5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V6.66!, Number of the beast

RustReaver4D1
post Oct 17 2007, 05:35 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Oct 17 2007, 05:30 PM)
i posted the guitar store, not GC tongue.gif
memang i dont like GC also, wanna chop people a lot. no discount on accessories wtf?
i bought mine for rm17.50 at the guitar store. might wanna get lemon oil now, my fretboard looks like it needs some cleaning  hmm.gif
hehe... I know... so stay away from GC! Like c'mon... how can 2 outlets of the same chain sell a pretty standard accessory at different prices?

...err... waitasec. since I always confuse GC with Guitar Store... the one in One U and Midvalley topfloor are Guitar Collection shops, right? laugh.gif

...and I love applying Lemon Oil on the fretboard during every string change. Doubt it's recommended, but it's very meditative for some weird reason... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Oct 17 2007, 05:36 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Oct 17 2007, 06:09 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Oct 17 2007, 05:41 PM)

Added on October 17, 2007, 5:45 pmhere's a little quiz Which Famous Guitarist Are You?
Wei, cib@!, I got Synyster Gates too... wtf. Who the hell is Synister Gates??? laugh.gif

I tweaked my answers some more... then I got Jimmy Page. vmad.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Oct 24 2007, 04:53 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Rossie @ Oct 24 2007, 12:28 PM)
Anyway, another useful thing about the WW is that after cleaning your guitar, you can still use it to clean other stuff, ie. laptop, desktop, handphone, girlfriend etc...
I wonder (pun might be intended)... can it also clean up sloppy playing? Or dirty tone? biggrin.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Oct 25 2007, 03:35 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 24 2007, 05:38 PM)
As stated in the 7 String thread, is there anywhere in KL with the Jeff Loomis 7 String Schecter on display? Tempted to try it out......
Not sure which guitar store carries Schechter in the first place. In any event, I doubt there'd be any 7-string Schechters physically available locally, much less the Jeff Loomis signature. icon_rolleyes.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Oct 25 2007, 07:25 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Oct 25 2007, 05:45 PM)
Oh yeah, I can't stop listening to At The Gates of Valhalla today!
blush.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Oct 26 2007, 06:41 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Oct 26 2007, 01:02 AM)

drool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gifdrool.gif
The Caparison Orbit... the ultimate offset-V axe... 27 frets of pure devilry! thumbup.gif

...but the price... oh the price... sweat.gif

Added on October 26, 2007, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Oct 25 2007, 08:00 PM)
I like that song but like The Trooper, too many ppl cover...l sien d haih... shakehead.gif
Hehe... only Serpentarius & SweetTooth got cover mou... laugh.gif

...I still remember me and Asura playing it from start to finish while waiting for you to turn up for the "Stand Tall and Shake the Heaven" preview jam...

...damn xien sien, some more just 2 guitars, no drums, no bass... dunno how we managed to keep time! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Oct 26 2007, 06:44 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Oct 29 2007, 06:26 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Oct 29 2007, 06:05 PM)
how much is it to install a pair of passive pickups? i just picked up my pickups(no pun intended)half an hour ago.

will it be hard/risky to do it myself?
It's a skill that I'm sure you can pick up over time, but in the meantime, it's probably safer to get a guitar tech to install it. Should cost about 50 bucks or so...

Unless of course you've got a flair for electronics, then you can probably do it yourself... biggrin.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Oct 29 2007, 07:01 PM

1,100 posts

I think Tham can definitely do it cheaper... biggrin.gif

...and if you're lucky, you can probably ask him to show you his Jason Becker thesis... hehe... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Oct 29 2007, 07:02 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 02:13 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 3 2007, 11:12 PM)
And to me, the Spider Valve sounds excellent. Go and test it out for yourself. The crunchyness is nice and warm and the eq is very forgiving too. Alot of sounds I can churn it out from it.
Write a review please... price range, versatility, sound quality, durability... thumbup.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 03:42 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 7 2007, 02:37 PM)
I'll write the review once I own it tongue.gif
You're no fun. tongue.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 12 2007, 08:07 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Nov 12 2007, 07:54 PM)
becker and malmsteem are both classically trained , serrana is classical based for starts.
Uh... Becker and Malmsteen were influenced by classical music, but I don't think they were ever classically trained... icon_rolleyes.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 13 2007, 03:55 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 12 2007, 08:12 PM)
clasically trained? randy rhoads tongue.gif
I thought he bought the farm before he started classical training?
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 01:56 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Nov 14 2007, 09:52 AM)
You're looking at the wrong place.
There are a few factors that can be contributed from the extra mass of jumbo frets towards the length of the string vibration. (Whether you take it as a simple harmonic motion or you want to purely look at it as a wave function)
Such as elastic potential energy or you can derive an equation from Newtons Second Law.
For elastic potential energy you the k constant is equivalent to mω^2.
For Newtons Second Law you assume tetha, the angle of the amplitude from the equilibrium position(it forms a small circle) as a small angle and delta m = µ delta L where µ is the strings linear density.
Then apply F = ma because at the moment of amplitude of the string, where the delta is taken it has a centripetal acceleration to the center which is at its equilibrium position.
You've got it all wrong, man.

