How much salary to afford 260k car?

MAGAMan-X
post May 24 2019, 02:30 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ May 23 2019, 09:04 AM)
Since they say don't have big head don't wear so big hat, so when buy car, how much salary is consider big enough head to buy 260k car assuming 10% downpayment?

If too small head and buy expensive car I think salesman also laugh you.

Please advice realistically cos I expect some ppl will say income 1 million and other troll post.. but this is serious kopitiam.
Frankly, you should be earning RM130k per year, MINIMUM. No ifs, no buts.
MAGAMan-X
post May 24 2019, 03:00 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ May 24 2019, 02:53 PM)
yes i can meet but not sure if consider big enough head to make the purchase. i’m very conservative in finance
as someone already pointed out the monthly payment for a 9 year loan is 2.7k, if your average monthly salary is 10k, it *should* be OK. But this is bare minimum, because at RM10k salary, your take home pay is around RM8k only. After you pay your car, you will need to pay for maintenance and ownership costs. You're lucky if you're left with RM5k, which is not much if you have a property or a family to feed. Even if you don't, you'll be looking at lifestyle expenses, eg mobile service, internet service, insurance, rent, etc.

Don't forget, the car is going to cost you a lot more the longer you own it. You will feel A LOT more comfortable buying a car around the RM130k range with a 5 year loan. That's what it is, isn't it? What are you more comfortable with? Are you comfortable staking 9 years of your life on a car? If yes, then go ahead, if not, then downscale.
MAGAMan-X
post May 24 2019, 04:00 PM

764 posts

QUOTE(MasterConfucion @ May 24 2019, 03:07 PM)
yes that is why i dilemma. one hand is as u said to be comfortable with the purchase and leaning to that after all the advice. also the maintenance cost will be much more than the car price. but on another hand i’m still young if i don’t make the purchase now i don’t think i will make it when i’m older due to more things to worry about. also seen how some of ppl i know just suddenly have big issue when they old time and didn’t actually enjoy their life when they young. means they never actually live their life before. when u do stupid things during young time is more forgivable than do stupid things when u r older and society not so lenient to u
Well... we're not going to topics that are outside of that to buying car, but since this is "serious kopitiam", I can share my view.

- I've bought some fancy cars also, it was fun for about a year, then the fun factor wears off. At that point you'll only be thinking about "upgrading"
- It's ok to do stupid things while young, but not ok to do stupid things that you'll pay for when you're older (e.g. getting in jail)
- Young people (i'm saying young people as in those half my age, i.e in their 20's) typically do not know what it is in life that is enjoyable. I know I didn't when I was younger. I only thought I will enjoy the things other people tell me are enjoyable. You need to find out for yourself whether or not you like those things. E.g. clubbing, scuba diving, travelling, etc. Over time, I realize I don't really like some of the things other people like, and after a while, those things are meaningless to me. Is driving a nice car something that you like, or something that other people tell you that you will like? What does it mean to you?

It's a boring thing to think about, because when it comes to buying a nice car, all we can think about is how awesome it will be to get behind that steering wheel, feeling the leather seat, flooring that gas pedal, enjoying the admiration from friends and strangers alike. That too has its value, if you think it will last for years and years until you replace that car. Once that is over, and when looked back, all I can think of when I see another fancy car was "been there, done that".

0.0165sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:35 AM