Alternatively you may get a Siggy 105mm f2.8 Macro.
**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.
Feb 10 2008, 10:37 PM
9,778 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: KL(Wangsa Maju) , Seremban 2 |
quite good for potraits. Sharp lens I would say
Alternatively you may get a Siggy 105mm f2.8 Macro. |
Feb 15 2008, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 15 2008, 11:06 PM) Neither do I. Added on February 15, 2008, 11:23 pm QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 15 2008, 10:42 PM) Sony Alpha will only accept CF card. Sony Alpha does accepts CF cards and MSPDs too. You'll get a MSPD-CF converter when you purchase an AlphaThis post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 15 2008, 11:24 PM |
Feb 15 2008, 11:31 PM
Feb 16 2008, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 16 2008, 01:01 AM) U reckon it's worth paying the extra rm400 for the Sony 18-250? I'm thinking I better get that than the 70-300 though it's sooooo much cheaper n longer. It's a lot more convenient for SLR noob like me coz it's such a flexible range n nonid to carry so many things. If you travel frequently and looking for a walkaround lens. Get the Sony 18-250mm. Else I would suggest you to get the Siggy 70-300mm f4-5.6 Macro lens as it's a much faster lens compared to the 18-250. On top of that you get to use the macro function too other than the long range. If you get the 18-250mm, your kittylens will be redundant. If you get the 70-300mm, you get a longer telelens + decent macro lens. This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 16 2008, 01:07 AM |
Feb 16 2008, 02:06 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 16 2008, 01:57 AM) Is the Tamron 70-300 any good? I really dunno what I want now coz I really like to bring along the camera wherever I go n just snap snap snap. So the 18-250 wud b great. Then again I can get a Tamron 70-300, 1 of soulfly's 50mm, and even a 50mm macro lens all for the price of that 18-250. haih decisions, decisions. How much is the 18-250mm?If it's more expensive than Tammy 70-300mm + 50mm f1.7, it's not worth it. Get - Tammy 70-300mm - Minolta 50mm f1.7 - Save up the additional cash for a flashgun / bag to carry your gears. |
Feb 16 2008, 02:44 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 16 2008, 02:18 AM) i already bought everything there is to buy in the past 2 weeks. Batt grip, filters, tripod, bags, flash, light tent, hotshoe cover. If you are looking for a good and sharp macro lens, get either Siggy 105mm f2.8 Macro or teh Tammy 90mm f2.8 Macro. 50mm is too short Tamron 70-300 brand new was only rm580. 50mm f1.7 soulfly got for about rm500. So I can even add in a 50mm macro lens and it'll come to about teh same price as a new Sony 18-250. Survey around for a better deal for 50mm f1.7. My friend got one for RM350+-. Average is around RM370-400. Samples of Siggy 105mm f2.8 Macro ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 16 2008, 02:46 AM |
Feb 16 2008, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Feb 16 2008, 12:15 PM) got one shop selling RM20 for two layer screen protector ? worth it ? Get those cheapo ones, RM5-7 will do lense a... stick with kit len first until I master Don't get from Camera shops, they'll chop you. Get from LYN HP sellers. Added on February 16, 2008, 12:55 pm QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 16 2008, 09:11 AM) If you believe in reviews, the Sigma APO 70-300mm out perform both Tamron and Sony. Yea. That's the reason Siggy is slightly more expensive compared to Tammy. I manage to do head to head comparison between Sony 75-300mm f4.5-5.6 and Siggy 70-300mm f4-5.6. Siggy is brighter and sharper compared to Sony's. This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 16 2008, 12:55 PM |
Feb 17 2008, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 17 2008, 02:17 PM) The Tamron 30-700 is like that. I've read many reviews and all say it's a very good lens for the money. Problem is the long zoom is very slow to focus. It should be Tamron 70-300mm la. Yes it's very good lens, just that it might be quite soft at long zoom and hunts at dark area |
Feb 17 2008, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 17 2008, 02:17 PM) The Tamron 30-700 is like that. I've read many reviews and all say it's a very good lens for the money. Problem is the long zoom is very slow to focus. Wait no more, hunt for a good deal for 50mm f1.7 and start shooting. You can use it to shoot portraits too. To fully charge a flat batt takes 235 minutes. Quick charge which sud be about 75% charge is 175 minutes. Those sample pics are really toxic. Now I oso bekside itchy oredi. Using 1/25 vs 1/2 secs to get about the same exposure is incredible. Now I understand what's so great about those lenses. |
Feb 18 2008, 03:05 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 18 2008, 02:51 AM) Maaaaaaaaaan, now I got new target. I saw Tamron's new 28-300 in a magazine today. Received a pretty good review too. Good for lazy ppl like me who r too lazy to carry lotsa stuff. No please don't get those all rounder lens. Get a Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 + Siggy 70-300mm f4-5.6 Macro. 2 lens but then you get better IQ compared to one allrounder lens Ya the batt grip for A200 is brilliant. I got mine for only rm620 at Tarita. Those who already own the A200 can still get it without paying too much. 1 thing I like about those Nikon n Canon grips is that they take AA batts. I wish the A200 batt grip can do AA like the 3rd party batt grips available for the A100. This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 18 2008, 03:09 AM |
Feb 20 2008, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(ernie ball @ Feb 20 2008, 09:14 AM) Zoom lens is nice to play with, but after awhile you will find you don't really need it when you're doing event photography, unless you're covering a concert or something. But don't worry, the RM500 price difference could probably get you a Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6 lens which has slightly better aperture than the original lens. You definitely gonna need a 70-200mm f4 / f2.8 to cover an event successfully. |
Feb 23 2008, 12:22 PM
Feb 23 2008, 09:56 PM
This is what I call a
Snapped with crappy Tokina ATX-Pro 80-200mm f2.8 ![]() This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Feb 23 2008, 10:01 PM |
Feb 24 2008, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(ernie ball @ Feb 24 2008, 11:06 PM) After using A200 for one week, roughly doing 4 field trips here and there, here's my observation.... Wait till you get a Flash + 70-200mm f2.8 lens + Grip. Good stuff to build your muscles.1) really tiring to bring around a sling type camera bag + body + kit lens + 70-300 zoom lens and walk for half a day. Heck, holding the camera for few hours with the heavy zoom lens is unbearable for me. 2) It is so much easier to get the photo we envisioned in our head with a DSLR compared to a PnS, despite the many manual settings. 3) Cannot really travel together with a bunch of non-SLR friends in a trip anymore, you'll kept stopping to look at the surrounding, to take a picture and usually get left behind. Well, A200 is indeed a good SLR for starters like me. Nothing much to complain, except that I need a 18-300 lens because swapping lens in the middle of a hike is really troublesome. And need a backpack for the camera instead of a sling bag. |
Feb 26 2008, 05:39 PM