Toyo TR1

zackrossi
post Mar 9 2020, 11:34 AM

Already change another set of tyre. Cheap one only due to budget constrains. My conclusions for Toyo is TR1 very good for performance & spirited driving. This tyre not for people that tend to be comfort, economical FC tyres. My previous TR1 already clocking 26k KM distance, so have to let go.
GainKnowledge P
post Apr 28 2020, 07:34 PM

Probation

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Jul 14 2019, 11:31 PM)
My "long" humble initial review of TR1.
Been using it for 2weeks now. 1000km
Before i begin let me lay down the basic info bout my car and how do i drive.

60-40ratio. 60 highways, 40 usual street.
Weekend tauge roads.

Car. Perodua axia, Running on 15inch 7jj rims. Tyre spec 195/50. Suspension adjustable coilovers with UR Bars.

Previous tyres
1) PS3
2) ree003
3) ecopia ep300 (cause cheap and ppl did say can do tauge, so i try......)

Location;
Mainland penang, kulim, island.

Pros.

1) price. Hands down. Bloody cheap compared directly to Ps3 and re003.
195/50/15 for PS3 Is bout 240-260.
Ree003 bout 220-250
I got my set of TR1 tyres, Allignment and balancing in, (inclusive a free lappy bag) 185 each.

2) NVH.
I feel TR1 is very very silent, my personal view, i say on par with the PS3, or maybe a tad little bit better, when comes to road noise (Both when tyres are new). Definitely much more silent than ree003. Now even with 1000km in, still pretty silent, especially at higher speeds. (130-160kmh). When running over water puddles or wet roads, i would say i am impressed, quite silent. Alot of the usual noise i hear is no longer present for time being. Hope it last for a while. Atleast to 50% threadwear..
As for ride quality comfort. TR1 walls are much stiffer, which i personally like, compared to the squishy PS3 but not as stiff as ree003. Ride feels more firm but hitting potholes or uneven surfaces will sakit hati abit more, not as forgiving as PS3. Those who use adjustables would know, soft wall tyres dont really give good "comfort", feels like the car have the mini bouncing feel. TR1 and Ree003, so far i say its more comfortable than ps3 in terms of ride quality with adjustables. (Personal preference)
3) Dry grip.
Im very impressed. I will rate it on par as Ree003.
It is very very sticky. Car feels very planted. No matter how i throw my ride, feels very stable and confident.

4) wet grip
I had the chance to test several times this week cause now heavy thunder storms. I really feel confident, hard braking and cornering in the rain also feels very planted. Hit some water puddles, feels stable. I did try cruise 90-100 on highway with rain, feels stable. Ill rate it on par as PS3. Ree003 don't handle wet really well. Very scary

5) braking
I feel my brakes bout the same. For all 3. Never really go try E braking. But feels confident hard braking to enter corners.

6) RR (roll resistance)
Funny thing. I feel TR1 mcm lighter.? Car easier to move, compared to the other two.

7) Cornering (Tauge)
Grip is fantastic, doesn't throw, very hard to get skid sounds. Steering response is sharp. Feels very much like ree003. Thanks to the stiffer walls, doesn't feel like the car rolls as much as when using PS3. Usually i need crank up dampening a few clicks for PS3 when tauge to compensate the roll, but for TR1, i didn't change my setup and it was superb. Will try different settings next weekend.

Cons.
1000km and two trips of tauge roads.
Can see thread wear quite abit.
Conclusion.
For the price i would say definite worth the try. Still too early though to recommend to those who want to find alternative to their ree003/ps3 or even the eagle. Sorry 15inch wheels no PS4..
But i won't recommend to those who only drive normally, don't do tauge or stuff due to the threadwear. Not exactly economical. Not much details bout it but i assume its similar to the other two, maybe 280? bout 30k km? Till botak? But if you don't mind. Then okay.

How your TR1 now ? Still using ?
Is it really grip on wet ? And quite?
I hear alot of comment said that this tyre is noisy especially on higher speed. And worn out faster.

kuli2sahaja
post Aug 22 2020, 02:39 AM

566 posts

Any long term/high mileage reviews for the TR1? 225/40/18 @ RM418 ok?
amscouzach57
post Aug 22 2020, 06:19 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(GainKnowledge @ Apr 28 2020, 07:34 PM)
I hear alot of comment said that this tyre is noisy especially on higher speed. And worn out faster.
Based on my experience, the grip on dry & wet is as good as PS3.

However it is considerably much more noisier than PS3.

Can't tell you yet of the rate of wear. Still new as this set was installed last February.

syncnsky
post Oct 7 2020, 12:38 AM

Tested the tyre in Sepang.

