9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

Mov_freak
post May 21 2020, 09:49 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Call Of The Wild (2020)

A movie, is a tool to tell a story (which I believe alot of director have forgotten how to do one properly).

A book is also a tool to tell a story.

There are differences between the two,

1). A "Hollywood" movie is usually 1 and a half hour to 3 hours. They usually have 3 acts. They almost always have a handsome lead actor and lead actress and in alot of case, they end up together at the end. Whereas in a book, some might argue as formula to them nowadays, I feel has more freedom and writers can allow their imagine run wild.

2). The viewer, at least in the cinema, usually absorb the story in one seating. The book can been put down when the reader, gets bored, does not agree with the book or time does not allow the reader to continue.

3). Movie is constrain by budget, and therefore what it can put on the screen A book can be as big as they want, as weird as they want and as alien as they want, as long as the writer does not run out of ink and paper...

So there are differences between the two media.

Why am I going on and on about this.

There is a love/hate relationship between a book and movie.

Books are often adapted for movies.

And movies, can inspired continuation in books.

This movie is a book to movie adaptation.

It is NOT the first book to movie adaption and have to add, it is one of the more complete, meaning the whole book is adapted into this one movie.

And boy is it a well done job.

Absolutely gorgeous production.

Harrison Ford had not lead a movie for sometime now, and he still "got it".

There are complains that all the dogs here are C.G.I.ed and the complain it that they should have shot it with real life dogs.

The directors of this movie specifically wanted to tell the story from the P.O.V. of Buck (the main dog) and I do not think a really dog could have achieve what the C.G.I dog did.

It is unfortunate that the movie was release just as most countries when into Lockdown (and hence the cinemas were closed down)

Because otherwise,, this would have made way more money that it did.

I strongly recommend you watch this.

You will enjoy it.

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 21 2020, 09:50 PM
Mov_freak
post May 22 2020, 05:44 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 22 2020, 12:12 PM)
Haha dont know if i can watch the ford small screen movies after being exposed with multiple viewings of his 3 biggest popcorn franchises in his career indiana jones blade runner 1st and 2049 lastly star wars 4-6😂😂🤣🤣
It actually added to it.

I just finished Stars Wars in 4k myself

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 26 2020, 07:51 PM
Mov_freak
post May 26 2020, 06:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Sonic the Hedgehog (2020)

Director: Jeff Fowler

Stars: Ben Schwartz, James Marsden, Jim Carrey, Tika Sumpter

2020, has been a... bummer so far.

Having said that, for what movies we were able to get so far, has turned out to be... good!

I had been putting off this movie for a while, because believe it or not, the awful awful Mario Bros. movie is still burn into my brains.

I overcame my fear and gave it a spin yesterday, and found myself absolutely entertained by this.

Merit where merit is due, this movie would not be half as entertaining, without the quirky Jim Carrey as Dr. Robotnik.

He is back in his goofy glory, for all to see!

I've missed him.

Welcome back, Jim.

Always good to see James Marsden in a movie.

I also understand from further reading that the original rendering of the C.G.I. Sonic had alot of fans up in arms...

Well, from what I can see in the movie, it is very true to it's video game counterpart, so it got fixed.

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 anyone?

My rating: 3.5 out of 5

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 1 2020, 10:25 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Black Christmas (2019)

Director: Sophia Takal

Stars: Imogen Poots, Aleyse Shannon, Lily Donoghue

Synopsis

A group of female students are stalked by a stranger during their Christmas break. That is until the young sorority pledges discover that the killer is part of an underground college conspiracy.

(Excerpt from imdb)
[QUOTE]

Strike 2

Not having any luck with horror yesterday...

Watched two "Dead on Arrival" (pardon my pun) horror in a row.

There is a movement in Hollywood amidst the Harvey Weinstein and Jeffrey Epstein scandal, of removing "toxic masculinity" from American movies, and this is THE product?

I am flabbergasted.

I am all for equality.

