Matt Reeves's Batman

TS6so
post May 17 2019, 10:24 AM, updated 4y ago

135 posts

https://variety.com/2019/film/news/robert-p...ics-1203125473/

Knee jerk entitled fanboys will start throwing temper tantrum on the internet. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

When you look beyond his Twilight movies, his filmography pretty solid and I did like him in The Rover, The Lost City of Z, and Good Time. On top of that, Christopher Nolan also cast him in his next untitled film.
greyshadow
post May 17 2019, 10:35 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Urm... sparkly boy as Bats?

Sorry, no matter how good he is in recent films, I just can't imagine sparkly boy wearing a cape laugh.gif tongue.gif
His performance in Twilight is just horrible beyond words tongue.gif

btw, lots of backslash from the fanboys already tongue.gif
defaultname365
post May 17 2019, 10:35 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

He's a great actor, seen a few of his works (minus Twilight). I think he'll do well.
TS6so
post May 17 2019, 10:46 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 17 2019, 11:35 AM)

Sorry, no matter how good he is in recent films, I just can't imagine sparkly boy wearing a cape laugh.gif tongue.gif

Well most of those highly regarded film directors see him in a different light than your opinion. brows.gif

Not saying he is perfect casting but wait till the finished movie to be the deciding factor.

Likewise, Michael Keaton, Ben Affleck and Heath Ledger also deems as dumpster fire casting choice by salty fanboys. cool2.gif
gaeria84
post May 17 2019, 10:49 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 17 2019, 10:35 AM)

Well, they hated on Heath Ledger and Ben Affleck also

I think they chose the right actor if they're planning to go long term
He could be the next RDJ hmm.gif
greyshadow
post May 17 2019, 03:06 PM

1,844 posts

oh well,

Sparkly is not the only one they considered to wear the cape
https://deadline.com/2019/05/rob-pattinson-...ves-1202616908/
https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-visi...-batman-1211604
other contenders are:
Nick Hoult, Armie Hammer, and Aaron Taylor-Johnson

but seems Sparkly is their #1 choice for the moment

out of the 4, IMO Armie & Aaron has the much better multi billionaire playboy Wayne look, their body built are more suitable as well

tonYe
post May 17 2019, 03:58 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ May 17 2019, 10:35 AM)
He's a great actor, seen a few of his works (minus Twilight). I think he'll do well.
Totally agree. He's actually a good actor and can easily play Bruce Wayne well. As for Batman himself, not sure yet...
ThalaFan
post May 17 2019, 08:31 PM

His jawline convinced me he'd do fine lol

I can see him as Robin, but as Batman dude needs to bulk up at least 20 lbs
defaultname365
post May 17 2019, 08:52 PM

1,098 posts

It'll be interesting to see how his voice will be. He does have that gloominess that a character like Batman embodies.
area61
post May 17 2019, 11:08 PM

615 posts

i think he is a good choice

brooding and gloomy is what comes to mind when look at him
LightningZERO
post May 17 2019, 11:27 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

A very interesting choice. Guy is a critically acclaimed actor and Matt Reeves is a great director. Once the movie is out everyone is going to be ""PATTINSON BEST BATMAN EVA!!11!!1
briantwj
post May 17 2019, 11:35 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

I reserve my judgement on Pattison. I've only seen his Twilight movies before, not the others. Based on his Twilight's performance, it feels weird casting him.

Let's see how he fares when the movie is out, then I'll judge. But I just can't ppl just bashing the decision. All 'fanboys' just bashing him based on Twilight, which is a bit unjustified. Let's give him a chance. I believe the producer of DC have a solid reason in casting him.
defaultname365
post May 19 2019, 01:06 AM

1,098 posts

Don't forget this happened...

domcobb
post May 23 2019, 11:20 AM

199 posts

Isn’t it interesting, to note just how the mass perceive that whether or not justice is done to a role, lies entirely on the shoulder of the actor; when the truth is, there are many other elements, such as how the character of the role is written (Writer), how much direction is given to the actor who plays the role (Director), how many takes involved, to make allowance for actors to make their performance more organic (Director), and etc, are just as crucial, in ensuring that justice is done to a role, no? hmm.gif

Here’s a successful example.

Here’s a not so successful example.

If the Twilight saga is your only reference point, on Robert Pattinson’s work, then consider checking out his other movies. wink.gif

As for him playing the role of Bruce Wayne/Batman:
If he sucks (pun intended), oh well! shakehead.gif
If he shines (no pun intended), oh whao! notworthy.gif

gaeria84
post May 23 2019, 11:22 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(domcobb @ May 23 2019, 11:20 AM)
Isn’t it interesting, to note just how the mass perceive that whether or not justice is done to a role, lies entirely on the shoulder of the actor; when the truth is, there are many other elements, such as how the character of the role is written (Writer), how much direction is given to the actor who plays the role (Director), how many takes involved, to make allowance for actors to make their performance more organic (Director), and etc, are just as crucial, in ensuring that justice is done to a role, no?  hmm.gif

Here’s a successful example.