Well, it has good grip...Stable in hard high speed corner. Braking distance is short.
And it has good wet grip too...

Worth the money.

This post has been edited by syncnsky: Oct 7 2020, 12:39 AM
Jay Chua CC
post Oct 7 2020, 10:21 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(syncnsky @ Oct 7 2020, 12:38 AM)
Tested the tyre in Sepang.

Well, it has good grip...Stable in hard high speed corner. Braking distance is short.
And it has good wet grip too...

Worth the money.
Do you know hows the threadwear? Is it worse than the ps3?
6UE5T
post Oct 7 2020, 04:57 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Oct 7 2020, 10:21 AM)
Do you know hows the threadwear? Is it worse than the ps3?
It's lower at 280 compared to PS3 at 320. Same TW rating like Continental CSC series.
Jay Chua CC
post Oct 7 2020, 05:00 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 7 2020, 04:57 PM)
It's lower at 280 compared to PS3 at 320. Same TW rating like Continental CSC series.
Based on 320 how many kms can the PS3 last approximately?

19 Degree South
post Oct 7 2020, 05:08 PM

1,674 posts

Yeah....sad that it doesn't come in 245 .
6UE5T
post Oct 7 2020, 08:05 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Oct 7 2020, 05:00 PM)
Based on 320 how many kms can the PS3 last approximately?
Around 45-50k km on my 1.5 ton d-segment with quite hard driving sometimes.
6UE5T
post Oct 7 2020, 08:07 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 7 2020, 05:08 PM)
Yeah....sad that it doesn't come in 245 .
Yeah, not many big sizes, mostly 17 or below.
dickybird
post May 7 2022, 03:38 PM

2,093 posts

Time to swap these for a new set of boots, * indicator down to 1 * and tread almost at the wear indicator bar.
No wonder I’ve been feeling a bit skittish in the wet for the past 2 months. Done just about 36k km in these.
Much better sidewall stiffness than the OEM Goodyear Excellence.
Thinking to buy again or up car to Conti Ultra Contact 6.
WaNaWe900
post May 8 2022, 11:12 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ May 7 2022, 03:38 PM)
Time to swap these for a new set of boots, * indicator down to 1 * and tread almost at the wear indicator bar.
No wonder I’ve been feeling a bit skittish in the wet for the past 2 months. Done just about 36k km in these.
Much better sidewall stiffness than the OEM Goodyear Excellence.
Thinking to buy again or up car to Conti Ultra Contact 6.
Really used it hah thumbup.gif
mine still good, thanks to PKP whistling.gif ... only counting years, we should change when over 3 years is it hmm.gif
dickybird
post May 9 2022, 12:31 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ May 8 2022, 11:12 PM)
Really used it hah  thumbup.gif 
mine still good, thanks to PKP  whistling.gif ... only counting years, we should change when over 3 years is it  hmm.gif
Was hoping they would last a little longer like up to 40k
But didn’t really use much the last 2years except work commute. Before that, only a few road trips. I guess with regular tyre rotation, happy to say the 4 tyres look evenly worn.
WEE2000
post May 28 2022, 07:53 AM

217 posts

Saw in Shopee Toyo Proxes TR1 215/45/17 RM320(2022), RM270(2019). Is the price reasonable?

This post has been edited by WEE2000: May 28 2022, 05:58 PM
iymm
post May 28 2022, 06:18 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(WEE2000 @ May 28 2022, 07:53 AM)
Saw in Shopee Toyo Proxes TR1 215/45/17 RM320(2022), RM270(2019). Is the price reasonable?
For reasonable yes, cheap I think no.
WEE2000
post May 30 2022, 09:53 AM

217 posts

U have any recommendations to get cheap? i actually don't mind to use other models. as long as its a good deal.
VictorKeong
post Sep 20 2022, 09:52 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(GainKnowledge @ Apr 28 2020, 08:34 PM)
After the first 10k,
Yes tyre noise increased alot.
In terms of wear, so far im at 35k with the tyres. still have some threads left.
my car not driven often, in and out workshop mad.gif
AE111
post Oct 17 2022, 08:56 AM

73 posts

Hi, can sifu here advise what is the different between TOYO CR1 and TR1, both selling price seem close...
Quang1819
post Mar 28 2023, 02:15 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(AE111 @ Oct 17 2022, 08:56 AM)
Hi, can sifu here advise what is the different between TOYO CR1 and TR1, both selling price seem close...
Comfort CR1

Performance TR1

If you're just a city or highway driver that doesn't do touge then just get CR1 will do. Had few sets of them and I loved it a lot.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0250sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:10 AM