries and press conferences. They are a public domain organization, which means legally they have 24-hours to release their discoveries to the public. They even have a director of media relations that are on point about everything related to their USD20Billion annual-budget organization

Malaysian ATM needs to get rid of generals who have problems facing the public. Don't let them anywhere near the microphone. Guns? Yes, microphone? Don't think about it.

ON TOP OF THAT

You guys think the US military release videos about their soldiers' valor and what not saja2 ke? It is all about marketing, to keep military spending high, and continuous recruitment of soldiers 

PR is everything, it is about time our military learn about it
dude...what you said about PR and all for military have been said many many many time before....we could not even get a decent enough amount of money to buy weapon or maintain training let alone having good PR team with good presentation and media. we lack everything to do with most thing. guess la how many year it take for army photographer to get good camera for their work and if what i read from FB before is right,they used own money to buy lens also laugh.gif

good enough we have Berita Tentera Darat Malaysia and airtime news but we lack the coverage there...

another thing to remember or even to ponder about, US general and its kind also affiliated with defense company to sell and push office for desirable outcome for certain things so their PR was handle with good money there....

opinion wise, i dont want to touch that especially involve public. its the work for our politician for that. they cant even differentiate medium range SAM and shoulder launch missile or even worse expecting shoulder launch platform to be effective against all threat...remember how the politician at putrajaya now bash about why we need submarine for defense and debate submarine vs surface vessel with little knowledge at hand and just talk cock...even the long awaited defense white paper just recycle from old dasar by old govt due to saving measure by some politician to cover own ass .until we have good politician better we dont talk much...or you will be like some defense enthusiast, migraine each time thinking about it laugh.gif

zacky chan
post Dec 14 2019, 06:43 AM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 14 2019, 06:26 AM)
1. ATM seems to refused to think out of the box then. Can you imagine what all the hobbyists would do to get (Controlled) access to the military hardware? You do not even need to take these pictures yourself, just work with validated video/photographers. Buying their own money to buy lenses are some of the stupidest things ever.

2. Press conference classes can had for the top and middle brass. Not everyone needs them, the soldiers don't need to be press aware but the executives need to, you do not want rempit-style language being used in the press do you? You want to display an air of professionalism

3. People in the armies go for trainings all the time, they can slot in PR training if they want to, but they don't. They don't think it is a problem. People who graduate look at the army with great disdain, even their university wouldn't help  - not to mention the scandals that beget from that military college (death by torture)

You know what I gather from all these? That the Malaysian military is unable to solve problems creatively. They also seem to have an archaic management model with old men who doesn't know anything beyond their immediate circle of influences and refuses to give any of that up. A modern military should be better than this, and clearly ours is antique - in both hardware as well as software.
just please dont..our defense contractor and company just not up to task...MRO only they can do..other not so much...

for our military, i would say money and will is the problem. even if they have will,still got no money. and money come from politician who think better used the money for healthcare and education which being highlight each time in election.

scandal on military college or uni, when you put all testosterone kid on one spot its just expected bro...even our neighbor with supposedly high IQ also cant run from it.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/cour...ation-pump-well
zacky chan
post Dec 14 2019, 07:57 AM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 14 2019, 07:02 AM)
OK lah, just sweep it under the carpet and blame testosterone. Testestorones shouldn't let you torture someone to death, there are some mental and logical deficiencies there - and these are supposed to be the soldiers that will protect the country in the event of warfare? You know of the major atrocities that take place during warfare right? Would you just "blame the testosterone" when some of the citizens are abused by them? I also find it amusing that you would use Singapore case as an excuse for our "murderous pelapis". Two wrongs don't make a right, just because they have issues with their, do not mean that we should too. 

