Personal Loan, which banks offer the best deal?

b00n
post Oct 21 2008, 10:38 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 21 2008, 08:06 AM)
so ccris able to show the payment pattern but how about how much we owe the bank? let say..

Credit card A, outstading 2k, minimum payment or more. would the bank able to see all this or just the pattern?

Yes. It would show the balance outstanding and line assigned too.
It would also show your last 12 months applications and also in the event you had been served a summons by the banks, it would appear too.

b00n
post Mar 19 2009, 09:30 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Show me the way you calculate the interest?
Credit card is on reducing balance whereas term loan or personal loan is on flat interest where the effective interest rate is higher than credit card when it comes to final few years.

By constantly paying your CC with your 1.5k like you mentioned for a balance of 15k; it takes you appropriately 10+ mths to clear it with the extra interest paid as RM720.64 (total interest is only 4.8%)

By taking a loan of 15K say for the same tenor - 12 months at the interest rate of say 9.99%. You'll be forking out RM1,498.5 as interest. Double what I've calculated for you.

So pls do not be misled by personal loan's interest rate as you have not done the full calculation yet. There's a big difference! Just pay monthly your RM1.5k like you mentioned you can afford instead of taking another debt to cover current debt.

Added on March 19, 2009, 9:38 am
CODE

15,000.00  18% (interest rate per annum)
13,702.50  1 1500 (payment)
12,385.54  2
11,048.82  3
9,692.05  4
8,314.93  5
6,917.16  6
5,498.42  7
4,058.39  8
2,596.77  9
1,113.22  10
(392.58) 11

Look at the above.
First column is your starting balance of say RM15k.
2nd row onwards would be your (balance - payment)*(1+{interest rate/12}).

p/s: If anyone thinks that my calculation is wrong; pls correct me.
Everyone is here to learn.

This post has been edited by b00n: Mar 19 2009, 09:38 AM
b00n
post Mar 26 2009, 11:23 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

I think in a way we proved that by paying up the credit card debt by using the amount of "installment amount to be paid to personal loan" is more worthwhile than securing a personal loan to pay down credit card.

Cheers.
b00n
post Apr 22 2009, 07:55 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(aroundyou @ Apr 22 2009, 04:58 PM)

I have came across the bank islam's new promotion advertisement for PL.
5.1% p.a

i have made the following calculations:

--------------------------------------------------------
loan amt - RM20K
repayment tenure - 3 years
int rate (flat) p.a. - 5.1%
mth repayment - RM640.56

simple rate p.a - 9.49%
EIR - 9.91%

--------------------------------------------------------

is it correct to use the EIR (9.49%) here to compare with the credit card rate (13.5%)?
if tat is correct, is it worth to take PL?

thanks.

Not really.
You have to bare in mind that Credit Card interest is on reducing balance.
You just need to compare it in excel and do a simple calculation side by side.
Couple of us did it before in the previous pages and seems that CC mostly won over UPL. That is if you have the discipline of not to spend further after you repay. wink.gif

b00n
post Nov 24 2009, 09:05 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Nov 24 2009, 10:23 AM)
ok, im in deep **** now, I have credit card debt of RM12,000.
Minimum payment is how much? 5% right ?
RM600 cc minimum payment is too much for me.

Should I apply loan?
RM200/month for personal would be comfortable amount. Please advise. (or offer)

Let me do a simple match for you.
You take loan 12,000 for 2 years with interest rate of 9% pa. So interest for 2 years is 1080x2 = 2160.
So total amount + interest is 14,160 where by 24 months monthly repayment is RM590.

So it doesn't differ much.

