EPF - self contribution, need advise

cute_boboi
post Nov 21 2019, 10:04 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Nov 21 2019, 09:16 AM)
Sorry, ild thread. If Some1 bank in 60k lump sum in Nov, how much dividend will he get next year.
Is it gonna be pro rated by the number of month before December?
As stated above, if bank in (cleared) into EPF on 1-Nov, then interest pro-rated for Nov & Dec (2/12 x % x amount)

If after 1-Nov, then interest pro-rated for Dec (1/12 x % x amount) only.

cute_boboi
post Dec 2 2019, 04:18 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Dec 2 2019, 04:06 PM)
Which month is the best month to do self contribution EPF by maybank2u?

I always thought it is in December, am I right?
Why December ? hmm.gif

If you think EPF is stupid, no. EPF will pro-rate the contribution based on the month, so dividend is pro-rate depending on the month+1 it is banked in.

cute_boboi
post Dec 30 2019, 11:57 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 30 2019, 11:27 AM)
if use online I-akaun to check, still need to wait as per the above to know the status?
Yes, it does not show in EPF online instantly even if you do bank online instant transfer. It may take 2-4 days to reflect in your EPF online i-akaun.

To be safe, I always do it few days before 1st of month, excluding weekends.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Dec 30 2019, 09:18 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Dec 30 2019, 07:12 PM)
From my experience this year, it takes on average 3 working days to see it reflected on i-akaun. There was one time I could see it the next day.

If you credit in xx amount under self-contribution lets say, on 31-Dec 2019, you will only see it credited in Feb 2020 selepas new statement released.
Your bolded quote above doesn't make sense. You don't have to wait for the monthly statement. You view it from your detail transaction history. Can see immediate within 2-4 working days as stated earlier.

e.g
If I credit on 30-Nov-2019, I can see transaction history by about 1-Dec to 4-Dec. I don't have to wait for the monthly statement by end Dec-2019 or early Jan-2019.

Hence the same if I credit on 31-Dec-2019, I can see the transaction history by about 1-Jan to 4-Jan. I don't have to wait for the monthly statement by end Jan-2020 or early Feb-2020 rclxub.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Dec 31 2019, 02:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Dec 31 2019, 12:38 AM)
I was referring specifically to transactions in January. Thats the black out period before declaration of dividend.

Otherwise its usually 3 working days.
Monthly statement is not available in the beginning of the year until announced declared divided by mid/end February of every year. But with latest online, you can check the transaction details anytime.

cute_boboi
post Jan 3 2020, 10:46 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 3 2020, 10:28 AM)
just out of curiosity and to "test" the availability of black out period of transaction details.
I made a self contribution on 31 Dec 2019 (as suggested in the above post)

my EPF a/c's total balance was updated with the self contribution value/details 3 days later.

Looks like what you mentioned are happening .

I used the EPF I-akaun to check, it did reflects in 3 days, the self contribution amount in my total a/c balance

tag the both of you because you seems to be following this.....
Thanks for confirming with proof icon_rolleyes.gif I also start to dump in for 2020 already on 1/1/2020

cute_boboi
post Jan 4 2020, 12:26 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Jan 4 2020, 12:18 PM)
Sorry for asking dumb question but say now out of desperation I need to withdraw 50k from acc2 for Renovation can i Put back 50k into acc2 after selling off my car , bcos I need to start Reno but my car still not yet have buyer don't want sell to car dealer cheap
Theoretically, short answer, yes.

Long answer, provided you meet all the requirements/eligibility/etc. You can withdraw 50k from account 2, there is a formula to calculate maximum withdrawal.
But when you put back 50k, as self-contribution, it will split 70/30 into account 1 and 2. At the end of day/year/55/life, the annual dividend % calculation is still the same whether is account 1 or 2. But it will affect future account 2 withdrawal.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Jan 4 2020, 01:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Jan 4 2020, 12:44 PM)
Oh thanks for the clarification and answer that's what I'm looking for haha , 70/30 means If I take 100k fr acc2 put back future only left back 30k in acc2 right
^^^ Yes.

One more point is EPF withdrawal is changing every now and then. Previously for first-time withdrawal for house purchase, EPF bank direct into my own savings account, not the loan account. Subsequent withdrawal is direct into loan account. FYI, this is many years ago.

Nowadays, I think EPF will direct into loan account. I'm not sure.

Also depends if current bank loan will lock-in or direct-reduce the loan principal balance or not. If like this, then you cannot withdraw also. Also depends if your bank loan is full/semi flexi or just regular loan that cannot withdraw.

