6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

fyire
post Oct 18 2007, 04:14 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Oct 18 2007, 01:16 AM)
wow...thanks bro. but which type to get? so many. LOL...sand file or sanding stick?
i halted my gundam process lol...afraid did something wrong.
get a few different types, for different stages of the sanding (from rough to smooth), and also for different places (flats surfaces, and tight corners)
fyire
post Oct 20 2007, 12:53 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Oct 19 2007, 06:47 PM)
try cut smooth using art knife. dun ever sand it if u dun intend to paint ur kits
sanding can be done actually, if you're after a flat finish, but make sure to do it right.

Check this out: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13689143

That zaku's finishing is done by just sanding, and is pretty well done too. Of course this means that the sanding work will need to be done slowly and progressively, so you wont leave any deep scratch marks that's difficult to remove with the finer sandpaper later.

Added on October 20, 2007, 12:56 am
QUOTE(zheyuen @ Oct 19 2007, 11:28 PM)
oh no...i dun think im gonaa paint my gundam but i sanded it =.=... one mre thing...i heard from ppl AFTER painting still need sand ?
Yes and no. You usually don't sand after painting, but it also depends on what sort of effects that you want. Somebody had posted before a model with pretty nice weathering effects that's done via sanding the edges, but this' something that u'll want to do carefully though, so u only strip the top layer of paint to reveal the layer under, and not strip everything till the plastic

Added on October 20, 2007, 12:57 am
QUOTE(br0ther9630 @ Oct 19 2007, 10:42 PM)
gurus! certain gundam parts need to be painted to look exactly like the box.. but some are quite small.. so what do you guys do?

do u use those acrylic paint or spray paint? don tell me airbrush cause i'm not rich to get one of those...  sad.gif
suggested is to hand paint using acrylics, if you don't have an airbrush. Spray can velocity and spray volume is rather high, and you cannot adjust it, making it difficult to control for such precision work. Furthermore, it gets to be rather wasteful as well if u're working on small areas.

This post has been edited by fyire: Oct 20 2007, 12:57 AM
fyire
post Oct 20 2007, 12:59 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(richard0304 @ Oct 20 2007, 12:57 AM)
ok thank u zero... still noob here... erm about those decals which need to use water to stick it one.. i notice that the decals will be worn off after some time.. so any ways to prevent that? cry.gif
apply a layer of topcoat smile.gif
fyire
post Oct 21 2007, 12:12 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(richard0304 @ Oct 20 2007, 06:34 PM)
what's a sanding stick actually... heard people talking about it everywhere in this thread.. will consider using one too if it's that useful.. hmm.gif
a sanding stick is well, a stick used for sanding smile.gif

not usually used for models, so you're not likely to find them in hardware or model supply shops. Rather, its something used for nail manicure purposes. something like this: http://www.esthersnc.com/nail-file.html

U can find them at phamarcies, or those shops that does beauty care supplies
fyire
post Oct 22 2007, 04:17 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Oct 22 2007, 03:42 PM)
Hei issit recommended to get all in one compressor wif air brush set such as from tamiya?
http://www.tamiya.com/english/products/745.../basic_comp.htm
give some comment pls
Its battery powered, so I wont suggest getting it. The need to keep recharging is going to really get on your nerves in a while.

U can probly make do with an el cheapo airbrush to get started off, then get a better one later on, but for the compressor, its advisable to get a decent one at the start.
fyire
post Oct 28 2007, 10:17 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Oct 28 2007, 06:04 PM)
Hey guys need some advice on the enamel paint for lining!

wat thinner u guys use? The Tamiya enamel thinner or those lighther fluid?

The lighter fluid is it those Zippo lighter fluid?
zippo fluid or turpentine. zippo fluid is faster drying, while turpentine dries slowly. so adjust accordingly depending on if u need your mix to dry quickly or slowly
fyire
post Oct 29 2007, 12:32 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Oct 28 2007, 10:44 PM)
Do you guys use those normal turpentine that available at hardware shops?
QUOTE(300078 @ Oct 29 2007, 07:53 AM)
Where to get turpentine? I only know where to get the Zippo fluid onli!
Mr Surfacer can get at XL SHOP, Time Machine, Hobby HQ, AF Hobby ..........
from any hardware shop. a big bottle costs less than the small bottle of zippo fluid too smile.gif but I keep both around lar..