Remember once again, CC debt is reducing balance. i.e. you pay RM600, your next balance would be 11,400 where you add in 13.5% pa interest charge = RM11,528.25. 5% minimum charge than ia already at RM576.41. So why still pay RM590 for the next installment whereby if you're committed enough, you'll be paying less as the balance reduced.
b00n
post Nov 24 2009, 10:07 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Correct me if I'm wrong; but takaful charge is only meant for Islamic product right? So if it's not an Islamic loan, there shouldn't be any takaful charges.
b00n
post Jan 4 2010, 03:56 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(kokanchai @ Jan 4 2010, 11:10 AM)
I dunno wrethe a good place to put here.
i need a serious help and advise

i need to borrow PL Or do balance transfer to clear out my CC DEBT (i dunno wrethe is it a good option)
CC Debt around Rm8k ,and i wanted to borrow Rm10k
i dun have any car loans and commitment so far.
my gross salary are Rm2.2k + allowance about 2.6k

but the issue is i got my new job just less for 4 month working period (currently around 3 month)

but i do have a Credicard for limit :Rm3k since 2006

Any agent can helpme out?

thus are they hv any Personal Loan with Low Interest rate?
(I wish to repayment by 5 years time with flat or low interest)

bcos i seem many bank hv offer me for  repayment by 5 years  annual interest rate are 12%,it way too high for me.sad.gif

if you need further information
please call me up 0122877853
Nick Wong
i am from Puchong/Subang/Sunway

Thank you!

Pls spend time and go through the topic which we've previously discussed about CC pay down vs Personal loan pay down.
At least go through my post: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/479971?author=b00n

b00n
post Jan 5 2010, 12:01 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Don't think PL tenure is that long.
Usually max 5 years I think.
b00n
post Jan 5 2010, 09:29 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(accutane @ Jan 5 2010, 08:06 PM)
Hi, everyone,

Last year my bf borrowed a personal loan. he has to pay it back in 5 years and the interest is 11% from EON bank.

I wanna ask, If he has money right now, can he pay more than what he should every month? is there any penalty charge?

Thanks a lot!!

There should be early settlement charges as they have to recoup back some of their interest earning which is going to be forfeited if one settles early.

b00n
post Jan 15 2010, 11:32 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Delvin @ Jan 14 2010, 08:35 PM)
hi..need a loan of around 10k for d/p to buy a house.
any recommendations of bank here..and which one easier to approve as i got quite a number of commitments....

Average income around 6-7k per month..

With so many commitment (like you put it) and you do not even have 10k for house downpayment; are you really sure your can afford the house?! Done any personal financial planning at your own side?! rclxub.gif

b00n
post Jan 15 2010, 09:15 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(-Wu- @ Jan 15 2010, 08:40 PM)
Its pretty hard to get personal loan nowadays?

Just got rejected by UOB and still haven't received news from Hong Leong and Standard Chartered. I just need Rm5000 only with fulfilling minimum requirement of Rm24000p.a. salary.

Is there anything I can do to getting the loan, any advise from sifu outhere? icon_question.gif

Ever wondered why you are being rejected?
Could be because your current commitment already over geared?

b00n
post Jan 16 2010, 01:36 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Jan 16 2010, 03:56 AM)
Need the money for emergency use. Hope can get PL within this 3 days.

As far as I know, no bank can disburse the money in such a short time.

b00n
post Apr 6 2010, 05:47 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Koperasi loan usually only applicable for government servant.
b00n
post Apr 6 2010, 10:46 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(loanneeded @ Apr 6 2010, 10:43 PM)
they say only RM200 for early settlement!  shakehead.gif
I don't think that cheap. But if it's true; then it's better to cover with the lower interest for the same amount and tenor you're getting for the 11.88%.
But better make sure of the early settlement amount before committing.
b00n
post May 5 2011, 11:05 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(apache79 @ May 5 2011, 02:59 AM)
can we convert our credit card to personal loan? tired of paying high interest on cc.
And what makes you think that PL interest is lower? By just looking at the nominal interest value?!
Go do research on effective interest rate as well as know the difference of CC interest rate which is on reducing balance whereas PL is on fix interest rate. So understand the difference first before jumping the gun and thinking PL interest rate is lower.

0.0264sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:42 PM