> AirAsia Refund after booking, Due to Visa Rejected

TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 07:11 AM, updated 7y ago

209 posts

We did a booking for a family trip to Aussie. However one of my family member's visa was rejected.

1. can we get refund from AA?
2. Possible to change destination?
3. Possible to change name (for that guy who can't make it)?

update of the situation

allow me to vent my frustration here.

ppl going:

me, wife, son

Father/mother

Visa rejected(VR)/Son

initially my family wanted to go Spain for holiday. somehow along the line VR got involve and we thought ok, since our son have a company for vacation. rope in father/mother as well.

due to budget and his son wanted to see snow, ok lets go sydney(despite the fact my wife been to sydney before).

no one knows she been to aussie and was deported before( she is in law and don't ask about her husband-complicated).

so now, the kid will not go without the mom. 2 ticket burn and my kid will go alone. and for fuck sake we originally did not want to go sydney and no we do not want to see snow.

so yes its a really frustrating situation

This post has been edited by bengang14: Jun 5 2019, 08:21 AM
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 07:29 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 5 2019, 07:14 AM)
If the fault is not from AirAsia’s side, refund will be hard.
I don’t think you can refund or change destination.

Definitely cannot change name
crap. guess i am at dead end now

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jun 5 2019, 07:16 AM)
Refund is hard.

If refund also you get back 50% only. Not full.
went to their website. seems like they will only refund airport tax

QUOTE(Fat Albert @ Jun 5 2019, 07:17 AM)
Ada hutang ptptn la tuuu... Sapa suruh tak bayar..
not ptptn
QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Jun 5 2019, 07:20 AM)
why reject? apply again
all of us are ok. except one. she did not tell us she had some "history" in aussie 10 years back. she naively thought all is forgotten. which really pisses us off.
will try to appeal. but counting out options now

This post has been edited by bengang14: Jun 5 2019, 07:30 AM
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 07:31 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jun 5 2019, 07:19 AM)
AA MO is to wait for things like this to get free mulah. offer cheaper tickets 1 year in advance in the hopes some cannot go and charge fees for changes/no show
un fortunately so. difference in flight for the whole family was around 2k plus..anyway what's done is done. probably lose 4k now
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 08:15 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Jun 5 2019, 07:33 AM)
Why not just go to aussie minue the one person then schedule another vacay later lorh.. since u r lksing money anyway why not make it count..

Might seems selfish though
allow me to vent my frustration here.

ppl going:

me, wife, son

Father/mother

Visa rejected(VR)/Son

initially my family wanted to go Spain for holiday. somehow along the line VR got involve and we thought ok, since our son have a company for vacation. rope in father/mother as well.

due to budget and his son wanted to see snow, ok lets go sydney(despite the fact my wife been to sydney before).

no one knows she been to aussie and was deported before( she is in law and don't ask about her husband-complicated).

so now, the kid will not go without the mom. 2 ticket burn and my kid will go alone. and for fuck sake we originally did not want to go sydney and no we do not want to see snow.

so yes its a really frustrating situation

QUOTE(yeezai @ Jun 5 2019, 07:42 AM)
Cannot refund la coz its not their fault u didnt get the visa ..the fella that failed should stay at home
yeah i undersatnd. so...just live with it

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Jun 5 2019, 07:45 AM)
Sudah mau pergi ah? Cannot appeal 1 ah? Better ask for more detail reason of reject. Else we cant help much here. But most probably ticket GG 1 la...
appealing now..lets see. rejected because, she was once deported back and aussie paid for some of her meals and she/her company did not reimburse aussie gov. 10 years ago.
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 08:18 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Jun 5 2019, 07:47 AM)
Go ahead with the trip, leave her behind lah.
Not selfish at all coz who made this thing happen.
Then claim back the airport tax for the one that didnt go.

Next time, apply visa first before booking flights and hotels.
yeah. we took it for granted. me and my wife have never any issue with visa and traveling. parents so old so visa should be ok.

never thought the weakest link...

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 5 2019, 07:47 AM)
If you book 100 tickets, 1 rejected, you wanna refund back 100 tickets is it?... Kick that person outlah

Inb4 Blacklist person = TS girlfriend.
for sure we will be going but...like i said... aussie was never our choice.. so it more of a frustration

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Jun 5 2019, 07:48 AM)
Since she's an adult, just leave her here.
leaving her... but its still frustrating due to the circumstances...
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 08:32 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(goodiemangold @ Jun 5 2019, 08:28 AM)
Damn...your trip is just minor. Your family relationship is all messed up.
yeah... thats why i dint bother to describe our relationship in detail

QUOTE(buraqdunia @ Jun 5 2019, 08:29 AM)
but, u loosing money? is she riding for free or for 50% less?
frankly.. not sure yet. she have not paid us yet.

also if this trip fails.

my airbnb need to cancel and there goes the admin fee.
crhist sake i hope i have not paid the car rental. need to check
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 09:51 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Jun 5 2019, 08:55 AM)
Haha... I need to read few times only can understand

There are 2 kids here

TS, Wife & Son 1 group

TS parents 1 group

The VR girl (in law) & her son 1 group
yeap.

3 groups

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Jun 5 2019, 08:57 AM)
Next time sendiri buy sendiri group punya flight tickets.
I do this everytime travel in big group, because...well big group...anything can happen and hard to accomodate everyone.

And btw....sydney ada snow ke?
wife old me need to drive 3-4 hours. something like that...

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Jun 5 2019, 09:03 AM)
I think a lot of ppl will do this. Buy tix 1st then only apply visa like 1 or 2 months b4 trip. Well if u r clean wont have big issue. The women should know her own history well b4 decide to go oz.

I think TS can forget bout the in law la... If her son is close to u & ur son can bring along d. My sis used to do this. Sometimes go trip ask my other sister children tag along but hav to make sure they can take care themselves also la. My sis children mostly in primary school d.

Anyway why need to cancel airbnb? Book separate house?
i really don't mind brining VR kids. problem is he might not want to go without his mom

when we booked Airbnb it was for 3 rooms. now we don't need 3 rooms and 3 rooms is so freaking expensive.

need to recalculate if it is worth it
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 09:53 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Jun 5 2019, 09:18 AM)
I was confused too but I think it goes like this...
yes like that... thanks...

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Jun 5 2019, 09:50 AM)
It means his son got friend, got companion aka the VR son.
yeap. my son will mengamuk now....jezzzz all for nothing... and crap i don't wanna go Aussie....
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 10:03 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 5 2019, 10:02 AM)
There’s no snow in sydney right
nope...need to drive couple of hours....
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 10:16 AM

209 posts

already got all my answers.... thanks a lot. closing this thread at 11am
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 11:25 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Jun 5 2019, 10:44 AM)
They wont refund.

The best they could do is provide you the credit for next purchase. But refund in cash, no way.
don't think the will even give credit.

anyway..my lost..
TSbengang14
post Jun 5 2019, 11:25 AM

209 posts

thanks every one

Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0146sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:41 AM