TSazarimy
post Jun 26 2019, 09:45 PM, updated 4y ago

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

Hi guys!

I've been given the opportunity to give a talk on educational paths to become an architect in Archidex on 5th July 2019. I first started discussing this topic in 2005 here in Lowyat Forum called "So You're Interested in Architecture?" to assist school leavers in figuring out possible ways to become a full-fledged architect in Malaysia.

Then when social media become widespread, I started a page of the same title. This is when my interest in architecture education become known amongst peers, and later I was invited to contribute in MAPSM as an expert in education and co-authored the Manual of Accreditation for LAM.

In this talk, I do not represent UTM per se, but as a LAM Accreditation Reviewer. With me will be Dato' Dr. Ku Azhar from USM, and Ar. Zaini Mufti from ZSR.

If you are interested to study architecture in Malaysia (or in any LAM validated overseas school) and want a no-bullshit, honest and straightforward information sanctioned by LAM, come to this talk. I highly recommend school teachers in charge of career advice and motivation to attend this to get the most up to date information on architectural studies.

The talk is free, but you do need to register first. Please go to http://reg.archidex.com.my then goto Events & Highlights > Forum@PAM Tomorrowland Pavilion > RSVP
Click the image above for more info on the talk.

See you there!

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 27 2019, 12:52 PM
riezzien
post Jun 26 2019, 10:13 PM

107 posts

How bout org tua yg nak tukar profession nak jadi arkitek.
Is it too late for me??
SUS2feidei
post Jun 26 2019, 10:19 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

what is the criteria to be good architect? Creative? Can draw very well?
Zanei Gundan
post Jun 26 2019, 10:20 PM

143 posts

ala ingat represent UTM sad.gif
TSazarimy
post Jun 26 2019, 10:26 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Jun 26 2019, 10:13 PM)
Is it too late for me??
Can. As long as you willing to take the degree.

QUOTE(2feidei @ Jun 26 2019, 10:19 PM)
what is the criteria to be good architect? Creative? Can draw very well?
Creativity, above all. Mind you, there are many architects who can't draw for shits.

QUOTE(Zanei Gundan @ Jun 26 2019, 10:20 PM)
ala ingat represent UTM sad.gif
Can. But meet me afterwards.
mowlous
post Jun 26 2019, 10:27 PM

542 posts

My SPM result so teruk even art school also tak mau me ....... sad.gif

Can only dream. All I know is Architect need to be good in math cause designing for a structure the structural integrity depends on your design ...... one wrong move it might be disaster waiting to happen in the future.
hirano
post Jun 26 2019, 10:34 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

@azarimy. Go on play the sims and show ur architect skill on game. Lol
TSazarimy
post Jun 26 2019, 10:54 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 26 2019, 10:27 PM)
My SPM result so teruk even art school also tak mau me .......  sad.gif

Can only dream. All I know is Architect need to be good in math cause designing for a structure the structural integrity depends on your design ...... one wrong move it might be disaster waiting to happen in the future.
Well, that's a common misconception. Architects don't do calculations on structure. Structural engineers do.

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 26 2019, 10:34 PM)
@azarimy. Go on play the sims and show ur architect skill on game. Lol
I played to much Sims to the point all that all I did was to come up with various different ways to kill the Sims!
SUSb3ta
post Jun 26 2019, 10:55 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

no thanks
DarkAeon
post Jun 26 2019, 10:55 PM

774 posts

whoa, i wanna go get your autograph yo
mowlous
post Jun 26 2019, 11:43 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 26 2019, 10:54 PM)
Well, that's a common misconception. Architects don't do calculations on structure. Structural engineers do.
I played to much Sims to the point all that all I did was to come up with various different ways to kill the Sims!
So architects just draw whatever they could dream of? Then pass them to structural engineers to figure out how to solve the problem? I'm confused.
ericangtzeann
post Jun 26 2019, 11:48 PM

123 posts

A good architect is one who can handle local authorities without much hassle. Everything else is secondary.
everest
post Jun 26 2019, 11:53 PM

123 posts

I'm not good in drawing, but I like to play Simcity and The Sims
dares
post Jun 26 2019, 11:55 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 26 2019, 11:43 PM)
So architects just draw whatever they could dream of? Then pass them to structural engineers to figure out how to solve the problem? I'm confused.
usually it's a two way street.
ar188
post Jun 26 2019, 11:55 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 26 2019, 11:55 PM)
usually it's a two way street.
a few way street, include the money man and gov bodies too. biggrin.gif
blek
post Jun 26 2019, 11:56 PM

720 posts

i knew some architect this day lazy do drawing and sketches, always review and commend other drawing. you still do design and drawing?

i interior come kacau abit can?
blek
post Jun 26 2019, 11:58 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(ericangtzeann @ Jun 26 2019, 11:48 PM)
A good architect is one who can handle local authorities without much hassle. Everything else is secondary.
runner and draughtsman handle better than architect, trust me!
shirohamada
post Jun 26 2019, 11:58 PM

944 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Jun 26 2019, 10:13 PM)
Is it too late for me??
do a sketch of idea on paper.
then open up cad.
SUSSaltiez
post Jun 26 2019, 11:59 PM

can become architect without degree ah? just take pam exam can ah
TSazarimy
post Jun 27 2019, 06:25 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(mowlous @ Jun 26 2019, 11:43 PM)
No laa. There's still basic rule-of-thumb of dos and don'ts when it comes to design. It's not all "design whatever the architect like and let other consultants figure out the rest".

Remember, architects used to do everything from ideation to structure to costing to construction to interior design. But all these have branched out into specialized areas and eventually grew into an independent profession.

Although architects can still do calculations, its better to leave it to experts in structural engineering so architects can spend time elsewhere.

QUOTE(Saltiez @ Jun 26 2019, 11:59 PM)
can become architect without degree ah? just take pam exam can ah
Cannot. This profession is protected by Akta Arkitek. You can't even use the title architect outside of architectural context without approval. That's why in Malaysian there's no Computer Architecture or Systems Architecture programmes because Lembaga Arkitek already blocked that name.

Without an architectural degree, you can watch only laa.

BTW, Pam do not have exams. LAM do.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 27 2019, 06:25 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:33 AM