5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Musang King Durian Investment, Discussion on Viability

TSBrinkman
post Feb 17 2019, 04:47 PM, updated 7y ago

26 posts

Hi All,

I was introduced to a musang king investment scheme by a friend.

The scheme was offered by a company called eco starland (webpage here), but they do not put up the details of the scheme on their webpage.

The deal is:
you pay around RM 10k+ per tree for ownership of the tree for 40 years. The company will take care of the trees for you, after fruiting and selling the durian (you can choose to sell the durian to the company), minus the expenses, the profit is split between the company and owner. The projected profit is quite high, with full return of capital in year 7 after investment. As of now, they have acquired and cleared the land, currently planting in progress. The targeted market for the durian is to export to China, which has high demand of durian. There will be Sales and Purchase Agreement should one decided to invest.

After doing some due diligence, I think it is less likely to be a scam because there is some credibility to the management team:
1. The CEO Yirin is also involved in other businesses. One of it is Dynaplast, which although less established, but is a supporting evidence of credibility.
2. The CFO Mr Tong is quite an established farmer and he was featured in Malaysian Agriculture magazine (Issue 12). He is also the owner of Tong Seng Nursery/ Durio Farm.
3. The CFA Mr Wee is the son of Wee Chong Beng (the person who registered Durian Raja Kunyit D197 (Musang King) at the Ministry of Agriculture on 1993).

Please point out if you feel that my due diligence is insufficient/ flawed.

What makes the investment to have higher risk is:
1. The company is young (not listed) and this should be their first investment project.
2. There is no clear information on how the company is going to report profit and expenses yet, they could be reporting false numbers.
3. There is no compensation in the event of force majeure.
4. Although the company will compensate in the event of disease, but it is an unknown if they have any funding to make the compensation (say, entire plantation is wiped out by the disease).
5. Of course, it can still be a scam...

Please let me know if you think it is a viable investment, any risk that I missed out, any more due diligence that can be done, etc.
SUSazhan82
post Feb 17 2019, 05:12 PM

316 posts

you do know durian trees like any other fruit trees take at least 10 years before they bear any fruit after planting...

If you are lucky.. it may be true..
or could be a hoax and you will never see any money in 10 years time..
jack2
post Feb 17 2019, 05:26 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Too risky
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2019, 06:12 PM

14,511 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...rian+investment
nexona88
post Feb 17 2019, 07:14 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

Huhuhuh..
Bait like those palm oil plantations investment 😈
Pichu00
post Feb 17 2019, 07:40 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 17 2019, 07:14 PM)
Huhuhuh..
Bait like those palm oil plantations investment 😈
Same like bbb, but later will keep delay payment say next yr now drag till 4 yr still habuk no see. My case is relative working in the scam company ( still working thrre) scam all the relative.... Not that i no tell them dont join all dont want listen.....
Eurobeater
post Feb 17 2019, 07:48 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

I don't know. Seems like a good way to donate 10k to some unknown fella to me
nexona88
post Feb 17 2019, 08:13 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,543 posts

QUOTE(Pichu00 @ Feb 17 2019, 07:40 PM)
Same like bbb,  but later will keep delay payment say next yr now drag till 4 yr still habuk no see. My case is relative working in the scam company ( still working thrre)  scam all the relative.... Not that i no tell them dont join all dont want listen.....
No use saying...
We tell them don't want hear...
Let them "donate" $$$
aspartame
post Feb 17 2019, 08:23 PM

3,165 posts

Why would you want to tie up yr 10k for a "possible" 10+% return? Furthermore, how the company operate and report the profits are unknown to you....

People nowadays ... the more you ask them to be careful .. the more they want to invest because they think " make money must be brave!" Ha ha

This post has been edited by aspartame: Feb 17 2019, 08:24 PM
Pichu00
post Feb 17 2019, 08:51 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 17 2019, 08:13 PM)
No use saying...
We tell them don't want hear...
Let them "donate" $$$
The husband top dog in police force ppl believe , dont dare eat kopi money but got involve in this shit ( wife work at the company) last time kena all kinda scam dy still dont listen ( geneva lost 100k etc , riway super over price product etc list goes on and on)
TSBrinkman
post Feb 17 2019, 10:00 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2019, 06:12 PM)
Yea, I saw this post as well. OP decided to go with the investment. Trying to get him/ her to shed some light on the current status.
TSBrinkman
post Feb 17 2019, 10:07 PM

26 posts

Thanks for the reply everyone. It is not easy to invest in stocks and properties, hence these kind of deals seemed attractive. And there is always this mindset, this "one" being offered to me is different than others. sweat.gif
In this case, if one don't want to invest in stocks and properties, how to evaluate these kind of alternative investments? Or alternative investment shouldn't be considered, if at all? (Genuine question, I am very new to investment, hence appreciate some insight on the matter)
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2019, 10:40 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Brinkman @ Feb 17 2019, 10:07 PM)
Thanks for the reply everyone. It is not easy to invest in stocks and properties, hence these kind of deals seemed attractive. And there is always this mindset, this "one" being offered to me is different than others.  sweat.gif
In this case, if one don't want to invest in stocks and properties, how to evaluate these kind of alternative investments? Or alternative investment shouldn't be considered, if at all? (Genuine question, I am very new to investment, hence appreciate some insight on the matter)
Where is their plantation?
cmk96
post Feb 17 2019, 11:14 PM

2,096 posts

Where can see the projected returns?
icemanfx
post Feb 17 2019, 11:31 PM

21,457 posts

With ceo, cfo, cfa credential, they don't need crowd funding. there are many people could partner them. durian like any other fruits, price could goes up as well as down. china could ban durian for political reason or some article may cause chinese to abandon durian.

QUOTE(aspartame @ Feb 17 2019, 08:23 PM)
Why would you want to tie up yr 10k for a "possible" 10+% return? Furthermore, how the company operate and report the profits are unknown to you....

People nowadays ... the more you ask them to be careful .. the more they want to invest because they think " make money must be brave!" Ha ha
A good example is property investment; those blinded by greed, view second opinion as noise.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Feb 17 2019, 11:34 PM
aspartame
post Feb 17 2019, 11:48 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 17 2019, 11:31 PM)
With ceo, cfo, cfa credential, they don't need crowd funding. there are many people could partner them. durian like any other fruits, price could goes up as well as down. china could ban durian for political reason or some article may cause chinese to abandon durian.
A good example is property investment; those blinded by greed, view second opinion as noise.
Out of so many types of investments, property investing is probably the most "no-brainer" but profitable type. Enormous wealth has been created from property investing over the generations...more than any other types of investment....most other types of investments are "traps" including this durian investing...
icemanfx
post Feb 18 2019, 12:04 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Feb 17 2019, 11:48 PM)
Out of so many types of investments, property investing is probably the most "no-brainer" but profitable type. Enormous wealth has been created from property investing over the generations...more than any other types of investment....most other types of investments are "traps" including this durian investing...
Historically, residential property price rise at about inflation rate in the long term.

property investment is not newly invented or discovered. if property investment could create enormous wealth; there should be a lot more than 3% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth; every da ma, kopitiam unkers are multiple properties owners.
aspartame
post Feb 18 2019, 12:27 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 18 2019, 12:04 AM)
Historically, residential property price rise at about inflation rate in the long term.

property investment is not newly invented or discovered. if property investment could create enormous wealth; there should be a lot more than 3% of adults in this country have over us$100k net worth; every da ma, kopitiam unkers are multiple properties owners.
Most wealth are created from property investment....

It accelerates wealth accumulation...can work less

2% of population has more than RM1mil wealth....without property investment: probably only 0.2%

Take the proven path...forget the musang path

This post has been edited by aspartame: Feb 18 2019, 12:28 AM
icemanfx
post Feb 18 2019, 11:25 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Feb 18 2019, 12:27 AM)
Most wealth are created from property investment....

It accelerates wealth accumulation...can work less

2% of population has more than RM1mil wealth....without property investment: probably only 0.2%

Take the proven path...forget the musang path
To 97% of people, the biggest assets is probably their home. As most buy property with bank loan, incurring loan interest is not a path to wealth accumulation.

aspartame
post Feb 18 2019, 11:43 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Feb 18 2019, 11:25 AM)
To 97% of people, the biggest assets is probably their home. As most buy property with bank loan, incurring loan interest is not a path to wealth accumulation.
Good loan, bad loan

Becomes

Rich dad, poor dad

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1889sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:33 PM