**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

badguy03
post Sep 10 2007, 10:54 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(cityfish @ Sep 9 2007, 08:12 PM)
Why not you guys post your work on the photo gallery section?
Haha.. Cityfish, our alpha group have u and soulfly in the gallery aldy what. Can liao lor.. Hehe.. I saw u got this +4 converter, it can fit to alpha nicely or not?

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 9 2007, 10:02 PM)
The 50mm lenses are a very common add-on; it cannot zoom but it works great in low light, and is good for portraits.

It is not a macro lens, though.

Go join http://www.clubalpha.net, there are some people who want to sell their macro lens there.
I see i see.. Thx for the info, i will check it out in the clubalpha. 2 weeks from purchased my alpha, i still haven't register in the alpha community yet. Must have lost alot of goodies..

U see, i probably need a very long period to have money for new lens. Thus i can only obtain one most commonly recommended lens once a year. If the price is cheap enough i might able to get 2. Hehe..

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 10 2007, 10:54 AM)
there are some cheap CPL on lelong auction price starting less than rm50.

anyway i'm a dog hater  whistling.gif
Then u must be a kitty lover. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by badguy03: Sep 10 2007, 10:57 AM
soulfly
post Sep 10 2007, 11:03 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,904 posts

yes i am laugh.gif

anyway, can somebody help 'bump' my photo gallery thread? wanna post new pics on fresh reply. brows.gif
aceejay
post Sep 10 2007, 05:38 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

any ideas on the latest price on this cam ?
soulfly
post Sep 10 2007, 08:08 PM

15,904 posts

Standard price from SONY should be 2999 for the single lens kit.
[Raven]
post Sep 10 2007, 09:35 PM

224 posts

yeah but you can get better deals if you scout around, like for example KEY COLOUR at mid valley megamall
cityfish
post Sep 11 2007, 05:19 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(badguy03 @ Sep 10 2007, 10:54 AM)
Haha..  Cityfish, our alpha group have u and soulfly in the gallery aldy what. Can liao lor.. Hehe.. I saw u got this +4 converter, it can fit to alpha nicely or not?
Aiya...more people more fun ma....way to get improved when critisized by other sifu...

You mean the +4 close up filter, yes, as long as you get the same thread size with your lens, it will fit, for example out 18-70 kit lens has 55mm thread size, so you have to buy the filter on this size.

Anyway I already sold it and now use extension tube for my macro shots.
TStom_k3nt
post Sep 11 2007, 06:10 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

http://www.popphoto.com/cameras/4570/field...-dslr-a700.html

"At the end of this tryout, the various participants agreed that the A700 is a camera designed by photographers for photographers. The message coming is that Sony is very serious about the SLR business. If the A700 is the "advanced amateur" model, it makes you wonder what that future "flagship" model is going to be like."

p/s: They really did a good job for reducing the noise... I'm impress!

soulfly
post Sep 11 2007, 08:06 PM

15,904 posts

QUOTE(cityfish @ Sep 11 2007, 05:19 PM)
Aiya...more people more fun ma....way to get improved when critisized by other sifu...

You mean the +4 close up filter, yes, as long as you get the same thread size with your lens, it will fit, for example out 18-70 kit lens has 55mm thread size, so you have to buy the filter on this size.

Anyway I already sold it and now use extension tube for my macro shots.
what are the pro/cons between using close-up filter and extension tube?
cityfish
post Sep 11 2007, 09:09 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 11 2007, 08:06 PM)
what are the pro/cons between using close-up filter and extension tube?
Close up filter is the cheapest solution for you to shoot macro, around RM50 for a 55mm filter. However, the image quality will have some extent of degradation as there is an add-on lens element at front. Besides, it is also bit hard for the camera to lock focus when attach the filter on. You may need to use MF most of the time.

Using extension tube will make any lens becomes a macro lens, it is just a tube without any optical element on it, that means there won't be any image quality drop issue. Normally it comes with 12mm, 24mm and 36mm as a set, so that you may use any one of them or a combination for your needs. I am not sure how much is the new one, I bought mine second hand at RM350. The drawback also same with close up filter, there is only some certain focal range your subject will be in focus, so you need to play around your zoom or move yourself closer or away from the subject to get it in focus.

TStom_k3nt
post Sep 12 2007, 11:16 AM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

Hello Sifu sekalian,

Wanted to ask u all how to check fungus on lens?
Please advise...
Is there any sites that teaches u? with picture will be great... pls share.. Thanks.
albnok
post Sep 12 2007, 12:20 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

I don't know of any sites, but:

Take your lens and look at it from the back. There is a lever that will turn clockwise around the lens if you use your fingernail to push it.

Look through the lens while doing that; you will notice that the aperture blades will open.

Zoom your lens in and out with your left hand. Point it at bright light and look around the edges. You can see dust, but that is normal and will not affect your image.

Fungus has many types but it does not look like dust. It usually looks like spiderwebs or crystals.

Bad, thick fungus will lower the contrast. Put the lens on the camera. Straight away ANYONE can tell if the lens looks... foggy. However, most Sony and Minolta lenses have a lot of contrast, so even if there is fungus, we can still get a clear picture.

Also, because contrast is lower, auto-focus will be slower.

If you find a fungused lens, put it in a dry box, or a dry air-tight container. Put Thirsty Hippo in the same container and it won't grow anymore. You can send it to J-One at Amcorp Mall, Cheah Repair at Mutiara Complex Jalan Ipoh, International Camera at Pertama Complex or YL Camera in Pudu Plaza. If the lens has a little fungus they will recommend not to open it, and just keep in a dry box, and if it gets worse only they'll clean it.
TStom_k3nt
post Sep 12 2007, 01:36 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 12 2007, 12:20 PM)
I don't know of any sites, but:

Take your lens and look at it from the back. There is a lever that will turn clockwise around the lens if you use your fingernail to push it.

Look through the lens while doing that; you will notice that the aperture blades will open.

Zoom your lens in and out with your left hand. Point it at bright light and look around the edges. You can see dust, but that is normal and will not affect your image.

Fungus has many types but it does not look like dust. It usually looks like spiderwebs or crystals.

Bad, thick fungus will lower the contrast. Put the lens on the camera. Straight away ANYONE can tell if the lens looks... foggy. However, most Sony and Minolta lenses have a lot of contrast, so even if there is fungus, we can still get a clear picture.

Also, because contrast is lower, auto-focus will be slower.

If you find a fungused lens, put it in a dry box, or a dry air-tight container. Put Thirsty Hippo in the same container and it won't grow anymore. You can send it to J-One at Amcorp Mall, Cheah Repair at Mutiara Complex Jalan Ipoh, International Camera at Pertama Complex or YL Camera in Pudu Plaza. If the lens has a little fungus they will recommend not to open it, and just keep in a dry box, and if it gets worse only they'll clean it.
Thanks for ur advise Albert!
u r the best!
[Raven]
post Sep 12 2007, 10:47 PM

224 posts

anyone selling their sony Flash? lol, planning to get one now >.<
lordcarl
post Sep 13 2007, 07:52 PM

62 posts

A700 will be showcased this weekend smile.gif smile.gif
badguy03
post Sep 14 2007, 08:56 PM

341 posts

QUOTE([Raven] @ Sep 12 2007, 10:47 PM)
anyone selling their sony Flash? lol, planning to get one now >.<
Raven, i think the price should dropped already isn't it? Why not check it out at Key Color.

QUOTE(lordcarl @ Sep 13 2007, 07:52 PM)
A700 will be showcased this weekend smile.gif smile.gif
Hopefully Sony will lower down the lens price and produce more optional lens since they claimed to involve themself in DSLR seriously. smile.gif
[Raven]
post Sep 14 2007, 11:58 PM

224 posts

true that, their lenses are really highly priced, yeah i think i'll check it out at Key Colour

TStom_k3nt
post Sep 17 2007, 05:14 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

Just bought KM50mm 1.7f~~~~
Superb picture captured! Kit lens really no kick la...
albnok
post Sep 17 2007, 05:33 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

The Sony HVL-F56AM is already the lowest priced in Sg. Wang compared to Nikon and Canon's 'big' flashes, so I doubt you can get it any cheaper.

Sony HVL-F56AM (guide number 56m) - RM1170+
Nikon SB-800 (guide number 56m) - RM1300+
Canon 580EX (guide number 58m) - RM1530+

All of them come with wireless, manual power and strobe mode. Wireless capability depend greatly on the body used.

It is unlikely that someone will sell their F56. The weaker F36 is more likely to be sold, since it has less features and less reach.

Again, go to Key Color and Sg. Wang for competitive prices.
soulfly
post Sep 17 2007, 07:56 PM

15,904 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Sep 17 2007, 05:14 PM)
Just bought KM50mm 1.7f~~~~
Superb picture captured! Kit lens really no kick la...
how much/where?
TStom_k3nt
post Sep 17 2007, 07:58 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 17 2007, 07:56 PM)
how much/where?
From FTZ...RM400 comes with UV Filter... Great seller... rclxm9.gif
Got another seller offer me... but after i reply... no news from him... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tom_k3nt: Sep 17 2007, 07:59 PM

126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0303sec    1.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:14 PM