Samsung Samsung Galaxy S10e / S10 / S10+ discussion V4, the 10th Anniversary Galaxy

davidletterboyz
post Mar 22 2019, 12:04 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Mar 22 2019, 11:51 AM)
Pretty sure your phone got some app issue because 50% for 1 hour is crazy.
Yup. Trying to figure out.

QUOTE(takehiko @ Mar 22 2019, 11:55 AM)
Yup mine ia S10+. Suggest you do backup & hard reset your phone.
QUOTE(triple02 @ Mar 22 2019, 11:59 AM)
Yours is a S10 right?

How did u move the data from your old phone to the new phone? Are u using all the apps currently installed on your phone? Would be you be ok to do a hard reset of the phone, clear the partition cache and restart over?
Using Google Backup and restore. Not smart switch. Probably that's the issue. Will do hard reset this weekend after I try adhell haha.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 22 2019, 12:24 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 22 2019, 12:06 PM)
i think people place way too much expectation on the S10 series, because of new processor, higher capacity battery, and software. Also based on the positive feedbacks from Note 9 users after they updated to One UI. Finally is the popularity of huawei in recent years

not to say people are wrong in this case. just unfortunate for Samsung and the S10
that being said. do note that this phone only went through one software update so far. there's more to come hopefully
Yup.

QUOTE(marcyeo @ Mar 22 2019, 12:06 PM)
Omg... That is really bad...
My settings:
1. Data on, the rest off. U name it in notification panel. I only use when necessary
2. I put most apps on sleep except for what's app and Google app
3. Bixby routine off
4. As attached
My setting is same as yours at (4).
I did enable Sync though. Yesterday I turned it off and it didn't make any difference. Still draining lol.
Did you enable Google backup? Settings->Google->Backup->Backup to Google Drive?
Basically all these settings are same to my other phones. lol

QUOTE(marcyeo @ Mar 22 2019, 12:10 PM)
BTW did u use ur phone as a new fresh phone and reinstall app?

Or u transfer ur stuff from old phones?
During the Google account setup fresh out of box, it will prompt if we want to restore from backup. It will restore call logs, SMS, WiFi passwords, settings etc. All the apps will be pulled from the old phone as well. Probably that's the problem.

QUOTE(triple02 @ Mar 22 2019, 12:11 PM)
U restored the Apps as well? That just might be the culprit. You can either rip everything out and restart over or continue fixing what you see for incremental improvements. smile.gif

And for what is worth I actually did a factory reset after mistaken restoring the apps after the first two days since I noticed some issues. I don’t see much issues with mine now.
Yes. Maybe I should just start all over again lol.

BTW, how much is the extend one year warranty? lol
davidletterboyz
post Mar 22 2019, 05:19 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 22 2019, 01:08 PM)
Not really bro. Oneplus phones don't depreciate so much in general because Oneplus only makes a certain batch of phones per model due to the 6 months flagship lifespan policy. So by the time a new model comes up, the old model would usually be almost sold out already because Oneplus stopped their production way earlier before the new model launches.
I also think so lol. OnePlus has probably the highest RV among Androids. Not sure why though. Even with their dual-phone per year!

QUOTE(xchaosdragon @ Mar 22 2019, 03:52 PM)
Anyone felt like their Adaptive Brightness makes the display a little bit too dim? In a lot of times I struggle to see what's on the screen, so I had to crank up the brightness. But eventually it goes down again
Sometimes only. But yes, it does happen more frequently. I don't remember my other recent phone need any auto brightness adjustment.

QUOTE(kueckcinx @ Mar 22 2019, 04:29 PM)

Why this ori screen protector from Samsung so easy got bubble? I didnt do anything extreme to the phone also..
Mine is fine. I actually satisfied with it. No issue here at all. The oleophobic coating also lasts longer than I thought.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 22 2019, 05:25 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Mar 22 2019, 05:23 PM)
I tukar already to RM20 rubber screen protector. Puas hati. The ori one scratches banyak gilaaaa.
Does it stick perfectly? Fingerprint scanner can detect perfectly?
davidletterboyz
post Mar 23 2019, 11:29 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(XP750 @ Mar 22 2019, 11:47 PM)
anyone has issue with high ram usage?
i dont have any heavy stuff open, most of them even if i close the all the apps i'm left with 900mb available ram out of 8gb!! wtf is this.
And the only app i have open and trying to keep open because it keeps closing is spotify
No man. Something ain't right with your software.