The emphasis here is equality

Not one dominating the other.

This is just BAD.

And by Blumhouse nevertheless...

The "cherry" on top is this is a remake, and I have not watched the original.

I may watch it and try to pin point what exactly makes a movie "toxic masculinity".

I give this a 1.5 out of 5

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 1 2020, 10:25 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 1 2020, 10:28 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Wretched (2019)

Directors: Brett Pierce, Drew T. Pierce

Stars: John-Paul Howard, Piper Curda, Jamison Jones

Synopsis

A defiant teenage boy, struggling with his parent's imminent divorce, faces off with a thousand year-old witch, who is living beneath the skin of and posing as the woman next door.

(Excerpt from imdb)

This is another direct to V.O.D. movie.

This is a low budget horror movie.

I think the McGuffin they use, is good.

I just don't think the delivery of the movie is... engaging.

Probably did not relate to any of the characters in the movie...

I rate this movie, fair, a 2.5 out of 5.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Sep 2 2020, 08:15 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Tenet (2020)

Hello kiddies!

I hope everyone is well and staying safe.

Having said that, Tenet managed to draw me out of my shell and visit an Imax cinema today and...

My head hurts (I don't think I have Covid-19 from this outing. At least I hope not... The things I do for youse...)

It hurts because my brain had to process all THAT info to "get" the movie...

So,

In Inception his explore human's thoughts/perceptions. The Dark Knight, Nolan explored, the darkness of the human psyche. Interstellar, space and in Tenet... time?

What will he think of next? Anti matter? Black Hole?

The start of the movie, is ironic.

The real world is still in the middle of a pandemic.

And the movie begins with a pack concert hall, and not for long...

The movie grabs your attention from the first frame, and does not really let go until the last frame...

I read as little as possible about the movie, before watching it and still, I did know that Robert Pattinson and Kenneth Branagh are in it.

Even with this knowledge, I was surprise to see them, when they appeared on the screen.

I like this feeling!!

Another surprise was to see a hydrofoil catamaran working. I have NEVER seen those before (No that I am very knowledgeable about nautical stuff).

This movie is... good.

I love the casting.

I love the story.

I love the direction.

I really don't want to spoil anything for you.

I have however promise you the following.

1). There are NO Beatles tracks.

2). There are NO sparkling vampires...

I will leave you this quote

His ignorance is our only protection.

This movie supposedly cost Warner Brothers USD 205,000,000 to make.

I think with everything happening, Warner may end up with a BIG winner, in terms of movie producer this year.

Keep safe everyone.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Sep 5 2020, 01:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Mulan (2020)

The animated Mulan was released in 1998.

This live action movie is based on that animation... minus the songs, minus the Eddie Murphy Mushu (Dragon) and... humor...

To make up for what is missing, they added two new characters, namely Honghui and Xianniang.

The 1998 Mulan was Disney attempt to enter the China movie market, and the liberties/artistic licensing to Mulan's story, was received quite luke warmly, is memory serves.

Fast forward 22 years and the present day China is no longer the 1998 China.

Correctly or incorrectly, the average Chinese person sees items from America as "premium"... Armed with this knowledge, Disney is once again trying to make a mint in the Chinese marker.

To make this live action more "realistic", hence the removal of songs and talking dragon...

Also hiring a very popular Chinese actress to headline the movie, namely Yifei Liu.

So, enough blah blah, did I like the movie....

I... actually preferred the animation...

Believe it or not, I found the animation having more... heart!

This movie cost Disney USD 200,000,000 to make...

Honestly... I am not impressed...

The description of Chinese Martial Art was more impressive on the animation!!

Some props look Nordic, rather than Asian...

I know, Donnie Yen and Jet Li are in this, and I still buy the martial arts in the animation feature more...

So to summarized, to write a Chinese story without a Chinese in your writing team is just... wrong...

The 1998 story is not perfect... the this re-iteration is even worst...

The fact that all humor was removed from the movie, sucked all life from the movie...

