EPF - self contribution, need advise

Wedchar2912
post Oct 6 2025, 06:51 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Oct 6 2025, 06:03 PM)
Anyone receive the RM500 yet? I deposited end of June, but still nothing.

Also, anyone got news on how much tax relief this year for voluntary contribution? still RM7K or will increase thinking of deposit remainder end of this month.
nope... still waiting... could be Nov only receive... who knows.
Wedchar2912
post Oct 6 2025, 08:26 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 6 2025, 08:20 PM)
Probably too much application to vett???

To make sure only those really qualify is given that rm500.....

From the looks of it... It's highly possible we could only get the $$$ end of November.... But I hoping by end of this October month 🙏
hmmmm.... maybe what my friend said in one of our idle talk cock session.. got some sense.... gov want to see how many use up the mykasih... then only give i-saraan... if until now still no use mykasih means the person don't really need help from gov...

hmm.gif
Wedchar2912
post Oct 8 2025, 12:16 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Oct 8 2025, 02:55 AM)
Both my kids deposited earlier than June 2025 haven’t gotten theirs yet.
my nephews and nieces deposited back during CNY also no.

guess everyone waiting...
Wedchar2912
post Oct 10 2025, 06:01 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Oct 10 2025, 05:47 PM)
The EPF matching contribution scheme (i-saraan) for voluntary contributions by gig workers and e-hailing workers has been increased to RM600 per year or RM6,000 for life.

The rate for informal workers (i-saraan) is maintained at RM500 per year and RM5,000 for life.
Wow...

Some are more equal than others.

Hmmmm
Wedchar2912
post Oct 16 2025, 01:50 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Oct 16 2025, 01:46 PM)
Anyone rcv isaraan rm500 this year ?

Deposited in June 2025
Nope...
Wedchar2912
post Oct 25 2025, 10:30 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Oct 25 2025, 09:06 PM)
This year's i-Saraan RM500 has been credited into member's EPF account.
nice. tq for informing....

mine also in... dated 24 Oct 2025.
Wedchar2912
post Nov 2 2025, 06:41 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(ornehx @ Nov 2 2025, 04:29 PM)
After the news of World Bank 70 years old recommendation, are you guys spooked out of doing out monthly self contribution?
now got article stating World Bank's report been misunderstood. best you take a read the link shared by romuluz777

I am more curious to know if there is some hidden agenda by some group.... cos news about delaying withdrawal and raising of retirement age been popping up recently.

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Nov 2 2025, 05:22 PM)
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 2 2025, 06:37 PM)
lol... so now salahan siapa?

-- world bank?

-- misunderstanding by newspapers for not reading properly the report???

-- growing mismatch of concepts between what a retirement fund truly is and what a social pension support from the government means.
Thanks to certain groups constantly blurring the lines, even media outlets now equate EPF as if it’s a government pension scheme, when it’s not.

hahaha console.gif  rclxub.gif
Wedchar2912
post Nov 3 2025, 11:31 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 3 2025, 10:30 AM)
for sure retirement age will be changed to 65... and epf withdrawals changed to align with it...

these changes are inevitable as ppl live longer and longer...

so dun worry about retirement n withdrawal... go worry about earning more money...
Exactly: that’s the real fix. Just raise wages enough and poof, half these debates disappear.
disallow all withdrawals until official retirement age will make almost the other half of the debates vanish also.

Let’s keep talking about leaving our money in EPF till 70... maybe even longer, who knows? brows.gif
World Bank says it’s “sustainable,” so I guess we just cross our fingers and hope to still be around to enjoy it.

Otherwise, hey, at least the next generation or our "grand send-off" will be well funded!
Wedchar2912
post Nov 3 2025, 12:23 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Nov 3 2025, 11:37 AM)
Raise wages and cost of living will automatically increase also. It's not how much wages increase it's how much more you earn than the average man. Uneasy truth but that's the reality. No poor people means no rich people.
this type of organizations cares about everyone earning the same... they want low gini coefficient...
no need to add cost of living into the mix... your cost of living vs mine different, which is not their concern...
but both of us same same wage is good....

hehe.. tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 12:04 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 4 2025, 11:47 AM)
Can still do self contribution BUT the amounts is reduced.... Don't try to maximize the 100k limit....

