Hardware 1 Malaysia NetBook IDOLA, repairing and upgrading 1M Netbook

TSXanelyne
post Jul 3 2019, 09:14 AM, updated 7y ago

51 posts

Its been 9 years and i still own this 1Malaysia Netbook and everything inside seem okay. No disk failure or whatsoever~
So i want to ask abang abang and kakak kakak sini. Should i upgrade this NetBook?
Im planning:
1. Upgrade from 1gb DDR3 Ram to a 4gb DDR3 Ram so that it can handle window 10 i currently installed.

2. If jadi will maybe go and change the Netbook Keyboard. My sis Dono how to use and now many keypad broken le mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif .

3. Maybe a battery? so i can yam cha outside with this pretty boy when i bored. cool2.gif cool2.gif devil.gif

cheers.gif to those kind abang abang and kakak kakak

shredder
post Jul 3 2019, 09:16 AM

251 posts

Its better to buy a new one. So much upgrade needed.
zidane28
post Jul 3 2019, 09:22 AM

295 posts

If your netbook CPU spec is ok-ish, then you can try ask around for the price of sparepart to decide.
wailam
post Jul 3 2019, 09:33 AM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

Sorry 1Malaysia netbook are basically crap. you can't install win 10 in it and your ram is limited to 2GB only. even linux doesn't support this thing. its muchhhhhhhhhhh better to get a new one than frustrated over for this thing.
oh yeah you can replace to ssd to speed thing up.
TSXanelyne
post Jul 3 2019, 09:45 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(wailam @ Jul 3 2019, 09:33 AM)
Sorry 1Malaysia netbook are basically crap. you can't install win 10 in it and your ram is limited to 2GB only. even linux doesn't support this thing. its muchhhhhhhhhhh better to get a new one than frustrated over for this thing.
Ohhh limited punya kahh.. then i guess imma give up on this pc already xD

Then what am i gonna do with this extra PC? Sell it? ohhh the harddisk still inside, maybe i can install it to my RIG to put stuff (Maybe have extra power for it)
TSXanelyne
post Jul 3 2019, 09:51 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(shredder @ Jul 3 2019, 09:16 AM)
Its better to buy a new one. So much upgrade needed.
No laa i already survey the price, just not sure about the compatible or not. should be lesser than RM100 if i upgrade all those mentioned stuff except battery.
wailam
post Jul 3 2019, 09:53 AM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 3 2019, 09:45 AM)
Ohhh limited punya kahh.. then i guess imma give up on this pc already xD

Then what am i gonna do with this extra PC? Sell it? ohhh the harddisk still inside, maybe i can install it to my RIG to put stuff (Maybe have extra power for it)
Just a backup. That's it and no more than that, maybe you can play couple of old skool emulator or those low square graphic games. but primarily yeah just a backup. I use mine like that, disable some crap, install some things word excel anything then put it in storage. only use it when got outstation to check some things out.
tomato people
post Jul 3 2019, 09:55 AM

Tomato fan
1,732 posts

Dangg
junclj
post Jul 3 2019, 02:12 PM

2,348 posts

dunno what is your spec? how many ram slots available? actually my recommendation is upgrade to ssd too in the same time but I not sure how is the content inside. How do you dissemble it? send to pc shop ask for the technician upgrade sure very expensive. That's why I recommend for check by yourself first with AIDA64. License key can be searched in google too.

keyboard replacement can be bought at here
https://www.lelong.com.my/idola1-1-malaysia...7-01-Sale-I.htm
TSXanelyne
post Jul 4 2019, 09:16 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jul 3 2019, 02:12 PM)
dunno what is your spec? how many ram slots available? actually my recommendation is upgrade to ssd too in the same time but I not sure how is the content inside. How do you dissemble it? send to pc shop ask for the technician upgrade sure very expensive. That's why I recommend for check by yourself first with AIDA64. License key can be searched in google too.

keyboard replacement can be bought at here
https://www.lelong.com.my/idola1-1-malaysia...7-01-Sale-I.htm
I don't know how to check from the outside, the bios and everything is kinda weird punya. that AIDA64 can check what ah?
and is it possible for the motherboard limit the ram to 2gb only? because i see alot of people said netbook cannot go beyond 2gb. and inside confirm have HDD plug only.. so im not sure if ssd is same plug?
junclj
post Jul 4 2019, 10:51 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 4 2019, 09:16 AM)
I don't know how to check from the outside, the bios and everything is kinda weird punya. that AIDA64 can check what ah?
and is it possible for the motherboard limit the ram to 2gb only? because i see alot of people said netbook cannot go beyond 2gb. and inside confirm have HDD plug only.. so im not sure if ssd is same plug?
Just replace your current harddisk to a SSD will improve your netbook performance. Believe to me, last time I got an Acer Aspire Revo mini PC running on Intel Atom. The performance is really sucks, when booting Windows tooks me around 5-10 minutes. After I replace to a 80GB Intel SSD, the PC just straight boot into Windows in 30~40secs. When I just switch on that Mini PC, then I follow by switch on the TV. Then the Windows already booted and ready to use.