I never thought I would say this, I actually missed the Yiddish China man Yao, voice by Harvey Fierstein...

Please understand, the above is just my two sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 5 2020, 01:19 AM
Mov_freak
post Sep 6 2020, 10:43 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Bill & Ted Face the Music (2020)

I was afraid kiddies

I was very afraid

Bill and Ted An Excellent Adventure is a major guilty pleasure 1980s movie, of mine.

The second was so so, although it had the "God Gave Rock 'N' Roll to You II" by Kiss song track.

When they announce the 3rd movie, I went, O.M.G.... Please don't suck!

And then we were hit bu the pandemic, and cinemas went quiet....

Until now.

I still approach this movie... gingerly... Not really knowing what to expect and...

It is good!

Keanu Reeves and Alex Winter brought Tad and Bill back.

The story was... a logical extension of the original two movies.

Diane Franklin & Kimberley Kates did not return as the princesses.

Frazier Bain also did not return as Deacon. Beck Bennett plays Deacon (Ted's brother) in this one.

Amy Stoch came back as Missy and still has a twist for the character!!?!

The late, great George Carlin (Rufus) obviously cannot return.

Kristen Schaal plays Kelly, Rufus's daughter.

So, has Bill and Ted wrote and perform the music that created an Utopia future and universe?

This movie tells the tale.

This movie is funny.

The script is decent.

Special effects are much better then the first two.

Bill and Ted are hard at work at music and are still clueless.

To top it off, they are DADS!

If you are a fan of Bill and Ted, you should not be disappointed by this movie.

Know if only someone can tell me, where I can get a copy of the Song, "That Which Binds Us Through Time, The Chemical, Physical and Biological Nature of Love, In Exploration of the Meaning of Meaning. Part 1". I will be most grateful!! laugh.gif

I LOVE IT!!! I TRULY DO!!!! (Theramin, Throat Singing and all)

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 8 2020, 12:06 PM
Mov_freak
post Nov 19 2020, 01:00 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jiang Ziya: Legend of Deification (2020)

I managed to watch this at the cinema, b4 the shut down.

After the amazing NeZha, in which this movie was heavily advertise (ala, Marvel end credits style), I was looking forward to this.

I really wanted to like this.

The script adaptation of NeZha, although NOT strictly according to the original source material, had enough broad stroke of the original stuff, I was full enchanted by it.

So watching this, I had admittedly, high expectations...

Basically, the script would pay homage to the origins of this character and give it enough modern twist to make it marketable to the 21st century audience...

I have to admit, I was disappointed.

The story is messy.

The motivations of the different characters are... the best way I can describe it is... Alien (okay, I as talking about beings of high plane, maybe that is the point, we are not supposed to understand their school of thought).

I left the movie... very confused.

So much so that I had to refer to the wikipedia to refreshed my memory of the end credit did advertise the next instalment. Apparently it did. The next instalment is call Deep Sea, presumable about the Dragons Kings...

Inconclusion, beautifully animated. Messy story (or so deep that "I Don't get it"?). I do hope that however many installments these series of animation features, they later feature will try and clear up some of the plot holes of previous features.

With that, I humbly submit to you, My Two Sen.

Stay Safe Everyone.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 19 2020, 09:36 AM
Mov_freak
post Nov 19 2020, 01:19 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Witches (2020)

Director: Robert Zemeckis
Story by: Roald Dahl
Cast: Octavia Spencer, Stanley Tucci, Anne Hathaway & many many more

So, above it the pedigree of this movie. Because of the time that we are in, It went the route of VOD.

It is a lamentable mess!

I kid you not.

What happened to the Robert Zemeckis who gave us Back to the Future (1985), Death Becomes Her (1992), Forrest Gump (1994) & Cast Away (2000) (who also co-wrote the script)?

This movie had no shred of the brilliance the above movies have...

And the A listers in the movie... What a waste of talent.

