Engineering E&E @ UTM vs UM vs Monash(My) vs Southampton, Compare Electrical&Electronic Engineerng
Mar 23 2019, 11:15 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
18,455 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
I would like to collect the pros & cons and opinions of studying at these 4 Unis. Below are the estimate cost of study(excluding living cost) and QS ranking(E&E) that I have gathered. All of them take 4 years, UTM, UM & Monash all done locally, and Southampton is 2 years local + 2 years in UK. Estimate total tuition fees for 4 years and QS ranking(for E&E) of these Unis: UTM; RM13080; QS 51-100; http://admission.utm.my/malaysian-undergra...ic-engineering/ UM; ~RM40000; QS 47; https://www.um.edu.my/academics/bachelor/en...ng-(electrical) Monash(My); ~RM187,000; QS 51-100; https://www.monash.edu.my/study/undergradua...ems-engineering Southampton; RM281,000; QS 51-100; https://www.southampton.ac.uk/my/undergradu...nd_funding.page QS ranking wise UM(47) is better than UTM/Monash/Southampton(51-100). Cost wise UTM<UM<Monash(My)<Southampton. QS ranking by E&E: https://www.topuniversities.com/university-...ical-electronic Considering Xiamen Malaysia too except that it has no Washington accord yet and it has no QS ranking. I hardly create new topic and hope that this is the proper way and it is OK with fellow forumers. All productive opinions are welcome. |
Mar 27 2019, 10:25 PM
28 posts Joined: Sep 2018 |
What do you do for your pre-u course? If you want to apply for UM or UTM, better buy UPU pin now, due date is around the corner. Btw, subsidized UM fee for E&E is also almost the same as UTM, you may also choose to go for direct intake, but it will cost around 90k.
This post has been edited by vergil1999: Mar 27 2019, 10:27 PM |
Mar 28 2019, 02:18 PM
4,496 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(vergil1999 @ Mar 27 2019, 10:25 PM) What do you do for your pre-u course? If you want to apply for UM or UTM, better buy UPU pin now, due date is around the corner. Btw, subsidized UM fee for E&E is also almost the same as UTM, you may also choose to go for direct intake, but it will cost around 90k. PreU courses wise all are accepted. As long it is not Foundation Offer by IPTS. you can apply as a Malaysian. Please look at my signature on how to apply. UM and UKM offers "Direct Intake" for students not looking for subsidized Tuition Fees. RM 90K and another RM 75K. please go to these two rather than suffer in an IPTS Which doesn't have proper facilities. |
Apr 3 2019, 07:32 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(vergil1999 @ Mar 27 2019, 10:25 PM) What do you do for your pre-u course? If you want to apply for UM or UTM, better buy UPU pin now, due date is around the corner. Btw, subsidized UM fee for E&E is also almost the same as UTM, you may also choose to go for direct intake, but it will cost around 90k. Sorry for the late reply for I am finding more info. My child is doing A level atm. Thinking of switching to foundation at UTMspace JB which cost only rm7000+ for full year. After that to enter UTM directly n pay only rm13080 for 4 years. Total rm20k is really affordable, only thing holding us back is the quality of education. Some said UTM are the best among all universities(ipta+ipts) in Malaysia for E&E n Computer Science. My child prefers Nottingham or Monash.Wonder whether other IPTA/IPTS(inc. MOnash & Nottingham) accepts UTM foundation for entry into their tertiary coureses. This post has been edited by MGM: Apr 3 2019, 07:40 AM |
Apr 3 2019, 07:45 AM
QUOTE(iSean @ Mar 28 2019, 02:18 PM) PreU courses wise all are accepted. As long it is not Foundation Offer by IPTS. you can apply as a Malaysian. Please look at my signature on how to apply. Are u doing E&E at UCSI?UM and UKM offers "Direct Intake" for students not looking for subsidized Tuition Fees. RM 90K and another RM 75K. please go to these two rather than suffer in an IPTS Which doesn't have proper facilities. |
Apr 3 2019, 10:46 AM
732 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
have you tried looking at universiti teknologi petronas? the fees now is about 90k for 4 years programme
Apr 3 2019, 05:03 PM
