EPF - self contribution, need advise

thesnake
post Jul 12 2023, 12:26 PM

613 posts

its always a balance. it is human nature to enjoy the money once retired as a reward for working 30 years of their adult life. should be a bit more compassionate on giving more flexibility to withdraw anytime they want.
thesnake
post Dec 5 2024, 07:07 PM

613 posts

EPF dividend is exempted for the 100k dividend per year right?
thesnake
post Dec 6 2024, 12:43 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 6 2024, 11:36 AM)
https://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...pf-contributors

# abolish the 75 yo age limitations for EPF contribution

# Malaysia aging nation, long life for majority

# senior citizens have been target of scammers... EPF security is the best so far... Many want to contribute even after  75 yo
What's next?
Senior citizens want the self contribution limits to increase higher from current 100k per year???

Which also the dream of some in lowyat forums members 😜
TBH, if EPF can sustain every year 5% onwards, many people would just keep dumping their 100k extra into EPF to become a super fund.
If all goes well, I can retire by 45 years old.
thesnake
post Jan 4 2025, 12:59 PM

613 posts

guys i dont understand this deposit on last day of Jan. Can i just say to maximize interest, we just make sure we deposit on 25th Jan? Or am I missing something here?
thesnake
post Jan 4 2025, 02:38 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jan 4 2025, 02:15 PM)
EPF only recognise one day of the month you deposit in.

So if you deposit 15th Jan or deposit 30th Jan, they only count one day of interest for Jan.

So if you move your money on 15, you lost that 15 day interest from your other bank or FD.

However, if you bank in 29th, and something went wrong and EPF only reflected it in Feb, you lose entire Feb month of dividend.

So, just bank in earlier to be safe.
thanks for your explanation!
thesnake
post Mar 13 2025, 02:07 PM

613 posts

hit my rm 100k self contribution limit today!
thesnake
post Mar 13 2025, 02:12 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 13 2025, 02:10 PM)
You know right...

Whatever deposit this March only generate 1 day interest for your contribution...

Better to deposit around 5 or 6  days before month end.... Since this month got festival holidays....

If not, 3 days sufficient enough...
just wanted to park the money first scared use to yolo enjoy 😅
thesnake
post Mar 16 2025, 08:29 AM

613 posts

im 36 yo this year and have about rm 1.4 mil..i am contributing max rm 100k per year. as per my calculations, i can reach rm 5-6 mil by the time im 45 yo. Hope by then i can retire

This post has been edited by thesnake: Mar 16 2025, 08:30 AM
thesnake
post Mar 16 2025, 10:07 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 16 2025, 09:27 AM)
Wow good job, married with how many children?
married but no kids yet.
thesnake
post Mar 16 2025, 10:09 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 16 2025, 08:36 AM)
But hor, by that time at 45, you may think that, why not continue to do as usual for another 10 more years since you are still capable and happy doing it for the past 20 yrs.
New target >10 mil, so that can have better, more secured, more next higher level of lifestyles and expenses options to freely chose and sustain it when you retire after 55 instead of 45..

But, then after 55, that thinking may repeat itself but with a higher target..
Just like want 1.4mil at 36
Want 5-6mil at 45

Ha ha ha
you are absolutely right, humans are greedy by nature and indeed by the time im 45 maybe i would want to work another 10 more years.

lets see my health condition by then, if still energetic i will consider to work longer. biggrin.gif
thesnake
post Jun 27 2025, 04:19 PM

613 posts

my EPF is around 60% of my total net worth now.
thesnake
post Sep 29 2025, 05:27 PM

613 posts

i already nearing to rm 1.5 mil in EPF, so not impacting me much

0.0252sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:31 AM