Ultrabook/regular/business laptops approval list, last update: 31 July 2021

TSZM Fong
post Aug 17 2021, 10:28 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Ccacctus @ Aug 17 2021, 12:49 AM)
The 3199 one (16gb) ? Only one I found from lazada he is fine with adding abit if its not too costly to upgrade to 16gb
Is there any other option so can pick between? thanks
yes

other options aren't really worth it, anyway u can refer to the list
Ccacctus
post Aug 17 2021, 10:42 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 17 2021, 10:28 AM)
yes

Ok thanks alot for the suggestion
Ccacctus
post Aug 17 2021, 11:36 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 17 2021, 10:28 AM)
yes

Hi can you send me the link for 3199 one? The one I found is out of stock and I'm not sure which other vendor is really legit thanks
lazyman@home
post Aug 17 2021, 11:44 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(Ccacctus @ Aug 17 2021, 11:36 AM)
Hi can you send me the link for 3199 one? The one I found is out of stock and I'm not sure which other vendor is really legit thanks
well, i think if you buy from shopee or lazada, it should be ok as you will be protected by the platform.
I do found this at shopee, with cash back you can get it below 3k

https://shopee.com.my/Honor-Magicbook-Pro-S...1927?position=5
TSZM Fong
post Aug 17 2021, 12:42 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Ccacctus @ Aug 17 2021, 11:36 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/HONOR-MAGICBOOK-X15-i...5892.7443311626
https://shopee.com.my/%F0%9F%92%A5Ready-Sto...2869.4891470549
jackbanner
post Aug 18 2021, 07:28 PM

660 posts

I want to purchase HP Business laptop. Is it better to buy through HP website?
TSZM Fong
post Aug 18 2021, 08:30 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Aug 18 2021, 07:28 PM)
I want to purchase HP Business laptop. Is it better to buy through HP website?
it's quite hard to buy elitebook unless you're corporate
jackbanner
post Aug 18 2021, 08:50 PM

660 posts

I'm thinking of buying HP ProBook 450.

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 18 2021, 08:30 PM)
it's quite hard to buy elitebook unless you're corporate
TSZM Fong
post Aug 18 2021, 09:26 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Aug 18 2021, 08:50 PM)
I'm thinking of buying HP ProBook 450.
don't think they got bring in this model
thepeakyblinders P
post Aug 21 2021, 03:36 PM

Probation

Hi guyss, I need some recommendation for a new laptop:

- Budget 3.8k max

- Weight 1.5kg & below

- Display Size 14" & above

- No wait time

- Mainly use for Adobe (light use currently, but expecting heavy use in near future) & running 10 chrome tabs & above
- With Spotify running in bg

- I dont have bias for the processor & display, as long as it can fit for my using purpose will do

I am not familiar with the specs.. so kindly advise me if the stated requirement is unreasonable, thanks !!
TSZM Fong
post Aug 21 2021, 03:52 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(thepeakyblinders @ Aug 21 2021, 03:36 PM)
Hi guyss, I need some recommendation for a new laptop:

- Budget 3.8k max

- Weight 1.5kg & below

- Display Size 14" & above

- No wait time

- Mainly use for Adobe (light use currently, but expecting heavy use in near future) & running 10 chrome tabs & above
- With Spotify running in bg

- I dont have bias for the processor & display, as long as it can fit for my using purpose will do

I am not familiar with the specs.. so kindly advise me if the stated requirement is unreasonable, thanks !!
Ideapad 5 Pro 14 with MX450?
thepeakyblinders P
post Aug 21 2021, 06:07 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 21 2021, 03:52 PM)
Ideapad 5 Pro 14 with MX450?
Only found Ideapad Slim 5 Pro on their official website, same thing?
It stated mx450 require 16gb ram, 4k+ ady...over budget cry.gif
But will keep this on list, might consider tambah budget

Can I have another recommendation? Thanks
TSZM Fong
post Aug 21 2021, 06:27 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(thepeakyblinders @ Aug 21 2021, 06:07 PM)
Only found Ideapad Slim 5 Pro on their official website, same thing?
It stated mx450 require 16gb ram, 4k+ ady...over budget  cry.gif
yes

after coupon will be easily under RM4k, under RM3.5k is possible also
Maeve1707
post Aug 22 2021, 03:06 PM

Hi, need some suggestion..

