**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

TStom_k3nt
post Jun 18 2007, 03:04 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

Wow... Thanks 4 all the advise....

My 1st mind set was to Nikon then Canon.... Now.... more to Sony...

This post has been edited by tom_k3nt: Jun 18 2007, 03:10 PM
kitman
post Jun 18 2007, 03:53 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 18 2007, 01:48 PM)
Walk into any shop in Sg. Wang and you will get much better prices than at an official Sony shop. Same original Malaysian stock, same warranty anyway.

I bought an A100 for the anti-shake. Also I can use it with the 50mm F1.4 for really dark conditions.

They have a 500mm F8 reflex lens that AUTOFOCUSES. With Super Steady Shot, you can shoot at 1/50s HANDHELD at F8! There is no other reflex lens that has VR/IS... which means you'd want 1/750s at F8. Where would you get that kind of lighting? (A very long studio room?)

They have Carl Zeiss lenses that AUTOFOCUS.

They have a 135mm F2.8 T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus lens that has very smooth, creamy bokeh (the out-of-focus areas).

Minolta lenses (and their Sony rebadges) were designed to have nice bokeh, which is why they were big with the Japanese.

They also have the excellent Minolta 70-210mm F4 beercan lens, a cheap, solid and lightweight tele lens that is brighter than all the 70-300mm F4-5.6 lenses that are in the market now. I dare say I will stick to this and skip the heavy 70-200mm F2.8.

It's not about the price; if I had a Canon I'd get the 70-200mm F4 IS instead of the F2.8 IS for practical reasons.

Sony has good service, they fixed my Minolta beercan for FREE even though it was 20 years old. How's that for after-warranty servicing? They always have 2-4 days turnaround. I have not paid a single cent to a Sony Service Center.

You won't have cases of high-pitched VR lenses (annoying Nikkor 18-200mm F3.5-5.6!) or deteriorating SWM or dropping your expensive VR/IS lens, losing alignment and thus killing VR/IS on your lens.

"Oh but if you drop your Sony/KM and your AS/SSS dies then all your lenses have no AS/SSS."

Find me someone who has killed Anti-shake on their Konica Minolta/Sony then.

You can also find more rare old lenses in the A-mount and Pentax K-mount. Why? Not much demand. I just picked up a Vivitar Series 1 28-105mm F2.8-3.8 in Bandung. If it was a Canon or Nikon it would not sit there.

Sony unfortunately only retained the higher-spec lenses from the Konica Minolta days. Carl Zeiss IS a great, great brand to pay for. The sharpness and OOF rendition is amazing. Having tried the 135mm F1.8 I am convinced, and am saving up for one.

Waiting is a standard procedure. How long did people wait for Nikon after the products were announced?

Do you buy an SLR, then 2 months later, have ENOUGH money to buy the next big lens? Are you just sitting around itching to buy the next lens?

Pentax is a good system, too. They've been bought by Hoya. So if mergers are a sign, and one day, Hoya Pentax is bought by Microsoft, will you NOT buy one? There is more to a system than just your systemic dislike towards a brand.
albnok - good post thumbup.gif

i agree there is a lot of misconception on the alpha a100. i am a konica minolta 5d user (which the a100 is heavily based on) and so far it's been great. the design layout is good with comfy grip and the performance is more than i need.

alot of people scoffed at the anti shake/sss feature but to me it's really useful and definitely more cost effective than IS/VR lens (it may or may not be as effective as IS/VR but i get anti-shake for all my lenses).

on the range of lenses - how many do you need? will you buy every single lens released for the system? no right? for any brand, as long as the type of lens & performance you required is there then i don't see that as an issue smile.gif

when the alpha a100 was released it was reviewed against the nikon d200 and it came out close. currently the price of the alpha a100 have dropped almost to the level of d40x and canon 400d, so it's definitely a good buy. sony maybe a newbie in dslr market but remember they are one of the biggest camera maker and most of their dslr design team are from KM which definitely been in the market for a long time.

kelvinyam
post Jun 18 2007, 08:26 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

... and I guess the best part is you don't have to stick with Memory Stick which you have to pay a premium. CF rules smile.gif
cityfish
post Jun 18 2007, 08:35 PM

666 posts

Thanks, Albert...your explanation really helpful to me as well... Learnt something here...

