Reasons Ford Mustang did not take off here?

TSBjorn1688
post May 25 2019, 03:21 AM, updated 7y ago

1,924 posts

Does anyone know? What reason(s) the Ford Mustang never really took off here? I don't suppose the reason is because everyone is a Chevy Camaro or Dodge Charger fan instead.

Quite surprised how few are on the road here and equally surprised their resale values are as poor as they are considering how few of them are about.

Also quite surprised that there are no shortage of owners wanting to offload after owning for just a year.
set
post May 25 2019, 05:33 AM

352 posts

Amurica car nothing good, cannot turn
Pugbunny
post May 25 2019, 10:11 AM

717 posts

Ford... No good experience if you asked the past owners

Can make a good fren with other French car owners
rcracer
post May 25 2019, 10:34 AM

?????
3,772 posts

interior worse than first myvi
acbc
post May 25 2019, 10:35 AM

9,050 posts

High road tax and expensive spare parts.
ezwann
post May 25 2019, 10:44 AM

120 posts

too expensive, too big and no resale value.

Better by E350 merc MUCH cheaper if retail price new.

This post has been edited by ezwann: May 25 2019, 10:45 AM
matrix88
post May 25 2019, 10:51 AM

2,236 posts

expensive spare parts, ops. always no stock la.

netmatrix
post May 25 2019, 11:55 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Very little? Dude, in PJ/ KL always more chances to see a Mustang than a Ferrari or Lambo. The car is expensive as brand new from Ford Malaysia. But recond cars are cheap. And most importantly since 2016 there is right hand drive versions available. It is the same case as Toyota GT86. BRand new is expensive. But recond cars are cheap. Hence 2-3 years later many GT86 on the road.

You can say Mustang is expensive to maintain. But it is no different than owning a higher end BMW like M2, M3, M5 Audi S5, etc. Still cheaper than any supercar. If you can afford to buy it, maintaining it would not be a problem so long you have money.
neohkor
post May 25 2019, 12:00 PM

Lol maybe here not worth la, price sell like sport car but actually in america not that expensive also the tier is different too. Starting from $26k come here become how much? Rm400k++ wtf? The calculations are way off
Jonsnow68
post May 25 2019, 01:59 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 25 2019, 11:55 AM)
Very little? Dude, in PJ/ KL always more chances to see a Mustang than a Ferrari or Lambo. The car is expensive as brand new from Ford Malaysia. But recond cars are cheap. And most importantly since 2016 there is right hand drive versions available. It is the same case as Toyota GT86. BRand new is expensive. But recond cars are cheap. Hence 2-3 years later many GT86 on the road.

You can say Mustang is expensive to maintain. But it is no different than owning a higher end BMW like M2, M3, M5 Audi S5, etc. Still cheaper than any supercar. If you can afford to buy it, maintaining it would not be a problem so long you have money.
That's true. Nowadays mustangs are as common as gtrs. I saw 5 mustangs last Wednesday alone. They were in pj and kl.
Tan&tan
post May 26 2019, 02:44 AM

786 posts

This guy open thread just to earn more starts don’t know what’s the intention ... bjorn what a name hahah . From grass to property to car everyday sembang x habis hahahaa . Banyak senang kerja
TSBjorn1688
post May 26 2019, 02:50 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(set @ May 25 2019, 05:33 AM)
Amurica car nothing good, cannot turn
That's no longer true these days.

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ May 25 2019, 10:11 AM)
Ford... No good experience if you asked the past owners

Can make a good fren with other French car owners
Really? What part of the car is unreliable?

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 25 2019, 10:34 AM)
interior worse than first myvi
That probably means it is a robust one.

QUOTE(acbc @ May 25 2019, 10:35 AM)
High road tax and expensive spare parts.
2.3l shouldn't be any more expensive than that of a Honda Accord no?

QUOTE(ezwann @ May 25 2019, 10:44 AM)
too expensive, too big and no resale value.

