Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

noob4life
post Mar 18 2008, 07:00 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(darklancer @ Mar 18 2008, 05:55 PM)
2 layer of topcoat? why?

when applying top coat, do u guys detach the parts eg, head, arms n legs from the main body and spray them separately or just spray ?
Its better to separate them if ur not good at estimating ... u separate the parts, then spray it all around. if u dont separate, u might leave out a few spot on ur kit when u spray, im sure u dont want that to happen.

what i usually do is, i take out all the armor parts, the n spray the internal frame as a whole piece... then i spray the armor pieces 1 by 1. quite tedious la, but you protect the internal frame from paint chipping...

This post has been edited by noob4life: Mar 18 2008, 07:00 PM
noob4life
post Mar 19 2008, 03:45 PM

162 posts

If u use gloss top coat over a flat color, it will become gloss. Same otherwise.... if u use flat top coat over gloss color, the color becomes flat. U can mix primary colors together ( its written on the bottle, i assume u use Gunze Sangyo's Mr color ) but others im not sure. Flat color mix with flat color i think ok gua.... never test. tongue.gif
noob4life
post Mar 28 2008, 06:17 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Mar 28 2008, 04:21 PM)
lol. obviously, 1 is not enough, how u clean up your kits when dust cover on top of it? bubble bath ?
dont bubble bath ler... later water masuk ur kit cannot go out.... I just detach each part ( leg, hand, head ) and just lightly brush with an old tooth brush. If some grooves got dust and cannot be reached by the tooth brush, i just use cotton bud.

Of course you dont just brush over EVERYTHING la... certain parts if u know the decals are gonna come off, just use ur finger and wipe that part...

This post has been edited by noob4life: Mar 28 2008, 06:17 PM
noob4life
post Apr 3 2008, 07:14 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Apr 3 2008, 06:37 PM)
any branded from tamiya to Mr hobby paint that have chrome color will for you but notice to achived back a new clear chrome u need an AB or else handpaint could be hard to newbie painters
Yea im actually interested to know how to achieve nice chrome effect with handbrushing.... those Grandslam on MG Strike.... i see most ppl can do nice chrome effect... wat colors are used and is it possible for handpainters ?
noob4life
post Apr 20 2008, 06:24 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(darklancer @ Apr 20 2008, 06:12 PM)
so in kopitiam can ask repeated quetions?
You guys are gonna incur Vince's wrath.... sweat.gif

@300078

Those 9800 grade compound i think can find in glass-cutting shops... i going to have a look tomoro.... i THINK only. >.>

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0377sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:39 AM