Here’s a not so successful example.

If the Twilight saga is your only reference point, on Robert Pattinson’s work, then consider checking out his other movies.  wink.gif

As for him playing the role of Bruce Wayne/Batman:
If he sucks (pun intended), oh well!  shakehead.gif
If he shines (no pun intended), oh whao!  notworthy.gif
The director also directed

Batman will be good at least. laugh.gif
domcobb
post May 23 2019, 11:46 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ May 23 2019, 11:22 AM)
Indeed and once again, what makes or breaks a movie is never rested on the shoulder of one contributing paty i.e. director, write, producer, actor, etc.

Here’s a successful example:

Here’s a not so successful example:

Here’s another not so successful example:

Every director, writer, producer, actor and etc, deserve an equal chance to succeed whenever they are on a new project.
Personally, I don’t think the backlash on Robert Pattinson is necessary.
Let’s just see how it goes, as the date draw closer and as trailers are released periodically.

This post has been edited by domcobb: May 23 2019, 12:54 PM
TS6so
post May 23 2019, 11:47 AM

135 posts

I would surmise majority won't seek out his impressive indie creds. Check out the vid for his range of works.

IMO he is one of those "chameleon" actor who can totally disappear in a role. He took ownership of The Rover and Good Time, just don't see anyone can replace him in those roles.

We live in a time when Common and Halle Berry went all in to train for John Wick films. So playing Batman is all a matter how much work being put into it. There some buzz on his next film that just premier in Cannes for his performance.
TS6so
post Jun 1 2019, 09:54 AM

135 posts

Pattison confirmed!
https://variety.com/2019/film/news/robert-p...man-1203230054/
+Newbie+
post Jun 3 2019, 01:38 AM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

I'm going to wait and see how this turns out before deciding.
domcobb
post Sep 13 2019, 06:22 PM

199 posts

TS6so
post Oct 18 2019, 07:38 AM

135 posts

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-visi...riddler-1248494
Solid casting.
Paul Dano = The Riddler
Zoe Kravitz = Catwoman
Jeffrey Wright = Commissioner Gordon
defaultname365
post Feb 14 2020, 05:42 PM

1,098 posts

Looks great. Well the same was said for Bale and Affleck's version... what's important is the plot biggrin.gif

ThalaFan
post Feb 14 2020, 07:01 PM

Point is...Batfleck's suit was nowhere near as iconic as Nolan's Batman suit.

The bat emblem itself felt like squared...as if been there, done that

This suit looks like it'll restore some pride to Dark Knight suit. I'm not one of those goin gaga over Robert Pattinson's jawline...but it sure stands out.

Yeah. It's all abt plot. Looking at starcast (list of baddies) and Matt Reeves's promise of explorin greatest detective in the world angle sure seems promising. But hey, even BvS was promising. With it's starcast, it's trailer, killer soundtrack whatnot. We all know how it turnd out.

But DC's solo outing this far has been great. Guess this film wud be among em
defaultname365
post Feb 22 2020, 05:39 PM

1,098 posts

Full costume + Bat-bike

The suit looks very 'tactical' and not the brute force Batfleck version. The bike, well, that's interesting...
TS6so
post Feb 22 2020, 06:12 PM

135 posts

Very Samurai Batman like the anime.

This post has been edited by 6so: Feb 22 2020, 06:12 PM
defaultname365
post Mar 5 2020, 04:08 PM

1,098 posts

Batmobile

Looks very "purpose built and grounded" - as in, someone took a car and modified it.
greyshadow
post Mar 5 2020, 04:39 PM

1,844 posts

ThalaFan
post Mar 5 2020, 07:03 PM

Haha. Wtf is this man...bukan macam batmobile...macam F&F Roman & Tej punya 🤣

I know they're attempting to be realistic bla bla bla. But cmon man...it's BATMAN we are talking abt. Wealthiest & smartest detective...should be like Nolan's batmobile

Ini nampak mcm one of those hybrid cars from Furious 7, Fast 8 etc😂
alhambry
post Mar 15 2020, 10:47 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(ThalaFan @ Mar 5 2020, 07:03 PM)
Haha. Wtf is this man...bukan macam batmobile...macam F&F Roman & Tej punya 🤣

I know they're attempting to be realistic bla bla bla. But cmon man...it's BATMAN we are talking abt. Wealthiest & smartest detective...should be like Nolan's batmobile

Ini nampak mcm one of those hybrid cars from Furious 7, Fast 8 etc😂
The movie will be focusing on Bruce's second year as Batman, so he's still learning and experimenting.
ThalaFan
post Mar 15 2020, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(alhambry @ Mar 15 2020, 10:47 PM)
The movie will be focusing on Bruce's second year as Batman, so he's still learning and experimenting.
Really? Where u got this info man? Curious
TS6so
post Mar 16 2020, 03:50 PM

135 posts

That batmobile drew inspiration from Sean Murphy's White Knight who likes to draw muscle car in his storyline. Yes it's confirmed this is a greenhorn Batman who still figuring stuffs out and multi villain arc ala The Long Halloween.
ThalaFan
post Mar 16 2020, 04:17 PM

Why la always like this?

