> Most cake in Malaysia made by planta, Instead of butter

System Error Message
post Sep 9 2019, 03:33 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Apr 30 2019, 02:07 PM)
There's one cream bread selling at 7-Eleven, can't remember it's from Gardenia or High 5.

On the label it says butter + salt but when I check the ingredients it's margarine lol.
This is a big problem with malaysia, they are dishonest. a few months ago i found out one local company selling "imported" honey was very dishonest. From genuine they started mixing. Before ants wouldnt touch it, latest batch i bought 2 months ago filled with ants. Ants do not touch real honey.

Random generic honey i bought in the UK brought back to malaysia, no ants touched.

Brand in question is al-shifa, not owned by muslims but by a chinese company, so expect more dishonesty like this, seems like we are just as bad as nigerians.
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 30 2019, 02:09 PM)
even the butter block sold in our supermarket aren't real butter
look at the back and you'll see it contains no milk at all

only maybe 15% out of all sold is real butter(price will tell) and must be imported
We have locally made real butter, just not enough. Farmcows brand is the cheapest you can get thats locally made (rm 3.75 from speedmart) if you want to bake, a decent alternative to margarine.

Margarine is made from plant oil. While unsaturated fats are good, when you process them they turn into transfats. This is why you have to becareful which oil you use for high temperature cooking. Too much saturated fats are bad, but any transfat is bad. Although planta has 0.8% transfat content, means its still not good (same with other margarine). Some of the stick ones are the worst offender that dont tell you how much transfat they have. 0.8% transfat is lower than the past, but will not sell in the EU, not even naturel's light margarine with only 0.4%.

Price of imported butter has been steadily increasing, even though our currency is now better. Profiteering at its best. We do have local butter (like farm cows, buttercup, etc) but all of them are mixed with vegetable oil because not enough supply. i've tried it and its decent but does not compare to the butter we import from south.

So technically roti canai made from margarine is healthier because it is lacking in saturated fats that both butter and ghee are rich in, however the main concern with some margarines like planta is that they source some things from animals (written on label), question is what animal/part and is it halal.

Just read the nutritional label. Butter mixed with vegetable oil is the best as you get some saturated fats, unsaturated fats, no trans fats and thats the healthiest combination. However you must not cook with margarine or mixed butter because the trans fats you get in margarine is when you process unsaturated fats and heat can cause them to turn into trans fats too, so if you want to use margarine for cooking, make sure the temperature is consistently kept well below 180C (minimum frying temperature). This does limit its use for making roti canai if that was the temperature. Temperature not heat, you may not feel it on a pan unless you feel it yourself or use a thermometer as air is a bad heat conductor.

Some vegetable oils like olive and palm oil are good for high temperatures since they stay stable a lot better, reducing the formation trans fats. Sunflower, corn, and etc oil are actually worse for frying or any temperature higher than 180C since they arent stable at that high temperatures and breakdown forming transfat (where your fried food diseases come from, other than hygiene).

So next time you eat roti canai, you may want to consider soft rather than crispy if margarine is used. Dont want too high temperatures.
SUSRojak2u
post Sep 9 2019, 03:34 PM

67 posts

Real butter expensive bro. But quality sure gooding one
fu'house
post Sep 9 2019, 03:36 PM

553 posts

Komplen pandai. Tell which mamak will use butter not margerine or palm oil to cook roti canai?
killerpigglet
post Sep 9 2019, 03:36 PM

135 posts

Where u eat ur cakes? Pasar malam ke?

7 Pages « < 5 6 7

0.0151sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:45 AM