vikingw2k
post Nov 21 2007, 02:20 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Nov 21 2007, 12:15 PM)
beercan is overpriced nowadays... hahah.
i got cheaper option, slightly faster lens too brows.gif
Got mine for RM7xx last time

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Nov 22 2007, 02:52 AM
vikingw2k
post Dec 11 2007, 05:13 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(freal0s @ Dec 11 2007, 04:44 PM)
hye guys...was wondering how much does a 70-210f4 beercan lens cost? new and 2nd hand..

and where can i get em?
Bought mine for RM7xx 6 months ago tongue.gif but sold off together with my Alpha + Kit + 70-300mm for 6.5k tongue.gif
vikingw2k
post Jan 22 2008, 12:14 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(dx_myrddraal @ Jan 21 2008, 10:26 PM)
http://www.photographybay.com/2008/01/16/m...bel-xts-rumors/

Canon's EOS 400D replacement model: 450D will also be priced around there: $599 (RM 2096), so it's very unlikely that Sony will increase the price. Perhaps you can say that Sony started the price war?

I'm still not sure which camera to go for (with Nikon D40x replacement coming up in Spring too, probly announced at PMA too). One thing I don't like about Sony is the lens availability. Minolta's are hard to come by, and the new lenses are few and expensive!!

Just compare Sony's 70-200 f2.8 with Canon's. Canon's sells for around 6k, while Sony's msrp is RM 9k. Whatever happened to the economical reasons for built in image stabilizer??
Also, it's very hard to get used Sony / Minolta lens. Simply because, low number of people selling it and even if you manage to find one, it gonna be overpriced cause everybody fighting for it since it's limited. Take for instance a used Minolta 50mm f1.7, some people are selling it for RM400-500. A used Canon 50mm f1.8 is just around RM2xx, if you are lucky enough you can even get it @ RM180 like one of our forumer.

I was an Alpha user last time, each time I could only drool whenever I came across people selling used lens. Simply because it gonna be either Canon / Nikon. Sony / Minolta? maybe once in a blue moon, that also sold overpriced. Brand new Sony 70-200mm f2.8 is pricey and because of that most of them would just opt for the legendary Minolta 70-200mm f4. You might wanna ask the Alpha users, how many of them actually own the Sony 70-200mm f2.8? smile.gif

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jan 22 2008, 12:00 AM)
Well, i guess the price war has started. Anyway it is a good news for us consumers wad right? Lets just sit back and see how much will these new dslrs cost. xD

And btw, Williamngwl, cause normally when sony listed out the RRP, most sellers will sell it with a slightly cheaper price wan mah. I was thinking that A200 will follow the same path too. =p
RRP RM1999, I believe the sellers can do better than that either by giving gift or quote a slightly lower price.

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Jan 22 2008, 12:19 AM
vikingw2k
post Jan 25 2008, 12:44 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(dx_myrddraal @ Jan 24 2008, 08:11 PM)

A few examples (from the big table):
Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM, RM 1792 RM12xx
Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II, RM 380 RM30X
Sony EF 50mm f1.4, RM 1650

Canon EF 70-200 f2.8L IS USM, RM 8640 RM65XX
Sony 70-200 2.8G, RM 10,888
Fixed,

Conclusion, you might get to start cheap with Sony, however in long term run, you gonna pay aloooot more to buy Sony lens compare to buying Canon lens at the same spec. If you guys just wanna get a DSLR for the sake of buying one, maybe you can start cheap with Alpha 200 and it's just the matter of time before you change to Canon once you start to know how to calculate better.

vikingw2k
post Jan 25 2008, 01:25 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(dx_myrddraal @ Jan 25 2008, 01:18 AM)
Have to try to find a used Minolta 50mm f1.7. Should be around RM 300-400. This "should" be better than Canon's 50mm f1.8. The minolta has 7 aperture blades, the canon only has 5. from pictures i've seen, the bokeh is quite round too.
Average selling price for a used Minolta 50mm f1.7 is RM4xx-5xx and you only get to see people selling that lens once in a blue moon. A used Canon 50mm f1.8 is around RM2xx, if you are lucky, you can get it for Rm180 like one of our forumer, do a random search at our Trade Zone and you'll know how easy it is to get a used Canon 50mm f1.8 compared to getting one for Sony smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Jan 25 2008, 02:03 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Jan 25 2008, 01:15 PM)
albnok: i'll prefer a round shape than pentagonal one if given the choice

and i'll prefer this kind of bokeh

which blurred out the background. That is also a main reason why some people go for bigger aperture lens.