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Mar 23 2019, 12:58 AM)
Looks like adhell3 did extend my battery life for quite a bit. Started the day with 97% battery, usage consists of 90% wifi , 10% data. Sync on, location on, AOD disabled halfway through the day (enabled touch to show previously)

Galaxy S10+ if anybody is curious.
So what shall we disable with adhell? All Bixby related stuff?

QUOTE(muazzamjohari @ Mar 23 2019, 08:39 AM)
Hello guys, new S10 user here having previously using iPhone for 3 years. I have something to ask regarding the charging of my phone. Previously, i always connect my phone to the charger during video call so that my battery will not drain. But on my s10, i found that eventho i connect the phone to the charger during video call, the phone will keep on losing charges. Can someone explain if this is normal?
Don't use your phone when charging. Too risky la bro.

QUOTE(attw @ Mar 23 2019, 09:45 AM)
A fool and his Galaxy are soon parted, TOMEI-R smile.gif
Aiyo why? What's your next phone?

QUOTE(ohman @ Mar 23 2019, 10:28 AM)
how much?

asking while taking a peep at p30pro
what world is this??

overnight camp for vivo??? vivo v15 pro

I can't stand tear drop notch. Looks damn irritating. I rather take Mate 20 Pro long notch.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 23 2019, 12:39 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Mar 23 2019, 11:34 AM)
If you meant to ask if I have sold it, then the answer is yes smile.gif
No no, no more Samsung for me. (I told myself that after I sold off my Note 9 too, hahaha)
The ownership experience didn't differ much from the Note 9 or indeed the S9+, despite being a new processor and new UI. I'm eyeing to test one of the Mate 20 series now, given the price cut. But might also try the RN7.
Yeah, Xiaomi and Huawei are the only Chinese brands I have tried. My favourite Xiaomi phone in recent times has to be the Mi A1 - crappy camera but stock Android is bliss!
Ah yes. I think Mate 20 Pro is more worth, for what it offers. It's the only formidable rival to S10 series.
Too bad our RN7 here is only 4GB RAM. Not enough IMHO.
You sold yours damn fast man. Posted last night then gone d. Haha

QUOTE(triple02 @ Mar 23 2019, 11:36 AM)
Oh wow u sold yours so fast! Thought it would have lasted a month at least!

Why not the P30 Pro bro?
My take is, P30 Pro won't be cheap. P20 Pro was launched at RM3299 with weak free gifts but we had massive qoo10 vouchers. That's why it's selling well. S10 also RM3299 but with strong free gifts. I think P30 Pro will be more expensive or same price. And if they give strong free gift, then it'll affect the Mate 20 Pro.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 27 2019, 12:33 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

Wow. Didn't come here for a few days...so much discussions going on.

QUOTE(ohman @ Mar 27 2019, 11:15 AM)
Let me remove my Samseng fanboy hat and discuss this.

1. Do we actually need curve screen?
2. Do we actually need samsung made camera module ?(hence the worse result, Samsung used to be the best. S7e s8+ they are number 1 even in low light)
3. Do we need rubbish ANT+ that we need to kill?
4. Do we need all the bloat wares?
5. Why not they aggressively kill background job like Huawei and achieve good battery life Easily?
6. Why are they so conservative with fast charging after Boom7 incident?  As far as I know, 25W charger is coming to Samsung
7. Those smart thing etc ,its cool, but it also battery consuming. Same with all those smart alert smart eyes smart yada yada.

