Gaming laptops approval list, Last update: 9 March 2022

BeastX
post Nov 20 2019, 11:11 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Nov 20 2019, 11:05 AM)
in case wanna upgrade gpu / cpu in future, which is better?
GPU & CPU are soldered on to the board.... non upgradable
BeastX
post Dec 9 2019, 03:56 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Dec 9 2019, 12:23 PM)
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVME PCIe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 SSD
wanna ask if this SSD can fit into illegear raven-se or level51 forge15 ???
You can fit 2...
BeastX
post Dec 9 2019, 05:06 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(steevan1000 @ Dec 9 2019, 04:45 PM)
the photo u show is raven-se or forge15?

from the photo, is it on the right side below the bronze color fan?
forge15...yup
BeastX
post Jan 11 2020, 10:53 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(hamjun0225 @ Jan 10 2020, 11:58 PM)
You need to apply sirim.
Lenovo/FedEx will handle/do it for you ....
BeastX
post Jun 19 2020, 10:49 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(kelvin1012 @ Jun 19 2020, 09:04 AM)
Thanks for the reply. Can u give me more details in legion regarding its cooling, Performance and sound system. I saw the design and was well satisfied except for the nose cam but I am not sure whether other aspects perform well as well or not. Are there any disadvantages for this 5i? In terms of build quality, is it better than illegear onyx v,which is made out of aluminum? If my laptop malfunction at overseas, can I get a repair at the foreign SC?
FYI: Legion 5 & 5i are the new 2020 models, they have webcam on the top w the camera hump on the lid

^These are full plastic laptops... highest GPU option:1650Ti (for 5, 5i goes to 2060 but Mal. a.t.m. limited to 1650Ti also).

Legion 7 however is aluminium... at almost 2x the price (of legion 5)

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 19 2020, 11:02 AM
BeastX
post Jun 19 2020, 10:58 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(kelvin1012 @ Jun 19 2020, 10:35 AM)
In eu, i checked for the same model and it is more expensive so i plan to buy here.
But business laptop can't game well right? I will want to play games such as gta v/vi(in the future) pubg and a few more.
future proof for overall performance.

p/s sifu: want to ask whether i should choose 5i 17 or 5i 15, is it worth sacrifising the budget and 120HZ and for the larger screen ? is 5pi worth to consider also?i want to choose 1660ti or 2060 but it wont allow me to customise(only got 1650/ti option)
144Hz...if your priority is gaming...sRGB 100% if your priority for working...
BeastX
post Jun 19 2020, 11:16 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(kllonely1 @ Jun 19 2020, 11:05 AM)
usd1130 atau rm1130?
In many ways:
Logic: knowing the market price.
Symbol used.
Google search.
Lowyat search.
Thread on Legion laptops sub-thread.

BeastX
post Jun 26 2020, 10:54 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(MrYohz @ Jun 26 2020, 10:26 AM)
Hi ZM Fong,
1. Gaming like Assassin Creed, PUBG? and some Adobe Lightroom / Photoshop
2. Should I downgrade? I checked on Lenovo they have something cheaper. EG, 15.6" FHD(1920x1080) IPS Anti-glare 300nits 60Hz Narrow 100%sRGB Non-Touch or shall I maintain the 144hz display.
3. Weight somewhere 1.8kg-3kg? The lightest the better. Dont mind on battery life.

Btw, for Ryzen 3 3300X & Ryzen 5 4600h, which 1 better in terms of gaming?

Thanks smile.gif
2. Nope... well worth the improved specs... same/similar brightness..

1660Ti will be much better than 1650 (or 1650Ti for that matter)...
Strictly gaming w GPU being equal, I'd say 3300X.... higher wattage/cache Desktop CPU vs a Laptop APU..... will be better in gaming...The good thing here you can upgrade the CPU to the new 6 or 8 core 4000 series Desktop CPUs from AMD (to be introed by year's end... provided it's within the power limit that the laptop can support)..

A new presumed "4600X" Zen 3 will trounced the 4600H Zen 2 APU in everything....

Multi-tasking wise... the 4600H should trump the 3300X... more cores/threads... Single core application 3300X wins...

Edit: Apparently you can up the CPU to a 3950X too.... well 16cores/32threads...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 26 2020, 11:08 AM
BeastX
post Jun 26 2020, 12:38 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Lotus88 @ Jun 26 2020, 11:46 AM)

4) Shortlisting: Looking into Level51 Forge-15R with Ryzen 5 3600 + GTX 1660 Ti (RM 4, 029). But it may seem like an overkill if I buy it purely based on gaming specs and I don't play any games at the moment.

I am stuck now due to the wide choices from other non-gaming brands like HP/ASUS/DELL/ACER which most having similar specs with Forge 15R at much higher price point.

Just a comment: HP/ASUS/DELL(& Acer) don't produce laptops that use Desktop CPUs
BeastX
post Jun 30 2020, 07:56 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Jun 30 2020, 12:18 AM)
Just to clarify, can Legion 5 *AMD model be customized to 80Wh battery? I can't seem to be able to customize that, but Legion 5i Intel Processor can
To get the 80Whr battery you need to configure TWO nvme SSD
BeastX
post Jul 1 2020, 09:43 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Jun 30 2020, 10:02 PM)

I still pondering,

1. comparing Intel 10th Gen with AMD Ryzen 5 4600H, which would you recommend? That would be between Legion 5 or 5i.

2. How aboutĀ  i7 9th Gen comparing with AMD Ryzen 5 4600H?

3. If battery is a concern, you will recommend Legion 5 or 5i over Illegears and Level 51, right?
AMD's 6 cores beating Intel's 8 8 cores in most applications:
This video should be able to answer your questions:

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jul 1 2020, 11:09 AM
BeastX
post Jul 5 2020, 06:23 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(IcedTea @ Jul 5 2020, 02:27 AM)
Quick question here, Legion 5 can customize battery to 80wh and I notice the second ssd will be the same as the first one. I am not sure if the second ssd is just displaying for the first one or the laptop will actually come with 2 ssd.
the laptop will come TWO...a quirk in the system where the selection of the 1st SSD will be mirrored in the 2nd (better for inventory I suppose)..

The price reflects 2 units too...

0.0949sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:40 AM