Since gonna have 5bil ASM1 expected in Q1 2026... Can divert the $$$ there... 100% access guaranteed.... Not locked up till 55yo 😜
gov should lock ASMs too.... for the good of the people.... lol tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 02:09 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 4 2025, 01:52 PM)
you dont know the difference between retirement fund and savings

retirement fund locked so that you wont finished it too early
and come begging for food when old no money

savings like your FD, gold vault, ASM
take out anytime you like
take all out anytime

How can gomen lock it?
on what justification?
A retirement fund is your own savings. money you contribute and invest for your future.
A social pension is government support to ensure basic income for the elderly, usually funded by taxpayers, not one's personal savings.

what's savings? no need to describe too much. retirement fund is your own savings.

Actually, I don't mind seeing withdrawal age changed to 75 even. Being locked longer is better... the people needs baby sitting.
EPF is such a small portion of my portfolio nowadays. lol
rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 4 2025, 02:10 PM
Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 02:25 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 4 2025, 02:16 PM)
yet you are the one making most complaints
or trying to scare others be careful their EPF money..

my epf is hardly 15% naturally  i wont complain

simply just based on hearsay
speculations
suggestion etc....what for ? wasting time right?

not that the Gomen will listen to you.
15% is too high... then again, you do you...

cheers...
Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 02:57 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Nov 4 2025, 02:52 PM)
U got offspring is different story bruh, touch wood anything u can pass down your fund.

Those single retirees want to YOLO earlier
no lar... i say only I am fine with 75.... of course I prefer access way earlier like 50 years old. 75 would mean I had to wait 30++ years to gain access eh.... that's longer than the total amount of years of me working for a salary! lol

More degrees of freedom and flexibilities to manage my finances, the better.
That's why unlike others, I look at the bigger picture and not just think for my own case... my arguments has been more freedom is better.

Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 03:16 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Nov 4 2025, 03:05 PM)
U take almost everything out for diversification now say ok with 75. Previously cry father cry mother when say RM1.3 million only can withdraw excess. Quite hypo...
No lar. I had always been consistent. You can read back my comments in both epf threads...

The ok part with 75 is just to share that I personally don't really care... So you now know that my stance that all these changes are unfair to epf members are not for my personal selfish reasons.

Btw, the 1.3m limit.... The actual number 1.3 is not the concern... The fact that it is a moving target, that's the concern. Together with noise like pension cash flow... And now news abt rising retirement age and hence withdrawal age... If one do not consider these in one's portfolio management, well.... One should.

And like I said previous a few times, thanks to FM and all these news, I dare say epf is a small portion of my portfolio that it doesn't really impact me anymore. And I tried my best to share my concerns to everyone with all honesty.
Up to each to internatize the opinions and concerns.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 4 2025, 04:30 PM
Wedchar2912
post Nov 7 2025, 11:33 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Nov 7 2025, 01:19 AM)
Why allow some hearsay derail your plans?
If at this age, you are already having the ability to be within range of the million, don’t worry so much. If one has a million, it’s not a big deal if they increase the amount by a hundred k. Since the dividends can cover half of that. The other half will likely be covered by your ongoing contributions.
I don’t envisage them changing and increasing it every year. Once they get to 1.3mil, it will stop.
The essence of allowing withdrawals after a million is in line with substantial amount. It was then but not so much now. So the new level is 1.3mil. Should not be a problem for you to get there.

It was mentioned many times, any changes will only affect the new account holders which is basically 13 years old today.

If you look at the statistics published by EPF, you will realise the pareto principle applies. Changing the withdrawal age to 60 or 65 would have no material effect on the existing people.
btw, what do you mean by pareto principle here?
one pareto principle i am aware is the 80/20 rules... how does this apply here?
the other is pareto efficiency.... can always improve 1 variables without affecting others. if it is this, how does this apply?

but back RIA....
I don't want to ruin your mood, but EPF terang terang already said this. I quote

"Future Adjustments to Reflect Cost of Living
To remain relevant to rising costs, the RIA savings levels will be reviewed every three years, starting in 2029, using updated data from the Belanjawanku findings."

the link from EPF:
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/w/epf-releases-b...quacy-framework

basically, it is based on cost of living, which we all know is impacted by inflation. Why would we assume from 2024 to 2029, inflation suddenly stopped?
If we don't plan for this changes every 3 years at least, it would not be logical.