So they have come to a point to decide whether they give all the gimmick/advance feature while sacrificing their reputation and users' battery, or they find a way to make it an option
And their 12mp camera is from s8 era, only.with an aperture build it. While competitor has a 40mp camera and black&white camera sensor
Haha now you ask the actual questions a neutral should ask. To me, I'm a neutral. I don't own any shares of Samsung or Huawei etc. So, no need for me to get religious and fanboyism over any specific brand. But I do hate iPhone lol.

OK jokes aside, my take:
1. No. I have to agree with you on the reply below. Samsung's ultimate aim was to create a foldable display but it was not possible that time. They could do curves, but to highlight their tech and product differentiation, they did the curve on edges. It's a solution to a problem that did not exist in the first place.... and creating some other problem.
2. Yes and no. The sensor is not bad at all. But it's small. To have a chance to claim the top spot in phone camera race, it has to be as big as the Huawei camera sensor.
3. Yes. It's a wireless protocol for sensor data like Smart Watch, pedometer, bicycle speed and GPS sensor etc. I don't use them. Disable them.
4. No
5. This should be the priority. Yes, Huawei kills apps quite aggressively. Before the P10 series, it's too aggressive until messaging apps also got killed. But nowadays it's just alright. The processor is so fast nowadays reloading an app is not an issue. But battery is an issue if it's draining at background. Huawei phone doesn't need any of those manual toggling of switches like we do in S10. Remember, the phone should work for us, not the other way round.
6. They did not invest much in fast charging.
7. Not useful.

QUOTE(earthdome @ Mar 27 2019, 11:53 AM)
1. For me curved is more appealing. Maybe human instinct
2. Hope they improve their camera app. Pro mode is not good enough
3. I dont find any issue with ANT+. Feature is good to have if u use it. I dont feel like it is affecting my battery. So why not.
4. I wish they remove Bixby. Or maybe i should start trying to use it instead and see.
5. Maybe for faster startup. I rarely close all app and my battery is still good
6. Yeah. Hopefully they improve their fast charging. But i'm still womdering if this will affect your battery life in long run
7. True. Especially Bixby. Maybe will try again after software update.

Without gaming, i could easily get 8 hours+ SOT.
With more than an hour gaming (non graphic intensive game like pubgm) i could get 6.5+ hours.
So far I'm pretty satisfied with the battery without installing any app to disable and just a minor tweak like disabling bixby home + voice listening.

QUOTE(ohman @ Mar 27 2019, 12:15 PM)
The problem with curve screen is they are creating a product that nobody asked for.

And the edge function is laughable because any swipe or launcher can do that.

Its expensive,  it's harder to get it protected.

If it is flat screen, we can slap a cheap rm10 sp from lazada. (Though I found many cheap sp selling in lazada, rm28 or something)

And obviously curve screen is harder to protect as well.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 27 2019, 01:57 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Mar 27 2019, 12:42 PM)
Huawei P30 is here. Some can't take the heat.  laugh.gif
Hehe. sweat.gif

QUOTE(temppei @ Mar 27 2019, 01:05 PM)
you are assuming and generalizing much my friend.

and whether it's bloatware or not - is debatable. others' might find it useful
Err...the question is for individual and the answer is also individual, which is my point of view. Not in general. Not giving a politician's answer here to make everyone happy.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 27 2019, 04:40 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 27 2019, 03:14 PM)
Adhell. Night mode, brightness..
Disable Google services..
Ohh added.. Restart after charge.. Its can reduced drain too..
Seems have bug... Phone cannot sleep well 😎
I have tested with CPU Spy. The bug mentioned earlier is actually not happening to my phone. My phone is in deep sleep most of the time if not used even after charged. But the draining is still not up to my expectation even after I reset the phone and started all over again. I have not done adhell though. Will do it when got time.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 27 2019, 04:52 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 27 2019, 04:47 PM)
because the deep sleep bug only affect those who use VOIP services through apps like whatsapp

its getting fixed in the next update
Ah I see.
Anyway, I had reset my phone last weekend and started all over again without restoring from previous Google backup. At first it was OK. Projected almost 5 hours of SOT with purely LTE.
But the next few working days it's so-so again, but not as worse as that before reset. I will give adhell a shot later and see how.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 27 2019, 05:08 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

