Water Cooling, Your pick...

TSa1098113
post Jun 28 2007, 11:43 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jun 28 2007, 05:17 PM)
heed the experts advice....if you choose a thermaltake/gigabyte WC...they are easy to install, heck even have step by step instructions, but after using them for a while, you will realize that a good air cooled hsf would beat it.

but putting together a diy WC kit takes a slight more time and some research needs to be done prior, but thats the interesting part right. Once you have all the parts and its up and running, you will definately feel more satisfied. thumbup.gif
diy wc notworthy.gif lol... when is someone gonna come up with a design or patent for the setup? especially the one with the car radiator?
aloy237
post Jun 29 2007, 11:06 AM

67 posts

I started with the TT Bigwater SE because at that time I could not get the Swiftech kits here. It was definitely better than stock HSF and also some of the aircoolers at that time since heat pipe coolers were not available then. Right now, most good aircoolers like the Ultra-120 Extreme would probably beat the performance of TT watercoolers. Of course TT has also upgraded their WC kits to use bigger tubing.

My Bigwater SE pump gave up after 9 months vmad.gif - looks good though blush.gif and easy to setup thumbup.gif but you only know the value of reliability when the pump fails and you can't use the PC vmad.gif vmad.gif Got the pump RMAed but never used it after that. Currently using it on my second rig but with Distilled water and Swiftech Hydrx additive instead of the crap but expensive coolant that TT provides. With the TT original coolant - algae will form in your loop that probably causes the pump to fail prematurely.

I'm using Swiftech Storm V2, MCP655 pump and Thermochill PA120.2 now and performance, reliability and satisfaction are second to none. Used that with a P4 640 oced to 3.9 GHz for 24x7. Can OC to 4.1GHz for benchies. Swiftech Storm is the best for single core CPUs - proven many times over provided it is paired with a good and powerful pump.

Now on multi core CPUs, the best blocks are the D-TEK Fuzion and Swiftech Apogee GT. I have purchased the D-TEK Fuzion but have not installed it yet. On my E6600, I'm running at 3.33GHz 24x7 with idle temp of 36C and load temps of 51C with board temps of 37C and ambient temp of 30-31C (read no aircon). This is with the Storm Waterblock. I bet the D-Tek Fuzion will give me better temps. But am waiting for quad-core before pulling my tubing apart. drool.gif drool.gif

Basically - every component plays a part in the WC loop - waterblock, pump, radiator, radiator fans and coolant. You can use the best block with a poor pump and get poor performance. And if you do decide to go the WC path - get a good spacious case.

Most people who gave up water cooling probably went with TT and gave up on WC because the new aircoolers with heatpipes (using WC principles in a way) are great. But with a proper WC setup ... the differences are obvious. And WC looks great when configured properly.

If you're going for a kit - then swiftech will be hard to beat. But if you truly want performance, go for mix and match. More expensive but can't be beat.

My loop hardly needs maintenance and have not even topped up the water in the last 14 months. If you then throw in GPU and chipset cooling - WC makes the best sense. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aloy237: Jun 29 2007, 11:13 AM
Amauryreno
post Jun 29 2007, 11:16 AM

55 posts

ain't watercooling unstable??
aloy237
post Jun 29 2007, 02:10 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Amauryreno @ Jun 29 2007, 11:16 AM)
In what way ? No issues for me so far. If you mean pump reliability .... the TT one sure sucks. But the commercial grade pumps like the MCP655 are great.
Clavicus
post Jun 29 2007, 02:16 PM

765 posts

Define unstable?

OT : Is that a quote from Shooter in your sig? tongue.gif
sHawTY
post Jun 29 2007, 03:36 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Any reason why u said that? blink.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Jun 29 2007, 05:25 PM

628 posts

swiftech coz it's easier to get... ther r many ppl selling in bulk...
Bigblock
post Jun 29 2007, 06:37 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

Mr.Lonely
post Jul 3 2007, 08:01 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

I heard tat Gigabyte New Galaxy II water cooling set not bad.... try go search for it.....
irangan
post Jul 3 2007, 11:23 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jul 3 2007, 08:01 PM)
I heard tat Gigabyte New Galaxy II water cooling set not bad.... try go search for it.....
Depends you compare it with which brand.. If TT Big Water, of course not bad at all but if other brand, Hahaha...

redcable
post Jul 4 2007, 12:50 PM

199 posts

so much info in here..... which shop sells Swiftech in LYN? smile.gif
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2007, 12:58 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(redcable @ Jul 4 2007, 12:50 PM)
so much info in here..... which shop sells Swiftech in LYN? smile.gif
Which shops?
None.

No shops at LYP sells Swiftech product.
TSa1098113
post Jul 4 2007, 01:04 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 4 2007, 12:58 PM)
Which shops?
None.

No shops at LYP sells Swiftech product.
none sell it? thats interesting.. who does anyways? does moderno sell it? Swiftech leads the polls.. but good if some ppl can actually take up selling job for swiftech products..
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 4 2007, 01:25 PM

628 posts

actually, the gigabytye galaxy II does perform rather well n simpler...
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2007, 01:55 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Jul 4 2007, 01:04 PM)
none sell it? thats interesting.. who does anyways? does moderno sell it? Swiftech leads the polls.. but good if some ppl can actually take up selling job for swiftech products..
MetalZone

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Jul 4 2007, 01:25 PM)
actually, the gigabytye galaxy II does perform rather well n simpler...
Yea it's better.
Better than Thermaltake Bigwater, yes.

Better than Swiftech?
Nope.

Better than Dangerden?
Nope.
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 4 2007, 02:09 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 4 2007, 01:55 PM)
MetalZone
Yea it's better.
Better than Thermaltake Bigwater, yes.

Better than Swiftech?
Nope.

Better than Dangerden?
Nope.
hehe, yeah... that's rite, but for some ppl, galaxy might b a better option as price n supply is easier, but errr, i got mine swiftech from metalzone too... hehehe... however, the gap of rm1k to rm600 is not small... some ppl juz find it hard to fork out another rm400 there... so galaxy for them lor...

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0456sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:02 AM