Unless you have absolutely NOTHING to do, and only this movie is available... Go find a book to read... sweat.gif

My Two Sen

Do stay safe

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 19 2020, 01:21 AM
Mov_freak
post Nov 19 2020, 01:32 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Love and Monsters (2020)

Ah...

Boy meets girl

Boy loses girl

Boy travels 80 miles through monster infested land to get back with the girl.

That's it, That's the whole story.

Oh, there is a charming Australian Kelpies (a breed of dog) in there somewhere.

This is actually an entertaining movie.

It is a apocalyptic movie, a reflection of our current pandemic world, and yet his movie is satirical.

Like Monty Python said, Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life.

Dylan O'Brien is good in this.

A few year ago, Jesse Eisenberg would have probably be cast.

I do have to add, Dylan O'Brien's Joel, is less neurotic compared with Jesse Eisenberg's Joel. laugh.gif

Do yourself a favor, watch this.

You will not regret it.

My Two Sen

Stay Safe

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 19 2020, 01:34 AM
Mov_freak
post Nov 19 2020, 01:43 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Over the Moon (2020)

This movie is made by Pearl Studio. Pearl Studio made Kung Fu Panda 3 and Abominable in collaborations with DreamWorks Animation. This is their first outing, without Dreamworks.

I must admit, that the first arc of this movie I enjoyed.

The second, story wise, got a little iffy (they expected the really really BIG leap of faith from their audience and I did not take the leap. The took WAY too much liberties with Chinese Folklore)

The third did redeem the movie somewhat and have to add, not to the level of the first arc...

So, averaging everything out, it is just a so so movie...

My Two Sen.

Stay safe everyone
Mov_freak
post Dec 11 2020, 06:18 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 2 2020, 09:58 AM)
Haha cant wait for the cinema reopening for wonder woman 84 lust.gif lust.gif
Confirm buka boh?... hmm.gif

Mov_freak
post Dec 12 2020, 06:01 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 2 2020, 05:02 PM)

Cronenberg fans, don't skip on this hidden gem. It's a throwback to the time when David Cronenberg still does his peculiar sci-fi thriller. High concept with healthy dose of screen violence. The premise is an assassin organisation can possess an intended target to carry out murder. The catch is you can risk losing memories or identity when you took possession of the stranger body. Hence you have those nightmarish and trippy visual cues when things start to goes south. Brandon Cronenberg is a fitting heir to his father's legacy. Suppose the apple doesn't fall away from the tree.
Old already... Cannot get into the grove of the movie...

Will try again some other day... sweat.gif
Mov_freak
post Dec 16 2020, 09:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Wonder Woman 1984 (2020)

Hello kiddies!

How is everyone?

I hope everyone is well.

It is showing.

It is NOT showing.

Oh it is showing.

Duing this difficult time, I am sure there are alot of spectators to the world of politics (both in the US and locally) and also the Covid-19 situation.

I on the other hand THE news I was following was whether or not Wonder Woman 1984 is going to show.

I salivated for this movie (that is right I SALIVATED!)

And after all the wait

After wondering why GSC website isn't taking ticketing sales (you have to use their app doh.gif)

How IS the movie?

50/50

There are some part of this movie I absolutely LOVE!!!

There are some parts where I went shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

First arch, pure gold.

The beginning at the second arch, still good.

And things went south after that...

Maybe because of the wait, my expectation are feverishly high (no no, I do not have Covid-19, not need to get the health minister to commit me)

This could have been such an amazing movie (to me).

Some part of the script I feel can be made much better....

Do not take my word about this. If you are safe in your local cinema, please consider watching this. The production value is great.

And like always, this is JUST, My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Dec 25 2020, 08:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Rescue 紧急救援 (2020)

This was supposed to be this year Chinese New Year money maker.

You have a successful Hong Kong director.

You have the IT guy currently in Chinese Cinema (Eddie Peng).

What could go wrong?

Well, namely, Covid-19 sweat.gif

So, how does this movie fare?

No bad.

