QUOTE(aspartame @ Feb 18 2019, 11:43 AM)
"Rich Dad, poor Dad" is as real as Harry Potter.Musang King Durian Investment, Discussion on Viability
Musang King Durian Investment, Discussion on Viability
Feb 18 2019, 12:26 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,457 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Feb 18 2019, 05:47 PM
664 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
Q1. Why dont the musang king durian planter issue company "stock" instead of "investment per tree scheme"
Q2 How the hell a musang king tree worth RM10k each? Why not sell them for RM1k per tree at 90% discount? Win-Win |
Feb 18 2019, 11:03 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
26 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2019, 10:40 PM) In Pahang.QUOTE(cmk96 @ Feb 17 2019, 11:14 PM) They don't share it publicly. It is only shared after you attended their briefing. The profit for owner (after deducting expenses and split with company) is on average around RM 5k per tree annually. So after the fruit bears fruit in year 4, after 3 to 4 years (say initially the fruit is not that much), you would have fully recover your cost of investment and from there onwards it is pure profit. |
Feb 18 2019, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Feb 18 2019, 12:27 AM) Most wealth are created from property investment.... Indeed property can be profitable, but it involves higher capital and if one is unlucky, he/ she is stuck with a bad investment - I have had bad experience with it, mainly due to inexperience. Not saying that property is not good, but one needs experience, luck and good eye sight to get a good one.It accelerates wealth accumulation...can work less 2% of population has more than RM1mil wealth....without property investment: probably only 0.2% Take the proven path...forget the musang path QUOTE(bloodchow2 @ Feb 18 2019, 05:47 PM) Q1. Why dont the musang king durian planter issue company "stock" instead of "investment per tree scheme" Q1. I am guessing that it is because they are not listed yet and they only want to go listed after they are more stable.Q2 How the hell a musang king tree worth RM10k each? Why not sell them for RM1k per tree at 90% discount? Win-Win Q2. That is an interesting question, I asked and the answer given is they need the money to run the company and cover expenses to manage the farm in the first few years where there is no fruit. |
Feb 18 2019, 11:30 PM
15,192 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
A lot of this type of investments turned to scam after few years.
One of the example: Canadian oil investment |
Feb 19 2019, 10:26 AM
126 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Time sharing, plot sharing or business sharing business is generally impractical.
If it is profitable, you should take a business loan and operates it as whole to have sole control in operation. |
Feb 19 2019, 11:21 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,457 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(mas1900 @ Feb 19 2019, 10:26 AM) Time sharing, plot sharing or business sharing business is generally impractical. As long as there are people believe in passive income, scam is here to stay.If it is profitable, you should take a business loan and operates it as whole to have sole control in operation. |
Feb 19 2019, 10:42 PM
359 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Last year I heard the same exact thing, was invited to the hotel for this , but it’s longan tree.
Feb 20 2019, 10:58 AM
309 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Some details you need to obtain from them:
Since you said they already acquired and cleared the land and started planting, 1. The location of their plantation 2. The land title 3. Visual inspection of the said land to confirm that it is indeed cleared and started planting 4. How to identify which one is your tree and say if you invested in 10 trees, 5 of them died (which is quite common in durian plantation), how are they going to compensate you? 5. How to know how many durians on 'your' tree, or do they count by average (total number of durians divided by number of trees) and how to calculate profit 6. How to know whether their costing is genuine? Just a few enquiries to sort out to help you make your decision. This deal sounds good but too vague and many grey area to me. I 100% won't go into such business that offering such vague deals. |
Feb 20 2019, 11:23 AM
126 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
TS reminded me this. Long time no update from Golden Palm Growers after early termination.