Everyone knows that it doesn't matter whether you take it as a simple harmonic motion or as a wave function. Ultimately, it just boils down to...

RustReaver4D1
post Nov 16 2007, 10:57 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 15 2007, 11:14 PM)
Reviews of what? You can start us off you know tongue.gif
Well, the Spider Valve would be a good start. tongue.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 16 2007, 04:14 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 16 2007, 11:19 AM)
Me waiting for CK's year end sale to get the Spider Valve....... THEN I can write that review. tongue.gif

Why so interested all of the sudden Rust?
You can at least write what you're preliminary impressions are what... and the interest? Well... Bogner... whistling.gif

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 16 2007, 03:55 PM)
oh, thats right.
stop being such an *******.
Huh? I thought it's more like... "Do you know where the f*ck you are?! You're in the jungle, babyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!" laugh.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 16 2007, 03:33 PM)
and no camo DA5...just got the regular DA5 and the DA5 classic.
Easily misunderstood to mean that you got the DA5. Missing pronouns can be hazardous... whistling.gif

Added on November 16, 2007, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 16 2007, 04:13 PM)
Oooooooh. FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!

Oh wait...... I'm a mod......

DON'T FIGHT! DON'T FIGHT! DON'T FIGHT! DON'T FIGHT! DON'T FIGHT! DON'T FIGHT!
LIVE AND LET DIE! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 16 2007, 04:41 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 19 2007, 01:34 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 16 2007, 08:54 PM)
i can't remember the first time how i got my sweeps right on..

but ...i think i have been teaching alot of sweep picking..

my best advice is ...the more details you pay attention too , the harder it will get  tongue.gif
sweep picking is all about the synchronization between your left hand and your right hand..
you get your 3 strings right on ..work a while and you will get your 5 strings easily...
imo ..practising all this roll over techniques , angle of holding picks etc..is just a waste of time..it all boils down to the synchronization

this is why people who practiced alternate picking before , and they are able to play it at a decent speed ..
they will find sweep picking much easier than people who goes straight to sweeps
Gapnap FTW! icon_rolleyes.gif

...I still remember my first time seeing Gaps sweep. He was sweeping the arpeggios over the chord progression in "I Will Survive" (...err, I think it was that song...) ...Pwnage2DMax... laugh.gif

QUOTE(Rossie @ Nov 16 2007, 09:27 PM)
Rusty Cooley ftw!
icon_rolleyes.gif
Francesco Fareri circular sweeping ftw! laugh.gif

Seriously, "Suspension" got some pretty psycho-fast sweeps... like he's using a steamroller to roll all over the fretboard... sweat.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 20 2007, 03:06 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 19 2007, 09:49 PM)
and now you pawn the sh*t out of me ..

i hate u  tongue.gif
Indie wei... good show! thumbup.gif sweat.gif

...and it should be:

"I hate u, you *#$(&#($*&$ of #*()$&#(*$&. Yo' mama's #*($&#*($& and yo' papa's #*($&#*($&#(.

Cheers!"

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 19 2007, 06:13 PM)
Luckily I came from the school of Zakk Wylde Alternate picking....... I got my picking DOWN!!!!
At least not the Zakk Wylde school of alternate downing... rclxub.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 21 2007, 11:21 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Nov 21 2007, 08:56 AM)
S Prestige?I thought the only difference of S prestige compared to a normal S is just cosmetic differences and different necks?
Don't forget the workmanship too. The normal S is pretty much a standard factory guitar whereas the Prestige series, although factory made, is given more attention to detail as well as getting some of the higher quality woods etc.

And Blacktrix, the S Prestige comes with the 5-piece Wizard II Prestige neck vs the S' 3-piece Wizard II.

Specs should be the same. And if you're not one to care about whether a 3-piece or 5-piece neck is stronger/flexes better, then it really boils down to looks. Personally, and I think Val can back me up on this, the Ibanez 5-piece necks are bloody gorgeous. The 2 dark brown stripes down the back of the neck are schweeeet.... rclxms.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 21 2007, 12:44 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 21 2007, 11:25 AM)
Yes. Totally Agree with that too.......
Found out it costs a bit more then a razorback 255......
Which begs the question.........

Comfort but 22 frets and ZR trem.....

or Killer looks + 24 frets, licensed FR and a bit on the bulky side....

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Dude, the Razorback 255 is the MIK one right?

Where got "hmmmmmmm" one?

S Prestige is mid-high end MIJ! Good trem also! Save the 24 frets for the 7-string! laugh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 21 2007, 03:42 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Nov 21 2007, 02:18 PM)
Boy, you sure are Japan ftw, arn't you???

Dunno lah...... both also sounds tempting.....
Lemme get my amp first then I'll talk guitar a little more..... tongue.gif
I'm Euro FTW! But for the purposes of this discussion, Japan is considered as part of Europe. cool2.gif

C'mon man... a few weeks back it was, let me get a new guitar first then I'll talk amps. Now its amp first, then guitar.

Just buy the friggin Spider Valve! doh.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0342sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:40 PM