I have to give credit where credit is due, no one makes action sequence like Hollywood, and this is where Hong Kong/China movie industry has yet to catch up.

Having said that, this movie has it's moments.

Production value is there.

Script has... Hollywood tropes and than goes on a tangent, sometimes for the better sometimes...

This movie is Rated R and I thought it is because of the guys butts scene (which is pixelated)

It turns out it is rated R because

So, should one watch this at the cinema.

Is it worth paying for a ticket and risking life to watch this?

If you are 100% sure you local cinema is safe and you can buy the ticket, I would say, go for it

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Dec 25 2020, 08:47 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Soul (2020)

To be frank, Pixar's offerings have not gotten me excited for awhile now.

Sure, Coco's great. Incredibles II was a little late, and it is still great.

Nothing after that really... excite.

When I saw the trailer for this, my interest was peaked, though not overly so...

Manage to catch this today and I am sold, body and soul.

This movie is "high" concept, from animation to script.

Traditionally speaking Pixar are able to present very complex concept to people of all ages to very understandable animation.

And this delivered in spades.

This is NOT your usual Hollywood offerings.

And with the situation we are all in, I can understand why Disney went the direct to VOD.

Understand, yes, agree with, no.

I really really hope people watch this is any way they can

It is a truly wonderful movie, for ALL ages.

And the end message, is what we truly need indeed.

Watch this.

Please watch this.

My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Dec 26 2020, 01:03 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 26 2020, 12:06 PM)
Pixar date also messed up already laugh.gif laugh.gif
Why mess up leh?
Mov_freak
post Dec 28 2020, 06:23 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 28 2020, 01:48 PM)
haha really

then may i ask why chinese just beaten hollywood in global box office grossing of 2020

laugh.gif  hmm.gif
I am calling a plate a plate and a bowl a bowl.

Not saying that the budget is not there. Just saying their do not film the sequence that draws the audience in.

Chine nipped the Covid-19 at the butt, so their market is open, hence, more business.

And when economy is open, people seek entertainment

Warner tried to make money with Tenet and have to add nothing was open...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 28 2020, 06:24 PM
Mov_freak
post Dec 29 2020, 10:37 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 29 2020, 10:06 AM)
Don't trust any statistics coming out from PRC. It's never 100% accurate as the CCP can dictates what's the final figure gonna be. I don't know just stop paying attention to what comes out of mainland. Just couldn't bring myself to watch their propaganda bullshit movies anymore. Even PRC market rose to be number one globally, it does not elevate the quality of movies with their narrow minded censorship. So it's meaningless to celebrate how well PRC is doing.

US tanking market has everything to do with the sheer incompetence of Trump's handling of the covid situation. Then again the European side currently in the midst of 2nd wave outbreak which basically isolated the entire western countries box office takings. Don't think the market will go back to normalcy by next year and a lot has to do with how soon can the US market stabilise. The big 3 should be ok, WB, Disney, Universal as they have bigger corporations backing or sitting on mountains of cash. Also republicunts given record breaking tax cuts to corporation pre-election on top of 15b us cinemas rescue package.So in the short term the Hollywood still can endure but at the end hinges on when can the market opens up.

It is "dangerous" to believe anything 100%.

Believe me, I have learnt my lessons.

Interesting the word "propaganda" was used to describe movies coming out of China.

I can also make argument that movie coming out of the West brainwashes the world into thinking that "occidentals" can do no wrong, and is always good.

I think Trump makes a good case study that that is not quite true.

I do not mean to make things political.

When I reviewed The Rescue, I just made my observations about the movie, nothing else.

Interesting that you also use the term censored, which is in itself funny, because reading that reminded me about a scene in the movie had a shower scene where two lead gentlemen derrière were partially in view.

The funny part is, their posterior had "digital noise" placed on them.

The question is, was this censorship done in China? Or Malaysia?? laugh.gif

Again it was just my impression of the said movie.

I meant no offense, when I wrote it.

Cheers

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1012sec    0.89    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:16 PM