Added on October 29, 2007, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(naith @ Oct 29 2007, 12:21 PM)
I remember reading a while back that by adding a retarder, to the paint(Mr. Color) will allow the brush strokes to be less visible. I was wondering if there's anything wrong with adding some retarder directly into the bottle of paint? Will there be an effect on the paint if I don't use all of it up? Cuz I was thinking of painting a model I bought when I was young(an AMT Enterprise-E) Its partially assembled(the main parts have been assembled but have not been connected). Also note that unlike you guys, I don't prime my models. I normally just paint directly on to the surface.
its generally a better idea not to add the retarder directly into the bottle. what u can do is to pour some amounts of paint that u need to use into a small empty bottle, and add the thinner and retarder into that instead if u dun wanna keep mixing. there may be time when u may need the paint to dry faster, and times when u need the paint to dry slower, depending on the kinda effects that u wanna achieve.

as for painting directly on the surface, its possible, but u'll need to apply in multiple thin coats. This is my approach for acrylics though, not sure about lacquers, as I've not hand painted lacquers.

This post has been edited by fyire: Oct 29 2007, 12:35 PM
fyire
post Oct 30 2007, 06:43 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(ymjay @ Oct 30 2007, 05:51 PM)
i have ...but the tip is too big
the screws are rather small in diameter
i dont know about screwdriver sizes
I got mine from Ace's hardware. Cant remember the size now, but look for the smallest one there is. Its basically the same size as what I use to access the ram sockets on my powerbook.
fyire
post Oct 30 2007, 11:35 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Oct 30 2007, 10:26 PM)
''Tight budget '' is an understatement...  brows.gif  brows.gif     1 TAMIYA spray can RM 39.90 lol.

You could always stick with handpainting... but it will be a problem with bigger kits... AND I HATE HAND PAINTING WITH FLAT WHITE !  cry.gif
NEed so many freaking coats.  doh.gif

here's a little tip for you then smile.gif Never ever paint pure flat white and pure flat black, unless you've got all the time in the world to put on so many coats lar smile.gif

If you're doing white, add a tiny drop of black into the mix (just enough to reduce the white by a tiny shade that its not really noticeable unless u really scrutinize it. This will help to strengthen the pigment.

Same goes for blacks as well. Add a tiny drop of white into the mix. While blacks do not require as many layers as white, doing this will make the result less prone to getting dirty.

Added on October 30, 2007, 11:39 pm
QUOTE(pweeapw @ Oct 30 2007, 10:53 PM)
1st off... sry if this has been asked before... but i dun have enuff time to read 30+ pages (maybe later can... but kinda want to know the answer)... i did some checking online but i can't seem to find any...

i used to paint warhammer 40k figures... and i still have alot of paint from Game Workshop left (i'm not too sure if they're acrylic or not)... does these paints work with airbrushes?

Yes, those paints r acrylic. Rather heavy acrylic as well. I suggest thinning it down with a mix of water + alcohol. However keep in mind that acrylics tends to clog the airbrush like mad. Using acrylics, its just 5 minutes or less before it starts to clog, and I need to clear the nozzle, but I dont get that problem with lacquers.

If u want to use those for airbrushing, then plan your spraying. Don't spray for more than 5 minutes at a time, and clean your nozzle frequently.

This post has been edited by fyire: Oct 30 2007, 11:39 PM
fyire
post Oct 30 2007, 11:52 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(pweeapw @ Oct 30 2007, 11:46 PM)
thanks fyire... when you mention alchohol, i assume that you're talking about rubbing alcohol?
and what are the ratios what you would suggest if using them for airbrush... as well as brush painting?
Yup, that can do as well, although I use methylated spirits from the hardware shops. ratios, hard to say, as it depends very much on the color as well. But I use a 50/50 mix of water to alcohol when thinning for airbrushing. For hand brush painting, I use only water.
fyire
post Oct 31 2007, 03:58 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(pweeapw @ Oct 31 2007, 03:44 PM)
hmmm... i tried mixing the paints (citadel color) with water and the colors ended up as being washy on the kit... colors that i've tried are white, blue and red... unless i start mixing... then it sticks a little better and becomes better to handle....
Well, that does happen. It'll help a lot if you're to use a primer. The hardest part about hand painting is to get the first layer to coat the plastic evenly, and then you cannot have it too thick too. Its only the second coat onwards that gets easier, and its only on the second coat onwards where the color really shows. On the first layer, you should still be able to see the plastic through the paint. I used to go till like 3 layers when hand painting acrylics.

Also, you can try adjusting your paint to water ratio accordingly.

If you find that mixing the paints helps better, then yup, that's one solution as well. Just remember to control your mix ratio so that you get the paint to handle better, but still have the color as what u want.