Great man can success because he turn the impossible to possible.... we will see.
kitman
post Jun 18 2007, 11:02 PM

2,691 posts

it takes both cf and mspd ......so take your pick biggrin.gif
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 18 2007, 11:40 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Jun 18 2007, 03:04 PM)
Wow... Thanks 4 all the advise....

My 1st mind set was to Nikon then Canon.... Now.... more to Sony...
I think ur mindset can be directed to Olympus as well with the new E510.

4/3rd FTW tongue.gif
chongming76
post Jun 19 2007, 03:52 AM

38 posts

I bought my A100 last December and I am happy with it, no regrets whatsoever.

Assuming your budget is RM3-4k, I think A100 offers the best value among the other competitors at entry level.

Get the body and forget about the kit lens, get the Tamron 17-50/2.8 and I am sure you will be happy with it for some while. There are a number of 3rd party lenses available for the A-mount.

On prime lens, KM 50/1.7 is quite affordable or you can go for Sony 50/1.4.

I am happy with my Beercan 70-210/4 as well, great quality for the money I paid for.

A lot of people are in doubt of Sony's involvement in dSLR. KM used to be one of the big player in the market and I don't think a big corporation like Sony bought over KM without a long term investment strategy plan. I think it'll keep growing and become more competitive in near future.

Good luck with your choice anyway.
undazztood
post Jun 19 2007, 08:13 AM

true goodness is understood
991 posts

sony always do a free classes for A100 user. that the most i hope that nikon can do it too.
ac98
post Jun 19 2007, 09:50 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jun 18 2007, 01:48 PM)
Walk into any shop in Sg. Wang and you will get much better prices than at an official Sony shop. Same original Malaysian stock, same warranty anyway.

I bought an A100 for the anti-shake. Also I can use it with the 50mm F1.4 for really dark conditions.

They have a 500mm F8 reflex lens that AUTOFOCUSES. With Super Steady Shot, you can shoot at 1/50s HANDHELD at F8! There is no other reflex lens that has VR/IS... which means you'd want 1/750s at F8. Where would you get that kind of lighting? (A very long studio room?)

They have Carl Zeiss lenses that AUTOFOCUS.

They have a 135mm F2.8 T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus lens that has very smooth, creamy bokeh (the out-of-focus areas).

Minolta lenses (and their Sony rebadges) were designed to have nice bokeh, which is why they were big with the Japanese.

They also have the excellent Minolta 70-210mm F4 beercan lens, a cheap, solid and lightweight tele lens that is brighter than all the 70-300mm F4-5.6 lenses that are in the market now. I dare say I will stick to this and skip the heavy 70-200mm F2.8.

It's not about the price; if I had a Canon I'd get the 70-200mm F4 IS instead of the F2.8 IS for practical reasons.

Sony has good service, they fixed my Minolta beercan for FREE even though it was 20 years old. How's that for after-warranty servicing? They always have 2-4 days turnaround. I have not paid a single cent to a Sony Service Center.

You won't have cases of high-pitched VR lenses (annoying Nikkor 18-200mm F3.5-5.6!) or deteriorating SWM or dropping your expensive VR/IS lens, losing alignment and thus killing VR/IS on your lens.

"Oh but if you drop your Sony/KM and your AS/SSS dies then all your lenses have no AS/SSS."

Find me someone who has killed Anti-shake on their Konica Minolta/Sony then.

You can also find more rare old lenses in the A-mount and Pentax K-mount. Why? Not much demand. I just picked up a Vivitar Series 1 28-105mm F2.8-3.8 in Bandung. If it was a Canon or Nikon it would not sit there.

Sony unfortunately only retained the higher-spec lenses from the Konica Minolta days. Carl Zeiss IS a great, great brand to pay for. The sharpness and OOF rendition is amazing. Having tried the 135mm F1.8 I am convinced, and am saving up for one.

Waiting is a standard procedure. How long did people wait for Nikon after the products were announced?

Do you buy an SLR, then 2 months later, have ENOUGH money to buy the next big lens? Are you just sitting around itching to buy the next lens?

Pentax is a good system, too. They've been bought by Hoya. So if mergers are a sign, and one day, Hoya Pentax is bought by Microsoft, will you NOT buy one? There is more to a system than just your systemic dislike towards a brand.
Ooops, I think I slipped thru your short essay and came to this, the bolded words. I do not dislike Sony, Sony is a good brand, the entire assay is just a breath of disagreement dun you think so? I get your point from the 1st paragraph, so chill.

