The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V5, Welcome to the big screens.

westlife
post Mar 24 2019, 12:52 PM

14,241 posts

dun know 2019 iPhone will have any surprise or not, if not maybe will skip one more gen of iPhone still. Still using iPhone x and iPhone 6 Plus now hahaha.
westlife
post Apr 3 2019, 08:46 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Apr 2 2019, 10:58 AM)
i know this question has been asked million of times but,

between Xs and Xs Max, which one should i get?

planning to buy this for my wife.
also, 64gb vs 256gb?

thanks for your input guys.
256gb no brainer.

XS Max. Haha.

This post has been edited by westlife: Apr 3 2019, 08:46 AM
westlife
post Apr 15 2019, 08:59 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 12 2019, 10:09 AM)
I doubt it, if I know them, they are very stubborn. They will insist eSim is the next big thing laugh.gif
yeah totally unlikely they will release two physical sim version to other market, if yes, they would have done so at the start.
westlife
post May 12 2019, 03:50 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyteddy @ May 12 2019, 03:27 PM)
The good old days where jailbreak on the iPhone 4/4s/5/5s era when apps are in USD and free apps are limited. biggrin.gif

Its been a while i heard this "jailbreak" word. Lol. nostalgic
no point to jailbreak now.

For myself, I have used iPhones since 3GS. The number of apps I bought (not free one) to date was less than 10. 😜
westlife
post May 12 2019, 03:52 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 10 2019, 08:43 PM)
After one week, wife decided she’d like her XS Max back and I can keep or sell the XR laugh.gif
Wah. Changing devices saga starts again bro. 😜
westlife
post Jun 2 2019, 02:50 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 26 2019, 09:21 AM)
One word - Ugly laugh.gif
Yeah. Indeed. This year iPhones seriously can skip. Hahahaha.

The XR colours to me look too pale. If they can those vibrant, glossy, bright colour tones will be nicer.
westlife
post Jun 10 2019, 04:59 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 7 2019, 01:52 PM)
but is 64gb sufficient for 4k videos ?
confirmed no. dun waste time with 64gb for iPhones now.
westlife
post Jun 10 2019, 11:58 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jun 10 2019, 11:24 AM)
You will be surprised a lot of people still hyped for the 64gb iPhones nowadays, they do not need the extra capacity for normal usage..biggrin.gif
For the sake of price and not really becos of the storage size actually.

64gb will limit the capability of the phone.
westlife
post Jun 18 2019, 03:17 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jun 18 2019, 01:44 PM)
I think everyone feels that way. Apple will be in for a horrible year ahead in terms of iPhone sales, haha...
Not looking forward to this year iphone. Think next year bette, more likely to have a redesign.
westlife
post Jun 23 2019, 09:47 AM

14,241 posts

iPhone XS case confirms can be used on iPhone X rite?
westlife
post Jun 26 2019, 08:42 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(weileongz @ Jun 25 2019, 09:03 AM)
Public beta is now gone live... anyone installing?
Will not do it. There was one time I tried. After the official release I want to install it. Following the steps to remove the cert or something, then end up my device cannot access, end up did a hard reset then my data was lost.

Will not try beta but will wait for official release instead.
westlife
post Jul 2 2019, 08:35 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jul 1 2019, 09:56 PM)
Jony Ive gone already, hopefully they’ll get a more courageous designer moving forward nod.gif
Actually they just need to make a iphone with exact same iPad Pro design which is Squarish then it will be nice enough already..
westlife
post Jul 2 2019, 03:12 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jul 2 2019, 11:05 AM)
Ya man, I'm so ready for a squarish iPhone biggrin.gif
yeah. i am a big fan of iphone 4/4s. tongue.gif
westlife
post Aug 11 2019, 01:53 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Aug 11 2019, 11:48 AM)
iPhone not using UFS, also not eMMC, iPhone uses NVMe
you can search eMMC/UFS/NMVe, can compare... but iPhone using NVMe since iPhone 6/s if not mistaken
that time already faster than alot android phone storage, but no one mentioned biggrin.gif
Yes. Correct. Apple actually uses better hardware comparing to same period competitors devices. A lot of people like to say that android devices have microSD card expansion but they dun realise the fact that they need to pay extra for microSD card and again the speed is totally not comparable to internal storage speed. People just look at price alone. They just want something cheap and big.

