Malaysia fully electric car

TSnugget
post Jun 20 2019, 12:55 AM, updated 7y ago

1,001 posts

Had been travelling abit over to eu and us, people are going into fully electric cars.

Even china had some of their own brands doing so..

Where are we..

In the next five years... Can we aspect a huge drop in prices for petrol consuming cars locally?

Thinking of changing my current car but think twice when thought of the next two three years time?

Any one have any advice on this?

Cheers

Nug
kausar
post Jun 20 2019, 01:01 AM

608 posts

Here also have electric car already. I have driven already.
Jonsnow68
post Jun 20 2019, 01:03 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Jun 20 2019, 12:55 AM)
Had been travelling abit over to eu and us, people are going into fully electric cars.

Even china had some of their own brands doing so..

Where are we..

In the next five years... Can we aspect a huge drop in prices for petrol consuming cars locally?

Thinking of changing my current car but think twice when thought of the next two three years time?

Any one have any advice on this?
Cheers

Nug
Our local market is not ready for electric car. It'll probably take at least 5 years or more.

As for the gasoline cars, I don't think the prices will drop. The govt will probably introduce more incentives to get buyers to get electric cars. Personally I don't see the prices of gasoline cars going down.
hightechgadgets8
post Jun 20 2019, 01:13 AM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4786908&hl=

related
19 Degree South
post Jun 20 2019, 03:54 AM

1,681 posts

I have full electric car too! My RC gallado!
TSnugget
post Jun 20 2019, 11:09 AM

1,001 posts

The local fully electric option is limited.
And price is not affordable for most people interms of the size of the car vs price tag...

Hope the government do somthing bout it.

But as petronas is one of our major income.. I see we r not moving to that direction...
abubin
post Jun 20 2019, 11:47 AM

10,429 posts

waiting for the day too. Probably another 3 years if gov start to do something.
Lone Wolf X
post Jun 21 2019, 09:12 AM

728 posts

Waiting for Tesla GF3 to start produce right hand drive models then can start talking
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 21 2019, 11:03 AM

4,136 posts

In the meantime, Thailand wins again....Thanks to China SAIC's MG

https://www.bangkokpost.com/auto/1698648/20...icing-and-specs

MG Sales Thailand has introduced a battery-electric version of its core-selling ZS compact SUV.

Priced at 1.19 million baht, the ZS EV comes with a 150hp electric motor driving the front wheels, 44.5kWh lithium ion battery and can travel on one charge for 335km under the NEDC driving mode......
happyking4ever
post Jun 21 2019, 11:05 AM

354 posts

battery replacement expensive.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 21 2019, 11:32 AM

4,136 posts

https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/169866...sla-of-thailand

Electricity billionaire building Tesla of Thailand

It’s the epitome of a closed circuit: the utility helping power one of Southeast Asia’s biggest cities is building electric cars, batteries and charging stations for the nascent market, and then supplying the juice to keep them all running.

Billionaire Somphote Ahunai envisions his Energy Absolute Plc as a titan of EVs even though there are less than 1,500 battery-powered vehicles in the country. That’s about 0.004% of registered vehicles through December.

Southeast Asia has been slow to adopt passenger EVs because of high sticker prices and a predilection for two-wheelers, but the Thai government sees them as a way to ease Bangkok’s air pollution and fortify an automotive industry generating about 12% of gross domestic product.

Energy Absolute is using subsidies and tax breaks to put 5,000 EVs on the road by next year, backed by 700-plus charging stations. It’s also planning a $3 billion factory to make lithium-ion batteries.

The trend is clear: it’s time for Thailand to stop being complacent and pursue higher technology to drive economic growth, said Somphote, the utility’s founder and chief executive officer. EV technology opens up new opportunities for success by new players.

Energy Absolute, Thailand’s second-largest electricity generating company by market capitalisation, unveiled its Mine Mobility passenger EV at this year’s Bangkok Motor Show and immediately received more than 4,500 orders. The car is priced at about 1.2 million baht cheaper than a comparable Nissan Leaf or Kia Soul EV.

Yet the car will head out on the highway just as EV showrooms start getting crowded with foreign models.....

.....Even as those domestic plans take shape, Energy Absolute plots its expansion as nearby countries —including Indonesia, Vietnam, Malaysia and the Philippines — set targets for adopting passenger EVs. Laos and Myanmar also are of interest.

"Thailand will be the leader of EV technology in this region," Mr Somphote said. "We’re first, and that should give us a headstart to develop the technology."
abubin
post Jun 21 2019, 11:53 AM

10,429 posts

Darn it..Thailand leading again with something.

