64 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Ultrabook/regular/business laptops approval list, last update: 31 July 2021

TSZM Fong
post Nov 22 2020, 10:52 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Nov 22 2020, 10:44 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Any recommendation for a laptop for casual users, reliable and not easy breakdown but light and lightning fast?

Background: Going back to school after working for few years, need a new laptop as my y400 already decomposing. Can wait until next year June for laptop to arrive, but if got sales also dont mind to buy now. Most important is headache free coz going overseas to study, not expecting any help if laptop suddenly breakdown

Budget: Ard 3k.. but below 4k is acceptable.
if you want to buy now, can consider Thinkpad AMD X13 or T14s or T14
cuteyuzikid
post Nov 22 2020, 11:45 PM

103 posts

alright.. thanks ZM! will research more on these 3
cuteyuzikid
post Nov 23 2020, 05:27 PM

103 posts

if we're talking about specs.. is the ideapad flex 5 better than thinkpad t14s?
TSZM Fong
post Nov 23 2020, 08:07 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Nov 23 2020, 05:27 PM)
if we're talking about specs.. is the ideapad flex 5 better than thinkpad t14s?
erm not really...moreover the build quality is way worse than T14s due to moderate amount of chassis flex and weak hinge mounting - not recommended

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Nov 23 2020, 08:07 PM
cuteyuzikid
post Nov 23 2020, 10:11 PM

103 posts

Oh I see.. Was hoping to get the t14s with ryzen 7 but its only available in prebuilt. And the prebuilt version does not mention whether I get the 400 nits screen or the 250 nits, or if possible to upgrade to 1tb ssd which I want, that's why was a bit frustrated. Although I still think t14s is better than the 14 in terms of built quality.
TSZM Fong
post Nov 23 2020, 11:40 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Nov 23 2020, 10:11 PM)
And the prebuilt version does not mention whether I get the 400 nits screen or the 250 nits, or if possible to upgrade to 1tb ssd which I want
you can try search the model part number in psref

ssd can be upgraded but you have to take out the original one
radi0head
post Nov 26 2020, 06:47 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

Hi All...

Any recommendation or short list for me to look on as my priority for a laptop would be;

1. portable (hence light).
2. ~14" (13+ acceptable too).
3. preferred 16GB RAMS (if price low, 8GG also acceptable).
4. good battery life (can sit anywhere in a cafe without the need to look for power plug).
5. budget hopefully not more than RM4K range (of course, if can get it lower the better, value for money that is).

Usage would only be for work purposes, lots of excel usage, online... errr, guess probably it. No games.
Any laptop I can shortlist for consideration ?
Thank you in advance...

notworthy.gif

TSZM Fong
post Nov 26 2020, 10:21 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Nov 26 2020, 06:47 AM)
Hi All...

Any recommendation or short list for me to look on as my priority for a laptop would be;

1. portable (hence light).
2. ~14" (13+ acceptable too).
3. preferred 16GB RAMS (if price low, 8GG also acceptable).
4. good battery life (can sit anywhere in a cafe without the need to look for power plug).
5. budget hopefully not more than RM4K range (of course, if can get it lower the better, value for money that is).

Usage would only be for work purposes, lots of excel usage, online... errr, guess probably it. No games.
Any laptop I can shortlist for consideration ?
Thank you in advance...

notworthy.gif
need high sRGB display? or fine with any IPS display?
Boldnut
post Nov 26 2020, 04:14 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Nov 23 2020, 10:11 PM)
Oh I see.. Was hoping to get the t14s with ryzen 7 but its only available in prebuilt. And the prebuilt version does not mention whether I get the 400 nits screen or the 250 nits, or if possible to upgrade to 1tb ssd which I want, that's why was a bit frustrated. Although I still think t14s is better than the 14 in terms of built quality.

AFAIK, the prebuilt is 300nit.

This is why I hate this, I wanted T14s for battery life + screen size + same weight as X13. But their Screen sRGB is low NTSC 45%. doh.gif The 400nit version are not sold here, I dont know why Lenovo are not offering it.

TSZM Fong
post Nov 26 2020, 04:29 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Nov 26 2020, 04:14 PM)
The 400nit version are not sold here, I dont know why Lenovo are not offering it.
you can get 400 nits panel from P14s AMD (basically same with T14)
Boldnut
post Nov 26 2020, 04:32 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 26 2020, 04:29 PM)
you can get 400 nits panel from P14s AMD (basically same with T14)

it is not even the same price range as T14s

Lance XIII
post Nov 26 2020, 06:02 PM

161 posts

Hi boss, will you be updating things that go on sale for on black friday/cyber monday?
TSZM Fong
post Nov 26 2020, 08:36 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Lance XIII @ Nov 26 2020, 06:02 PM)
Hi boss, will you be updating things that go on sale for on black friday/cyber monday?
next update of the list is on mid Dec, currently don't have time for it
Lance XIII
post Nov 27 2020, 11:10 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 26 2020, 08:36 PM)
next update of the list is on mid Dec, currently don't have time for it
Totally understandable, thanks for all your hard work!
radi0head
post Nov 28 2020, 07:16 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 26 2020, 10:21 AM)
need high sRGB display? or fine with any IPS display?
if price doesn't differ much, of course higher sRGB would be better... laugh.gif
Afterall, it's an advantage...

Thank you for replying... notworthy.gif
TSZM Fong
post Nov 28 2020, 10:56 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Nov 28 2020, 07:16 AM)
if price doesn't differ much, of course higher sRGB would be better...  laugh.gif 
Afterall, it's an advantage...

Thank you for replying...  notworthy.gif
how long you can wait?
radi0head
post Nov 28 2020, 11:26 AM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Nov 28 2020, 10:56 AM)
how long you can wait?
O... got difference ?

I'm awaiting for next year purchase as to be able to claim income tax for it...
Currently still on my old Dell... sweat.gif

TSZM Fong
post Nov 28 2020, 11:29 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Nov 28 2020, 11:26 AM)
O... got difference ?

I'm awaiting for next year purchase as to be able to claim income tax for it...
Currently still on my old Dell...  sweat.gif
so you can wait until next year? for how long?
Lexus
post Nov 30 2020, 02:00 PM

Hello sifu ZM, referring to the above reply, how long would you estimate the wait?

I am considering the T14 as you have recommended it numerous times. I am in no rush to buy but is this a good time to buy the T14 AMD? Is the T14 AMD at its best pricing for year 2020? Moreover there's still the 12.12 sale innocent.gif

Thank you for any feedback.
TSZM Fong
post Nov 30 2020, 02:04 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Lexus @ Nov 30 2020, 02:00 PM)
Hello sifu ZM, referring to the above reply, how long would you estimate the wait?

I am considering the T14 as you have recommended it numerous times. I am in no rush to buy but is this a good time to buy the T14 AMD? Is the T14 AMD at its best pricing for year 2020? Moreover there's still the 12.12 sale  innocent.gif

Thank you for any feedback.
I have no info on that but based on most models, expect 1-2 months delivery, or even longer

Some have fast ship but still need to wait 1-2 weeks for delivery. Also sometimes it says fast ship but actually not updated, hence long wait time like 1-2 months

T14 has lower price before. Take a look at X13, has high sRGB display

64 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:55 PM