cradle0fFilth2
May 28 2020, 11:47 PM

Hi guys. i would like to purchase a gaming laptop with the below preferences:
- budget less than 5k if possible. 5.5k max - prefer models that i can order now (prefer not to wait for upcoming models) - any weight is fine (dont mind if its heavy) - games that i am playing / plan to play : 7 days to die, GTA V, red dead redemption 2, doom eternal, call of duty warzone... - prefer a 17 inch gaming laptop, if possible..
so far, looks like Illegear Rogue series seems to fit all the bills above. will it be a good buy? noted that it wasnt listed at the 'recommended list'
i was also looking at legion 5 - 17, but it only offer gtx1650ti.. albeit 300- 400 cheaper (with LENXCIMB coupon). Or... is gtx1650ti actualy is enough to play the games above for high gaming settings?
thx guys
thanks guys
cradle0fFilth2
May 29 2020, 01:04 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 28 2020, 11:55 PM) Since you prefer 17 inch, options aren't that much anyway I would suggest getting at least 1660Ti for your budget. 1650Ti isn't worth the money as it's just slightly faster than 1650. Consider these: Lenovo Legion 5i 17 81Y80037MJ (use code LENXCIMB) Illegear Rogue Illegear Rogue is in the list, under thin and light 17 inch thanks man! appreciate ur advice
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 1 2020, 12:36 PM

hi all and Sifu ZM,
thinking of pulling the trigger for the Lenovo i5 17 with the below specs:
Processor: Intel Core i7-10750H Processor ( 2.60GHz 12MB ) Operating System: Windows 10 Home Single Language 64 Display Type: 17.3"FHD IPS AntiGlare LED Backlight Narrow Bezel 72%NTSC 1920x1080 Memory: 16.0GB DDR4-2933 DDR4 SODIMM 2933MHz Hard Drive: 1TB 5400+256GB SSD M.2 PCIe NVMe Warranty: One year Carry-in AC Adapter: 230W Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 6GB GDDR6 Battery: 4 Cell Li-Polymer Bluetooth: Bluetooth Version 5.0 or above Camera: 720P HD Camera with Array Microphone Keyboard: 6-row White Backlight, Black Key, White Icon English (US) Pointing Device: ClickPad Wireless: Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX 22560 2*2ax non-vPro
from the psref website (https://psref.lenovo.com/Search?es=0&kw=81Y80039MJ), it mentioned that the batt size is intergrated 80w (click 'compare' at the bottom to review full specs)
with LENXCIMB, its RM 5371 (within my max budget of 5.5k)
ok ma? =D
as mentioned earlier, this seems to fit my desire to ave a 17 inch screen and should be able to support the games i currently / want to play i guess (7d2d, GTA V, red dead redemption 2, doom eternal, call of duty warzone), right ? =D
for the SSD and HDD combination, can i assume they ll automatically install the operating system on the SSD?
Aaron
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 1 2020, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 1 2020, 04:39 PM) 17 inch will have 80Wh battery and 2.5 inch bay, also SD card slot If you want a 17 inch it's a decent option, however there are other decent options at this price range and you should consider them also OS will be installed in SSD Just ignore people with attitude problem You're welcome thx for your info, ZM. =) i tangan gatal and worry the cimb promo code will be disabled, so i kinda oredered liao. i reviewed back the cart before purchase and the quotation became 5122 rm
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 1 2020, 07:00 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 1 2020, 05:32 PM) May I know your budget? Usage? Any preferences on weight and battery life? you're welcome btw do you mind doing some thermal testing after receiving your laptop? can! just guide me then.. cheers man
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 2 2020, 10:40 AM

hmmm.. yesterday i still managed to use the LENXCIMB code and then added in RM 1 for the 2yr premium care, mouse and laptop bag.. as i can recall, i did reviewed my order a few times, clicking away the unwanted stuff (like head set & monitor) and then reapply the code in caps. i did not use the lenovo pre-order page, tho (mb thats the diff?). Since i was eyeing the 17 inch version, i navigated to the purchase and product selection page via their usual website (https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/legion/#blade-products). the pre-order page like macam not applicable to the unit i was eyeing
edit: added in some info in the last sentence
This post has been edited by cradle0fFilth2: Jun 2 2020, 10:46 AM
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 3 2020, 02:16 PM

for those whom had ordered their lenovo legion laptops, may i know where u guys check the ETA date? is it through the given 'OPV' (order visibility portal) link given in the order confirmation email? i ordered mine 2 days ago, but so far both 'expected to ship' and 'expected to arrive' dates still empty. anxious =D
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 3 2020, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jun 3 2020, 02:25 PM) fyi the expected ship and date comes 1 to 2 days later for me,not sure for others yes, thru the opv lenovo there, key in ur order number and email ok thx!
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 3 2020, 04:17 PM

ok. Lenovo just updated me that the backpack ETA 15th June. but the mouse and laptop got no details yet. Does this means that they are sending me 3 parcels? anyone has experience on this?
initially, i thought they will send all 3 things together.
if i receive the laptop bag 1st without the laptop (which according to fellow forummers here not to put such high hope of early delivery), i will be damn muka seposen sial. lol
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 3 2020, 06:38 PM

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Jun 3 2020, 05:37 PM) i read somewhere that the item really ship separately depending on which shipped faster, so yes, your estimation is correct,might be ur laptop bag reached first let's bring this discussion on legion thread ,i guess many were discussing the same thing as well(I'll update my item too if reached), keep this thread clean so our sifu zmfong easier to help others in need, cheers noted. will do
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 3 2020, 06:46 PM

QUOTE(justinchong823 @ Jun 3 2020, 05:38 PM) My legion 5 15 expecting delivery ard next week. Just got the UPS code from them nice! when did u ordered!
cradle0fFilth2
Jun 4 2020, 08:29 PM

QUOTE(Pengie @ Jun 4 2020, 08:14 PM) the model you recommended: Legion 5 / 5i / 5Pi customize customize = i can configure the components myself? I looked at the configurable component section in the Lenovo website, a bit confused haha what is 2060 actually? i am sorry, i do not know much  its RTX 2060.. 1 of the latest graphic card released by nvidia