To me, the man sweeping the floor is just doesn't have enough bokeh to isolate the background, unless u want to do composition. Maybe the tree behind is a famous tree or the lake has nice swan.
Now this is what I call as good bokeh smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Jan 25 2008, 06:05 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Jan 25 2008, 05:59 PM)
the last one is totally plain.. and i kind of like it.. biggrin.gif
How about this 2? brows.gif

vikingw2k
post Jan 25 2008, 08:40 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 25 2008, 07:57 PM)
i feel so sad already .... i think i want to talk to the buyer again sad.gif
What's next? A700? tongue.gif
btw how much are you selling your alpha for?

vikingw2k
post Jan 27 2008, 12:34 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jan 27 2008, 10:03 AM)
Very often I heard that UV filter creates glares because it creates another layer of glass in front of the lens.
That's pretty common in 50mm f1.8. Sometimes I'll need to remove it and resnap to get rid of the glare.
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 01:39 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 6 2008, 01:35 PM)
soulfly help...I'm being shoot in the other thread by vikingw2k.... seems like he really hate Sony A100/A200. He said in other thread that he use A100 before and it really make him very angry. sad.gif
I personally don't hate any brand. About Alpha A100, I said that the picture quality @ ISO 400 and above sark hard. There's no such thing as "I used A100 before and that made me angry".

Now stop crying out loud like a little girl here. Go play somewhere else if you choose to post more posts like this. This is not a place for you to whine like a little girl.
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 02:13 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 6 2008, 01:45 PM)
Well if 9/10 complains I'd believe it's bad but if 1/10, I'd think twice.

My friend is pretty happy with his Alpha 100 when used at ISO800.

But it's very subjective to evaluate the quality of a photo. Diff people will have different perspective.
Maybe you are still new on issues faced by alpha users. You might wanna read this, do a simple google and you'll realize that I'm not the only one complaining about the noise issue. Or maybe you should really try shooting with your friend's alpha. Shoot @ ISO 800 and you'll see.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 6 2008, 01:47 PM)
Help, vikingw2k is following me everywhere in Photography thread... laugh.gif ok la. just joking with u...

well, 1 thing i dun wan to buy A100 + twin lens = RM2200 (I ask a dealer, I didn't listen ok) is because the noise issue. i guess u're right then....

hopefully A200 has improve..

Added on February 6, 2008, 1:49 pm
actually ISO noise is pretty much complain by people in a lot of review and thread...so I might
believe his assertion.....although I might need to check it out myself (as what he always ask me... laugh.gif)
I agreed that A200's noise has reduced drastically. However it still loses to 400D's noise control system.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 6 2008, 01:54 PM)
yeah. maybe vikingw2k under expose it a lot.

review can only do so much. it can't take care every situation. maybe vikingw2k use it at extremely contrasty or undersexpose condition gua.. tongue.gif
I hardly understand what you are trying to say. There's no such thing as noise will increase when I shoot it in dark places. I used my Alpha to shoot weddings, potraits, and so.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 6 2008, 01:47 PM)
review can only do so much. it can't take care every situation.
If you said so, why bother reading it then? Your statements controdicts.

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 6 2008, 02:08 PM)
I've ordered a Sigma APO 70-300mm which is having a better IQ than Sony's.
Smart, I always advice A200 users to not to get the Sony 75-300mm f4.5-5.6 lens. It's slower and Siggy comes with macro.
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 02:23 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 6 2008, 02:20 PM)
Yes it is. Read more review and forum. They do make a discussion on it. You ramp ISO all the way to 1600 and shoot outdoor. U'll get less noise. Maybe
short exposure reduce to noise.... in dark area, high ISO, couple with longer exposure of course its noisier..

Added on February 6, 2008, 2:21 pmI hope u dun find it funny again... laugh.gif
Let me make it clear to you boy, at the same ISO, noise is MORE VISIBLE when you shoot at dark places NOT increase.

Added on February 6, 2008, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 6 2008, 02:22 PM)
Sigma is actually not much faster than Sony's. Sigma is just having less CA and more sharpness compares to Sony's and Tamron. This what I read from reviews.
Looking at the f number, we already know which is faster than which. I used to have the Sony 75-300mm, did a side by side with Siggy 70-300mm. Pictures are brighter and sharper.

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 6 2008, 02:25 PM
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 02:30 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 6 2008, 02:29 PM)
Ohh, I mean faster in focusing. Yeah, Sigma APO shall be the right choice.
btw how much you bought your Siggy?

vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 02:45 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 6 2008, 02:35 PM)
since kelvinyam decided to switch camp to orange one, you should too? tongue.gif since both of u are from S3... laugh.gif
That's not a good reason to switch to Alpha. I was a S3 IS user and I switched to A100 + 400D before ditching Alpha because of the bad noise control and hard to get used lens.

vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 03:07 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 6 2008, 02:45 PM)
I see that there's a very deep grudge against Sony Alpha till the enemy dares to enter our base and bash our product laugh.gif
Wow, I never thought that non-alpha users are considered as enemy here. I believe this is a forum where we do sharing with each other regardless any brands. When something is good, we say that it's good. When something is proven bad with facts supporting it, we just accept it and move on. For instance the Sony 75-300mm, I would suggest my alpha friends to get the Siggy instead of the Sony lens simply because it's sharper and better.

