EPF - self contribution, need advise

sg8989
post Feb 24 2023, 11:00 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2023, 07:09 PM)
Self contribution can get pelepasan cukai as well. Under premium insuran nyawa category, max 3k. This is good.
But if u got premium insurans nyawa 3k oledi means cannot claim for epf liao?

sg8989
post Apr 22 2023, 10:25 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 17 2023, 06:57 PM)
There's "new" thing in EPF Self Contribution...
Spot The difference in the picture  brows.gif  brows.gif

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution...lf-contribution

still 60k
sg8989
post May 31 2023, 05:50 PM

511 posts

Dear all
Latest news:

The 60k cap will be uplift to 100k starting tomorrow Jun 2023.
sg8989
post May 31 2023, 11:01 PM

511 posts

Is everyone ready to hoot???
what is your estimated % on the coming dividen payout?
sg8989
post Jun 1 2023, 08:49 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 1 2023, 08:10 AM)
Contribution made from 1st of the month will reap only 1 day of interest for that month...
Put in KDI until the last few days of the month then transfer to kwsp
Put on last day of the month biggrin.gif
sg8989
post Jun 2 2023, 12:07 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 2 2023, 10:39 AM)
you are already retired, right?

im still trying to hit 1 mil.... maybe 3 more yrs to go...100k/ yr is tough... hopefully all worth it..
Mean now u have almost 600k?! blush.gif
sg8989
post Oct 25 2023, 12:07 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Oct 24 2023, 03:58 PM)
those who have yet to do self contribution please read this and it might change your mind:

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/web/guest/w/budg...-infrastructure

Expanding the scope of annual tax relief for life insurance premiums or life takaful contributions to cover voluntary contributions to the EPF of up to RM3,000
The EPF welcomes the initiative to expand the scope of annual tax relief for life insurance premiums or life takaful contributions to cover voluntary contributions to the EPF of up to RM3,000. This initiative can be enjoyed by all workers, both in the formal or informal sector, who make voluntary contributions to the EPF. This means that a member who contributes compulsorily (tax relief up to RM4,000) and increases savings with voluntary contributions or voluntary excess or both will be able to enjoy tax relief of up to RM7,000. This effort will encourage more Malaysians to increase their retirement savings for old age.
it seem like not approve yet in budget?
sg8989
post Mar 11 2024, 12:55 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 2 2024, 09:31 PM)
but what makes you think you need to contribute to Account 3 by default ?
Currently : 70/30
Later: 70/20/10 ?
Will Account 3 affect our dividen payout?
sg8989
post Oct 30 2024, 10:58 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 30 2024, 02:23 PM)
You can use your debit cards to self contribute too...
If you're at EPF office
How about credit card?
sg8989
post Dec 11 2024, 12:30 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 6 2024, 02:05 PM)
Based on past years history

EPF dividend indeed 5% & above

So not to worries much...

Also remember, they have guaranteed 2.5% dividend policies in place...
Pls give 6.5% or above dividen for this year2024.
sg8989
post Dec 29 2024, 08:57 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(SkinnyBone @ Dec 29 2024, 08:45 PM)
If I deposit 100k this month, can I terus add another 100k in Jan 2025? Or need to wait Dec 2025 only can add more ya?
Can terus add 100k at january 2025.
sg8989
post Jan 25 2025, 03:34 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 25 2025, 08:15 AM)
soul78

I really respect you taking risk on crypto...

It's good returns but also high risk...

But since you got back ups in EPF...

Should be less issues...
Another alternative is invest SP500 ETF...
or NDX ETF ,return much higher than EPF.
sg8989
post Jan 29 2025, 07:58 PM

511 posts

U all still put money inside? no worry EPF change policy again?
sg8989
post Mar 7 2025, 01:03 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Mar 7 2025, 12:20 PM)
Can anyone double confirm this changes ? Unker check website still the same 1mil
Already confirmed. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(virtualgay @ Mar 6 2025, 04:26 PM)
anyone hold their horses due to Retirement Income Adequacy (RIA) Framework and stop contributing because u know u wont be able to hit the numbers?

Regarding withdrawals, members with savings exceeding RM1 million currently have the flexibility to withdraw and manage the excess savings. This threshold will align with the Enhanced Savings benchmark and will increase as follows:

RM1.1 million by January 1, 2026
RM1.2 million by January 1, 2027
RM1.3 million by January 1, 2028

after 2028 maybe increase again to like 1.4, 1.5, 1.6 - if continue like that nobody would really want to self contribute as it is a chasing game

If as off 2025 i have 1 million now then 2026 in order be be eligible to withdraw u again need top up 100k
so my advice is pls dont go all in as 1 year self contribute only 100k if u are around 800k better forget it
if you are at 1M maybe still possible
Do remember their direction now is DO NOT ALLOW ONE TIME WITHDRAWAL when you hit 55 year old
Might be follow Singapore monthly withdrawal fix and cap.

This post has been edited by sg8989: Mar 7 2025, 01:05 PM
sg8989
post Mar 7 2025, 01:12 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Mar 7 2025, 01:07 PM)
Can share where you see this?
From chinese newspaper
https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20230705/nation/4804256
sg8989
post Mar 7 2025, 01:59 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Mar 7 2025, 01:19 PM)
so again the "taint" by Madani government is showing up in EPF...

so as not to scare everyone, it is a feature where the EPF members can still choose Full withdrawal or some kind of annuities (i mention this cos i didn't find out the full details... but the translated article said periodic).
So there is still a choice... between at 55 with withdrawal or annuities.
No
It is written NOT allow FULL WITDRAWAL. This is their direction moving to,
sg8989
post Mar 7 2025, 09:06 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Mar 7 2025, 09:04 PM)
I thought 1 time withdrawal is 50 years old, from Account 2.

They mention a lot of things. But latest guideline that transitions to 1.1m, 1.2m, 1.3m already show how much you can withdraw every month. Now only see how much they can apply their proposal into reality without breaking any existing laws/provisions.
All 3 accounts same like monthly contribution paid by company.
Yes
The transition from 1m to 1.3M is not the final.
They claimed will revise from time to time.
Who knows after 5 years become 1.4 1.5 1.6M?
sg8989
post Mar 7 2025, 11:18 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Mar 7 2025, 09:37 PM)
The problem with the 3-tier withdrawal limit is, it shows their intention to hold our money. They'll probably have to amend existing laws to do that.
Indeed
From RIA framework, they have the right to amend.

Flexibility for Members With Excess Savings
The withdrawal policy for savings above RM1 million will align with the Enhanced Savings benchmark, offering members flexibility in managing their surplus funds. Like Basic Savings level transition, the threshold for this withdrawal will increase gradually by RM100,000 annually over three years. Additionally, under the Members’ Investment Scheme (MIS), members can transfer 30% of savings above the Basic Savings amount in Akaun Persaraan to approved funds managed by Fund Management Institutions premised on the New Basic Savings table effective 1 January 2026 (Table 1).

0.0274sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:59 PM