The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V5, Welcome to the big screens.

westlife
post Sep 5 2019, 07:55 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Sep 5 2019, 07:12 AM)
Can check but a little bit ortodox way. Open new message, search the recipient number, see if number in blue means can imessage. If the number appears in green, means it will be sent as sms. A little bit tedious but that's what we got.
yeah. i know.

like i said, sms quota is limited in the past, so people will use the most cost effective/free way to communicate. same to phone calls.
so they dun even bother to check prior to use for imessage.

this is why nowadays even telcos give unlimited sms/calls, people also do not use. as they are get used to make free calls/message using whatsapp etc.
westlife
post Sep 5 2019, 08:41 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 5 2019, 08:29 AM)
I do like using FaceTime though - I’ve found it to be more reliable than other video call platforms for me smile.gif
That’s why all the telcos give us unlimited SMS already coz they know we don’t use it, hahaha. Ya, having iMessage on multiple devices is pretty handy - like you said, it’s convenient to get TAC on your iPad or Mac when you’re doing a banking transaction coz sometimes your phone might be somewhere else in the house and not close by.

September 10 (or rather 11) can’t come soon enough!
Yeah. I prefer FaceTime call/video call over WhatsApp also. Just not everyone has it. 😜

Yeah. It is also a form of ‘backup’ for all your sms across multiple phone numbers if any also since iCloud can be enabled for it.

This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 5 2019, 08:41 AM
westlife
post Sep 11 2019, 10:48 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 11 2019, 08:26 PM)
Depends on your priorities. Battery life? Display? Camera? I’ve used both and I’d pick the XR.
Yes, 100% approvals for iPhones coz she knows she’ll inherit the phone eventually. But she frowns whenever I try an Android laugh.gif
Definitely. In essence, it is a discontinued product, so they’ll price it to clear till stocks run out.
Time for iphone 11 Pro Max, bro. Haha.
westlife
post Sep 15 2019, 10:54 AM

14,245 posts

Anyone is still on iOS 12.1 instead of 12.4?
westlife
post Sep 16 2019, 01:01 AM

14,245 posts

3D-touch will be replaced by haptic touch in iOS 13. Even with the hardware around, the 3D-touch will still behave like haptic touch.
westlife
post Sep 16 2019, 10:35 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 16 2019, 08:47 AM)
I hardly used 3D Touch since it was introduced with iPhone 6S but I did miss it when I used the XR, hahaha. Anyways, remains to be seen if haptic touch will be as good or as useful as 3D Touch in iOS 13.
to be frank. i hardly use it too. according to review, they will work about the same in ios 13. but the 3d touch unique behaviour will be gone in ios 13. therefore, i am hesitating to upgrade to ios 13. haha.
westlife
post Sep 17 2019, 06:44 PM

14,245 posts

To be fair, I think all battery life for all iPhones with the same model will be the same. The difference will rely on the individual usage. If one is doing regularly gaming on his iPhone, obviously the battery life will be poorer than those who don’t but bought the phone around the same time. Reason is due to the charging cycles increase. So seriously no point in comparing the battery life. I am sure the quality of Apple products can ascertain this.

Technically the battery life should not be affected much due to the charging habit too. maybe in some ways yes but certainly not dramatically can make a big difference. Technically one also cannot ‘overcharge’ the battery if you leave it charged over night too since the phone has protection mechanism to prevent it.
westlife
post Sep 17 2019, 06:45 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 17 2019, 04:50 PM)
Not sure the battery Health is accurate or not
Here’s mine Sept 2016 IPhone SE status:

[attachmentid=10315622]

But my battery hardly sustain for half day from 100% till 20% from just normal usage like WhatsApp and safari

Daily charge is like 3 times average
Iphone SE battery is poor.
westlife
post Sep 17 2019, 09:03 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 17 2019, 08:22 PM)
Nvm, taking my step to 11 now
Yup, I think it is a worthy upgrade.
westlife
post Sep 18 2019, 10:46 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(kimjs90 @ Sep 18 2019, 08:09 PM)
if im not mistaken only intel modem on xs max..not sure if there is qualcomm modem..correct me if im wrong
Should be whole last year and this year Apple line-up. All should be intel.
westlife
post Sep 20 2019, 01:24 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(changleonghao @ Sep 20 2019, 01:15 PM)
regretted update to iOS 13. lost the pop.
think need to downgrade asap

what pop?

u mean 3D-touch?
westlife
post Sep 20 2019, 05:57 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(changleonghao @ Sep 20 2019, 02:08 PM)
Still got peek but no more pop which was super intuitive and awesome.
Peek - u mean when press on a url link for a while, it will show the preview of webpage but cannot hard press again to show the webpage on a standalone new windows?
westlife
post Sep 20 2019, 06:13 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(changleonghao @ Sep 20 2019, 06:07 PM)

Ok. Got it.

it is correct. It is the function will be lost with iOS 13.