Better by E350 merc MUCH cheaper if retail price new.
But does the E350 have a fire breathing V8 under the bonnet?
TSBjorn1688
post May 26 2019, 02:54 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 25 2019, 11:55 AM)

In the area where I live in KL you see more of it at the parallel importer's showroom than on the road. Most 2 door cars here are either Lambos, Ferraris, Bentleys and Porsches in addition to the usual Audis/BMWs/Mercs.

No one buys any sport cars expecting it to be cheap to maintain?

QUOTE(neohkor @ May 25 2019, 12:00 PM)
Lol maybe here not worth la, price sell like sport car but actually in america not that expensive also the tier is different too. Starting from $26k come here become how much? Rm400k++ wtf? The calculations are way off
Isn't that the case for just about any car here?

Long ago it used to be the biggest gripe that Protons cost less in UK.

QUOTE(Jonsnow68 @ May 25 2019, 01:59 PM)
That's true. Nowadays mustangs are as common as gtrs. I saw 5 mustangs last Wednesday alone. They were in pj and kl.
You sure you weren't seeing the same one a few times over? biggrin.gif

j/k

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ May 26 2019, 02:44 AM)
This guy open thread just to earn more starts don’t know what’s the intention ... bjorn what a name hahah . From grass to property to car everyday sembang x habis hahahaa . Banyak senang kerja
More like tak ada kerja.

Thanks for the concerns.
Tan&tan
post May 26 2019, 02:56 AM

786 posts

Hi bjorn we love you 2019 create account now so many stars . 9 post a day . Tough life yo . Better accompany family then surfing here accumulating Pahala hahaha
matrix88
post May 26 2019, 02:59 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Jonsnow68 @ May 25 2019, 01:59 PM)
maybe club gathering.
sitescope
post May 26 2019, 02:00 PM

4,500 posts

No value ?
Demmm still koden find 100k in mudah.my
People said no value always troll in FnF
netmatrix
post May 26 2019, 07:10 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ May 26 2019, 02:00 PM)
No value ?
Demmm still koden find 100k in mudah.my
People said no value always troll in FnF
The car only launched in 2015. Only 4 years old. Even the V6 is nice. But the V8 is what everyone wants. Sales must be pretty good that Ford Msia is showing Mustang 2019 catalog.
acbc
post May 26 2019, 07:13 PM

9,050 posts

Mustang without V8 is like a poorfag showing off.

Here in Cambodia, the lowest spec Mustang is V6 and top of the range is V8. Price starts from USD 40k used. New also have but easily USD 80k. As for parts, order from eBay and deliver to doorstep.
netmatrix
post May 26 2019, 07:34 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ May 26 2019, 07:13 PM)
Mustang without V8 is like a poorfag showing off.

Here in Cambodia, the lowest spec Mustang is V6 and top of the range is V8. Price starts from USD 40k used. New also have but easily USD 80k. As for parts, order from eBay and deliver to doorstep.
Well a Ford GT without a V8 was supposed to be bad as well. But it won Le Man. laugh.gif laugh.gif I think the V6 Ecoboost that is powering the trucks is pretty good. Also on Ford's part, if they have a V6 that is going into a truck, Mustang & GT, might as well make it reliable all round right?
acbc
post May 26 2019, 08:12 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 26 2019, 07:34 PM)
Well a Ford GT without a V8 was supposed to be bad as well. But it won Le Man.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif I think the V6 Ecoboost that is powering the trucks is pretty good. Also on Ford's part, if they have a V6 that is going into a truck, Mustang & GT, might as well make it reliable all round right?
Boils down to maintenance. The V8 is a simple engine with outdated tech while the Ecoboost is a complicated engine with numerous wiring and pipes. Difficult to troubleshoot with an OBD reader.
matrix88
post May 26 2019, 08:33 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 26 2019, 07:10 PM)
The car only launched in 2015. Only 4 years old. Even the V6 is nice. But the V8 is what everyone wants. Sales must be pretty good that Ford Msia is showing Mustang 2019 catalog.
can buy parts online, but knowing modern cars, need to diagnose and repair the car if any funny symptom occur. without a good dealership, you will be in trouble
netmatrix
post May 26 2019, 08:37 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ May 26 2019, 08:12 PM)
Boils down to maintenance. The V8 is a simple engine with outdated tech while the Ecoboost is a complicated engine with numerous wiring and pipes. Difficult to troubleshoot with an OBD reader.
I think we can all agree that all modern engines are hard to fix. Even modern V8 is the same. In fact its like they made it not to be fixed at all. Buy drive and throw away. laugh.gif So the point of it failing at some point or another will eventually happen. And no matter how complex the modern engine are, it is still basically understandable tech.