Wedchar2912
post Nov 7 2025, 11:37 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 6 2025, 11:17 AM)
EPF said it will review the ria framework every 3 years
Don't worry so much as 1M excess withdrawal was implemented back in 2007 and now 1.3M withdrawal will be effective in 2028 so it take at least 20 years for gov to move up 30%

Let us just assume 20 years move 30% also it won't matter much as after 20 years most of us here either up in heaven or at least 50 years of age...

2007 - 1.0M
2028 - 1.3M
2048 - 1.7M
2068 - 2.2M

This is base on every 20 year increase about 30% lo....
as much as I want the threshold to be static for 20 years, I really don't think so...(I am on the camp of keeping the threshold at 1m if possible)

EPF already terang terang said every 3 years will review.... (the link in my above post). Cannot run away.... ie no way EPF can claim for 20 years, no inflation.

but if one is close or above 50 years old, can still discount this concern a chunk... but not all the way.
those like 30 yo, best to assume 3% inflation adjustment every year....

its only logical. (chicken rice also went up like 1rm since 2022.... and almost all ingredients of chicken rice are price controlled items somemore)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 7 2025, 11:40 AM
Wedchar2912
post Nov 7 2025, 10:41 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Nov 7 2025, 09:34 PM)
Not quite the 20/80 proportion but wanted to say the majority of the AUM is held by the few people.the op was worried the withdrawal threshold will keep shifting upwards. It will only affect a very small number of people since most are nowhere near even the 1mil. And those that are near that realm and and still young should not worry too. Since the dividends on a lofty amount will easily cover half of the increase. The other half can be fulfil by their own work contributions. Unless one intends to keep no more than 1 mil in EPF would be concerned.

I noted that RIA is ongoing, but do you see it increasing constantly at rm100k a year? If that is necessary because of inflation, we would be facing far more serious issues than what is allowed to be withdraw. Epf is basically meant for retirement and. Nothinh for most people.
Unfortunately, I do think the adjustment is bound to happen... whether annually or every three years. EPF has already made it clear that the target is tied to Belanjawanku, which itself is based on actual spending patterns.

The formula listed is quite straightforward: 2 × 240 × Adequate Retirement Income. Once spending benchmarks move up, the EPF target naturally follows.

And if we think back, EPF announced this framework last year and there was almost no pushback (I cannot even recall any MPs make any noise). So it’s safe to assume these periodic adjustments will continue.

As for the magnitude, a more reasonable estimate would be around 30K to 40K per year. If we assume inflation averages 3%, that works out to roughly 1.3 × 3% = ~ 39K, which feels like a fair, data-consistent adjustment.
(technically the first year's can be 100K, since they delayed the current implementation by 3 years)
Wedchar2912
post Nov 10 2025, 11:31 AM

3,683 posts

repositioning/rebalancing of funds from FDs and such into EPF.

Wedchar2912
post Nov 10 2025, 11:38 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 10 2025, 11:32 AM)
What I mean like if you are contributing 100K, at what income level you only start to do so? Like maybe 500K range? Or only feel more comfortable at 1M range? Because meaning those self contributing also will not have issue no matter how many years EPF change the min balance threshold for withdrawal. Imagine 1M, you only need ~ 3 years to get another 1M, so the additional 100K-300K basically feels no impact.
those who are earning 500K to 1m pa type of income would have already have way more than 1m in EPF... all it takes is like 3 to 4 years to get there for the 1m chap, while the 500K chap is like 6 to 7 years.

plus they don't suddenly reach that lvl of income overnight.. would have accumulated a decent amt along their career.
Wedchar2912
post Nov 10 2025, 03:26 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 10 2025, 03:08 PM)
If you got long way to go, better just buy QQQ etf now. Then when you are retired sell out of the QQQ and dump it into EPF. You got more to draw down then vs now putting into EPF
hopefully EPF/gov up the limit from 100K to something like 250 or 500K rm... to be consistent rite?
on one hand, the withdrawal threshold limit is increased to 1.3m and will be reviewed periodically....
on the other hand, the self-contribution limit is static??? not consistent lor...

drool.gif

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.6243sec    1.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:20 PM