It's either battle-hardened, no fckin around Batfleck version we got in BvS, or green hornet...

Seems Nolan's trilogy is only version that has ideal Batman version.

Dats not to say I didn't enjoy Batfleck or not anticipating this Matt Reeves version...of course, it wud present more drama, tension with all those baddies facin Batman. Just sayin, would like a more....balanced take. Not too green, or veteran😂😂😂
TS6so
post Mar 16 2020, 06:48 PM

135 posts

Take a chill pill. It's anyone's guess how well and bad this Batman gonna be. At least wait until the trailer drops then only raise your pitchfork...
cybpsych
post Aug 21 2020, 10:44 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

defaultname365
post Aug 23 2020, 12:05 AM

1,098 posts

This is the look they're going for.... can't wait!

We could have a teaser at Fandome 2020.
dex-brz
post Aug 23 2020, 12:52 PM

126 posts

trailer is out smile.gif
TS6so
post Aug 23 2020, 01:28 PM

135 posts

Pretty sure the trailer broke the internet. Stoke that Paul Dano is the lead villain. Think you can catch a glimpse of Penguin in one of the cutaway. Getting serious Long Halloween vibe from what they're after.
defaultname365
post Aug 23 2020, 02:09 PM

1,098 posts

Oh sweeet lawddd.... thumbup.gif

So dark... like R-rated only

That beatdown. That "I'm vengeance" (instead of the usual "I'm Batman"), that Batmobile rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Aug 23 2020, 03:04 PM
patnam
post Aug 23 2020, 09:27 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 23 2020, 02:09 PM)
Oh sweeet lawddd....  thumbup.gif 

So dark... like R-rated only

That beatdown. That "I'm vengeance" (instead of the usual "I'm Batman"), that Batmobile  rclxm9.gif
should be "I'm vengeance, I'm the night, I'M BATMAN!!"...
TS6so
post Aug 25 2020, 10:39 AM

135 posts

Internet sleuths deciphering the trailer. If it's a trilogy they are planning, can see them using Court of Owls arc as final chapter to keep the theme of hidden hand influencing Gotham's corruption.
skystrike
post Aug 26 2020, 12:46 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

I like the darkness of this trailer..
lilredridinghood
post Aug 26 2020, 11:57 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

My one minor issue with the Batman, based on the clipped trailer, so I might be wrong is that, Batman is supposed to be calm and collected, that punching scene is satisfying but at the same time, brute, which is very out of the Batman’s character.

That said, this is a younger Batman, a younger Bruce Wayne
TS6so
post Aug 26 2020, 03:39 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Aug 26 2020, 12:57 PM)
My one minor issue with the Batman, based on the clipped trailer, so I might be wrong is that, Batman is supposed to be calm and collected, that punching scene is satisfying but at the same time, brute, which is very out of the Batman’s character.

It's Year 2 Batman, he is still the rough around the edges version. It's charting his progression to be the full fledged Batman as mentioned by the film director's talk during the Fandome event. Not saying your point is not fair, just that they are portraying a different iteration. Batfleck also out of character with his branding of criminals and not holding back using firearms...just saying!
lilredridinghood
post Aug 26 2020, 03:52 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Aug 26 2020, 03:39 PM)
It's Year 2 Batman, he is still the rough around the edges version. It's charting his progression to be the full fledged Batman as mentioned by the film director's talk during the Fandome event. Not saying your point is not fair, just that they are portraying a different iteration. Batfleck also out of character with his branding of criminals and not holding back using firearms...just saying!
Hahaha, fair and i did point that out too, however it is only a few scenes and it is unfair for me to judge it based on that itself.

Batfleck sucked, hated the short horns too.

