Malaysia fully electric car

EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 21 2019, 11:03 AM

4,138 posts

In the meantime, Thailand wins again....Thanks to China SAIC's MG

https://www.bangkokpost.com/auto/1698648/20...icing-and-specs

MG Sales Thailand has introduced a battery-electric version of its core-selling ZS compact SUV.

Priced at 1.19 million baht, the ZS EV comes with a 150hp electric motor driving the front wheels, 44.5kWh lithium ion battery and can travel on one charge for 335km under the NEDC driving mode......
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 21 2019, 11:32 AM

4,138 posts

https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/169866...sla-of-thailand

Electricity billionaire building Tesla of Thailand

It’s the epitome of a closed circuit: the utility helping power one of Southeast Asia’s biggest cities is building electric cars, batteries and charging stations for the nascent market, and then supplying the juice to keep them all running.

Billionaire Somphote Ahunai envisions his Energy Absolute Plc as a titan of EVs even though there are less than 1,500 battery-powered vehicles in the country. That’s about 0.004% of registered vehicles through December.

Southeast Asia has been slow to adopt passenger EVs because of high sticker prices and a predilection for two-wheelers, but the Thai government sees them as a way to ease Bangkok’s air pollution and fortify an automotive industry generating about 12% of gross domestic product.

Energy Absolute is using subsidies and tax breaks to put 5,000 EVs on the road by next year, backed by 700-plus charging stations. It’s also planning a $3 billion factory to make lithium-ion batteries.

The trend is clear: it’s time for Thailand to stop being complacent and pursue higher technology to drive economic growth, said Somphote, the utility’s founder and chief executive officer. EV technology opens up new opportunities for success by new players.

Energy Absolute, Thailand’s second-largest electricity generating company by market capitalisation, unveiled its Mine Mobility passenger EV at this year’s Bangkok Motor Show and immediately received more than 4,500 orders. The car is priced at about 1.2 million baht cheaper than a comparable Nissan Leaf or Kia Soul EV.

Yet the car will head out on the highway just as EV showrooms start getting crowded with foreign models.....

.....Even as those domestic plans take shape, Energy Absolute plots its expansion as nearby countries —including Indonesia, Vietnam, Malaysia and the Philippines — set targets for adopting passenger EVs. Laos and Myanmar also are of interest.

"Thailand will be the leader of EV technology in this region," Mr Somphote said. "We’re first, and that should give us a headstart to develop the technology."
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 27 2019, 09:22 AM

4,138 posts

EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 28 2019, 08:01 AM

4,138 posts

https://www.nst.com.my/world/2019/06/499726...icles-indonesia

JAKARTA: Toyota Motor Corp plans to invest $2 billion (RM8.3 billion) to develop electric vehicles (EV) in Indonesia over the next four years, starting with hybrid vehicles, Indonesia’s coordinating ministry for maritime affairs said.

“From 2019 to 2023, we will progressively increase our investment to 28.3 trillion rupiah ($2.00 billion),” Toyota president Akio Toyoda was quoted as saying in a statement released by the ministry on Thursday.

The Japanese carmaker said this month that it aimed for half its global sales to be from electric vehicles by 2025.

Indonesia, Southeast Asia’s largest economy, has plentiful reserves of nickel laterite ore, a vital ingredient in the lithium-ion batteries used to power EVs, and has been making a push to attract foreign carmakers.

“Because the Indonesian government already has an electric vehicle development map, Toyota considers Indonesia as a prime EV investment destination,” Toyoda said in the statement. -- Reuters

EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 8 2019, 10:41 AM

4,138 posts

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...irmed-for-2020/

Lotus EV dubbed EVIJA....hmmmmmm?...........

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jul 9 2019, 08:09 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 8 2019, 10:42 AM

4,138 posts

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2019/07/502...rs-inokom-plant

Sime Darby Bhd’s 51 per cent-owned Inokom Corporation Sdn Bhd is in talks with several global automotive players to be their regional car assembler and distribution partner.
By Ayisy Yusof - July 8, 2019 @ 10:24am
KULIM, Kedah: Sime Darby Bhd’s 51 per cent-owned Inokom Corporation Sdn Bhd is in talks with several global automotive players to be their regional car assembler and distribution partner.

Sime Darby Motor Sdn Bhd (SDM) managing director for Malaysia, Taiwan and Thailand Dennis Ho said Inokom was expected to finalise the prospect by the year-end.

“We have signed non-disclosures agreements with the players to become their assemblers. We are not limited to the electric vehicle (EV) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) as well as internal combustion engine (ICE) but rather all range of vehicle segments including for the original equipment manufacturers’ (OEMs) parts and components.”

Ho was speaking to reporters at a familiarisation tour of Inokom plant here last week.

He said SDM was competing with other rivals in the Asean region to convince the players to set up their assembly facilities at Inokom......
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 9 2019, 08:13 AM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jul 8 2019, 10:49 AM)
I think Malaysia will be stuck deciding between :

1) Build more infrastructure (charging stations etc) 1st, before electric car become major trend

or

2) Wait the sales number of electric car increase 1st, then only build charging station.

Chicken & egg.
We are not the only one ...Thailand has the same dilemma. So would Indonesia, and many other countries you can think off.

Despite this, EV sales would be on the rise, just look at what happened all over the world, or even just look.at Thailand.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 9 2019, 08:18 AM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 8 2019, 06:02 PM)
Petronas is Gs cash cow. I dont see it killing the goose that lays the golden egg! Enviromental issues has never bothered Malaysia!

As EVs will reduce fuel dependence,I don't see the light in this tunnel. Infact we may endup as Europes ICE dumping field!
Yes. We are no Norway but it is is encouraging nonetheless to see Personas built up charging stations at 55 of their petrol stations

https://www.mymesra.com.my/PETRONAS_Alterna...ng_Station.aspx

It is an effort in the right direction.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 9 2019, 08:20 AM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Jul 8 2019, 06:07 PM)
i wonder what wrong is Thailand leading again us?
their country is big, larger population and does not have OKU that keep asking gov money.
I am hoping some of these cheaper EV made in Thailand will come crashing through to Malaysia...Whether is MG or EA, just let them.come, right?
EnergyAnalyst
post Jul 9 2019, 04:25 PM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(Karvrenko @ Jul 8 2019, 06:14 PM)
We focus on "kereta terbang" not EV..  doh.gif
Terbang apa. Malaysia airline pun nak jual de

0.0173sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:32 PM