Newbie in Illustrator, Need help !

TSJay Chua CC
post May 23 2019, 12:13 PM, updated 7y ago

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Hi. Currently very new in this. I have this logo shape that i wanted to change. How do i transform it from picture 2 to 1. Now i am using shapes and knife to fill the blanks and cut according to the alphabet outline.

It looks okay when i dint rescale or resize it. After i resize (picture 3), the edges become not smooth.
ANy idea or the right way i should do this?

barista
post May 23 2019, 12:22 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

You probably need to use trace to duplicate the shape into vector form first.
TSJay Chua CC
post May 23 2019, 12:26 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 23 2019, 12:22 PM)
You probably need to use trace to duplicate the shape into vector form first.
Can the picture number 1 traced? Because not of all of them are shapes ( rectangle, octagon etc.) The main one is a logo i got from an AI file. Picture 1 is combination of shapes and the logo from AI file. So still can be traced?
kinnylaw
post May 23 2019, 12:28 PM

48 posts

Edge is not smooth in Illustrator?!? blink.gif

Is your source in vector format?

Like @barista mentioned, you would need to trace it into vector first if your source is not already in vector. Was the logo design in Illustrator? If it is then you shouldn't have any problem with blurry edge.
wailam
post May 23 2019, 12:32 PM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

Got the file? wanna see if I can do it. Dun know bout Ilustrator but usually CorelDraw I can do some laugh.gif
J1g54w
post May 23 2019, 01:00 PM

1,449 posts

If your concern is to have the end result a smooth vector, the best way is to redraw the perimeter of the shape in picture 1 with a Pen Tool. That way you can resize the whole thing as big/small as you want without affecting the quality.
barista
post May 23 2019, 01:04 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 23 2019, 12:26 PM)
Can the picture number 1 traced? Because not of all of them are shapes ( rectangle, octagon etc.) The main one is a logo i got from an AI file. Picture 1 is combination of shapes and the logo from AI file. So still can be traced?
For picture number 1, copy everything to a new layer. Group things together, rasterize them before you do the trace.
TSJay Chua CC
post May 23 2019, 01:33 PM

5,907 posts

THanks all. Figured it out already. Just rasterize them as barista mentioned
TSJay Chua CC
post May 23 2019, 01:34 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 23 2019, 01:04 PM)
For picture number 1, copy everything to a new layer. Group things together, rasterize them before you do the trace.
Thanks !! turn out just rasterize will do
ihillside P
post Jun 15 2019, 10:01 AM

Probation

When you first contact the illustrator, you must have a good foundation.
a-y
post Aug 7 2019, 08:54 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 23 2019, 12:13 PM)
Hi. Currently very new in this. I have this logo shape that i wanted to change. How do i transform it from picture 2 to 1. Now i am using shapes and knife to fill the blanks and cut according to the alphabet outline.

It looks okay when i dint rescale or resize it. After i resize (picture 3), the edges become not smooth.
ANy idea or the right way i should do this?

I am not sure what you are trying to ask here, but correct me if I am wrong you want to create an outline! Its very simple go to Object>path>offset path. Offset Dialog box will open, set the value of offset, select joins (miter, Round or bevel) and miter limit. It should give you the desired result, trying playing with it.

By the way this will only work on a vector file.

This post has been edited by a-y: Aug 7 2019, 08:54 PM
vinnyming
post Sep 6 2019, 08:46 AM

123 posts

From your question, I assume you want to get the shape of the logo. The best way is to go around the outer perimeter of the logo with a PenTool.

0.0148sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:28 AM