ThalaFan
post Aug 26 2020, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Aug 26 2020, 11:57 AM)

Perhaps he is venting his anger on 1 goon to stop a dozen that cause unnecessary chaos, and seems understandable with Bats already having his plate full with Riddler, Penguin, Batwomen etc.
lilredridinghood
post Aug 26 2020, 06:11 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(ThalaFan @ Aug 26 2020, 06:00 PM)
Perhaps he is venting his anger on 1 goon to stop a dozen that cause unnecessary chaos, and seems understandable with Bats already having his plate full with Riddler, Penguin, Batwomen etc.
Cat woman haha
rubrubrub
post Aug 26 2020, 08:45 PM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(6so @ May 17 2019, 10:24 AM)
https://variety.com/2019/film/news/robert-p...ics-1203125473/

Knee jerk entitled fanboys will start throwing temper tantrum on the internet. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

When you look beyond his Twilight movies, his filmography pretty solid and I did like him in The Rover, The Lost City of Z, and Good Time. On top of that, Christopher Nolan also cast him in his next untitled film.
i like him quite a lot in water for elephants (right after twilight i think). This guy has acting chops
ThalaFan
post Aug 26 2020, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Aug 26 2020, 06:11 PM)
Cat woman haha
Typo lol. I think she might join Bats side, while Penguin for now seems like just those middle-men character helping Bats to reach Riddler.

I think if the film delivers at least what's shown in the film along with that "detective" angle well, this film would blow every DC film past & present. What-if Joaquin Phoenix makes an appearance? Boi, that wud be dope
lilredridinghood
post Aug 27 2020, 07:28 AM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(ThalaFan @ Aug 26 2020, 10:37 PM)
Typo lol. I think she might join Bats side, while Penguin for now seems like just those middle-men character helping Bats to reach Riddler.

I think if the film delivers at least what's shown in the film along with that "detective" angle well, this film would blow every DC film past & present. What-if Joaquin Phoenix makes an appearance? Boi, that wud be dope
But one thing is for sure, Robert Pattinson as Bruce Wayne looks dope so far
ThalaFan
post Aug 27 2020, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Aug 27 2020, 07:28 AM)
But one thing is for sure, Robert Pattinson as Bruce Wayne looks dope so far
I thought there was only like 2-3 shots showed Rob as Bruce Wayne...savin a bystander/Mayor from rampaging car..and that final shot where he looked like Sean Sebastian aka Bucky aka the Winter Soldier😂

I think he's already sold as Batman. His bashing-up scene (action) served as leverage to an otherwise pretty villain/Riddler dominated teaser trailer. Showed that Batman himself can be brutal mfker when it comes to kicking arse

Gotta give Matt Reeves credits where its due. He is one smart fella choosing Year 2 Bats. Shud he selected origin or Year 1 Batman...he's gotta show all-over the Wayne family, his isolation, the training, etc

With Year 2 Batman, you can get some straight-up criminal world in Gotham plot & action oriented tale.
TS6so
post Aug 27 2020, 05:57 PM

135 posts

Just talking through my speculative ass, a follow-up sequel could based on Hush which again a multi villain arc that redefined things we comes to know about the Wayne's childhood trauma. As the rabbit hole leads to Court of Owls in the 3rd film. Also do wonder will Andy Serkis's Alfred takes inspiration from the Earth One version, his assertive VO kinda indicates he is not the servant type of butler. The Earth One Alfred, a badass ex-soldier who mentors Bruce Wayne rather than a caretaker.
cybpsych
post Oct 6 2020, 01:25 PM

---------------------
65,324 posts

The Batman moves to March 4, 2022 premiere after Dune takes its premiere date, Oct. 1, 2021

In a statement, WB also announced other delays:

The Flash is moving from June 3, 2022, to Nov. 4, 2022
Shazam 2 from Nov. 4, 2022, to June 2, 2023
Black Adam (previously Dec. 22, 2021) and Minecraft (previously March 4, 2022) are now undated.

The next Matrix film, however, is headed for an earlier release. It's moving from April 1, 2022, to Dec. 12, 2021.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Oct 6 2020, 01:28 PM
TS6so
post Oct 17 2021, 11:11 AM

135 posts

So the internet broken again by Batman trailer....
defaultname365
post Oct 17 2021, 06:45 PM

1,098 posts

So brutal until villain says "Take it easy" bruce.gif biggrin.gif
tkn0811
post Oct 17 2021, 09:17 PM

40 posts

The Batman's main theme macam epic...!!
ghost420
post Dec 7 2021, 09:32 AM

22 posts

The new batmobile seems interesting
defaultname365
post Dec 28 2021, 02:15 AM

1,098 posts

Explosive, dark and looks very detective-esque. The Bat & The Cat rclxms.gif

The Riddler knows the identity behind that mask shocking.gif
TS6so
post Dec 28 2021, 08:38 AM

135 posts

They managed to give a personality to the batmobile. It's like a character in it's own, sorta like Nolan's Tumbler. Every trailer, there's drop the mic moments. The first one with unhinged punching of the joker thug. The second one with body tanking machine guns and the upside down walking pose. Now you have that car flipping and the fight at the end of trailer. MCU just crammed your screen with inconsequential cgi. Guess that's the difference between director-centric and studio-centric filmmaking. Also there's a rumour that Barry Keoghan is in an undisclosed villain role.