You have to check with your bank loan and EPF.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 10 2020, 12:56 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jan 10 2020, 10:10 AM)
This is not saying EPF will bankrupt.. if EPF bankrupt, then stocks in Malaysia will be much worse.

The diff between holding stocks vs EPF is liquidity.. in times of need , you have access to funds immediately ..

An extreme example is if you are dying in a years time , u can liquidate your stocks and spend the money the way u want ... not with EPF, it will be locked up and then your beneficiary can spend..

A less extreme example ... 10 years down the road.. u want to migrate... and u need money etc etc...

Basically, u are saying u want to earn extra 2% for giving out a 30 year loan...this loan cannot be terminated prematurely ..

And, even the extra 2% is debatable .... stocks might be able to earn 10% quite easily Over the long term... so, you end up locking yourself up and earn less.... not saying stocks will do better ... but there is a chance it will do better than 6%
Give up MY citizenship, get new country citizenship, show to EPF that you surrendered M'sian citizenship, and EPF will lump sum give back to you (of course within reasonable processing time of weeks/months). No age restriction.
I have friends who migrated and withdraw all. Some still curi curi leave in EPF to compound interest.

cute_boboi
post Jan 10 2020, 01:14 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jan 10 2020, 01:06 PM)
Lol.. nobody is giving up Malaysian citizenship..if take PR only then cannot withdraw ... money stuck
Then, it is not called migration already rclxub.gif you should rephrase to work/stay at overseas for extended period of time.

cute_boboi
post Mar 7 2020, 11:37 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 7 2020, 10:17 AM)
anyone knows what is the maximum limit if using Maybank payment into EPF? i asked them in FB, they say 15K per transaction but when I make the payment, it says my limit is 5K.
How to raise the limit? I look under payment limit but dont see anything relevant.
thanks in advance
Just make multiple 5k via M2U into EPF, can do multiple transactions in a single day.
Cannot raise limit, that is the max.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Mar 7 2020, 02:00 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 7 2020, 11:42 AM)
just for knowledge.....
what is the max amount of times or & value can be  made PER DAY?
is there a limits?
like max 10 times (transaction/transfers) or max RM100k ....in a single day?
Max I have tried is 3x RM5k in a day from M2U into single EPF. Have not tried other options.
My assumption could be linked to your from-account transaction limit per day which could be 30k/50k?
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 28 2021, 12:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Just to share, two days to reflect into EPF
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 27 2021, 10:18 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jul 27 2021, 07:34 AM)
I asked KWSP a few months ago. They told me the max is 50% (or 55% ?)of the gross salary if I remember correctly

You can ask your employer to increase the employer portion though , but need hr to work out the exact amount

In my case i asked my employer to decrease my salary , but increase epf paid by him.
Why would you do that ?
1) Your base pay becomes lower. Which will affect your bonus, future job HR will look at base pay, bank loan application, credit, etc.
2) You can always use employee to increase % which is the same as #1, unless you already max employee % ?
3) Do note max employer is 19% IIRC, anything above that is taxable on the Employer EPF portion, which will lower your income/contribution and pay additional tax on top of your regular income tax rate.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 27 2023, 12:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Self-contribute and reflected within 2 working days thumbup.gif

OT : 2nd time online withdrawal for testing, also reflected in my savings account within 3 working days. After the 1st time OTC thumb print, now no need queue already.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 28 2023, 01:17 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jan 27 2023, 03:46 PM)
can withdraw like bank? or you ady above 55?
Can withdraw like online banking IBG transfer. Above 1M, below 55.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jan 30 2023, 11:41 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(FinalHistory @ Jan 30 2023, 02:09 PM)
Thank you so much all. Because this was my 1st time and it was big sum, so I got nervous a bit sad.gif

I am sorry that I didn't read through all the threads, would like to know, you guys every month allocate a certain percentage of the income to self contribute to EPF?

And I am also curious, you all are in business? Or there are some here actually under employment and decided to top up more on top of what already been contributed by the gross salary and employer by self contributing ?

Thank you
I'm under employment. Inform your HR to help fill up and submit Form 17A and you need to inform your employee % you want to contribute.
My consideration to do >11% for employee is after monthly:
- pay off all loans/CC
- cover all expenses
- some liquid cash/FD savings
- some for other non-EPF investment
- additional savings for bulk that come in some months, e.g. car insurance, roadtax, travel, annual fees, professional fees, etc.

Then only commit the amount (%) additional.
You may stop or change via Form 17A anytime, but try not to over commit too much and strangle ownself. Start with a % you are really really comfortable.

