Gaming laptops approval list, Last update: 9 March 2022

ki321 P
post Mar 20 2021, 02:22 PM

Probation

Hey Master,

I'm looking for a gaming laptop for mainly gaming and watching movies.

Budget is 4-6k RM

With my budget should I wait for the RTX 30 series or buy the best RTX 20 laptop within my budget? Or by waiting RTX 30 series RTX 20 wilp become more cheaper?

I'm not in a rush buying just want the best out of my money. I'm also an expatriate here in MY, so would it be best to buy from the online store directly? Or lowyatplaza, lazada, shopee?

Thank you!

Stay safe everyone!
ki321 P
post Mar 20 2021, 04:27 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Mar 20 2021, 02:31 PM)
https://shopee.com.my/Lenovo-Legion-5-15ARH...8654.3543532233 , add RAM later

or this: https://shopee.com.my/ACER-PREDATOR-HELIOS-...7819.9519770236

for more options can refer to gaming laptop list

max wait time?
Max wait time maybe 2-3 months

ki321 P
post Apr 7 2021, 03:05 PM

Probation

QUOTE(gjy @ Apr 7 2021, 01:09 PM)
Hi Sifu, thoughts on the new HP Omen vs Lenovo 82JU004RMJ?

Looking at this OMEN currently,
https://store.hp.com/my-en/default/laptops/...tx-3d3t0pa.html

I'm interested to this as well but with the AMD variant and comparing it to the Asus Rog Strix G15.

I hope the HP Omen can be upgraded to 1 TB storage and 16gb RAM but that will add to the cost unlike the ROG G15 that has everything except the lack of webcam.

Sifu, when these two are available. Which will be the best pick for 5-6krm budget? Wait time is end of April or early May

Or any other brand recommendation? I can see in the reserve the budget is above 6k, any around 5-6k?

All the best!

Wonderful stuff in this thread, very informative!

ki321 P
post Apr 7 2021, 07:38 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 7 2021, 03:21 PM)
depends on your preference on weight - do you mind heavier weight or any weight also fine?
bcoz Omen 15 2021 GPU is only 100w max, while Legion 5 is 115w

the Omen is still not available but Legion can preorder, might be able to get lower price tho if lenovo site shows up 30 series models

1. refer to above
2. any preferences on weight? there aren't much options since you can only wait 1 month

thanks for your support
No reference on weight.

How about the Asus ROG G15 is it a contender for the around 5k budget?

Do you have an estimate how lng can we wait for other brands to release GTX 30 series?
ki321 P
post Apr 7 2021, 10:40 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 7 2021, 07:51 PM)
since you can't wait long, have to make sacrifices like performance

the cheapest G15 (5900HX+3060) has poor display, also no MUX

unfortunately i have no idea
Thanks! All the best!
ki321 P
post Apr 8 2021, 05:53 PM

Probation

Thanks for the fast update sifu! I already bought the L5Pro cheapest variant.

I'm excited as this is gonna my first ever gaming laptop! I'm also an expatriate here in MY. This thread is a life saver to those looking for gaming laptops!

Thank you guys! All the best!

0.0235sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:58 AM