BTW, anyone noticed S10 signal reception is weaker than your previous phones?
I, for one noticed that right away when I got the S10. My previous recent phones are OnePlus 5T, Sony XZ2, and P20 Pro (strongest of all).

https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s10...-news-36239.php
davidletterboyz
post Mar 28 2019, 02:12 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 27 2019, 05:19 PM)
maybe give adaptive power saving a try as well since samsung promoted it tongue.gif

https://www.samsungmobilepress.com/stories/...-the-galaxy-s10

the thing is we dont know how long is the optimization period until you will get the best batt life out of your phone. could be 1 or 2 weeks up to a month. Users who aren't that patient and keep resetting their phone will end up in a loop with bad batt life because the phone was never truly optimized in the first place.
didn't notice any weak reception moving from my S7E with Maxis. As long its not disrupting my usage then I'm good
According to the infographic, the right hand side use case had Adaptive enabled and ended up lesser charge than disabled. :x hahahaha
Unfortunately I am using celcom and Digi.

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 27 2019, 08:18 PM)
Wifi ane and mobile reception not as good as Note9.
I see. What telco bro?
davidletterboyz
post Mar 28 2019, 02:16 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Mar 27 2019, 11:45 PM)
The only reason I'm not using adaptive power saving is because it changes my resolution in turn messes up my keyboard size for SwiftKey. Other than that, it was find when I used it for half a day.
Oh. There's a way to make adaptive power not to change resolution. And it's an unintuitive way.

First u got to disable the Adaptive Power Saving and then click Medium Power Saving. Then choose the resolution you want and click Apply. After that enable back the Adaptive Power Saving and the Medium Power Saving setting will stick after that.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 28 2019, 11:41 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 27 2019, 02:26 AM)
Gosh... I just realize that the S10+ support Ant+... A proprietary standard for Garmin device... And as a cyclist.. This is really a game changer esp as the bike computer
Oh yes. You can link it to your Strava and let it monitor the cadence and power meter data on the fly.

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 28 2019, 07:33 AM)
I'm using Celcom man. For WiFi aspect (at level2), in the same room (level1), placing note9 and S10p side by side, typically S10p have 1-2 bar lower.
Same here! Celcom.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 28 2019, 09:07 AM)
I think the meaning was, although the right hand side case had more heavy usage (video conferencing and gaming), with adaptive power saving on you are still able to last till end of the day with charge remain
30 sec exposure biggrin.gif
The camera have to render and process for the effect to be available. It will show "Effect Ready" on the screen
Ya I know. What I told you earlier was a joke haha. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ohman @ Mar 28 2019, 09:52 AM)
Why p30pro use 30seconds to compare with others 10seconds?
Because only they can do 30seconds.
Wtf comparison is this laugh.gif
Fair or not, apart from the comparison, we cannot deny the fact that Samsung's sensor has stagnant since S7E. In fact we can only use up to ISO 800 at manual mode. This is insufficient if they want to claim to be the pinnacle of mobile phone photography.

QUOTE(emino @ Mar 28 2019, 10:34 AM)
I don't understand all these night mode photos.

For me, night mode photos shouldnt be looking like it was taken when it is bright. Night mode should be as what our eyes sees in that dim condition.

I see a lot of camera that brag that they can take photos in totally dark room (even mata pun tak nampak) and I'm like, ok, why?
For photographers, photography is a form of expression. And the more headroom a camera has, the more imagination they can capture.
Tell me a single award winning photo that looks like a reality that we see from our eyes. I can say there is none.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 30 2019, 08:37 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(chuah_ph @ Mar 29 2019, 08:23 PM)
Amazing View of Sunrise and Sunset!!
Wish everyone enjoy your before and after work day.....life is always awesome no matter how difficult or challenges we go through daily!!

It is TGIF again!! Hoorayyy....