Budget below 3k and as soon as possible..
For work purpose n mainly just Microsoft program but will open few jn once, so dun wan lag or hang when processing... Oso emphasize on laptop durability..
TSZM Fong
post Aug 22 2021, 03:16 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Maeve1707 @ Aug 22 2021, 03:06 PM)
Hi, need some suggestion..

Budget below 3k and as soon as possible..
For work purpose n mainly just Microsoft program but will open few jn once, so dun wan lag or hang when processing... Oso emphasize on laptop durability..
refer to the list: under RM3k Thinkpads, note that only 1yr warranty
Maeve1707
post Aug 22 2021, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Aug 22 2021, 03:16 PM)
refer to the list: under RM3k Thinkpads, note that only 1yr warranty
Sure.. thanks a lot...
Dyson Jin
post Aug 24 2021, 07:40 PM

960 posts

hi there,been searching for budget laptop until i saw this thread..
can i know the biggest differences between this 4 thinkpad are the processor and do lenovo thinkpad normally last long?Need your advice..tq

2899 Lenovo Thinkpad E14 G2 AMD 20T6S0UB00: 1yr
2985 Lenovo Thinkpad E14 G2 AMD 20T6S0WD00: 1yr
2989 Lenovo Thinkpad E15 G3 AMD 20YGS00300: 1yr
2999 Lenovo Thinkpad E14 G3 AMD 20Y7S00400: 1yr
TSZM Fong
post Aug 24 2021, 07:52 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Aug 24 2021, 07:40 PM)
can i know the biggest differences between this 4 thinkpad are the processor and do lenovo thinkpad normally last long?Need your advice..tq

u can compare them in psref: https://psrefstuff.lenovo.com/

Thinkpad E series is consumer line so can't tell...laptop lifespan depends on many factors anyway, no one can predict how long it will last
SUSceo684
post Sep 1 2021, 05:08 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Aug 24 2021, 07:40 PM)

T14 Gen2 AMD might be better idea. Upgrade to 16GB RAM if possible.
Side exhaust vent design cool much better. And T14 only 1.47kg.

I have company issued E14, the vent is blocked by screen (back vent) with 10th gen i5. This thing can cook eggs on it and thermal throttle/hang in middle of video call if I do not jack up the laptop off the table with a chequebook. Also weak AF CPU fan doesn't blow much air even at full load because the hot air being trapped by the vent blocked by the bottom edge of the screen because some genius design it to rear vent..also coz it gets so hot all the small rubber feet heat up and drop off. Also one more thing need to consider is the weight. E14 weight is heavy at 1.6kg and it digs a line into the tummy after 30min if you use it as a laptop - not so nice to use as a laptop so I'm pretty stuck with it as a "desktop" to use on table for work.

I'm comparing it to my personal X280 8th gen i7, this is comparable CPU to my office E14, and this one side vent and proper CPU fan don't have cooking eggs problem.

Also comparing the (E series) finish and feel not as nice as the more renowned T/X series. wink.gif

Most MNC used to issue T or X series.. I have abused X240 and X250 from previous job and they last pretty well, used as wannabe server never turn off (lock in drawer), jostled on trains, etc.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 1 2021, 05:20 AM
raul
post Sep 1 2021, 11:08 PM

3,930 posts

hi i m looking for some recommendation for a new lappy:

budget below rm5k
13'3 - 13'5inch
below 1.3kg
good wifi adapter
good port support
long lasting battery hour