Super Noobs Help! [Thread V2], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

camel90
post Dec 13 2007, 09:35 AM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

hello guys,

my pc is using DDR2 RAM. at least that what ive found in its specification though. so, AFAIK DDR2 got 2 types in the market, right? one is PC667 and the other one is PC800.

so, is both of those RAM can be used in my pc?

thanx in advance.
camel90
post Dec 13 2007, 10:37 AM

1,314 posts

well.

i want to replace the old 512MB with at least 2GB perhaps?

coz right now my pc is using 1GB+512MB.

its kinda slow i gues for my sim racing game and some other games like C&C3.

what u suggest? PC800? or i can just dump in PC667?
im not into overclock anyway.

sry if im too stupid in this. sad.gif
camel90
post Dec 14 2007, 08:00 AM

1,314 posts

hurmm....im using 7600GS. isit outdated already huh?

aiseh....more money need to be burn =,=
camel90
post Dec 17 2007, 06:59 PM

1,314 posts

guys, i think this is the place to ask about suitable mousepad.

here it goes, these are 2 choices that ive came across.

Everglide(tm) Titan Gaming Mat = RM45
RAZER MANTIS CONTROL = RM68

my purpose is to play games lah tongue.gif, with a lil bit of foruming and etc.
its obvious that Titan is a bit cheaper. but, i want to cut cost as much as i can. so, is Titan is as good as RAZER?

another stupid question, can these 2 mousepad can be used with standard acer mouse? sad.gif
camel90
post Dec 17 2007, 10:44 PM

1,314 posts

2.5 for laptop
while 3.5 for desktop

if ur pc for sure 3.5
unless u're using laptop then its 2.5
camel90
post Dec 19 2007, 05:37 PM

1,314 posts

guys,

just bought 2gb ram to paired with my 1gb ram.

thus, my pc has 2 slots of ram which is one i put 1gb and another i put that new 2gb.

however, when i go to control panel it said i only have 2gb ram......it suppose to be 3gb rite?
camel90
post Dec 19 2007, 09:43 PM

1,314 posts

for my cdrom, yeah it can load my cd perfectly smile.gif

just that whenever u want to load in the disc u hav to make sure that it is properly in its position.
camel90
post Dec 21 2007, 08:02 PM

1,314 posts

guys...

any recommendation?

guys,

just bought 2gb ram to paired with my 1gb ram.

thus, my pc has 2 slots of ram which is one i put 1gb and another i put that new 2gb.

however, when i go to control panel it said i only have 2gb ram......it suppose to be 3gb rite?

camel90
post Dec 21 2007, 08:57 PM

1,314 posts

windows XP bro..

tq biggrin.gif
camel90
post Dec 21 2007, 09:23 PM

1,314 posts

nice to see u too kyle.

but if that so, im still not reached that limit yet lor..

its just 3gb rite? sad.gif
camel90
post Dec 22 2007, 01:06 AM

1,314 posts

ok,

ive installed it already and it is confirmed that i have 3072MB of ram.

so, what should i do now?

camel90
post Jan 10 2008, 10:58 PM

1,314 posts

hey guys. heres the problem i suffered right now.

yesterday i try to OC my 7600GS with this setup :
original setting :
core bus=400MHz
memory bus = 400MHz

my overclocked setting :
core bus=515MHz
memory bus=415MHz

it is indeed a very stupid move. i know.
and the core speed i hav is like this

after quite some time play my LFS without any problem i try to play with rFactor. yeah..it crashes sometime. after that i turn off the pc and when i turn on again the startup screen all i cant see the only thing i can saw was blurry white image.

then, i take out the GC and try to turn on the pc with my on board GC, surprisingly it works well. then i try to install the 7600GS and all the driver and yet it works perfectly since lat night until 3pm's today before i turn off my pc.

but now i turn it on again the symptom comes one more time with all blank/blurry image at the sttartup screen. now im using on board GC once again and it works well.

well, the thing that makes me confused is, IF the card is really dead it wont even survive whole night right? in fact when i play LFS last night the FPS seems ok though.

ps:sorry for my noobness in PC's term

This post has been edited by camel90: Jan 10 2008, 10:59 PM
camel90
post Jan 13 2008, 10:35 PM

1,314 posts

speaking of pentium D.

let say my mobo right now is using pentium D 3.0Ghz. isit possible this mobo can be installed by Intel Core2 Duo processor instead?

errrr..sorry. just curious biggrin.gif
camel90
post Jan 19 2008, 01:16 AM

1,314 posts

hey guys.

right now i owned 7600GS 256MB with 128 bit.

so, i wana upgrade to more decent graphic card for game like LFS,rFactor and maybe sometime in future want to try C&C3 or Crysis. im using windows xp platform and wont be going for vista anyime soon. so, it means DX9 rite?

which graphic card u suggest?
stick with more powerful 7 series or 8 series??
or change to ati?
camel90
post Jan 19 2008, 01:32 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jan 19 2008, 01:29 AM)
At least provide us with your budget, don't blame us if we recommend 8800Ultra
It's not socket 1, its socket 7 smile.gif  and it didn't tell how many pins were there, thats the only socket I know that don't tell the pin count, that and socket super 7 for AMD K6-II and K6-III
sorry2 blush.gif blush.gif

how about 500 to 600?

i hope to get ones without exceeding 600.... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
camel90
post Jan 22 2008, 11:26 PM

1,314 posts

hey guys. need ur help again happy.gif

heres the card that ive interested with :

-PowerColor HD3850 DDR3 256MB / 256bit
-MSI 8800GT-OverClock Version 256MB / 256bit
-XFX 8800GT 256MB / 256bit

my current 7600GS 256mb 128 bit really make the fps drop too much when im playing online LFS with more than 11 cars on the grid. personally, i know NOTHING about these 3 GC's. the only reason i pick them is because they are in my budget (at least that what ive found from pcdepot's website which is at 600-750) .

so, did any sifoo here has a better option? or what is the best between those 3? i pick those with 256 bit. is there much different IF i pick the 128 bit ?

if can suggest the better card with lower price i will be MORE THAN HAPPY!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by camel90: Jan 22 2008, 11:28 PM
camel90
post Feb 4 2008, 01:22 AM

1,314 posts

guys..i dunnow how many millions times this question has been asked over and over again. that is y i ask on this thread. i hav 2 choices..

-Powercolor ATI HD3870
-MSI 8800GT
*both are 512MB memory with 256bit

i know i did asked about GC in some other threa. i just wana know about this one....which is better? in case i lower down the spec of that 8800GT and take the version of 256MB memory with 256 bit...will it give MUCH different to the FPS when play game?
camel90
post Feb 4 2008, 07:28 AM

1,314 posts

tq

he post you entered in was too short.
camel90
post Feb 6 2008, 07:43 PM

1,314 posts

im using ACER ASPIRE E500-D30W

it comes with :

Pentium D 3.0Ghz
now use 3GB RAM (upgrade)
7600GS(upgrade)

so, it can handle ATI HD3870 or not eh guys?

im thinking of getting 3870 or 3850 or even 8800GT if im willing to borrow boss's money. LOL

Added on February 6, 2008, 7:43 pmand yes. its PCI-E

This post has been edited by camel90: Feb 6 2008, 07:43 PM
camel90
post Feb 9 2008, 01:33 PM

1,314 posts

i just bought my HD3850 just now.
there will be no OC and no crossfire. so, the question is. do i need to connect the extra power supply to the card?

0.0406sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:24 PM