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 6 2008, 02:45 PM)
Alpha system is just too excellent isn't it? laugh.gif

You don't go to other people's house and tell them their TV sucks so bad compare to your TV am I right?
This is a forum not flats or terrace houses where you can't simply go to other people's house to comment on their stuff. Forum is a free place where everybody comes in and out to share their opinions here. Your statement sounded as if I must only give good comments on Sony stuff when I enter here? I hope not. smile.gif

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 6 2008, 03:11 PM
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 03:43 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 6 2008, 03:31 PM)
Dude, I don't think he is bashing, he is just sharing his experience.

Diff people has diff experience with this camera.

For example, some people not happy with Nikon D80 then switch to Canon 40D,

Everycam also not perfect unfortunately.

But it is a lil extremist to be calling other users enemy though.
I'm just merely doing comparisons between "400D and A200's noise control" and "Sony 75-300mm f4.5-5.6 with Sigma 75-300mm f4-5.6 Macro"

btw thanks calvin_gsc. Glad to know that my statements are not considered as bashing blindly. I only take it as a healthy debate where we share facts to compare when we are comparing certain stuff. smile.gif

p/s: We don't label photographers here as enemy or alliances base on what system they are using. We are all brothers, sharing views under the same LYN forum and that's how we manage to gather different users to join us during the previous outings.

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 6 2008, 03:47 PM
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 05:18 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Feb 6 2008, 05:06 PM)
hmm.gif  and doing that in the alpha thread means what? don't get the alpha? umm too late we already decided that the alpha suits us better. we all know what are the issues with certain models - like the a100 only have average high iso performance and there are 2 over price lenses in the line up that people keep bringing up (the 70-200G & the 300G). you don't sound like bashing but like dropping "silent" hint.
So you too are indirectly telling me that I shouldn't post something that show Alpha's noise control is worse than Canon's though it's a healthy and fair comparison?

and No, the purpose I posted that comparison is to answer albnok's question here

He was asking , "Where is the 400D better than the A200's ISO1600? Please share the link."

I don't see anything wrong replying him. Why the discussion came into this thread? Do a follow up on that thread and you'll realize that little girl gogo2 who brought it over here. I wouldn't wanna comment much on how girlish he is.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 6 2008, 01:35 PM)
soulfly help...I'm being shoot in the other thread by vikingw2k.... seems like he really hate Sony A100/A200. He said in other thread that he use A100 before and it really make him very angry. sad.gif
p/s: I don't gain any benefit by dropping so-called "silent" hint here. All I wanted to do is just have a healthy discussion. I certainly don't understand why posting a healthy comparison will lead you guys to think as if I'm trying to do some "silent Sony-Canon conversion".

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 6 2008, 05:29 PM
vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 05:33 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 6 2008, 05:31 PM)
Yo... Too free at this moment.

I suggest puting MP3 playback on latest Sony dSLR... and name it as walkman SLR.... Coooool!  drool.gif

So photographer can enjoy music while shooting for long assignment.  thumbup.gif

That's the Sony we are talking about  icon_rolleyes.gif
I bet you wouldn't wanna carry a MP3 player weighing few kgs.

vikingw2k
post Feb 6 2008, 05:38 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Feb 6 2008, 05:35 PM)

If have 4MB ms sure no prob!!
Having 4MB ms to play movies is sure a problem biggrin.gif

Added on February 6, 2008, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(kitman @ Feb 6 2008, 05:35 PM)
ofcos you can post it here - after all this is a public forum but then what is the point of doing a so called healthy (is it really healthy) comparison here? i believe most of use posting in this thread are alpha users so how? go back and cry ah  shocking.gif ? anyway it is cny eve and don't feel like arguing. i have back track 3/4 pages to read what you have commented and believe me it really sound like you are dropping silent hints or else soulfly wouldn't have reacted like that ..... so gong xi fa chai if you are celebrating and happy holidays if you are not.
I've cleared said that, reason I posted that comparison is just to answer albnok's question. I don't feel like going further to discuss what's my intention and those. Going off to KL now, cheers and happy CNY everyone smile.gif

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 6 2008, 05:40 PM
vikingw2k
post Feb 10 2008, 10:01 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Feb 10 2008, 10:00 PM)
ahh...
Tamron got 50mm prime lens ?
or 90mm ?

someone got the example for that lens ?
kinda interest.
Yes, Tamron 90mm f2.8 Macro
Sharp lens for macro shots.

0.0538sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled