14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

For those that bought a Rolex before...

kiasunkiasi
post Feb 9 2019, 06:53 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 9 2019, 03:57 PM)
I still wonder, what makes Rolex price appreciate so much compared to other brands? Limited quantities?

So if 2nd hand keeps appreciating, i guess new models should be more expensive now?
basically Apple is copying Rolex strategy by increasing their products' prices every year
Rolex also control number of watches released to authorised shops
so in a way, a Rolex's price is artificially appreciate every year
and when people cannot get a Rolex from authorised shop due to controlled supply, they will go for used Rolex... and due to strong demand, a used Rolex also increase in price, artificially, thanks to Rolex's manipulation of supply

This post has been edited by kiasunkiasi: Feb 9 2019, 06:54 PM
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 07:05 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Feb 9 2019, 02:41 PM)
wait what ur budget again?
no set budget tbh I initially wanted < RM15k but from oipinions from different forums it seems that

pepsi , hulk , batman ish designs are the one that appreciates to most ... like + RM3k + in a year
TSTOHNO
post Feb 9 2019, 07:10 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 9 2019, 03:54 PM)
Where did you buy the 2nd hand one? Can't trust many places with original 2nd hand stuffs.

Servicing price right? More than Rm1.5k?
I surveyed the one at starhill

The guy literally ignored me when I asked for the model ( can't remembered what model I asked for since i think it was last year July and yes I have been thinking for that long )

he said a safe estimate is 3 years

viole
post Feb 9 2019, 07:10 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Im tempted to buy omega before.

But to me luxury watch is like the end game of rich guy. If i just drive old car, wearing luxury watch, something seems off. So maybe i will wait for nice house, nice car and then buy a luxury watch myself.
SUSAngelic Layer
post Feb 9 2019, 07:14 PM

91 posts

At my parent's age, rolex is common.
People don't think it is affordable or not, seemed like a lot of people can afford it, just like what we called "luxury" cars today, but people back then can afford a house easily either.

We have fallen below our forefathers and not much more disposable income anymore.
DS51
post Feb 9 2019, 07:22 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 9 2019, 03:54 PM)
Where did you buy the 2nd hand one? Can't trust many places with original 2nd hand stuffs.

Servicing price right? More than Rm1.5k?
I buy at senai airport. Got shoplot there selling rolex. Can find at mudah.my, the shop still exist until today.

But I think, armcorp mall also got one. Model there quite a lot. Better u go armcorp mall.

Servicing is indeed pricy. More than rm1.5 liao. Standard answer when u buy 2nd hand rolex, seller will said, our watch already service, no need to service anymore. Topkek. When u buy it, only few years later feel the urgency need to service. Lol.

But indeed satisfied send to rolex centre. They polish ur bezel, glass, bracelet and make it looks like new. All small small stratch is gone for good. Lel.

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 07:05 PM)
no set budget tbh I initially wanted < RM15k but from oipinions from different forums it seems that

pepsi , hulk , batman ish designs are the one that appreciates to most ... like + RM3k + in a year
Pepsi blue and red is my favourite. But cannot find good one. Even average condition one is expensive.

Newer pepsi blue and red farking expensive plak since no come with steel 🤣🤣.
SUSAud power
post Feb 9 2019, 07:37 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Feb 9 2019, 07:49 AM)
Was it ever worth the price?

Any luxury watches in fact , Maurice , Jaegar , IWC etc

I'm from a somewhat modest , middle income family hence I was never really exposed to luxury goods, and I'm never to keen on them.

When it comes to personal spending I've always been frugal. Buying 2nd hand stuff , eating food on a budget ( though I eat a lot since I do train upwards of 5x/week).
I don't drink nor have a nightlife... Since I never see them as a good investment of time and money
Lately my business is doing somewhat decent. And I'm able to save a decent amount of money a month. Last year I was able to get myself a 2nd hand car. Which I'm really proud of.
And lately I've been looking into luxury watches , partly cause I was exposed to my client's collection of watches which well ... isn't good

I'm thinking of getting a Rolex for my 25th Bday , which is next year.
I don't wear watches so my main idea of getting a Rolex is

1. Hopefully it appreciates or at least retains 80% of it's value over the course of 10+ years

2. Pass down to my children

3. Add a little swag ... I guess?

I'm thinking of a moderately priced 2nd hand Rolex say a Datejust from WingWah , apparently I can't get a brand new Rolex as the waiting list is 3 freaking years.

So what do you guys think.

Would a Rolex be a good ( or at least decent ) use of money?
fly to one of the other SEA countries and walk in shop buy rolex, its not even rare
Revamperz
post Feb 9 2019, 08:06 PM

im freaking IN! â„¢
5,164 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Feb 9 2019, 07:22 PM)
I buy at senai airport. Got shoplot there selling rolex. Can find at mudah.my, the shop still exist until today.