But if any of the cars like the mustang are all electric, probably going to be even more trouble. Need people with different sets of skills already. Till then, no matter how difficult it is to understand modern engines, it is still far more better than whats coming up next.

I won't look down on the V6 mustang. It is still fast at 300HP. And since it is about 4 years old, definitely has some aftermarket engine upgrades for it already.
netmatrix
post May 26 2019, 08:39 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ May 26 2019, 08:33 PM)
can buy parts online, but knowing modern cars, need to diagnose and repair the car if any funny symptom occur. without a good dealership, you will be in trouble
I am pretty sure the outside places would know how to diagnose & fix the mustang by now. 4 years old already. Every piece of engine flash codes probably floating around already. laugh.gif But so far no one vlog about the V6. Many about the V8.
Jegane
post May 26 2019, 08:42 PM

189 posts

the mustang uses R1234yf air cond gas, the cooling coil x tahan, refill once kena rm1.6k
netmatrix
post May 27 2019, 12:09 AM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(Jegane @ May 26 2019, 08:42 PM)
the mustang uses R1234yf air cond gas, the cooling coil x tahan, refill once kena rm1.6k
But all modern cars uses this new type gas right?
Jegane
post May 27 2019, 09:42 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 27 2019, 12:09 AM)
But all modern cars uses this new type gas right?
I believe you are talking about R134a which is everywhere now. I'm talking about R1234yf, google it yo! Not much car uses it in Msia and its being monopolized by the producers, thus the crazy price.
TSBjorn1688
post May 27 2019, 11:36 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(Jegane @ May 27 2019, 09:42 AM)
I believe you are talking about R134a which is everywhere now. I'm talking about R1234yf, google it yo! Not much car uses it in Msia and its being monopolized by the producers, thus the crazy price.
It will become more popular in the years to come.

In any case if you can afford the price of this type of car the cost of this will be nothing when compared to the price of each tyre.
netmatrix
post May 27 2019, 01:52 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(Jegane @ May 27 2019, 09:42 AM)
No. I am talking about R32 refrigerant. I have no idea what that number you mentioned is at all. Thats why i said new.

Refrigerant Global Warming Potential Ozone Depletion Potential
R-22 1810 Medium
R-410A 2088 Zero
R-32 675 Zero
R-134A 1430 Zero
R-290 3 Zero
R-600A 3 Zero
Jegane
post May 27 2019, 07:35 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 27 2019, 01:52 PM)
No. I am talking about R32 refrigerant. I have no idea what that number you mentioned is at all. Thats why i said new.

Refrigerant Global Warming Potential Ozone Depletion Potential
R-22 1810 Medium
R-410A 2088 Zero
R-32 675 Zero
R-134A 1430 Zero
R-290 3 Zero
R-600A 3 Zero
R32 isn't used on vehicles
netmatrix
post May 27 2019, 09:29 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(Jegane @ May 27 2019, 07:35 PM)
R32 isn't used on vehicles
Ohhh.... he talking about this.