Another trick that I use is to use a 50/50 mix of Citadel with Tamiya. The tamiya mix will allow the paint to grip better on the surface, while the citadel mix will allow for a better finishing.
fyire
post Nov 4 2007, 09:17 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Nov 4 2007, 04:23 PM)
MG Destiny is not in white! I think it is more easy to paint then! becoz if white! It get dirty very fast!
hehe well, the trick to painting white is never to use pure white smile.gif always add a tiny drop of black into the mix, to bring it down to a very very very light gray (where u cant tell the diff via the naked eye). that helps a lot. this wont get dirty easily, but still appears more white than the MG destiny's gray color
fyire
post Nov 6 2007, 05:25 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Nov 6 2007, 02:14 PM)
do we really necessary need thinner for mixing with the mr.hobby paint bottle to brush on gundam?
for acrylics, not really, u can just thin using water. for lacquers, thinners are the only way to thin it down. Make sure that you get the right types of paints. acrylics are the ones with the flat cap, while lacquers r the ones with the mohawk looking caps. its a pretty common mistake to mix up the 2 when purchasing paint from mr hobby.
fyire
post Nov 24 2007, 02:33 AM

9,270 posts

Me latest completed project. One of the classic fatboys smile.gif

edit: argh.. just realized that I posted in the wrong thread...

VincC454, can help me move to the right one? Sorry ya? kinda late at night, and got careless...

This post has been edited by fyire: Nov 24 2007, 02:37 AM
fyire
post Jan 8 2008, 11:39 PM

9,270 posts

A very very dumb thing happened when I was building me MG Destiny, and I lost a part. Was wondering if there's any kind sould here who's got a MG Destiny who's nice enough to pinjam me that missing part for a day or 2, for me to make an epoxy cast out of it? smile.gif

The missing piece is A20

This post has been edited by fyire: Jan 8 2008, 11:40 PM
fyire
post Jan 8 2008, 11:43 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(g2xian @ Jan 8 2008, 10:27 PM)
epoxy putty is use to shape out things...like add ons...
normal putty more on repairs...... frm wat i see is highly corrosive..use too much will melt ur kit..so never use to fill up big gaps
There's a trick to it, to prevent the corrosion. After mixing the 2 parts of epoxy putty together, don't apply right away. Let it harden slightly first. You'll need to experiment a bit on this, as you'll need it to be hard enough so that it dun attack the plastic, but still soft enough where you can press it into place.

When duplicating damaged or missing parts, dusting the part to be duplicated with baby powder before pressing it into the epoxy helps a lot too.
fyire
post Jan 9 2008, 04:09 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Ruff Bark @ Jan 9 2008, 02:54 AM)
If I want to paint over a certain part of an already pre-painted PVC anime figurine, what kind of paint, materials, and brushes should I use?
This will depend a lot on what sort of paint's used to cover the piece, and also the finishing of it. The trickiest bit will be to match the paint already on the figuring itself, so you wont get a splotch that's out of place. Hand brushing might be a bit tough to do.

Using an airbrush will be the easiest, although you may have to sand slightly at the spot that you want to spray over first to avoid the paint in that area getting too thick.
fyire
post Jan 9 2008, 07:22 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Jan 9 2008, 06:53 PM)
Lol bro ur shield too many bubbles... kinda wierd leh.  tongue.gif  Personally i never knew how to remove air bubbles too.... but good job nonetheless...
well, the trick to removing bubbles is to avoid having them in the first place smile.gif Normally occurs when handpainting, and the brush splashes on the surface. Can be hard to avoid at times, so its very important to flatten them out with your brush before the paint dries. Otherwise you'll have to go and sand them away, and repaint that spot again.
fyire
post Jan 10 2008, 09:21 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Jan 10 2008, 03:39 PM)
hey one thng bout painting... i wan try handpainting... but nt sure which is the RITE paint... some say laquer...some say acrylic... i wan try acrylic coz it doesnt dry fast so basically i can fix my mistakes better...bt some say acrylic nt gud... so how?
XD... sry for my long wind post.
Acrylics r more forgiving than lacquers, in the sense that its easier for you to strip off the paint and redo it again should you mess up big time. This can be rather useful especially if you're new to painting.

However one problem with acrylics is that the buildup of paint is thicker than compared to lacquers, and it don't adhere as well to the plastic compared to lacquers, so you may get paint scratching off at locations where parts rub against each other.

Added on January 10, 2008, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(chriswoo @ Jan 10 2008, 04:24 PM)
zheyuen - well for hand painting in my experience laquer more easyer to control and better flat finishing then acrylic. ^.^
The flatness of the finishing actually depends a lot on the brand of paint too. Take vallejo acrylics for example, where you actually get ppl complaining about it being too flat smile.gif

This post has been edited by fyire: Jan 10 2008, 09:22 PM
fyire
post Jan 10 2008, 11:38 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Jan 10 2008, 11:24 PM)
wad brand mostly u guys use if u guys use laquer?
been using Mr Hobby. The most readily available ones. Mr Hobby has got both lacquers and acrylics, where the acrylics r the bottles with the flat caps, while the lacquers r the ones with the mohawk like cap. Make sure to get the right types, as its a rather common mistake to buy the wrong type by accident

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:51 AM