Anyone has the latest status for the scheme? |
Feb 21 2019, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(real55555 @ Feb 20 2019, 10:58 AM) Some details you need to obtain from them: Hi, many thanks to your suggestions!Since you said they already acquired and cleared the land and started planting, 1. The location of their plantation 2. The land title 3. Visual inspection of the said land to confirm that it is indeed cleared and started planting 4. How to identify which one is your tree and say if you invested in 10 trees, 5 of them died (which is quite common in durian plantation), how are they going to compensate you? 5. How to know how many durians on 'your' tree, or do they count by average (total number of durians divided by number of trees) and how to calculate profit 6. How to know whether their costing is genuine? Just a few enquiries to sort out to help you make your decision. This deal sounds good but too vague and many grey area to me. I 100% won't go into such business that offering such vague deals. 1. The location of their plantation - location is in pahang, but i don't have the exact location. 2. The land title - they lease the land from the government for 60 years i think. There is a clause in the SnP that they will refund in case the land is reclaimed by government. 3. Visual inspection of the said land to confirm that it is indeed cleared and started planting - I have been shown plenty of photos of cleared land and plantation is on-going. 4. How to identify which one is your tree and say if you invested in 10 trees, 5 of them died (which is quite common in durian plantation), how are they going to compensate you? - the company will hold a portion of the trees (not selling everything), so in case there are trees that died, they can compensate trees with similar age. The other option is they will compensate the amount the investor paid if the trees died within 10th year, if it happened after 11th year, then the company will compensate double the amount invested. But it is not clear where they get the money and how soon they pay. Is there some sort of insurance that exists for plantation? 5. How to know how many durians on 'your' tree, or do they count by average (total number of durians divided by number of trees) and how to calculate profit - they will count by average. 6. How to know whether their costing is genuine? - this is another part that is vague. I asked the question but the answer that I got is they are still developing the methodology. |
Feb 21 2019, 10:41 PM
2,096 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
How much profit sharing?
Feb 22 2019, 04:45 AM
395 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Feb 22 2019, 09:25 AM
12,275 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
The innovative scams nowadays!
Feb 22 2019, 02:22 PM
309 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(Brinkman @ Feb 21 2019, 07:54 PM) Hi, many thanks to your suggestions! For question 1, 2, and 3, you need them to show you the exact location, the land title or at least the lease agreement with government which will also contain the land title number, and go there have a look yourself (or maybe the S&P also will mention the land title number since you said there is a clause of refund if land reclaimed by government). There is an app/website that can pin point to you the location if you key in the title number, but I've forgotten what is the name of the website/app. They can show you a lot of photos but you cannot be sure it is their photos or photos taken of other plantation. 1. The location of their plantation - location is in pahang, but i don't have the exact location. 2. The land title - they lease the land from the government for 60 years i think. There is a clause in the SnP that they will refund in case the land is reclaimed by government. 3. Visual inspection of the said land to confirm that it is indeed cleared and started planting - I have been shown plenty of photos of cleared land and plantation is on-going. 4. How to identify which one is your tree and say if you invested in 10 trees, 5 of them died (which is quite common in durian plantation), how are they going to compensate you? - the company will hold a portion of the trees (not selling everything), so in case there are trees that died, they can compensate trees with similar age. The other option is they will compensate the amount the investor paid if the trees died within 10th year, if it happened after 11th year, then the company will compensate double the amount invested. But it is not clear where they get the money and how soon they pay. Is there some sort of insurance that exists for plantation? 5. How to know how many durians on 'your' tree, or do they count by average (total number of durians divided by number of trees) and how to calculate profit - they will count by average. 6. How to know whether their costing is genuine? - this is another part that is vague. I asked the question but the answer that I got is they are still developing the methodology. For question 6, that doesn't sound very convincing when on one hand they are encouraging or persuading people to invest, and on the other hand still developing the methodology for the costing. The management can just pay themselves a hefty sum of salary and after deducting this probably only left peanuts for the 'investors'. In the end, you pay 10k for a tree, you can go check how much are musang king seedlings selling for, and they probably can just plant it without spending huge sum on the land preparation which is very important for durian plantation and actually is the most costly expenses for a durian plantation, and hope it works. If it doesn't then just declare it as a failure. After all these shows, they probably only spend 500 per tree to plant, and the rest of the 9500 will go into pocket. |