This post has been edited by 6so: Dec 28 2021, 08:45 AM
miyakochan89
post Dec 28 2021, 03:32 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

Batman needs a good psychologist! FAST!
defaultname365
post Jan 14 2022, 02:34 AM

1,098 posts

Unfortunately it will be PG-13 instead of R.

https://screenrant.com/the-batman-pg-13-rat...lash-explained/

Bummer, though apparently it is said it doesn't affect the story.
TS6so
post Jan 14 2022, 07:12 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 14 2022, 03:34 AM)
Unfortunately it will be PG-13 instead of R.

https://screenrant.com/the-batman-pg-13-rat...lash-explained/

Bummer, though apparently it is said it doesn't affect the story.
None of the Nolan's Batman are R-rated. You get r-rated for nudity, strong language and excessive violence. Just some over reacting internet morons got twisted in their panties. There are a lot of edgy movies that are pg13 but looks very much r-rated. Venom, first Suicide Squad, Edge of Tomorrow, etc...
TS6so
post Jan 24 2022, 07:37 AM

135 posts

Pretty intense clip.
tkn0811
post Jan 24 2022, 11:54 AM

40 posts

the main theme already out...

defaultname365
post Jan 25 2022, 01:06 AM

1,098 posts

"A Batman movie where he's a detective solving things" bruce.gif

skylinelover
post Jan 25 2022, 12:36 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,256 posts

Haha 2 more months 2 go laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
gaeria84
post Jan 27 2022, 10:52 PM

837 posts

Not gonna watch the clips/tv spots

Need to hide in a cave to avoid spoilers till the release date
defaultname365
post Mar 1 2022, 10:10 AM

1,098 posts

So far the reception has been great.

Reviews point to the film being super dark and gritty.

Hope to catch it end of the week.

zuhaili87
post Mar 2 2022, 02:19 PM

2,094 posts

Wow, the batman is definitely one of a kind batman. The world’s greatest detective indeed! And there’s the Joker!! My goodness. Can’t wait for more!
sos_tiram
post Mar 2 2022, 02:43 PM

42 posts

Now this is detective batman! not gonna type more, just watch it biggrin.gif
tzxsean
post Mar 2 2022, 05:56 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

the movie is damn long 3 hours

Some part abit boring but overall quite okay

Although still “too dark” but i like the tone

However i dun like the casting of cat woman though … seems don’t really match RP
TS6so
post Mar 2 2022, 06:39 PM

135 posts

First of all temper your expectations, this is not a crowd pleasing superhero movie. You don't get to see the playboy Bruce Wayne but just a very recluse Batman. He is the shadow that stalks you and still working out his psychological issues. Well Paul Dano's Riddler is one anxiety inducing villain and a capable foil to Batman's righteousness. To a large extent, the action sequences is not the main focus. it's the building up of Riddler terrorizing Gotham city. It's a very dense movie with many moving parts. Don't expect this is a fast paced movie, especially the second act. Catwoman and her chemistry with Batman is very sensual. Then the side characters like Alfred, Gordon, Penguin, and etc...were given enough emphasis to the mystery. At the end, you get to see a pivotal character growth to Pattinson's Batman. This is more like a 70's crime thriller as supposed to modern crash, bang, boom eye candy like MCU. I would believe this movie directed by David Fincher or Darren Aronofsky. So I'm really digging it and there's plenty of room for Pattinson to shape this Batman further as he transition to wearing the Bruce Wayne mask after his psychhological breakthrough. From comic book perspective, it's a pastiche of Batman Ego, The Long Halloween and Batman Year One all roll into one movie.

This movie is the testament why MCU will never get the critical prestige it was hoping to get. The filmmaking craft is something the mouse house can never achieve. This movie also shows you don't have to relegate good actors to just inconsequential secondary roles. Even limited screen presence Peter Sarsgaard and John Turturro able to act and be integral to the overall narrative. Greg Fraser's cinematography is in Roger Deakins level. The score by Michael Giacchino provide something different from the usual Hans Zimmer copycats and it's awesome. Pretty sure this movie will get nominated multiple times during awards season for technical achievements.
Mov_freak
post Mar 2 2022, 07:20 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Batman (2022)

If you had told me in 1997 that this movie would exist in 2022, after I had watch Batman and Robin, I would have thought you are pulling my leg.

These two movies are night and day.

I actually heard there are fans of Batman and Robin and they are not wrong.

That movie was target at very specific audience (kids) and this movie, well for lovers of good cinema.

For some odd reason there were resistance to this movie before it was release.

Robert Pattinson casting was controversial. Criticism about his previous works. About his work attics. About troubles in set etc.

I will add this, from the first frame Batman enters the movie, I was sold.

His entrance is AMAZING.

There are elements of Batman The Long Halloween here.

The transition from comic to film is very flesh out. I mean LITERALLY!!

