[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

TSalexkos
post Jun 14 2021, 11:27 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 29 2021, 10:33 AM)
It's USD1.99 for moomoo Vs USD1.50 for TSG.
TD is 0 (only cost one bear is TT fees + bank rates)
Webull is 0 (only cost one bear is TT fees + bank rates)
First trade is 0  (only cost one bear is TT fees + bank rates)

Yes they accept Malaysian as customer.
I'm seriously thinking about webull. Too bad their deposit withdrawal fee is a joke. I need frequent in out and their fee is killing.
TSalexkos
post Jun 14 2021, 08:14 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(ebayer @ Jun 14 2021, 06:07 PM)
I am trying to buy CSPX on Tradestation Global but I am getting the following error message:

"You are trying to submit an order without having market data for this instrument. IB strongly recommends against this kind of blind trading which may result in erroneous or unexpected trades. Restriction is specified in Precautionary Settings of Global Configuration / Presets"

Do I need to subscribe to real time market data to buy this ETF?
use tradingview, then press buy blush.gif
TSalexkos
post Jun 15 2021, 08:04 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 14 2021, 02:05 PM)
No one will give free withdrawal unless you withdraw to say US bank account.

Free in terms of totally no commissions.
ibkr and tsg no give free withdrawal? i tot got
TSalexkos
post Jun 15 2021, 09:57 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 15 2021, 09:43 AM)
Wirhsrawla is free once a month. But if you do a TT back to Malaysia expect to be charged say US25/withdrawal + any other fees th bank wants to charge you.
ic...

if i do tsg/ibkr usd convert sgd internally, then bring back via cimb sg, then myr to local bank, will kena $25 also ka?

This post has been edited by alexkos: Jun 15 2021, 09:57 AM
TSalexkos
post Jun 15 2021, 11:16 AM

2,275 posts

I'm planning to buy swap myr sgd with my friend. The thing is, there's no escrow. It's quite dangerous for me to deal like this.

Any experience among us on swapping currency with friends ?
TSalexkos
post Jun 15 2021, 01:07 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 15 2021, 11:34 AM)
I think Jack12 is providing such service.

Issue is
1. How much you trust your friend? You could have give him RM and he never give you the SGD.
2. Second issue banks will question where is the SGD coming from if you are doing it on regular basis.
3. Third you don't know if the SGD he is giving you clean or not as it could be from human/drug trafficking and using you just to laundry his money.

Something to think about.
i see....area i would not like to venture on

bayar sunway money je la blush.gif
TSalexkos
post Jul 4 2021, 08:42 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2021, 09:09 PM)
People said TransferWise cannot transfer USD Into IBKR.
I can. myr -> usd straight w/ wise
TSalexkos
post Jul 4 2021, 08:46 AM

2,275 posts

back then when i use instarem, ibkr contacted me once to verify via secured msg. So i replied. no problem since.

this wise thingy belum kena contacted yet. but very happy ibkr can receive my usd wise payment straight. Money will kena float 3-4 days upon receipt.
TSalexkos
post Jul 4 2021, 06:22 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jul 4 2021, 03:41 PM)
Can document the steps to do this via Wise?
Set ibkr intention to receive
Send myr USD via wise

Should reach ibkr in few business days. Money will be stuck on hold for 3 to 4 days before masuk ur acc
TSalexkos
post Jul 4 2021, 08:25 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Jul 4 2021, 08:22 PM)
which option for transferwise?

Go back one page. Click 'transfer funds. Paste ur screenshot here
TSalexkos
post Jul 7 2021, 08:18 PM

2,275 posts

my experience

sunway money -> cimb sg [fast]
cimb sg -> shanghai bank (ibkr sg) [even faster]

hehe
TSalexkos
post Jul 18 2021, 04:52 PM

2,275 posts

paging ramjade

seeing that ibkr has now waived the $10 min account activity fee, is IBKR the preferred choice for the average joe instead of TS Global now?

