Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In
mukhzani
Nov 15 2019, 03:40 PM
hi, need help on choosing laptop
budget rm 5k max
- using it for words, powerpoint, excel etc. browisng and media player - weight less than 1.2kg - screen must be clear n bright nontouch. minimum bezel - screen size 12 inch to 14 inch - battery last all day work. (browsing, microsoft osffice etc) - nice travel distance for keyboard. - if possible, some securities like figerprint scanner or face recoginition etc - good build laptop, not the flimsy one. - mandatory port must have usb 3.0 (the normal usb port thing) - bonus, chargeable using type c. if available only. so i can just use my hp charger to charge it.
lightweight, long lasting battery and screen brightness/clarity are really important for me.
mukhzani
Nov 15 2019, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 15 2019, 03:53 PM) Below 1.3kg: Thinkpad T490s 400 nits / T495s 400 nits Thinkpad X390 / X395 Latitude 7300 Latitude 5300 thanks alot man. but the amd processor for lenovo, is it any good? i heard amd processor got some problem
mukhzani
Nov 15 2019, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 15 2019, 03:53 PM) Below 1.3kg: Thinkpad T490s 400 nits / T495s 400 nits Thinkpad X390 / X395 Latitude 7300 Latitude 5300 looking at the x395 and t495. lenovo is having huge discount on it. almost rm2000 discount at their website. just want to make sure nothing wrong with it.
mukhzani
Nov 16 2019, 01:08 AM
hi ZM fong, about to finalise my build. between x395 and t495s
is it worth it to upgrade to ryzen 7pro? ips display 300 nits vs 400 nits, does it have huge difference? worth it to upgrade warranty for 3 yr onsite plus accidental drop? plus both warranty is rm 300 is amd radeon vega 8 graphics any good?
thx alot again for your advice, u r saving me alot of money
mukhzani
Nov 18 2019, 05:59 AM
 hi, above is my choice, t495s because of longer battery compare to x395. but the graphic card, just no option for upgrade. just in case i want to play fortnite or something. im not a gamer, but just in case. can u recommend something similar spec to this but have mx150 or something similar?
mukhzani
Nov 18 2019, 01:02 PM
thx alot man. u r extremely helpful. i didnt even realise the integrated graphic is AMD radeon v8.
last one, since all of my spec almost max out. do you think its worth it if i bump to ryzen 7? i heard its not worth it because of throttling issue due to heat. but just want your opinion.
mukhzani
Mar 25 2020, 09:17 AM
hi sifu, need your advice. looking for ultrabook that is light, longgggggg battery life and premium built. my main use is for ; 95% - multiple words and powerpoint open in splitview + chrome browsing 5% - Ansys, light gaming eg overwatch, warcraft, fortnite
currently i have a thinkpad t495s, awesome notebook and very cheap. but just got bored of the design. im looking into ;
xps 13 9300 - 16:10 aspect ratio - awesome for office works - longggg battery life, very small form factor and light - premium built - but i dont know if its worth it when compare to other windows ultrabook price, resell value sure drop gila2, rm 7500 for i7, 16gb ram and 1 tb ssd fhd
macbook pro 14? rumored - 16:10 aspect ratio - mac os awesome interface ? - longgg battery life - premium built - decent resell value - but not sure if microsoft office experience is on par with windows ultrabook + bootcamp for Ansys and gaming, not sure if its stable or not
mukhzani
Apr 7 2020, 11:15 AM
hi sifu
looking to buy thin and light 15 inch laptop. budget flexible
must have - good battery life - premium quality and build - good warranty and service - 16gb ram + good cpu - good gpu but not the integrated one and does not have to be super duper high end.
usage 90% for work + 10% game.
currently looking at
asus g14 - overall good thin light, amd cpu, long battery life, but maybe want to try slightly larger screen msi gs 66 - large battery, might come out after mco i heard, but not sure about quality and after sale service macbook pro 16 - longgg battery life, premium build, easily link with my ipad pro but screen is 60hz
This post has been edited by mukhzani: Apr 7 2020, 11:17 AM
mukhzani
Apr 7 2020, 11:54 PM
if its worth it, sure can wait 1-2 months
mukhzani
Apr 8 2020, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 8 2020, 02:21 PM) The only 1 suitable for u is macbook, dell precision mobile, lenovo thinkpad p1 gen 2. Asus, msi all those will make u crazy when render the file sorry, dont quite understand. care to elaborate? thx for the reply btw
mukhzani
Apr 8 2020, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 8 2020, 04:15 PM) For user who use to quadro 1.. u ask them go rtx gaming.. it's like cutting off their hand n leg.. The content details level is totally different.. gamers cannot see the things tat designer does... My client who r content creator n designer always laugh at me... blind at details.. rtx gaming n gtx gaming card can create pic on the visual basis.. but when zoom in.. sure kapur My client r advertising firm, 3d studio, factory tat design hardware parts.. hi, thx for clarifying. really appreciate it