So technically speaking, with iOS 13, the unique gesture for 3D-touch that cannot be replaced by haptic touch one will be gone. It means it is the same as not having the hardware of 3D-touch anymore.
westlife
post Sep 28 2019, 03:45 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 28 2019, 02:24 PM)
3D touch still there after iOS13
my Xs vs 11 pro both using iOS13, feature no longer available in 11 pro like pressing whatsapp message to peek and pop, still able to do it in Xs iOS13, but not 11 pro iOS13
and cannot say iOS13 makes 3D touch gone, because 3D touch is still there in iOS13, pressing app icon in Xs still trigger by 3D touch, because when i long press app icon in 11 pro, it is slower compare to Xs (could be due to haptic touch is software not hardware)
I see. That's good. Meaning I can safely upgrade my iPhone X to iOS 13.1.1 now. Still on iOS 12.4.
westlife
post Sep 29 2019, 01:07 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 28 2019, 05:48 PM)
then you are wrong, apple keyboard still support 3D touch biggrin.gif
3D touch, you can press any character to trigger cursor movement, but without 3D touch, you can only long press space bar to trigger
e.g.: Xs max, you can do so, BUT in 11 pro only can long press space bar in keyboard (something similar to Xr before iOS13 came out)
you can open note app and type one paragraph and try 3D touch your keyboard, long press space bar to trigger cursor is something for Xr previously. (because since 3D touch introduce from iPhone 6S, only Xr dont have)
cannot already, if your phone still have 3D touch, u long press or force press gives you same outcome, the only different is the feedback time for your press

in summary, the 3D touch device still have 3D touch in iOS13, just if it conflict with haptic touch long press, doing both either long press or force press will do the same, just you might feel the different is TIME lol, i have tried my Xs and 11 pro

what i wanted to say is 3D touch still there even though for iOS13, just they make it gone for iPhone 11 pro and revamped haptic touch, so you will feel it is haptic touch in older device like 6S/7/8/X/Xs, but in reality, it is still 3D touch, the delayed and slightly longer feedback from haptic touch in iPhone 11 pro gives alot different feeling laugh.gif i just have to get use of it
upgraded to iOS 13.1.1 directly from iOS 12.4.1.

Yes, the 3D Touch feel still the same. just the time has changed.

it is still better than iPhone 11 which I tested also. Iphone 11 has significantly longer delay when Long press icons to trigger the menu.

one thing I do not really like is the change of way to trigger the delete function for icons. now really a bit troublesome.

One thing also I find that the rotation of photo within camera roll now become tougher. The icons to rotate now is on the TOP. but the icon to trigger cropping or rotation is still at the bottom as usual. And the rotation icon left with only one which is to rotate right and not as before that there are both rotate left and right.

My HUAWEI app is also stopping working for my HUAWEI mifi. Now the HUAWEI app does not detect any mifi device.
westlife
post Oct 22 2019, 08:48 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 21 2019, 04:48 PM)
No, That is considered normal wear and tear. Apple will only allow warranty claims for battery if it’s 70% or less within a year I think.
80% and below actually according to their website. But depending on situation. sometimes no need to be even below that also possible to change. Depending on which customer service officer who serves u aldosterone

Last year during the period where Apple gives special price to replace all iPhones battery due to the battery saga.

Apple replaces battery even it is at 90% and above without questions asked for those who are still within one year warranty period but now no more already. Now must see how bad it degrades before they consider to whether to replace. If less than one year and battery is still above 90% totally no chance.

westlife
post Mar 14 2020, 09:01 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Mar 14 2020, 06:45 PM)
Does it make sense to get iphone xs now?

I used to be apple fan becoz I had imac, ipad and iphone since 4s until 6s...

After 6s, i move to galaxy note 8 more than 2 years ago and has been very happy with it.

I'm still keeping my 9 year old imac 27 and bought ipad pro 2018 2 weeks ago.  I'm very surprised with ipadOS that it has made me gone paperless eversince....

Now I'm thinking to change my aging note 8 to ios again since I already have imac and ipad.  So that everything will be streamlined again like the old days....

Been looking at iphone 11 and XS... can't make up my mind... the 11 doesn't seem to be available enywhere...

The best scenario is iphone 12 so that i can have usb c for both ipad pro and iphone...but I think I can't wait for months...
No matter which one u use, the key is to stick to the same ecosystem especially Apple one. It is either u just be 100% in Apple ecosystem to enjoy the fullness of the seamless integration across devices instead of keep on switching here and there.
westlife
post Sep 2 2020, 10:27 AM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(omaigad @ Sep 2 2020, 09:52 AM)
no lah, found 2nd
i just got a new in condition iphone xs 256gb at around rm2300. tongue.gif
westlife
post Sep 22 2020, 08:34 PM

14,245 posts

still worth it to get a refurbished (unused) iPhone Xs Max 256gb silver at rm2400?
westlife
post Sep 22 2020, 11:35 PM

14,245 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Sep 22 2020, 11:21 PM)
wow. i've been looking at the market price. i think worth it. phone is still solid at that price point.
plus it's refurbished. where u got the phone from? im looking to get a unit too.
from a friend who got his unit exchanged recently.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0835sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:25 PM