Problem with Tp-link Deco M5

jacktiew
post Apr 13 2020, 05:42 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Apr 13 2020, 04:58 PM)
Must connect to btu via cable?

What if i have a computer room downstairs, my btu and router is there then i want my back room to get the wifi connection possible? Currently without mesh backroom cannot access
Each deco comes with 2 or 3 node.

Assume you bought the two pack,
First node is wired to your router or BTU (depend you want setup in router mode or access point mode)

Second node you can put anywhere as long the location between backroom and main node is ideal that can covers your backroom.
jacktiew
post Apr 13 2020, 08:45 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Apr 13 2020, 07:43 PM)
I just need it for my backroom access internet. Right now cannot cause my router is in the downstairs study room and coverage not strong to the back room...need to setup mesh.

If just need back room to access the internet i use 1 node enough put at upstairs hall the room should be able to access? So no need connect via able to btu?
for mesh to work, you need at least two node. First node must wired to btu / router there. Second node maybe can put upstairs living room (wirelessly) maybe.

Not sure how big is your house, if too big then might need 3 node.

This post has been edited by jacktiew: Apr 13 2020, 08:50 PM
jacktiew
post Apr 14 2020, 02:43 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Apr 14 2020, 08:59 AM)
I am staying in a double story house.... i have a small study room downstairs facing my car poarch. the back room is facing the kitchen area which is facing the back of the hse.. currently no access so i need to extend the wifi access...

from your description if i put the mesh node 1 in the router / btu ( which sits on my study room) then the 2nd node put upstairs can the signal beem all the way there??? the mesh node that strong?? currently i have some kind of repeater from tplink which i bought from lowyatt and its not really working effectively backroom still not able to access any internet... i just want to be sure before i commit to buy from TM.
You can buy it cheaper on lazada/shopee than TM.

I can't speak for you. Maybe the range might be limited if 2 units. But the good thing about mesh is you can add more nodes anytime. If you feel like the range still not good, then you can add another unit.
jacktiew
post May 16 2020, 03:49 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(arkana @ May 14 2020, 10:15 PM)
Hi I'm currently using TPLink MR200 4G LTE modem and using Yoodo as my simcard data.

Question:
Does Deco Mesh M4/M5 works if I'm using 4G LTE connection as my wifi? Or Deco Mesh only works with Home Fibre Broadband.

Appreciate & thanks for your help.
Yes you may. Connect deco M5 to your MR200 LAN port and set it as access point mode will do.
jacktiew
post May 16 2020, 03:52 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ May 10 2020, 11:58 PM)
Hi, i managed to setup 2 Deco M5, [main] at living hall and [extended] at study room. It was working fine on that day

After few hours, the extended Deco M5 (at study room) turn into yellow light. I tried to reset this unit, delete both main and extended profile, download updated firmware, press the [Reset] button; but still the extended unit still stuck at yellow light.

Anyone encounter this issue before?
Do you have faulty adapter? Try if other adapter works or not?

https://www.tp-link.com/us/support/faq/1464/
jacktiew
post Jan 18 2021, 10:21 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(JobCareer @ Jan 18 2021, 04:18 PM)
any idea how to check whether is the nodes is connected using ethernet ?
im connecting the nodes using ethernet backhaul but not sure whether its really ethernet or wireslessly...
Open the deco app, press on the internet icon in the middle. It will list out all the deco unit you have. Press on the unit you want to view, it should have show you're using wireless or wired backhaul.

jacktiew
post Mar 6 2021, 12:59 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Mar 6 2021, 12:23 PM)
Sorry bro ..I'm really blur at this ..do you have the settings ?

This post has been edited by jacktiew: Mar 6 2021, 01:00 PM
jacktiew
post Mar 6 2021, 01:38 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Mar 6 2021, 01:28 PM)
Thanks bro ...one last question..to connect cctv to main deco 2nd port ..can it be  done using the same way as connecting to hypptv method by enabling iptv?
If you want to use for CCTV, then you don't have to set the IPTV part. Otherwise the port can only use for IPTV.
jacktiew
post Mar 9 2021, 12:04 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(johnnyg @ Mar 7 2021, 10:35 PM)
Do I need to reset all M5 in the house or just the one with the router?
No need. Just add the M9 to the current setup first.

Then open the deco app, press the internet icon, then press the 3 dots on the right corner and choose M9 as the main deco.

Voila.
jacktiew
post Mar 10 2021, 04:47 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(johnnyg @ Mar 10 2021, 04:16 PM)
Hi Jack,

My current router (from TM long time ago) is connected using cable to the M5. I would then unplugged the M5 and then connect the M9 and it would work right?
1. Just add the deco m9 to the current setup.
2. Set M9 as main deco.
3. Unplug m5 and connect m9.
4. Done

Edit: Misunderstood your questions just now.

This post has been edited by jacktiew: Mar 10 2021, 07:23 PM
jacktiew
post Jan 15 2023, 10:34 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(SevenTwentyOne @ Jan 15 2023, 08:02 PM)
I'm setting the M5 as access point (BTU - router - M5 deco) but it doesn't connect to internet. i get error message of "IP address obtained but no internet access".

For the deco I'm using dynamic IP connection and disable VLAN. Any sifu can help on this? Have tried dynamic IP and enable VLAN but still doesn't work, with same error message and the deco LED is solid red.
Try replug Deco M5 to LAN port 2 or 3 of your existing router.

It's the best if you could directly replace your existing router with Deco M5

This post has been edited by jacktiew: Jan 15 2023, 10:34 PM

0.0193sec    1.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:13 PM