Same goes to MacBook, a lot people like to compare it to windows laptop but they do not realise that the display of MacBook is a lot better, ssd speed is few times faster etc.
westlife
post Aug 24 2019, 05:07 PM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Aug 24 2019, 09:15 AM)
From the leaks, it seems so. Just the ugly triple camera layout on the back for us to contend with smile.gif
It is not ‘triangle’, it is stove-TOP. 😜
westlife
post Sep 2 2019, 08:37 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(rebus @ Sep 1 2019, 02:02 PM)
Battery for sure welcome. Hope it lasts though. The current Max is disappointing with its battery life. iOS famous for battery standby management and watch the juice drain!
That’s for moderate daily use without gaming.

But 6G RAM is a surprise (if true)
Impossible. If u can get extra ‘1GB’ from last year iPhones, it is already a ‘surprise’.

Anyway, it is known for iOS to have good memory management. Apple definitely gives u ‘enough’ ram to run for years (at least 5 and above).

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 2 2019, 07:42 AM)
i see.. ya the price is more palatable. My Sis is in SG, but i worried they wont take in my HK unit. When i talked to Apple support chat, they actually say the apple service provider in malaysia may not be able to fix my unit because is different region. I have fren going back to China so it may be my best bet to get it replaced/repaired there, around 2.7k myr only. Yeah T&L is like pusing 1 round say macam they reluctant altho i say i will pay everything including delivery.
I think for iPhones it is still better to go for local set for the convenience of any servicing needed in future. The only ‘foreign’ set that can consider is lion city set.

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 2 2019, 08:38 AM
westlife
post Sep 2 2019, 08:41 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 30 2019, 09:01 AM)
Apple wearing Green Cap. Sad
Somehow the colours for this round looks even more pale than last year colours.

Seriously do not look very nice.

Hopefully they look better in real.

Last years XR some colours ok but the killer is the aluminium for all colours except black look a lot more pale than its rear colour which it makes them look mismatch thus not appealing.

I still prefer the classic space grey or last year XS’s gold colour.
westlife
post Sep 2 2019, 11:03 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 2 2019, 10:08 AM)
I think Apple SG will fix iPhones from any region. Just that water damage might not be covered by warranty.
Agreed. 4GB RAM is probably as good as it gets.
yeah. just sent to apple shop now at orchard or changi airport jewel shopping mall (not authorized dealer).
they should be able to fix it.

i supposed they will stick to 4GB ram or at most add in 1 more GB to 5GB for the pro model. tongue.gif
this year apple has become smarter. they will let you justify the premium price to pay for the higher model by differentiating between the 'pro' model with the normal model.

westlife
post Sep 4 2019, 08:45 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(rebus @ Sep 2 2019, 11:16 AM)
Apple always justifies their premium prices one way or the other.

Wish we had Apple store here at least can get good service. Sure will beat the crap service by the so called local authorized centres. After sales service is not well here.

who knows an Apple store here may just increase the iPhone owners. Don't forget there's one in Bangkok - north and south of KL so chances are slim.

Well at least we will have the first flying car  thumbup.gif
The number of iPhone users in bolehland is still a lot lower than nearby countries. This actually explains why until now bolehland is still not in the first wave list.
westlife
post Sep 5 2019, 01:33 AM

14,241 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Sep 4 2019, 07:43 PM)
Lol yeah iMessaging is almost non existent. iOS users pun use whatsapp.
indeed. becos u cannot confirm if ur recipient have imesssge or not too. but not iMessage problem. Becos nowadays people do not use sms. iMessage actually save people on the number of sms quota last time becos if it is iOS users, sms will be sent as iMessage.

But to me iMessage is still good becos I can forward sms between all my Apple devices such as those TAC message. On all devices when I do internet banking, I can see and input those tac without looking at the particular iPhone.

0.0730sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:15 PM