Also my consideration is either hit age 55 or >1M first. Then my EPF is like a savings/FD account already, can withdraw anytime and continue to compound.

icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Jan 31 2023, 11:09 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(FinalHistory @ Jan 31 2023, 08:48 AM)
Thank you so much for such a great idea. I remember the same Form 17A is to fill up in order to select either 9% or 11% contribution. I have never thought of changing it through this form, I thought I personally self contribute like a thousand from my own saving acc, now after you mentioned it, I realised that going through the employer will be better as it will not be taxable. notworthy.gif
I forgot one point above. There is still the yearly 60k EPF top-up that you can do. So if you can't even fill up the 60k/year, no need 17A. Just keep your cash liquid.

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 31 2023, 08:56 AM)
Question: Can we self-adjust employee contributions from 11% to say 20% or 30% while the employer retains 13% (force saving for the employee)?
Yes, can go up all the way to 90% or somewhere there (just check is 89%). Doesn't sound right but yes can do that. Some may have sugar mommy/daddy that don't need to touch the monthly salary rolleyes.gif But reasonably, normally range around 15-30%
Singapore employee CPF is around 20% while our EPF is 11%

QUOTE(gashout @ Jan 31 2023, 09:43 AM)
you are my idol  smile.gif

i will need 3-4 more yrs to hit 1 mil below 55 yo
Keep it up bro ! Motivate each another thumbup.gif

Why I say IBG cause it takes few working days for 2nd online withdrawal and subsequent ones to show in my savings account. It's not IFT/DuitNow immediate within the same day.

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 31 2023, 12:15 PM)
Yes you can. Again it is subject to whether your HR wants to help you (which they should, but you know it is.... ) and subject to your net salary remaining in the positive.

proof: basically I've done it previously when still working
Correct. I recall it must be submitted by the Employer HR dept. You cannot submit Form 17A on your own directly to EPF, as it needs HR signature/chop or something.

cute_boboi
post Jan 31 2023, 11:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Sorry, an error occurred. If you are unsure on how to use a feature, or don't know why you got this error message, try looking through the help files for more information.

The error returned was:
You may only tag up to 5 members in a post.

rclxub.gif

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jan 31 2023, 05:10 PM)
How long did you take to hit the 1M mark?
Decades. How old am I ? Look at my LYN ID joined date. But I'm still young, ok ? Not yet 55 tongue.gif . Everyone starts at the same starting point. My official first EPF monthly is just 1-2 hundred every month, basic salary only 1.5k. At that time, one full year employee + employer contribution is less that my current one month 13+11% contribution. Just continue to improve, grow, bla bla bla (motivation talk) to uplift ownself. I'm not the cream of the crop or the top performers, but just stay on the above-average and I think I'm on the right track.

Everyone journey is different. This EPF is an analogy of marathon 42 years. Not a 2km sprint. For the first 10 years of my EPF, I see nothing from my EPF, still below 100k. But from there onwards, the topup+compounding is much faster. 100->200->400->600->800->1M
That is why I understand the desire to withdraw when have <100k EPF, cause year in year out, dividend 6% p.a. still see nothing.

Before I start working decades ago, I've been hearing grand father stories about EPF collapse, no money, better withdraw all, etc. year by year, decades by decades. Even today, still hearing people talk the same thing. I'm the only stupid one among all friends (as they label me) that put in more into EPF decades ago consistently and here I am today as a proof. Anyway, I don't know the future, Malaysia could turn into Zimbabwe and I could be the real stupid one by then. But is ok, I've other diversified investment to help out but that is beyond this thread EPF discussion.

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Jan 31 2023, 07:22 PM)
Self contribution will be in which account?

so only after more than 1mil we can take out if less than 55YO?
Whether 60k self contribute or Form 17A additional employee %, it is same. Split 70:30 Account 1 and 2
How I know ? I track in my own excel calculation on annual EPF total and dividend for both my account 1 and 2

Even before 55 also can take out for fund investment, studies, house, some serious sickness, etc.

icon_rolleyes.gif

Tonight very free reply you all. Tomorrow no need work (employee). KL holiday thumbup.gif

Bonus:

cute_boboi
post Feb 1 2023, 12:26 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(FinalHistory @ Feb 1 2023, 12:08 AM)
You meant if I can't even fill up the 60k/year, then it is no point to put money into EPF? Why?
No, I mean if can't fill up the 60k/year, then no need deduct more than the standard 11% employee using Form 17A. This is to keep your cash liquidity options more open until year end (or early of next year) to bulk deposit up to the 60k limit.
Or you can even do monthly or quarterly deposit to utilize the 60k/year.

Perhaps another method is to deduct monthly >11% using Form 17A. Then perhaps year end get big bonus and can utilize the 60k/year to dump in additional income.

Like I say above, everyone's journey is different.
icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0286sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:11 PM