Blu-ray disk rotting scandal (spots inside disk), Pix inside

TSg5sim
post Jun 23 2007, 03:33 AM, updated 19y ago

5,756 posts

Hopefully this wont effect game softwares. These people should maintain the cleanest enviroment in manufacturing and replicating disks. This happening to new disks is utterly embarrassing!

Blu-ray Has Got the Pox

By Mark Fleischmann June 19, 2007 - Whatever the HD DVD people are doing with their voodoo dolls, it seems to be working. Blu-ray is enduring its first defective-product scandal, with discs breaking out in spots.

Multiple reports have surfaced in the AVScience Forum-click to see unedited pictures-with most centering on The Prestige. The imperfections are variously described as blotches, specks, or spots. And the problem is severe enough to prevent some discs from playing.
Several readers reported checking their discs. Some found blemishes, others did not.

The initial poster said the disc surface felt smooth when he ran his fingertip over it. That might mean the outer protective coating is intact and the rot lies deeper down. Is the problem with the metallized layer which reflects light back to the laser? At this point, we can only speculate.

The story is drawing skeptical reactions in the somewhat more partisan forum at Blu-ray.com, where some readers attribute the news to FUD (the sowing of fear, uncertainty, and doubt). These rot reports began on the very day that Blockbuster announced it would stock Blu-ray in most stores to the exclusion of HD DVD.

Optical-disc rot is nothing new. The laserdisc format endured its own "laser rot" scandal in the 1980s. There have also been sporadic reports of rotting DVDs.
SUSleenaz
post Jun 23 2007, 08:05 AM

29 posts

after this maybe got hiv viruses on blue ray disc
tongue.gif
rx330
post Jun 23 2007, 09:41 AM

11,811 posts

mine is a bit different a few of my disc, had this wave effect in it, it only happens aftter played and a period of time

but playback or whatsoever has been fine, just the wave effect on the disc nia
TSg5sim
post Jun 23 2007, 10:47 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 23 2007, 09:41 AM)
mine is a bit different a few of my disc, had this wave effect in it, it only happens aftter played and a period of time

but playback or whatsoever has been fine, just the wave effect on the disc nia
as long as its playing then should be okay kua tongue.gif
rx330
post Jun 23 2007, 11:10 AM

11,811 posts

hopefully lor, but its a freaking weird pattern, i would tray and see is it possible to get it on picutre and post it here
sunauto
post Jun 23 2007, 11:20 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The pictures don't look real to me because I have seen how the actual disc rotting looks like for my dvds and cds (yeah, original ones). It doesn't affect all but certain copies pressed earlier when the format was first launched. I guess someone out there trying to tarnish the blu-ray format by publishing such photos. The source can't be verified though. Of course, I'm not saying that it won't happen but for a brand new movie, it's impossible that it will just start to rot away just like that. It normally takes a few years.
TSg5sim
post Jun 23 2007, 12:20 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jun 23 2007, 11:20 AM)
The pictures don't look real to me because I have seen how the actual disc rotting looks like for my dvds and cds (yeah, original ones). It doesn't affect all but certain copies pressed earlier when the format was first launched. I guess someone out there trying to tarnish the blu-ray format by publishing such photos. The source can't be verified though. Of course, I'm not saying that it won't happen but for a brand new movie, it's impossible that it will just start to rot away just like that. It normally takes a few years.
that is not the only picture posted. The case have been reported by numerous forummers at AVS forum. its now in its 11 pages in the discussion. if you have Prestige - wont hurt to check it out wink.gif
one more pic:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....t=857067&page=1

Added on June 23, 2007, 12:27 pm
Paidgeek:

Thanks for checking into this issue. Assuming that the one affected title you are referring to is the Prestige, a few people on this thread reported a similar issue with a few other titles: Stranger than Fiction, Gone in Sixty Seconds and the Departed (I cut and pasted another member's tally below)

Could you please check on these additional titles as well please? Thanks.

Venom 5 Prestige
MaxDam77 prestige
digason prestige
nynytony prestige
iLLLLLxiLLLLLx prestige
Carman 24 prestige
Bart122580 Prestige?
elbie prestige?
Michael000 Prestige
HumanMedia Stranger than Fiction
phansson prestige
KstateGRCOAT Departed
Surpher Stranger than Fiction
Dbburns Prestige
Band of Brothers gone in 60 seconds
Jon Spackman Prestige
JohnSteph10 Prestige

12 people with Prestige rot, 2 - stranger than fiction, 1 each for Gone is 60 second and The Departed.

a sony insider in the forum has offered replacement disk if the rotting involve any Sony titles. Even Sony is acknowledging the problem wink.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Jun 23 2007, 12:27 PM
Hollow
post Jun 23 2007, 07:46 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jun 23 2007, 12:20 PM)
that is not the only picture posted. The case have been reported by numerous forummers at AVS forum. its now in its 11 pages in the discussion. if you have Prestige - wont hurt to check it out wink.gif
one more pic:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....t=857067&page=1

Added on June 23, 2007, 12:27 pm

12 people with Prestige rot, 2 - stranger than fiction, 1 each for Gone is 60 second and The Departed.
a sony insider in the forum has offered replacement disk if the rotting involve any Sony titles. Even Sony is acknowledging the problem wink.gif
Atleast they r willing to offer them replacement discs and not just ignore them biggrin.gif nod.gif
snipersnake
post Jun 23 2007, 08:35 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

if you guys follow the forum from page one, you will know that this is a manufacturing problem, not the media format problem wink.gif
ikanayam
post Jun 24 2007, 12:47 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

The prestige discs are slowly disappearing. How apt. lol.
redken
post Jun 24 2007, 01:00 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

Just now i had a peek a Blu Ray demo. Does it look like a blown up dvd to u guys? The jaggy subtitles are really a sight for sore eyes at 50 inch. They could at least do something about it since so much hype have already surrounded this format.
ikanayam
post Jun 24 2007, 01:33 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

Subtitle smoothing should be a function of the player/tv i believe, the format should not affect that.
rx330
post Jun 24 2007, 02:21 AM

11,811 posts

where u saw the demo? i saw it once in sony style with its 52 incher X series, bad pq as well, or is it just DVD upscaled?

my fren is playing BD on his HD projector, shud be ard 70 inch and above, everything looks perfect biggrin.gif
TSg5sim
post Jun 24 2007, 05:46 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Jun 24 2007, 12:47 AM)
The prestige discs are slowly disappearing. How apt. lol.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

talking about magic blink.gif
redken
post Jun 28 2007, 07:49 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Jun 24 2007, 01:33 AM)
Subtitle smoothing should be a function of the player/tv i believe, the format should not affect that.
They should probably make a 4X anti aliasing a standard. Ha ha.

0.0153sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:49 AM