Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 26 2019, 08:15 PM

648 posts

Hi there everyone, I'm currently looking for a laptop for my sister. She's majoring in accounting at uni and casually using it for Photoshop and Lightroom

Budget: RM5000 (should be more than enough for what she's doing)

Usage: Accounting and casually using it for Photoshop and Lightroom

Requirements

a. display size: 13 inch
b. battery life: Should last her the whole day for classes and such
c. weight: Light is better

If the laptop comes with less RAM/Storage but as a cheaper option, I can upgrade it for her as I have a spare SSD and 16GB(8x2) DDR4 RAM with me
Hope sifu can help me out here smile.gif

Edit: Forgot to mention, does not need to max out budget at all. Can be well below budget (like 2-3k) and it should be good enough.

This post has been edited by HayateAyakasi8: Dec 26 2019, 08:21 PM
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 26 2019, 08:24 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 26 2019, 08:18 PM)
Preferred max weight and min battery life?

Can consider Thinkpad X395, with some decent GPU power too

Other options: Lenovo Thinkpad X390, Dell Latitude 7390 / 7390 2 in 1, Dell Latitude 5300, Lenovo Thinkpad L390 Yoga 20NTS0EG00

Note that some laptops have non-upgradeable RAM
Ah I see, they seem to be good prices for some of them too!

How would you rate Lenovo's aftersales service (if you know abt this)?
Me and a few friends have been through Dell's aftersales service and we had a pretty good experience with it!

HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 26 2019, 10:45 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 26 2019, 08:53 PM)
I would say decent (tried carry in and onsite before)
Ah alrighty!
Any other laptops which you would recommend around the rm3k range too?
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 26 2019, 11:03 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 26 2019, 11:00 PM)
Usage? Any preferences on weight and battery life? Mind low sRGB display and non-upgradeable RAM?
Oh, same as the above one for 5k range.
Weight light should be okay
Screen doesn't need to be 100% srgb, just look nice should be good for her
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 27 2019, 09:44 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 27 2019, 11:43 AM)
Can accept 14 inch?

I would still consider X395 below RM3.5k tbh
Yeap 14 inch is still good smile.gif
I'll also be checking out all the others you recommend and show her in the end for her to choose smile.gif

Edit: Seems she forgot one crucial detail, a number pad is also needed as well!
Sorry abt that sad.gif

This post has been edited by HayateAyakasi8: Dec 27 2019, 11:14 PM
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 28 2019, 11:53 AM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 27 2019, 11:30 PM)
Can accept external numpad? Or must use built in numpad?

No worries
This is what she sent to me yesterday when I asked her to list down what she needed

Numpad needed
Long battery life
Good touchpad
With everything else she asked earlier

This post has been edited by HayateAyakasi8: Dec 28 2019, 11:58 AM
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 28 2019, 06:42 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 28 2019, 03:20 PM)
If prefer built in numpad then need to go for 15 inch, is it fine?
Yeap, she said 15 is fine biggrin.gif
Thanks for all yr help!
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 31 2019, 12:19 AM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 28 2019, 06:44 PM)
So your budget is RM2.7k? Mind gaming laptops?

Lenovo Thinkpad L590 with code LENXCIMB
Lenovo Thinkpad E595

Can redeem Shopback
Well showed her those, but didn't like that middle mouse feature at the keyboard
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 31 2019, 12:14 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 31 2019, 11:25 AM)
Business laptops generally have better reliability+QC, can remove trackpoint if you don't like it

Or fine with consumer grade models?
Oh I see, well let's check out consumer grade too!
I'll show her in the end and let her decide anyways!

This post has been edited by HayateAyakasi8: Dec 31 2019, 12:15 PM
HayateAyakasi8
post Dec 31 2019, 08:03 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 31 2019, 01:12 PM)
Unfortunately there isn't a 15 inch decent consumer grade model with numpad and long battery life under RM3k (if you don't like Thinkpad E595)
Oh, then under Rm5k?
HayateAyakasi8
post Jan 1 2020, 06:16 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 1 2020, 12:43 AM)
Under RM4k (consumer grade):
Lenovo Yoga C740-15IML customize
Lenovo Ideapad S540-15IWL 81NE006AMJ: use code LENXCIMB

But honestly I would take business grade for this price
Ah I see, well I was checking out the Inspirion series from Dell too, what do you think abt that?
HayateAyakasi8
post Jan 1 2020, 09:53 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 1 2020, 08:57 PM)
Which model?
https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/laptops-and...-15-5593-laptop
https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/laptops-and...-14-5490-laptop

I can give her my 8GB 2666 ram to upgrader the laptop to 16gb too!
What do you think?
HayateAyakasi8
post Jan 2 2020, 04:01 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 1 2020, 11:46 PM)
5490 is decent but no numpad
I've talked to her abt the numpad thing, she said she doesnt mind an external one, if it allows here to get a better or cheaper laptop
Thanks in advance for all yr help!
HayateAyakasi8
post Jan 2 2020, 04:09 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(Noob Boy 1996 @ Jan 2 2020, 03:23 PM)
sorry wrong topic but which is the best site to get cheap and decent desktop? been looking around illegear and level 51 but both seems expensive and not worth the money
Do check out the Rig Recommendation thread on Lowyat
Also, it's cheaper and easier to build a desktop instead!
HayateAyakasi8
post Jan 2 2020, 10:08 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jan 2 2020, 04:19 PM)
refer back to regular laptop list if can accept external numpad, there are many decent options under RM3k
Alrighty thank you my man!
HayateAyakasi8
post Apr 5 2020, 07:26 PM

648 posts

Hi there sifu smile.gif
Would like to get a laptop recommendation!

Is it possible to get things

1. Budget : ~RM3000
2. Usage : MS Office work, mainly for uni
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
Since might be bringing it around for classes, so something light
Good battery life so that don't need to bring the charger often

Thank you for all that helps out rclxm9.gif
HayateAyakasi8
post Apr 6 2020, 10:55 AM

648 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 5 2020, 08:40 PM)
Can consider Thinkpad X395 or T495

Thank you! notworthy.gif
HayateAyakasi8
post Jun 4 2020, 02:48 PM

648 posts

Hello sifu, would like a laptop recommendation.

1. Budget : RM3-4k
2. Usage : Gaming (mainly CSGO) and uni work mainly
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
Display size (prefer 17 inch if possiblem but if it's too much of a compromise then 15inch should be good), battery should be okay for some uni classes as well

Thank you!
HayateAyakasi8
post Jun 4 2020, 09:48 PM

648 posts

QUOTE(shrade @ Jun 4 2020, 05:48 PM)
Acer nitro 5 AN515-52-50WX 15.6 inch. price might be lower than your budget but should be able to cater to your needs
Ah yes, saw this one just need to get a 16gb RAM kit and should be good to go. Thanks!

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 4 2020, 06:13 PM)
you're welcome

min how many hours for battery life? (rough figures will do)

no preference on weight?
Maybe 4-5hrs?
Weight, shouldn't be too heavy. 2-3kg im guessing

QUOTE(gigigigi99 @ Jun 4 2020, 07:57 PM)
Asus TUF - AMD ryzen biggrin.gif
Which model boss? Also, what are the specs for that one?

This post has been edited by HayateAyakasi8: Jun 4 2020, 09:49 PM

0.0976sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:52 PM