Just replace to new SSD its definitely same plug with your current HDD. You just need to download Windows 10 ISO and prepare a pendrive to install new Windows on the new SSD.
TSXanelyne
post Jul 5 2019, 09:27 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jul 4 2019, 10:51 AM)
Just replace your current harddisk to a SSD will improve your netbook performance. Believe to me, last time I got an Acer Aspire Revo mini PC running on Intel Atom. The performance is really sucks, when booting Windows tooks me around 5-10 minutes. After I replace to a 80GB Intel SSD, the PC just straight boot into Windows in 30~40secs. When I just switch on that Mini PC, then I follow by switch on the TV. Then the Windows already booted and ready to use.

Just replace to new SSD its definitely same plug with your current HDD. You just need to download Windows 10 ISO and prepare a pendrive to install new Windows on the new SSD.
nope, it still the same i think what i really need is the ram, the window dont have enough space to store data, so the lag is still there. Im just want to know if the ram in this pc really cannot support 4gb or not because i see some said 1M netbook dont support 4gb ram. Or maybe ill be selling this thing la if not jadi upgrade it. xD dont know how much can sell since hdd and everything still fine.
chocobo7779
post Jul 5 2019, 11:19 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 3 2019, 09:14 AM)
Its been 9 years and i still own this 1Malaysia Netbook and everything inside seem okay. No disk failure or whatsoever~
So i want to ask abang abang and kakak kakak sini. Should i upgrade this NetBook?
Im planning:
1. Upgrade from 1gb DDR3 Ram to a 4gb DDR3 Ram so that it can handle window 10 i currently installed.

2. If jadi will maybe go and change the Netbook Keyboard. My sis Dono how to use and now many keypad broken le mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif .

3. Maybe a battery? so i can yam cha outside with this pretty boy when i bored. cool2.gif  cool2.gif  devil.gif 

cheers.gif to those kind abang abang and kakak kakak

I wouldn't use Windows on those machines - might as just well use a lightweight Linux distro such as AntiX Linux:
https://antixlinux.com/

Even the Atom chip inside will struggle on modern websites sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Jul 5 2019, 11:21 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

Linux does work - but you need to find a proper distro for it icon_idea.gif
junclj
post Jul 5 2019, 12:12 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(Xanelyne @ Jul 5 2019, 09:27 AM)
nope, it still the same i think what i really need is the ram, the window dont have enough space to store data, so the lag is still there. Im just want to know if the ram in this pc really cannot support 4gb or not because i see some said 1M netbook dont support 4gb ram.  Or maybe ill be selling this thing la if not jadi upgrade it. xD dont know how much can sell since hdd and everything still fine.
My best recommendation is replace to a new SSD first. Since using SSD to do virtual memory paging is better than using HDD. For RAM, you may need to check with AIDA64 or CPU-Z to see how many slots available. Then check for your motherboard model and chipset type by searching in Google. Also check your motherboard RAM slot maximum supported clock speed.

If you replaced to SSD, just manually increase the paging size to higher such as 16GB - 32GB. SSD can use memory caching at 500MB/s+, at least is better than harddisk 80/s~100MB/s So this can temporary reduce your netbook lagging issue.

For memory supporting issue, you need tools such as AIDA64 or CPU-z

TSXanelyne
post Jul 6 2019, 09:35 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 5 2019, 11:19 AM)
I wouldn't use Windows on those machines - might as just well use a lightweight Linux distro such as AntiX Linux:
https://antixlinux.com/

Even the Atom chip inside will struggle on modern websites sweat.gif
bwhahaaha if Linux i wont bother using it xD
i would rather just take out the harddisk and sell it or something.
Or use it on my current rig.

or sell the whole netbook. not pretty sure this can go anyway around from upgrade. since the cpu cant upgrade.
TSXanelyne
post Jul 6 2019, 09:38 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jul 5 2019, 12:12 PM)
My best recommendation is replace to a new SSD first. Since using SSD to do virtual memory paging is better than using HDD. For RAM, you may need to check with AIDA64 or CPU-Z to see how many slots available. Then check for your motherboard model and chipset type by searching in Google. Also check your motherboard RAM slot maximum supported clock speed.

If you replaced to SSD, just manually increase the paging size to higher such as 16GB - 32GB. SSD can use memory caching at 500MB/s+, at least is better than harddisk 80/s~100MB/s So this can temporary reduce your netbook lagging issue.

For memory supporting issue, you need tools such as AIDA64 or CPU-z

I searched the mother detail given by the cpu-z google dont have it. I think it is just some random motherboard they are using. sometesting board or something. no modal name or anything.
PJng
post Jul 6 2019, 04:04 PM

12,047 posts

I want find 1 malaysia notebook battery, rosak already, always show battery not detected

I just buy randomly 2GB RAM feel more smooth that 1GB,
I plan to upgrade to windows 10, it is support direct upgrade not clean install?

I install speccy it show slot RAM have 2, i open cover only have 1 slot,
Confuse me

It still in good condition, just monitor have 1 white line on taskbar always visible,
Not sure ribbon or monitor rosak

0.0175sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:49 AM