But I think, armcorp mall also got one. Model there quite a lot. Better u go armcorp mall.

Servicing is indeed pricy. More than rm1.5 liao. Standard answer when u buy 2nd hand rolex, seller will said, our watch already service, no need to service anymore. Topkek. When u buy it, only few years later feel the urgency need to service. Lol.

But indeed satisfied send to rolex centre. They polish ur bezel, glass, bracelet and make it looks like new. All small small stratch is gone for good. Lel.
Pepsi blue and red is my favourite. But cannot find good one. Even average condition one is expensive.

Newer pepsi blue and red farking expensive plak since no come with steel 🤣🤣.
u jb base? there new one at pelangi mall 2nd floor.
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 09:34 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 9 2019, 05:14 PM)
Huiyo luciiii!!!

Gimme one drool.gif
pls buy your own box, hokay

i buy less than rm4k each the box, unlike one of of our fellow here only can show off 1 box, i show opp 7 EMPTY boxes!
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 09:35 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Feb 9 2019, 05:26 PM)
Any one of those is from black submariner date?  drool.gif
none of them has watches inside. i buy from shoppee the empty boxes

example:

https://shopee.com.my/Ready-stcok-Original-...9372.1441143514

https://shopee.com.my/Box-Original-Rolex-Be...5399.1299094545

https://shopee.com.my/Rolex-box-paperbag-i....8076.1098034606

This post has been edited by lucifah: Feb 10 2019, 09:36 AM
Quang1819
post Feb 10 2019, 10:09 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 10 2019, 09:35 AM)
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 10:34 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Feb 10 2019, 10:09 AM)
i mana pernah claim got loleks watch? LOL

u assume from looking at those empty boxes saja

even alwinnng knows i only got boxes
alwinnng
post Feb 10 2019, 03:29 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 10 2019, 10:34 AM)
i mana pernah claim got loleks watch? LOL

u assume from looking at those empty boxes saja

even alwinnng knows i only got boxes
brows.gif padahal daily wear also loleks brows.gif
lucifah
post Feb 10 2019, 11:07 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Feb 10 2019, 03:29 PM)
brows.gif padahal daily wear also loleks brows.gif
Wear one and owning one is tottally different...

Wear means borrow friend punya also can... oh wai
alwinnng
post Feb 10 2019, 11:09 PM

4,296 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Feb 10 2019, 11:07 PM)
Wear one and owning one is tottally different...

Wear means borrow friend punya also can... oh wai
brows.gif wear fren punya loleks.. safe kawkaw berterabuh alangsone brows.gif
hcmalaya
post Feb 10 2019, 11:15 PM

61 posts

Ayam poorfag only can afford Garmin
JerryTeh
post Feb 11 2019, 12:02 AM

227 posts

I'm from a somewhat modest , middle income family hence I was never really exposed to luxury goods, and I'm never to keen on them.

When it comes to personal spending I've always been frugal. Buying 2nd hand stuff , eating food on a budget ( though I eat a lot since I do train upwards of 5x/week).
I don't drink nor have a nightlife... Since I never see them as a good investment of time and money
Lately my business is doing somewhat decent. And I'm able to save a decent amount of money a month. Last year I was able to get myself a 2nd hand car. Which I'm really proud of.
And lately I've been looking into luxury watches , partly cause I was exposed to my client's collection of watches which well ... isn't good

1. Hopefully it appreciates or at least retains 80% of it's value over the course of 10+ years

I'm thinking of a moderately priced 2nd hand Rolex say a Datejust from WingWah , apparently I can't get a brand new Rolex as the waiting list is 3 freaking years.

fyi i am with 100k++ per month but i still haven start to enjoy my income.

company is expanding so focus on that.

You have to understand that wealth is accumulation.

100k income for few years doesnt make you richer than those who make 20k for the past 30 years.
pisces88
post Feb 11 2019, 12:06 AM

3,970 posts

decent use of money - YES, if you can afford it. sounds like you can, which is very good achievement for 25yr old

2nd hand is fine, as you cannot get the sports models from retail anyway

it will retain value, because rolex increases prices every year. if 10 years later maybe the SRP increased 50%, so ur watch now +50% value

Leong Kok Leong
post Feb 11 2019, 12:18 AM

111 posts

BUy ORIS

trust me
Reventon
post Feb 11 2019, 03:50 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Feb 9 2019, 05:30 PM)
Just curious to know.
How liquid is liquid? Can you walk into amcorp mall second hand watch shop there and get cash immediately?
Model like 16610 , 14060 ,116610 or 116710 be it LN,LV or BLNR , i can say its better than cash, you walk in to amcorp , times square grey dealer will just hand you the cash at the right price immediately. Same if you walk into mbk , they will give you cash immediately as well. Very liquid.

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:49 AM