**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

dx_myrddraal
post Feb 9 2008, 06:42 PM

578 posts

want some opinion on the kit 75-300mm lens vs the Minolta 70-210 f4 beercan lens.

The kit lens is cheaper (with a200) and can zoom 100mm further. What's it's aperture at around 210mm? 5.3?
dx_myrddraal
post Feb 13 2008, 12:31 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 13 2008, 11:49 AM)
Lol.... found one 50mm f1.7 cross XX version.... quite rare brows.gif
what so special??

anyway, how does the beercan compare to the kit 75-300mm?

dx_myrddraal
post Feb 14 2008, 02:41 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 14 2008, 12:18 PM)
depend on ur budget lor. but for me, for a complete set of
photography equipment, you need this:

a)body
b)lens covering from 18mm to 300mm (eq to 28mm to 450mm)
c)low light prime lens 50mm F1.4
d)flash + diffuser

All a to d must have for dSLR. If don't have, then I don't
consider your photography equipment is complete. smile.gif
gogo2 was replying to someone else. Here's my take: you should not be asking others what gear to buy: wide, tele, portrait or flash - it's all up to you! Nobody knows what photography you enjoy more than you yourself! If you travel a lot, wide angles will be most useful, followed by a tele lens (I think). If you like shooting indoors (perhaps you party all the time), then the kit 75-300 is pretty much useless - a 50mm f1.7 will definitely be useful. Flash? If you do landscapes, it'll be pretty useless. So ask yourself what kinda photos you wanna take more often.

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Feb 14 2008, 01:31 PM)
Couldn't agree more, if ppl think RM1300 is expensive for lens, better dun involve urself in DSLR, u will regret..
That's b***s***!! Everyone has the right to enjoy photoraphy, regardless of their budgets!! Why else are there 400D, D40 and A200s on the market?! Canon is a firm believer in that - provding a wide variety of lenses for people with different budgets. Eg: Canon's 50mm primes come in f1.8, f1.4 USM and f1.2 USM L versions, depending how deep your pocket is. I'm sorry if your interest is solely in wildlife and sports photography - can't help you with that.

Not everyone will be willing to fork out RM1k for the Sony 50mm f1.4 over the Minolta f1.7. It's just a blardy 0.3 - that alone is not gonna make your pictures pop. Do a search on Flickr and you can see plenty of impressive pictures taken with a RM 250-350 piece of plastic toy, otherwise known as the Canon 50mm f1.8. But of course, if you shoot a lot of portraits and if you can afford it, why not?
dx_myrddraal
post Feb 14 2008, 02:48 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 14 2008, 02:45 PM)
That's true. Only the buyer can determine what they want smile.gif. But sometimes, buyers do not know what they want
until they try to shoot the bird or monkey up the tree. Then only they realise, OMG, I forgot to buy 75-300... tongue.gif

Yes, picture from 1.8 to 1.4 will not pop. But I think in indoor, you might appreciate a little bit more. smile.gif
So one should ask themselves: "if I see a bird or monkey on top of a tree, would I rush to shoot it?" for me, NO tongue.gif
dx_myrddraal
post Feb 14 2008, 03:17 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Feb 14 2008, 02:57 PM)
Ok, maybe my words not involve in DSLr world is harsh, but seriously, if u think RM1300 is expensive for a decent lens, u will end up forever with kitlens. (pls note that i didn't mentioned u can't enjoy photography with kitlens, it still do wonder).

A decent optics with RM1000-RM2000 is a very very good and affordable price. RM2k-3k is average. Pls dun compare kitlens price tag with good optics. It is BS too.
All I'm trying to say is, don't scare the newbies. Later they think "haih, so expensive, forget bout it lah". Canon 50mm f1.8 or Minolta f1.7 is a great starting point.

For me personally, I intend to get a Minolta f1.7 and not the Sony 50mm f1.4. Not only because it's a tad beyond my budget - I also don't wanna be those people who use damn expensive gear and take shit photos. Slowly practice wit the Minolta f1.7 before upgrading flex.gif Still havnt decide wanna get 75-300mm or not. I've been asking about 75-300mm vs 70-210mm beercan on this thread a few times but no one seemed to reply..
dx_myrddraal
post Feb 14 2008, 05:01 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 14 2008, 04:48 PM)
Personally I find it easier to stalk chicks at an event with a BLACK telephoto. When I use the Minolta 70-210mm F4 "beercan" I can stand right in front of them in a crowd and they don't know I'm shooting them!
Really?! hmm.gif Thanks for the tip mate! Will be aiming for the beercan then.. brows.gif

A200 with 18-70 kit: RM 1710 (really can get that cheap?!)
Minolta 50mm f1.7: RM 400+
Minolta 70-210mm beercan: RM 700+

Total damage: roughly RM 2900

Added on February 14, 2008, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Feb 14 2008, 04:58 PM)
For good photo, sometime you need the "eyes contact". BIG, WHITE telephoto lenses can help you gaining the eyes contacts that is so important in the photos.

And as a profesional, we usually shoot people with thier awareness. This is how we (people from bright side) doing photography....  cool2.gif  I guess the mentality between bright side and dark side is always different...  hmm.gif  I heard the Orange world also different... laugh.gif
I think what albnok means is: for street photography, chicks wont pose for your BIG WHITE lens, maybe just stare at you.. hopefully they won't be thinking "damned pervert/sei ham sup lou"

If the chicks are chatting amongst themselves (or on the phone), you may be lucky enough to capture some gorgeos smiles, more candid kinda pose smile.gif

This post has been edited by dx_myrddraal: Feb 14 2008, 05:05 PM
dx_myrddraal
post Feb 19 2008, 02:48 PM

578 posts

congrats bro.. where did you buy from?
dx_myrddraal
post Feb 19 2008, 06:26 PM

578 posts

quote eagle.ng
but if change to full frame....then all the kit may not to apply on the full frame camera.

A900 not even released yet.. i think many of us won't even consider going all the way to full frame.. maybe A700 (or whatever it's replacement)
dx_myrddraal
post Feb 20 2008, 03:53 PM

578 posts

Yup.. me also getting around next week. Need to wait masuk gaji first smile.gif

0.0188sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:23 AM