The production value of this movie is off the charts

The casting is first rate. The Penguin is fantastic. Colin Farrell is unrecognizable and IS The Penguin. Jeffrey Wright is GREAT as Captain Gordon.

Many people forgets that Batman started in Detective Comics.

It was Crime Noir

This movie does not forget and the whole movies is solving a mystery... A mystery called The Riddler!

I am not sure this movie is for everyone.

This is different from Nolan's and Christian's works.

This is a THINKING movie.

I for one is appreciative.

My Two Sen
gaeria84
post Mar 2 2022, 11:06 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Mar 2 2022, 05:56 PM)
the movie is damn long 3 hours

Some part abit boring but overall quite okay

Although still “too dark” but i like the tone

However i dun like the casting of cat woman though … seems don’t really match RP
This film is an experience, so lucky i was not tempted to watch the tv spots

Highlights for me
Batman's first appearance
Car chase
When the riddler got arrested (that creepy smile is the stuff of nightmares)

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Mar 2 2022, 11:06 PM
ELinawa
post Mar 3 2022, 07:06 PM

203 posts

Im wondering how Vengence(they dont call batman as "batman') able to creeping behind anyone.
His steps are LOUD.

P/S: Batmobile startup gives me chills.. and its speed is real. If there is no obstacle, the chase scene would be end in 1 minute.

This post has been edited by ELinawa: Mar 3 2022, 07:09 PM
Leto
post Mar 4 2022, 02:18 PM

214 posts

different but boring + too draggy

domcobb
post Mar 5 2022, 03:22 PM

199 posts

“The Batman” in a strange way, is unlike any other Batman movie that I have watched and yet, it is exactly how I wanted a Batman movie to be!

Ever since I learned that this movie follows a detective-like, cat and mouse chase format, which is fitting, considering Batman is the world’s greatest detective, I had always wanted it to emulate movies such as “Se7en” or “Zodiac” … well, more of the former than the latter, for my preference, if I may say so.

I can’t remember when was the last time I’d watched a really good crime / mystery / thriller movie, like “Se7en” and there I was, last night, watching “The Batman”

No spoiler.

The opening scene itself confirmed for me, that I was back on the crime / mystery / thriller ride and what a ride this movie was for me!

Yes, “The Batman” is close to 3 hours of runtime and yet, while I did feel the length of the movie on a subconscious level, never once did I wish that the movie end soon. As a matter of fact, I actually didn’t want it to end, as every scene played out, was interesting on its own way, clueing you in on the world of Gotham and it corruption level, the Riddler’s personal quest and Batman’s pursuit on the matter and the truth.

The more of this world got exposed or revealed, the more invested I became on it, hence, I didn’t want the movie to end. Wishful thinking, I know.

It is interesting to note that though the movie was shot, perhaps 90% of time, in the dark, its action sequences, be it hand to hand combat or car chase scenes, are easily comprehensible! Unlike certain other movies where it is still confusing despite having its action scenes shot in daylight.

I have always enjoyed crime / mystery / thriller movie genre and for the uninitiated, movies of such genre, when it is done right, generally requires time for its momentum to be built upon its ever-escalating situation presented in said movie, thus, leading to characters development, rising up to take on the challenges, and ultimately, paying the price.

“The Batman” is not for everyone; at the very least, I imagine it is not for someone who is expecting a fast-paced, action-packed, movie experience.

“The Batman” is, by far, the most Batman-live-action-Batman-movie, for me and I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed watching it last night.

This post has been edited by domcobb: Mar 5 2022, 09:31 PM
G_KeN
post Mar 6 2022, 01:30 AM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

Hands down the best superhero movie ive seen since Infinity wars.

Its a mystery thriller with batman & the riddler as the main characters, and we finally get to see the world's greatest detective in action.

Well paced (for this type of movie, but can be considered as slow if you expect it to be your typical action fest superhero movie), good writing (no crringey dialogues from nolan batman lol), excellent musical score.

Definitely deserving of the high praises from movie critics.

The movie is somewhat a meshup of se7en & saw with the pacing of blade runner 2049.

And i have no idea how this movie is PG-13 certified lmao

This post has been edited by G_KeN: Mar 6 2022, 01:39 AM
skylinelover
post Mar 6 2022, 09:22 PM

11,256 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Mar 6 2022, 01:30 AM)
Hands down the best superhero movie ive seen since Infinity wars.

Its a mystery thriller with batman & the riddler as the main characters, and we finally get to see the world's greatest detective in action.

Well paced (for this type of movie, but can be considered as slow if you expect it to be your typical action fest superhero movie), good writing (no crringey dialogues from nolan batman lol), excellent musical score.

Definitely deserving of the high praises from movie critics.

The movie is somewhat a meshup of se7en & saw with the pacing of blade runner 2049.