The problem with the military is that people in general look down on military career - you need to pay top dollar to secure the talents, the career paths are not clear. Why would a top fresh-graduate that is being offered RM5,000 a month even consider working for the military? As it is, the military would end up with the bottom-barrel graduates, and these bottom-barrel will further exacerbate the problem where they are not able to think out of the box to reverse the situation

Look at how the Mexican Navy market themselves to attract the best graduates. They pay comparable pay, have a decent work culture, has a clear career and exit paths, etc. They know the importance of securing the best minds, this is why they one of the few Mexican military arms that are able to fight against the cartels - because they as an organization is able to think out of the box. The other arms are corrupted to the core including the police and army

I know some people will be pissed at me for calling them bottom-barrel, but I haven't met anyone working in the military that with a decent education background/records. The best graduates tend to shun away from careers in the military - sure there would be some anecdotal exceptions
never saying you should sweep under rug

just saying even with all the precaution and experience some of country have in handling training, things happen. we are dealing with human whom hard to control. even in country where hazing is prohibited in any ways let alone other but things happen. until the statistic or other prove shown up or investigate shown its rising up,then immediate action need to be made.

cream over the top from our millitary come from maktab tentera and UPNM. they got elaun and good career path ahead compare to people who come from SPM and diploma. best example our sub commander here...i think he from there and got experience to tell you.

money a good motivation in any career, but salary and benefit all up not on mindef but MOF and SPA. until MOF give extra money and SPA stop being hard ass,we cant expect any significant raise.

said what you want or type how long you can, all those being said same since more than a decade ago be it from some politician or even public guest. problem is even with all those our money and will is really low compare to threat we face on. cant do much
zacky chan
post Dec 14 2019, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 14 2019, 08:16 AM)
The problem is that not only are the army being bogged down by the politics as well as government interference, it is also being bogged down by itself.

a. It is hard enough to fire or relocate someone working in private industries (you need to find just cause)

b. It is even more difficult to do the same thing in the government

c. It is doubler harder to do so in the military

My point is that just a few graduates from UPNM (where the torture to death took place) is not going to change how the military thinks of itself. As it is, it is an old-block, with no will by the top brass to change its direction. It can't even effectively present itself to the public nor the politicians. I am just a civilian, sorry if I am mistaking one for another - but kejap cakap pasal MRCA, now cakap pasal LCA.

And here you keep on talking about "dah tahu, dah bincang"

Irolas: "It is as Lord Denethor predicted! Long has he foreseen this doom!"
Gandalf: "Foreseen and done nothing!"

That's the state of our military now. You all know there is a problem, but when it is too late, all you can say is you "knew" about it.

In addition, don't most of the the UPNM students/graduates have personal connections with the military, that is how they got in right? it makes the whole military recruitment and management an elite club, thus further exacerbating the situation where the military keeps reinforcing its old ways: "You jangan banyak cakap, this is how we've always done it"

Any management consultant will tell you that the military needs some input from those with civilian background. But you will have none of it, as you have shown in your replies here. It is an elite club, an old-boys club for you and your family members, save for a few exception laugh.gif
too much confusion up there and i dont even know where to start.

you in finance segment right???despite all things been easy enough in presentation and communication i'm sure there still problem in some people to understand or even comprehend. its the same in military segment. its already been easy enough for now. everything can be search and read on good site such as malaysiandefence and MMP FB. just need to read and ask to the right person.

connection on UPNM???afaik some of cadet do come from military family so they just follow family tradition. they do have civilian student and cadet student there. Syed Saddiq also from maktab tentera. can be done, but just want or not. living a military life is not for everyone

and i'm a civilian who wash plate and dishes for living somewhere in malaysia....not from elite club or whatever you think...the only reason i can said what i said up there due to the people i interact on FB or blog on that matter. some are reporter,politician,ex army and even defense contractor. just need to ask the right question to the right person.
zacky chan
post Dec 31 2019, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ Dec 31 2019, 09:02 AM)
PUNA MALE??? PUNA stand for what?
zacky chan
post Dec 31 2019, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(azriel @ Dec 31 2019, 01:43 PM)
Its an acronym PUNA = Pesawat Udara Nir Awak (Unmanned Aircraft).
oh...ok...was expecting it to be called PT MALE
zacky chan
post Jan 28 2020, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(azriel @ Jan 28 2020, 08:54 AM)
Indonesian President Jokowi inspected Indonesian Navy newest locally assembled and 3rd DSME Type 209 Submarine KRI Alugoro-405 while trying out it's Sero 400 ADV Periscope at PT PAL Shipyard.