Feb 27 2019, 06:55 PM
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
The Sun Daily
Company director charged with offering unregistered date palm investment scheme 27 FEB 2019 / 17:08 H. KUALA LUMPUR: A director of a date palm plantation company was charged at the sessions court here today with offering an unregistered date palm investment scheme to the public, by promising a lucrative return from the crop. Chin Yoong Fung, 37, pleaded not guilty after the charge was read out before justice Manira Mohd Nor. Chin was alleged to have offered the public to buy the share in the date palm investment scheme without the approved deed by Companies Commission of Malaysia (SSM). He was alleged to have committed the offence at Date Palm Agro Berhad at 2-37, PV 128, 128 Jalan Genting Kelang, Setapak, here between Sept 13, 2015, and Sept 14, 2016. The charge, under Section 91(1) of the Companies Act 1965 and punishable under Section 94(1)(a) of the same act, provides for a five-year imprisonment, or fine of RM100,000, or both, upon conviction. SSM prosecuting officer Faizal Mahdi Mahmud offered RM20,000 bail with one surety to Chin, but lawyer Datuk S. Arumugam rejected the bail offer on grounds that there was no evidence that his client would not appear in court, as he had always been cooperative and able to present himself whenever called by the SSM. Manira did not allow Chin any bail and warned the accused that if he failed to appear in court on the next mention, the court could issue an arrest warrant. The court set March 27 for remention of the case. According to SSM, any registered company wishing to make an offer of an investment scheme must first register the scheme and comply with the rules set out to protect the rights of the shareholder and enable SSM to monitor the progress of the scheme. It is learned that 739 people participated in the date palm investment scheme involving more than RM11 million, in which each investor would earn a profit based on the number of date palm trees they invested in. Each tree was said to be worth between RM3,000 and RM5,000. — Bernama |
Feb 28 2019, 11:06 AM
227 posts Joined: Jun 2016 From: penang |
might be scam... remember those plan buy house at 10k before build and then after build u will earn 90k? in the end the house didn't build at all..
Mar 8 2019, 09:53 PM
286 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(Brinkman @ Feb 17 2019, 04:47 PM) Hi All, So whats the conclusion?did u invest?I was introduced to a musang king investment scheme by a friend. The scheme was offered by a company called eco starland (webpage here), but they do not put up the details of the scheme on their webpage. The deal is: you pay around RM 10k+ per tree for ownership of the tree for 40 years. The company will take care of the trees for you, after fruiting and selling the durian (you can choose to sell the durian to the company), minus the expenses, the profit is split between the company and owner. The projected profit is quite high, with full return of capital in year 7 after investment. As of now, they have acquired and cleared the land, currently planting in progress. The targeted market for the durian is to export to China, which has high demand of durian. There will be Sales and Purchase Agreement should one decided to invest. After doing some due diligence, I think it is less likely to be a scam because there is some credibility to the management team: 1. The CEO Yirin is also involved in other businesses. One of it is Dynaplast, which although less established, but is a supporting evidence of credibility. 2. The CFO Mr Tong is quite an established farmer and he was featured in Malaysian Agriculture magazine (Issue 12). He is also the owner of Tong Seng Nursery/ Durio Farm. 3. The CFA Mr Wee is the son of Wee Chong Beng (the person who registered Durian Raja Kunyit D197 (Musang King) at the Ministry of Agriculture on 1993). Please point out if you feel that my due diligence is insufficient/ flawed. What makes the investment to have higher risk is: 1. The company is young (not listed) and this should be their first investment project. 2. There is no clear information on how the company is going to report profit and expenses yet, they could be reporting false numbers. 3. There is no compensation in the event of force majeure. 4. Although the company will compensate in the event of disease, but it is an unknown if they have any funding to make the compensation (say, entire plantation is wiped out by the disease). 5. Of course, it can still be a scam... Please let me know if you think it is a viable investment, any risk that I missed out, any more due diligence that can be done, etc. |
Mar 10 2019, 07:36 PM
In the end I didn't invest. Like everyone said, the risk is too high.
Mar 28 2019, 11:08 PM
286 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(Brinkman @ Mar 10 2019, 07:36 PM) I was introduced by this scheme as well but it’s something more promising compared to yours. At least they have 1.the exact location(u are allowed to visit the farm, the tree is 3yo at the moment) 2.the return is the harvest(in kg),they commit up to a certain weight. u may choose to collect the harvest and makan, or sell back to them. Of course, for the first few years the harvest is quite limited due to the tree is still young |
| Change to: | 0.0213sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:19 PM |