And i have no idea how this movie is PG-13 certified lmao
Haha the movie is borderline hitting R but still manage 2 step back just a little bit laugh.gif laugh.gif

Can say its on par with indiana jones 2 of G rating with bloody saw off hands laugh.gif laugh.gif

Historically PG13 started because of this grey area
skylinelover
post Mar 6 2022, 09:30 PM

11,256 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Mar 1 2022, 10:10 AM)
So far the reception has been great.

Reviews point to the film being super dark and gritty.

Hope to catch it end of the week.

On par with The Godfather duology

Haha nice

PS : i count Godfather 3 the failure laugh.gif laugh.gif
greyshadow
post Mar 7 2022, 11:56 AM

1,844 posts

First, this is not a superhero movie that's gonna please everyone, especially those already got brainwashed by MCU tongue.gif

Second, don't go watch after a full lunch in the afternoon
you gonna doze off at some of the slower scenes like me laugh.gif 3 hours is a bit too long... with all the dark scenes, slow pace and cold aircon... Zzzz...

Lastly, I wouldn't rate it as the best superheroes movies, but aint the worst, it's just mediocre at best for me
Some are praising the relationship between the bat and the cat? but I find them lacking chemistry, and their relationship is kinda... forced on?
Penguin lacks development... for those who has no idea about the DC universe, they'll be clueless about him
Patt's version of Bats? hmm.gif IMO it's more like Cullen's Bats, pale & emo minus the sparkles tongue.gif

6.5/10 for me
demio121
post Mar 7 2022, 12:23 PM

2,084 posts

The Batman is a different kinda Batman. Not the worst but to me, its not the best either. The Dark Knight is still my fav Batman.

The problem i have with The Batman is the pace vs. the runtime. i am alright with the direction of the Matt Reeves. early year Batman. Gordon is still not the commissioner yet.
. The Batman skip the "how bruce become Batman" part (i mean how many time do we need to see this???). all this is new and refreshing. however, almost 3hr of detective and probably the least action of all modern Batman interpretation. that is a bit hard for me to swallow.

what i like about the batman:

2. zoe kravitz as selina kyle.... i mean she just own catwoman
3. the batman stare... a few scene batman stare down the police, its the pandangan maut.
4. this is not the Jim Carrey' Riddler. here, Riddler is intelligent and twisted, like Heath's Joker. always a step ahead of Batman.
5. the chemistry btw Jim Gordon and Batman. not just someone who flip the bat sign spotlight and passing info. Jim and Batman here were in crime scene together going thru clues solving the crime. there is a more meaningful role to Jim Gordon here.

what is which is done better:
1. the pace. 3hrs of detective is kinda a drag for me.

if you expect something along the line of Marvel, this is very very far from that. its not even close to the dark knight trilogy. this is basically a detective story with a superhero. if only they dial up the pace, a little more action.... then the 3hrs is justified.

This post has been edited by demio121: Mar 7 2022, 12:24 PM
TS6so
post Mar 7 2022, 01:21 PM

135 posts

I've been scouring some press junket vids. So 2 HBO shows, "Gotham" focus on Batman Year One timeline and 2nd show is about Arkham. Riddler's cell mate was caught by Batman during year one. A deleted scene will be published near home release about Batman interrogating the cell mate.Should a sequel forthcoming, Matt Reeves want to explore Mr.Freeze.
Shrayder
post Mar 7 2022, 11:54 PM

I fell asleep multiple times during the first arc. Also the soundtrack is sooo ungodly bad. But i like the pacing of the story
AmenoJaku
post Mar 8 2022, 08:53 AM

39 posts

I had high hopes. Due to Pattinson mostly, when he was announced as the new Batman. He was superb in Tenet.

But, alas, my wife had to wake me up several times during the movie. That's bad. Main problem is the pacing. Very very draggy. I can't even give a proper review since i slept past many scenes.

IIRC other movies that made me sleep were Star Wars The Last Jedi & Godzilla King of Monsters.
ikram_p
post Mar 8 2022, 10:21 PM

995 posts

I like the movie so much... For me, its better thn nolan trilogy. Its detective movie, once mystery is solved. No suprise to watch a second time. Unless you want to find details in it.
ikram_p
post Mar 8 2022, 10:21 PM

995 posts

I like the movie so much... For me, its better thn nolan trilogy. Its detective movie, once mystery is solved. No suprise to watch a second time. Unless you want to find details in it.
damnself
post Mar 8 2022, 10:56 PM

244 posts

So pattison batman is not in the same universe with dceu. So sad 😢
hybr1d3d
post Mar 9 2022, 12:10 AM

101 posts

thanks for the review guys... at my age im easily dooze off in cinema, I'd wait for HBO MAX release next month so I can watch and pause whenever I want

xpole
post Mar 10 2022, 03:42 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

I've never watched the previous Nolan Batman so I cannot comment on that.