http://www.nttonlinenow.com/new-2016/2020/...sista-nasional/
got new story why TNI not happy with this sub???until need to get other sub?
zacky chan
post Jan 30 2020, 12:21 AM

QUOTE(azriel @ Jan 29 2020, 08:26 PM)
Afaik it was more towards the ToT. Regarding the news it was from the French media. So far the Indonesian Defense Minister neither confirm or deny it.

Anyway Jokowi also inspected KRI Cakra-401 Type 209 Submarine currently being overhauled by PT PAL.

https://lancerdefense.com/2020/01/29/presid...m-pt-pal-photo/
asking cause saw some indonesian said on FB about the submarine given to TNI was not as expected. the user said the sub CMS was not good and the underwater ops even with AIP was shorter than they imagine....not sure how reliable the info is since its a comment on FB but i was curious about it.worse is while searching the news on web, the FB page got refresh and i too lazy to skim through FB comment again so cant ask that person on that sweat.gif
zacky chan
post Jan 30 2020, 11:20 AM

QUOTE(azriel @ Jan 30 2020, 05:25 AM)

FB comments is not a reliable source. There was an issue with the battery but it was already solved.

yes i know its not reliable...that is why i search on web and ask you here
zacky chan
post Jan 30 2020, 07:53 PM

zacky chan
post Feb 8 2020, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 8 2020, 08:40 PM)
Sorry if this is old, but I really enjoyed watching this. I could never be part of the military

edit: Read some of the comments there. Seems like sembang kencang. Are our soldiers that strong? Or puji diri sendiri only? Their soldiers have seen multiple wars, in fact they are at wars right this very moment in the middle east. Malaysian soldiers have seen limited number of wars, perhaps some in Mogadishu... Malaysian commenters championing our soldiers seem to use the word "keberanian" and "semangat" alot. As if other soldiers are inferior on those fronts. Pardon my ignorance 

you can find some video taken by US soldier on net...many of them shown interesting footage with our soldier during exercise...find some before but forget it address ..some include exercise with our MMEA for border and surveillance ops...

btw if we really want MRSS to work, they need the ability like shown in this vid with use of armor vehicle from the ship onto shore and inland toward...no need big ship like US there but enough to carried troops and supply to specific place.

comment wise, take it with a bit of salt...some comment can be bit exaggerating really...same with many people in our neighbor...
zacky chan
post Feb 8 2020, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 8 2020, 10:03 PM)
Fair enough. I guess everyone needs to thump their own chests. No harm letting them be, at least only the armchairs are doing it, not the soldiers themselves
well, our just ok...if have time find indonesian blog and hang out on comment section regarding our military.... take a lot of chill pill when you do it ok....i used to lepak there before sign in here, let just said /k butthurt is less annoying...each nation doing it including SG..its just internet laugh.gif
zacky chan
post Feb 8 2020, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Feb 8 2020, 10:11 PM)
Wow... er I guess I wont bother then. QUick one, which german manufacturer made cars for the Nazis, was it Merc or Bimmer? or both?
its some kind of psy ops made by many country...by using own citizen making the claim on the internet...we despite what you see is kinda low on this..for example our kedah class spend many time shadowing PRC made ship in laut cina selatan but many was not made known due to many reason...meanwhile indonesia make many news about how they chase PRC made ship...

many involve in supplying nazi...from Porsche,merc,BMW,VW and other...but german made, i think both got...

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.1062sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:53 PM