Apr 5 2019, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 3 2019, 07:32 AM) Sorry for the late reply for I am finding more info. My child is doing A level atm. Thinking of switching to foundation at UTMspace JB which cost only rm7000+ for full year. After that to enter UTM directly n pay only rm13080 for 4 years. Total rm20k is really affordable, only thing holding us back is the quality of education. Some said UTM are the best among all universities(ipta+ipts) in Malaysia for E&E n Computer Science. My child prefers Nottingham or Monash. If not mistaken, IPTA asasi doesn't guarantee a spot for degree in respective IPTA, you still need to apply through UPU. Is your child just graduated from SPM last year?If yes, then STPM is the best route to enter IPTA. Otherwise, I would suggest to stay in A Level. Remember to take MUET this year if he/she is planning to apply UPU next year. If financial condition allows, direct intake is the most reliable way to get into UM engineering degree.Wonder whether other IPTA/IPTS(inc. MOnash & Nottingham) accepts UTM foundation for entry into their tertiary coureses. I can't comment on quality of IPTA vs IPTS since I still haven't started my degree yet. From ranking wise, it seems that IPTA is overall better than local IPTS. But it is just a reference, choosing a uni is far more than its ranking. |
Apr 5 2019, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(vergil1999 @ Apr 5 2019, 08:49 PM) If not mistaken, IPTA asasi doesn't guarantee a spot for degree in respective IPTA, you still need to apply through UPU. Is your child just graduated from SPM last year?If yes, then STPM is the best route to enter IPTA. Otherwise, I would suggest to stay in A Level. Remember to take MUET this year if he/she is planning to apply UPU next year. If financial condition allows, direct intake is the most reliable way to get into UM engineering degree. Sounds like u have just completed your preU n going to U? Which preU n U?I can't comment on quality of IPTA vs IPTS since I still haven't started my degree yet. From ranking wise, it seems that IPTA is overall better than local IPTS. But it is just a reference, choosing a uni is far more than its ranking. |
Apr 6 2019, 10:29 PM
Apr 7 2019, 04:51 PM
82 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
QUOTE(vergil1999 @ Apr 6 2019, 10:29 PM) I just ended A Level in tarc, will start degree soon in UTAR. I have applied UPU at the same time and will withdraw from UTAR if I success to get a place in IPTA. Yes. You can do that provided that UPU is not that efficient in tracing your Enrollment Status in IPTS. Technically you aren't allowed to do so. But if you gotten into UM USM UTM yeah why not. Else why not apply for the RM 90K Engineering Course in UM (if you are doing Engineering). I have a friend who did EEE at MMU Melaka and he turned down USM somehow after second rayuan. Do note please finish your MUET to increase your chance of enrollment. |
Apr 7 2019, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(Mike.Chang @ Apr 7 2019, 04:51 PM) Yes. You can do that provided that UPU is not that efficient in tracing your Enrollment Status in IPTS. 90k is burden for me, ptptn only allows me to borrow 20k like all other ipta students. Have done MUET, but result will only come out after UPU ends, hope I still able to fill in my MUET result when appealing.Technically you aren't allowed to do so. But if you gotten into UM USM UTM yeah why not. Else why not apply for the RM 90K Engineering Course in UM (if you are doing Engineering). I have a friend who did EEE at MMU Melaka and he turned down USM somehow after second rayuan. Do note please finish your MUET to increase your chance of enrollment. |
Apr 8 2019, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(vergil1999 @ Apr 7 2019, 08:57 PM) 90k is burden for me, ptptn only allows me to borrow 20k like all other ipta students. Have done MUET, but result will only come out after UPU ends, hope I still able to fill in my MUET result when appealing. I think MUET results is auto filled in UPU based on IC from what I heard. Should did MUET on demand. |
Apr 8 2019, 10:55 PM
These programs looks interesting.