I've watched the latest Batman yesterday and to be honest I enjoyed it so much. The movie feels so solid and I can see the quality for this movie production. It doesn't feel cheap like some Marvel movies

This post has been edited by xpole: Mar 10 2022, 03:48 PM
kitt2000
post Mar 10 2022, 09:36 PM

13 posts

The batsuit looks like Netflix daredevil's costume... especially the cowl part...and I'm not a fan of muscle car batmobile...
kitt2000
post Mar 10 2022, 09:37 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(damnself @ Mar 8 2022, 10:56 PM)
So pattison batman is not in the same universe with dceu. So sad 😢
Yeah phoenix joker also not part of dceu...
kitt2000
post Mar 10 2022, 09:49 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Mar 2 2022, 06:39 PM)
First of all temper your expectations, this is not a crowd pleasing superhero movie. You don't get to see the playboy Bruce Wayne but just a very recluse Batman. He is the shadow that stalks you and still working out his psychological issues. Well Paul Dano's Riddler is one anxiety inducing villain and a capable foil to Batman's righteousness. To a large extent, the action sequences is not the main focus. it's the building up of Riddler terrorizing Gotham city. It's a very dense movie with many moving parts. Don't expect this is a fast paced movie, especially the second act. Catwoman and her chemistry with Batman is very sensual. Then the side characters like Alfred, Gordon, Penguin, and etc...were given enough emphasis to the mystery. At the end, you get to see a pivotal character growth to Pattinson's Batman. This is more like a 70's crime thriller as supposed to modern crash, bang, boom eye candy like MCU. I would believe this movie directed by David Fincher or Darren Aronofsky. So I'm really digging it and there's plenty of room for Pattinson to shape this Batman further as he transition to wearing the Bruce Wayne mask after his psychhological breakthrough. From comic book perspective, it's a pastiche of Batman Ego, The Long Halloween and Batman Year One all roll into one movie.

This movie is the testament why MCU will never get the critical prestige it was hoping to get. The filmmaking craft is something the mouse house can never achieve. This movie also shows you don't have to relegate good actors to just inconsequential secondary roles. Even limited screen presence Peter Sarsgaard and John Turturro able to act and be integral to the overall narrative. Greg Fraser's cinematography is in Roger Deakins level. The score by Michael Giacchino provide something different from the usual Hans Zimmer copycats and it's awesome. Pretty sure this movie will get nominated multiple times during awards season for technical achievements.

At least I didn't fell asleep watching end game.. lol.. can't say the same for this batman.lol...
TS6so
post Mar 11 2022, 07:34 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(kitt2000 @ Mar 10 2022, 10:49 PM)
At least I didn't fell asleep watching end game.. lol.. can't say the same for this batman.lol...
Well...you are not a man of culture! No shame in admitting you are unsophisticated...lol...
Currylaksa
post Mar 11 2022, 10:15 AM

1,616 posts

I like how Gotham needs major supervillain bombing to banjir

Meanwhile Malaysia a little bit hujan terus kena biggrin.gif

Who needs Riddler when we have tengku adnan laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Currylaksa: Mar 11 2022, 10:15 AM
skylinelover
post Mar 12 2022, 06:48 PM

11,256 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Mar 11 2022, 10:15 AM)
I like how Gotham needs major supervillain bombing to banjir

Meanwhile Malaysia a little bit hujan terus kena biggrin.gif

Who needs Riddler when we have tengku adnan laugh.gif
Hahahaha

You know i know lah
defaultname365
post Mar 25 2022, 02:48 AM

1,098 posts

Whoa... deleted scene (ending):

I thought the theatrical release ending was nothing more than to hype up the audience but seeing that they have shown the character in full here with extensive dialogue, very likely this continues in the sequel.

rx330
post Mar 25 2022, 10:01 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Mar 25 2022, 02:48 AM)
Whoa... deleted scene (ending):

I thought the theatrical release ending was nothing more than to hype up the audience but seeing that they have shown the character in full here with extensive dialogue, very likely this continues in the sequel.
I tot it was 2 face initially laugh.gif laugh.gif
TS6so
post Mar 25 2022, 11:59 AM

135 posts

It looks like Lee Bermejo illustration came alive. The exaggerated lips scarring. The other disfigurement shows someone took a dive in an acid pool. Glad Barry Keoghan killing it and supposed how much noise this will make to guarantee him in sequel.
greyshadow
post Mar 25 2022, 02:37 PM

1,844 posts

IMO that deleted scene is out of place for the whole movie, glad they cut it out of an already draggy movie.

Bruce has just starting as Batman, even he already caught Joker early on, doubt they have developed this relationship so early until Batman will go seek advice from Joker at the asylum
skylinelover
post Apr 2 2022, 06:48 PM

11,256 posts

Haha nice laugh.gif rclxms.gif

0.0482sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:00 AM