[attachmentid=10215792]
[attachmentid=10215791]

S10+: Even I dont have 50x zoom but I do have spectacular exposure and color!!!
The tone is quite muted and lifeless bro sweat.gif

QUOTE(starship1 @ Mar 30 2019, 08:49 AM)
Now that i know good software update is on its way , this make it even harder to buy the p30pro as replacement for my already lovely and sweet 10e which i adore. Aiyah rclxub.gif
P30Pro will compete with S10+ bro. And won't be cheap.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 30 2019, 10:29 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(xchaosdragon @ Mar 30 2019, 08:44 PM)
Should be priced around 3.3 or 3.4k like last year. At this point, I think it's better to get Mate 20 pro at 3k?

If you don't care for the telescope, mate 20 pro is a wayyyy better bargain.
P20 Pro was launched at RM3299 but we had qoo10 vouchers.
The Mate 20 Pro was launched at RM3599 but the P30 Pro launch price in China is more expensive than Mate 20 Pro....and a lot more expensive than P20 Pro.

Oh ya. The cheapest M20 Pro now is RM2650. I think it's more worth.

QUOTE(chuah_ph @ Mar 30 2019, 09:23 PM)
Initially just upload the auto shot without any auto enhance...I just feel the sky color nice so feel awesome view....never though u all so particular with the image quality.....as all know Msia s10+ still pending new fw upgrade which should optimize the camera performance so just wait and see later...

I just reupload both pics which done by the 1 click Samsung Gallery Photo Auto Enhance...I am lazy to edit them by others pro apps....
The composition is good and all, but the color is too unsaturated. It probably looks like that in reality but some camera's post processing algorithm has more enticing colour profile (means not realistic).

The photo below was taken from Nokia 808 Pureview. The original file is 40MP without any editing done. I must say the sensor and JPEG algorithm produced quite realistic color but with very smooth tone.

The following pic was out-of-camera photo from Huawei P10's vivid mode and manual white balance. The scene at that time looked spectacular but the photo's color doesn't look like reality at all.

Honestly I don't think Samsung will ever change the color profile because it's been like that since S7 series. So as Huawei's Leica Smooth profile.

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Mar 30 2019, 10:31 PM
davidletterboyz
post Mar 31 2019, 12:48 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(chuah_ph @ Mar 31 2019, 12:16 AM)
Wooh...I am not that expert and I just compare the photo with actual which quite match....as for post processing will see how much Samsung will optimized on new FW...
You're right. Samsung camera color profile is quite close to the actual scene. Except they the green (e.g. grass and leaves) is a tad too cold and saturated.

There's no right or wrong. Just a matter of preference.
davidletterboyz
post Mar 31 2019, 10:54 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(chuah_ph @ Mar 31 2019, 12:55 AM)
If I make it more saturate then will macam ini d...but I simply adjust eh...
[attachmentid=10216322]
[attachmentid=10216321]
The photo pops out a bit.
davidletterboyz
post Apr 3 2019, 01:07 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 2 2019, 06:00 PM)

UPDATE OUT! GO NUTS!
Notice the scrolling performance is much better and smoother!
There is an auto rotate pop up button on bottom right of the screen when change of orientation is detected.

QUOTE(ohman @ Apr 2 2019, 06:15 PM)
Nice po gift

Not nice. How often does one go snorkeling? And this item is tied with P30 Pro. Means all first batch PO owner have it but nobody else wants it.
Basically not much resale value.

QUOTE(earthdome @ Apr 2 2019, 08:11 PM)
Inbe4huaweibetter
Not bad.

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Apr 2 2019, 11:45 PM)
True. Samsung keeps the best for itself except during S8 time. I think Mate Porsche series had the same screen.
davidletterboyz
post Apr 3 2019, 09:00 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(pds_disi @ Apr 3 2019, 08:57 AM)
Guys, is Malaysia s10 come with dual sim?
If yes, is dual LTE standby and dual WhatsApp available?

Can't find the info in 1st page on my small phone screen...
Yes.
But I'm not sure whether can set dual LTE standby. Why would you need dual LTE?
Yes can use dual WhatsApp.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1010sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:29 AM