New 10.5-inch iPad Air (2019)

dickybird
post Apr 27 2019, 01:25 PM

2,093 posts

I belum beli next iPad already suffering from buyers remorse.
Still using my 2014 iPad Air. Looking at the iPad Pro 10.5 as a replacement since EoL sole products usually are better value but so far the prices haven't dropped.
Will look at it again after ios13 is launched and see how. Definitely would prefer the 4 speakers of the Pro over the 2 of the Air 3.
5 years on an iPad so far and I only use it for YouTube, Chrome and Netflix, only the the Chrome browser is showing a bit of lag.
dickybird
post Apr 28 2019, 01:36 PM

2,093 posts

TS please forgive me for going oot.
Since I really only use the tablet for media consumption.
I want the 4 speakers and great screen.
I'm going for the Galaxy Tab S5e
dickybird
post May 2 2019, 03:17 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Ricky Ling @ May 2 2019, 02:54 PM)
Since u bought S5e, do u encounter wifi breakout as mentioned here...https://bgr.com/2019/05/01/galaxy-tab-s5e-wifi-connection-issues-samsung/amp/
Haha. I haven’t got it yet. Was going to get it on Friday when the store i went to got more stock and accessories. Now i am not so sure. Maybe i will wait for them to release the Tab S5 and then see how much they drop the price of the tab S4? So far the lowest price I have seen for the Tab S4 is 2899.
As for the Tab S5e, the lower left corner would be covered by the Smart Cover anyways so i am sure it will be affected one way or another.
Looking at the Tab A 10.5 as well since it does have quad speakers and a not bad screen. At rm 1699 it is not a bad price.
dickybird
post May 10 2019, 08:31 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 6 2019, 08:51 AM)
If you're not buying it for gaming, it should be OK.

I'll stick to iPads for my tablet needs for now.
Thanks. Not much of a gamer. But when I do game, it's on my PC.
Still haven't bought anything yet.

QUOTE(Chiggah @ May 10 2019, 10:15 AM)
If i mainly use iPad for Plex, Youtube, Netflix, no need the Pro nor new Air right ? Don't game on it either.

Currently on ipad Air 2, and just works fine as is. Still a beast
I have a similar usage but running 2 apps at once. Stuttering happens when I run YouTube and use Chrome together.

UPDATE

I managed to get one of the Clearance IPad Pro 10.5 64 GB at RM 2299 from TMT. So, i have signed back on the IPad train for a few more years at least.

This post has been edited by dickybird: May 10 2019, 11:57 PM
dickybird
post May 11 2019, 11:06 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Stochastic @ May 11 2019, 10:50 AM)
Anyone know the minimum years of iOS support? Thinking to buy an iPad from Machines clearance sales. Thanks thanks
What are you looking to buy?
Still using my iPad Air from 2014 and just updated to iOS 12.2. I think it came with iOS 7.
I'd say, you're good for at least 3 or 4 years depending on the version of iPad you're going to buy.
dickybird
post May 11 2019, 11:13 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 11 2019, 08:36 AM)
Nice, congrats!

I'm now deciding between a clearance 12.9" cellular and wifi one at 2599 or the new Air at 2749. The clearance 12.9" cellular and wifi 256GB one at 2799 is sold out though, otherwise it'd be a no-brainer.
Not an expert but I guess it depends on your needs. Do you need the memory or can you work around it with a cloud subs?
And what you're going to use the larger for?
My 10.5 is mainly for media consumption and internet surfing. And it is mostly homebound so WiFi is enough.
I just wanted a better screen and sound experience. I was on the brink of getting the Galaxy Tab S5e because of its Super Amoled screen but the Netflix viewing experience on it wouldn't do the screen justice so when the price dropped to almost Air 3 levels, I went for it. No need to think about it anymore.
dickybird
post May 11 2019, 12:40 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 11 2019, 11:28 AM)
Ya, having had the 256GB model for 5 months I decided it was overkill for me, so now aiming a 64GB model, but the difference of just RM200 for four times the storage is an easy decision, hehe. I’m on the road a lot and while I can use my phone as a hotspot, I find it a little troublesome as I’m used to a cellular iPad smile.gif
The old one bro, clearance pricing smile.gif
If for work, and price not an issue. More storage is always better. Haha
dickybird
post May 11 2019, 02:38 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ May 11 2019, 02:01 PM)
There is a minimal lag with the latest IOS. That is what I felt before on my Ipad Air 2. Maybe I am somehow picky I guess.
My iPad Air already starting to lag when running 2 apps together like YouTube and chrome together.
So an upgrade in lieu of obsolescence is due.
EoL models from Apple to me, represent great value.
Apple devices are expensive upfront but durable.
dickybird
post May 13 2019, 12:51 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 12 2019, 08:26 AM)
Ya, anything that goes beyond 5 years as far as these digital gadgets are concerned, you already got your money's worth smile.gif
Dug up my very old ipad2 from somewhere. It still works but the screen is horrible and the system is very laggy but will still run YouTube well enough and use it as an e reader.
dickybird
post May 13 2019, 02:40 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 13 2019, 02:15 PM)
Can also use as a digital photo frame as most of my friends with functioning iPad 2 are doing laugh.gif
Lop
dickybird
post Oct 19 2019, 07:47 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(valerie.wen @ Oct 19 2019, 07:37 PM)
I am still very on the edge!

Thinking between s5e, iPad mini and iPad Air.

Assumption is I didn't get the iPad Pro 2017 RM2k promo lah.
Hey, I waited and when the ipad pro 10.5 went down to 2199, I bit the bullet.

dickybird
post Oct 19 2019, 07:51 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(valerie.wen @ Oct 19 2019, 07:51 PM)
Haha any regrets?
Nope
dickybird
post Oct 19 2019, 07:54 PM

2,093 posts

iPad pro 10.5 Pro Motion screen and quad speakers in an accomplished ecosystem, at a knockdown price. Apple EOL devices are the best value devices imho.
dickybird
post Oct 21 2019, 09:34 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 21 2019, 12:57 AM)
Value for money indeed but the design...
2017 iPad Pro 10.5 design is in line with the Air 1. A design i am comfortable with and it doesn’t bend or warp unlike the 2018 Pros.
dickybird
post Oct 21 2019, 09:36 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(valerie.wen @ Oct 20 2019, 08:26 PM)
Macam yes also! I'm now looking between iPad Mini and iPad Air. Can't decide yet but still have some time til 11.11 hehe
If you can get a 2017 Pro 10.5 , it is a better value device than the new Air.
Minis are an acquired taste.
dickybird
post Oct 21 2019, 08:18 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 21 2019, 07:57 PM)
That’s one of the reasons I gave up my 11 Pro and downgraded to Air 3. I was paranoid I would accidentally bend it sooner or later laugh.gif
You could've just used a case, no?
Apple makes great products when they can be bothered to fix their design flaws. Hehe
dickybird
post Oct 31 2019, 04:55 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow. @ Oct 31 2019, 04:08 PM)
depends also.. this is kinda subjective
Just get the one you want.
If you have one already, I would say some of the recent ones are better than the newest ones.

0.0367sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:59 PM