http://www.fke.utm.my/undergraduate/bachel...hatronics-skem/ http://engineering.utm.my/computing/bachel...ta-engineering/ Too bad no Data Science @UTM |
Apr 11 2019, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(vergil1999 @ Apr 6 2019, 10:29 PM) I just ended A Level in tarc, will start degree soon in UTAR. I have applied UPU at the same time and will withdraw from UTAR if I success to get a place in IPTA. QUOTE(Mike.Chang @ Apr 7 2019, 04:51 PM) Yes. You can do that provided that UPU is not that efficient in tracing your Enrollment Status in IPTS. I have decided to enrol my son for UTM foundation so that he can have an easier pathway to UTM engineering or computer science (data engineering). Hope quality of education is good even though it costs very little.Technically you aren't allowed to do so. But if you gotten into UM USM UTM yeah why not. Else why not apply for the RM 90K Engineering Course in UM (if you are doing Engineering). I have a friend who did EEE at MMU Melaka and he turned down USM somehow after second rayuan. Do note please finish your MUET to increase your chance of enrollment. |
Oct 5 2020, 10:00 PM
Probation
1 posts Joined: Mar 2020 |
QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 11 2019, 03:48 PM) I have decided to enrol my son for UTM foundation so that he can have an easier pathway to UTM engineering or computer science (data engineering). Hope quality of education is good even though it costs very little. check out this article that talked about ranking: https://www.sinchew.com.my/content/content_2319917.html |
Oct 5 2020, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(universeyao @ Oct 5 2020, 10:00 PM) check out this article that talked about ranking: https://www.sinchew.com.my/content/content_2319917.html Thanks. Ranking aside, the big 5 IPTA fees r affordable. Money saved can be used for post grad in better Uni. |
Oct 6 2020, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 5 2020, 10:33 PM) Thanks. Ranking aside, the big 5 IPTA fees r affordable. Money saved can be used for post grad in better Uni. Heh. Your son now UTM Foundation ah?You sure your son would be based in actual JOHOR campus. Not their MJIT Japanese program hor. The price is really different between these two campuses. |
Oct 6 2020, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 6 2020, 08:01 AM) Heh. Your son now UTM Foundation ah? Finished foundation, this month starts 1st year UG in UTM JB. That post was April2019.You sure your son would be based in actual JOHOR campus. Not their MJIT Japanese program hor. The price is really different between these two campuses. This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 6 2020, 08:52 AM |
Oct 6 2020, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2020, 08:51 AM) I see I see. Your family is non-bumi right Make sure he is in "Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical-Electronics) (SKEL)" to register as an actual Electrical Engineer in BEM after he graduate in 4 years time. Register as Electrical > Electronics . Electrical = Electrical + Electronics jobs. Electronics = Electronics jobs only. This post has been edited by iSean: Oct 6 2020, 12:05 PM |
Oct 6 2020, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 6 2020, 12:05 PM) I see I see. Your family is non-bumi right Yes, Utm jb only has these 3, all can register with BEM right? Make sure he is in "Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical-Electronics) (SKEL)" to register as an actual Electrical Engineer in BEM after he graduate in 4 years time. Register as Electrical > Electronics . Electrical = Electrical + Electronics jobs. Electronics = Electronics jobs only. ![]() This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 6 2020, 12:21 PM |
Oct 6 2020, 12:46 PM
Probation
3 posts Joined: Oct 2020 From: Myanmar |
In the UK, Southampton is very well regarded for engineering, and if you do MEng at Southampton Malaysia, you'll have to complete the last 2 years in the UK. This means that you'll be able to network with employers (at careers fairs held at uni and elsewhere, industrial talks, etc), which will increase you chance of getting a job in the UK (with the new post-Brexit policies, it is now easier to hire foreign skilled workers).
You don't need to worry about the living costs as long as you are willing to work part-time. I went to Brookes and I was able to cover my living expenses by working part-time. |
Oct 6 2020, 09:31 PM
||||||||
QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 6 2020, 12:19 PM) ![]() ![]()
Yes. I think his faith has been determined by UTM already Its stated on the website la. This post has been edited by iSean: Oct 6 2020, 09:33 PM |
||||||||
Oct 6 2020, 09:47 PM
||||||||
QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 6 2020, 09:31 PM) ![]() ![]()
Yes. I think his faith has been determined by UTM already Its stated on the website la. |
||||||||
Oct 6 2020, 11:41 PM
||||||||
181 posts Joined: May 2020 |
QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 6 2020, 09:31 PM) ![]() ![]()
Yes. I think his faith has been determined by UTM already Its stated on the website la. |
||||||||
Oct 7 2020, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(PV boy @ Oct 6 2020, 11:41 PM) Don't need to worry about registration with BEM, if his son graduated with electronic degree from UTM, can still register as a graduate engineering in electrical after taking one or two semester conversion course, in case he "accidently" work in electrical field. This conversion course can be taken b4 or after graduated? And at UTM?May be it is better to take Electrical-Electrical degree and the Master in Mechantronic/AI? This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 7 2020, 10:14 AM |
Oct 7 2020, 10:34 AM
181 posts Joined: May 2020 |
QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 7 2020, 10:11 AM) This conversion course can be taken b4 or after graduated? And at UTM? The conversion course can only be taken after graduated from first degree, and the number of semester/subject is subject to BEM approval case to case, by the way to my knowledge only UNITEN been approved for offering the conversion course. To me it really doesn't matter whether you taking electrical or electronic as long as you are interested in it, we don't know what is the future and career you will build later. But to my opinion, take a general electrical & electronic engineering degree, and further study only if you find one specific field that really passion you.May be it is better to take Electrical-Electrical degree and the Master in Mechantronic/AI? |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:45 PM |