Thank you.
TSalexkos
post Jul 18 2021, 08:41 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 18 2021, 07:20 PM)
Or course. I submit my request to delink tsg from IBKR and will be using pure IBKR once my delink request successful.
roger. will transfer my funds and stocks from tsg to ibkr too smile.gif
TSalexkos
post Oct 4 2021, 12:48 PM

2,275 posts

i heard from my fren that if use ibkr fixed pricing will kena eat $4.2 for etf purchase.

can anyone confirm this? if so then ibkr tiered pricing is cheaper?
TSalexkos
post Jul 22 2022, 08:42 AM

2,275 posts

hi all, would like to update the first post on 'Cheapest Route as at 19 May 2021'

Anyone has better alternative so that I can update it for the benefit of our readers? thank you
TSalexkos
post May 4 2025, 08:00 AM

2,275 posts

bump! how are all passive investors in malaysia doing recently?

SP500 had withstood Trump's tariff wars, though things may yet see another turbulence once the 60-day shipping reality start hitting the East shore of US (i.e., lesser cargos inbound, chain reaction to trucking, retailing industry).

With that said, SP500 investors aren't suppose to market timing, right, right? happy.gif

I'm in the midst of finalizing a publication and will require gathering of passive investor survey as a voice representing Malaysian.

Let me know if you wish to be part of it, self-administered online Google Form survey 10-15mins, and a little lucky draw as token of appreciation to your time =)

survey link

This post has been edited by alexkos: May 10 2025, 09:13 AM
TSalexkos
post May 10 2025, 09:17 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ May 4 2025, 08:05 AM)
Paper gain went to 0 when trump unveils his tariffs and now back normal gain..

Roller coaster ride...
should be back to ATH pretty soon, with bitcoin reclaiming $100k. Just a month ago there were news from bond crash, USD losing confidence, gold rush (still high though). It does take a very different set of temperament to weather these economic news. Unless one deliberately shut off these news media and just let the investment work on itself.

On these economic worry is the exciting AI future we're going into. Generative AI, then Robotics AI. Usually innovation will take pace and create value far more than what the current system can offer. Think smartphone. It was a hardsell selling a phone for more than RM500 back then. Now RM6,999 is no problem, because of perceived usefulness and the digital economy that depends on it. No one walks out of their house without a smartphone these days.

I'm glad that since this thread was started some 6 years ago, there is now very easily accessible ways for Malaysian to get exposure to passive instruments such as S&P500 (through SPY). Trading platforms like Moomoo is very smooth in terms of depositing RM, internal conversion to USD, and get index exposure from there.

May the passive investors stay on the course. Btw if you're a Bogleheads, pm me because I'm thinking of starting a passive investing local chapter in Malaysia soon =)

This post has been edited by alexkos: May 10 2025, 09:20 AM
TSalexkos
post May 10 2025, 09:27 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ May 10 2025, 09:25 AM)
Just open a thread here breh

Your first supporter

👀🍷🍟
ah my bad memory. Such a thread does exist since 2022! haha

Bogleheads Malaysia
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5240482

see you there flex.gif
TSalexkos
post Jul 1 2025, 04:36 PM

2,275 posts

glad to find that there are more convenient ways for Malaysian these days to have SP500 exposures. It was unlike such many years back when the thread was started to help more people to find the cheapest way to get exposure on US equity.

This post has been edited by alexkos: Jul 1 2025, 04:37 PM
TSalexkos
post Aug 13 2025, 02:39 PM

2,275 posts

i am using moomoo recently and just found that our gomen charges 0.1% stamp duty on US stocks. I don't recall having this expense item when using foreign broker such as IBKR. Anyone gain exposure to US index fund thru moomoo can confirm this?

btw there's an ongoing paid research survey (conducted by yours truly) targeting Malaysian passive investors. If your investing style is largely passive by nature, such as holding S&P 500 or related widely diversified index fund, then this research survey is for you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by alexkos: Aug 13 2025, 02:41 PM

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0523sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:44 AM