Tell PM, if he want to start another local car brand, make it an EV company. Start with EV car cause this will avoid direct competition with P1 and P2. Then gov will back P3 EV which will help push EV adoption rate faster here. LOL...dreaming.
Mattrock
post Jun 21 2019, 05:57 PM

395 posts

How will people living in condos charge their EV cars or even their PHEV cars? Are you aware of any condos planning for this? Afterall large percentage of KL population live in condos and apartments.
SleeplessEyes
post Jun 21 2019, 07:37 PM

2,429 posts

Just how many Nissan Leaf do you see on the road?
I haven't seen one since its launched years ago.

The common question a Malaysian will ask if they want to buy a electric car or a Hybrid even:

i) How much is the battery ah? Whats the maintenance cost?
ii) Whats the resale value?
iii) Can climb up genting ah?
iv) Got power ah? "I think it will be underpower leh. Myvi more powerful in that case"
v) Whats the fuel consumption (Yes,it is a dumb question because it is electrified, but lets take example a dumbass will ask one)

By the time they answer half of the questions above, its either it scares the shit or puts them off.
And thats why even hybrids are not picking up very well.

FYI previously Sunway pyramid has a charging station built by Merc in the parking lot basement, even now they either removed it or relocated to somewhere hidden.

They will be happily sticking back to their petrol powered Myvi and still whine about petrol prices not going down.

The only near electric car hybrid I can think off , in Malaysia, which can go at least 25Kms and above on a full charge, is the plug in hybrid 330e or C350E.
Forget about Toyota's non-plug in Hybrid..they can only last a few KM before the engine kicks right back in.
Bjorn1688
post Jun 22 2019, 12:32 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 21 2019, 11:53 AM)
Darn it..Thailand leading again with something.

Tell PM, if he want to start another local car brand, make it an EV company. Start with EV car cause this will avoid direct competition with P1 and P2. Then gov will back P3 EV which will help push EV adoption rate faster here. LOL...dreaming.
Well Thailand will always be ahead of the game for the simple reason that it has a sufficient a size of domestic consumers, similar to Indonesia.

As for P3 being EV, personally a PHEV would make a better start as the charging infrastructure is simply not here and most of the claimed range of pure EVs would never materialise here due to the heat.

In any case unlikely there would be a full scale encouragement of EVs, this is an oil producing nation.

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jun 21 2019, 05:57 PM)
How will people living in condos charge their EV cars or even their PHEV cars? Are you aware of any condos planning for this? Afterall large percentage of KL population live in condos and apartments.
Many higher end condos have EV chargers or are being wired up to have a power socket at your designated parking bay.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 27 2019, 09:22 AM

4,136 posts

legioss
post Jun 27 2019, 01:22 PM

466 posts

Petrol is not expensive enough to make people buy electric car. And the current oil price seems to suggest oil will not run out soon. Maybe we can try electric motorcycle first and see if it's well received or not.
acbc
post Jun 27 2019, 01:27 PM

9,048 posts

U can convert any petrol powered car with manual gearbox easily. Only need the controller and method to get both power steering and air-conditioning to work.
littlegamer
post Jun 27 2019, 01:33 PM

664 posts

We are definitely not ready for electric cars. Gasoline cars has been so long with us, it is a commodity that most people can own, despite that, it is tough enough for Malaysian to own even the most cheaply built cars with loans up to 9 years.

Even if a basic electric car reach 50k, a lot of Malaysian living in apartment and park outside. No where to charge and surely the infra to get to electric cars is far from reach.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 28 2019, 08:01 AM

4,136 posts

https://www.nst.com.my/world/2019/06/499726...icles-indonesia

JAKARTA: Toyota Motor Corp plans to invest $2 billion (RM8.3 billion) to develop electric vehicles (EV) in Indonesia over the next four years, starting with hybrid vehicles, Indonesia’s coordinating ministry for maritime affairs said.

“From 2019 to 2023, we will progressively increase our investment to 28.3 trillion rupiah ($2.00 billion),” Toyota president Akio Toyoda was quoted as saying in a statement released by the ministry on Thursday.

The Japanese carmaker said this month that it aimed for half its global sales to be from electric vehicles by 2025.

Indonesia, Southeast Asia’s largest economy, has plentiful reserves of nickel laterite ore, a vital ingredient in the lithium-ion batteries used to power EVs, and has been making a push to attract foreign carmakers.

“Because the Indonesian government already has an electric vehicle development map, Toyota considers Indonesia as a prime EV investment destination,” Toyoda said in the statement. -- Reuters

0.0172sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:51 PM