TSBjorn1688
post May 28 2019, 03:29 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 26 2019, 08:37 PM)
I think we can all agree that all modern engines are hard to fix. Even modern V8 is the same. In fact its like they made it not to be fixed at all. Buy drive and throw away.  laugh.gif So the point of it failing at some point or another will eventually happen. And no matter how complex the modern engine are, it is still basically understandable tech.

But if any of the cars like the mustang are all electric, probably going to be even more trouble. Need people with different sets of skills already. Till then, no matter how difficult it is to understand modern engines, it is still far more better than whats coming up next.

I won't look down on the V6 mustang. It is still fast at 300HP. And since it is about 4 years old, definitely has some aftermarket engine upgrades for it already.
All engines are hard to fix while it is still in the engine bay, definitely correct, as for it being hard to fix, I think the correct word is expensive to fix in which case yes that is certainly true.

In any case if you can afford the price of a Mustang here you probably have better things to do with your time then trying to fix it smile.gif

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 26 2019, 08:39 PM)
I am pretty sure the outside places would know how to diagnose & fix the mustang by now. 4 years old already. Every piece of engine flash codes probably floating around already.  laugh.gif But so far no one vlog about the V6. Many about the V8.
Actually engine codes for this isn't hard to get, that V6 engine is used in quite a lot of other Ford vehicles and new OBDII scanners are abundant these days that it would also have its code.

In any case I won't worry too much about parts, once a car is sold in Japan, UK and Australia there will be plenty of parts around for it. Plus the world has become much smaller with ecommerce these days.

V6 vs V8, depends on your priorities. V6 will handle better due to less nose-heavy characteristics while the V8 well you just can't beat what a V8 offers.

Darn I should not have sold off my LR Defender with the GM350 conversion.

Mustang GT, RM11k roadtax. Wish there was a convertible and manual one for sale.
jameslow
post May 29 2019, 08:24 AM

285 posts

I ask a famous workshop in Sunway, specialise in car mod & tune, how come not many Mustang on the road?

He said this car show off can la, although sound very high pitch and nice, but its not fast at all, the GT V8 max tune only 3++whp

I was thinking to replace my car with Mustang, his advise better buy Audi TTRS, proven in Sepang.
l4nunm4l4y4
post May 29 2019, 08:30 AM

749 posts

How you plonounce it ah?

F A R T ah?
netmatrix
post May 29 2019, 10:32 AM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(jameslow @ May 29 2019, 08:24 AM)
I ask a famous workshop in Sunway, specialise in car mod & tune, how come not many Mustang on the road?

He said this car show off can la, although sound very high pitch and nice, but its not fast at all, the GT V8 max tune only 3++whp

I was thinking to replace my car with Mustang, his advise better buy Audi TTRS, proven in Sepang.
Mustang is not cheap by any means. And it is really a car to drive and be looked at. Most people would not bat an eyelid at any BMW/ Merc or Audi. Even if they were the go fast versions. No one cares. laugh.gif But you drive a Mustang, people look at it. Because it has a shape and design that makes you look at it as a really cool car. If wanna go fast, i would not look at a Mustang at all. Not even a Mustang GT.
jameslow
post May 29 2019, 05:25 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 29 2019, 10:32 AM)
Mustang is not cheap by any means. And it is really a car to drive and be looked at. Most people would not bat an eyelid at any BMW/ Merc or Audi. Even if they were the go fast versions. No one cares.  laugh.gif But you drive a Mustang, people look at it. Because it has a shape and design that makes you look at it as a really cool car. If wanna go fast, i would not look at a Mustang at all. Not even a Mustang GT.
You are right, exactly the point, a car be looked at...only smile.gif

Car performance enthusiast won't care about it, don't bother to look at it... but if it's a RS3, 4, 5, 6, M2, 3, 4, 5, AMG GTs, 55, 63, we will take their photo, and share it in our group chat, because its fast and rare... lol

Probably we are in 2 different group la... you see expensive cars, I see fast cars...

0.0226sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:16 PM