TStom_k3nt
post Jun 19 2007, 11:47 AM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(chongming76 @ Jun 19 2007, 03:52 AM)
I bought my A100 last December and I am happy with it, no regrets whatsoever.

Assuming your budget is RM3-4k, I think A100 offers the best value among the other competitors at entry level.

Get the body and forget about the kit lens, get the Tamron 17-50/2.8 and I am sure you will be happy with it for some while. There are a number of 3rd party lenses available for the A-mount.

On prime lens, KM 50/1.7 is quite affordable or you can go for Sony 50/1.4.

I am happy with my Beercan 70-210/4 as well, great quality for the money I paid for.

A lot of people are in doubt of Sony's involvement in dSLR. KM used to be one of the big player in the market and I don't think a big corporation like Sony bought over KM without a long term investment strategy plan. I think it'll keep growing and become more competitive in near future.

Good luck with your choice anyway.
How much is Tamron lens btw?
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 19 2007, 12:14 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Jun 19 2007, 11:47 AM)
How much is Tamron lens btw?
around RM1.4k.

seriously, for ur budget, u might consider Olympus E510 as well.
TStom_k3nt
post Jun 19 2007, 01:21 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Jun 19 2007, 12:14 PM)
around RM1.4k.

seriously, for ur budget, u might consider Olympus E510 as well.
How much a?

vichio
post Jun 19 2007, 01:31 PM

214 posts

i wanna know the price of KM 50mm f/1.7 and KM 70-210mm f/4. thanks
and how about it compare to Nikon and Canon f/1.8 & 55-200 VR ?
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 19 2007, 01:59 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Jun 19 2007, 01:21 PM)
How much a?
I not sure too, it just arrive at M'sia shore, few shops only got it. Some ppl said it quoted RM2.8k with kitlens which is extremely cheap if it is true..

I might consider jumping ship as well tongue.gif
ac98
post Jun 19 2007, 02:32 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

If it is prices that you guys are concerned about, I suggest you check out Nikon see what they have to offer ... forget about Canon coz EOS 350D is selling off and selling out very soon and EOS 400D's price is all time high unless you got a few Riggit more to pay off the difference.

As for lenses, it's no longer the matter with Canon or Nikon or KM ... it's more like a SHOP thing rather than a BRAND thing, see who gets the best deal, not which brand is cheaper rolleyes.gif
TStom_k3nt
post Jun 19 2007, 02:50 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

I'm just wondering... Olympus good in nite shots? because my mind set is Olympus sucks at nite shots ( for PNS)
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 19 2007, 02:59 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(tom_k3nt @ Jun 19 2007, 02:50 PM)
I'm just wondering... Olympus good in nite shots? because my mind set is Olympus sucks at nite shots ( for PNS)
for previous model like E300 and E500, the high ISO noise is not really good, but the new lineup E410 and E510, the noise at ISO 800 and 1600 really acceptable and usable, competitive enough with the C and N
TStom_k3nt
post Jun 19 2007, 03:18 PM

R - E -S - P - 3 -C - T
1,068 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Jun 19 2007, 02:59 PM)
for previous model like E300 and E500, the high ISO noise is not really good, but the new lineup E410 and E510, the noise at ISO 800 and 1600 really acceptable and usable, competitive enough with the C and N
Anyway, after check out some info online... i find out that Sony sucks at ISO 800 to 1600 too
DArkBat
post Jun 19 2007, 04:28 PM

220 posts

most of the camera also sucks at ISO 800 to 1600, anything come nearer ???

And how often you will get to this high level of ISO anyway.

Most of the pros i know of, will try to et the ISO to as low as possible, eg, in sony Alpha...there is a Lo80 and Hi200 ISO setting.

I'm a previous KM user, and i still have KM lenses and flash with me, the picture with the combination of KM/Tamron lenses, KM flash and sony body is much more better than using sony body + sony kit lenses.

This post has been edited by DArkBat: Jun 19 2007, 04:34 PM
albnok
post Jun 19 2007, 05:19 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

The KM 50mm F1.7 is around RM350 or less second-hand.

The Minolta 70-210mm F4.0 "beercan" is around RM750 or less second-hand.

Look out for these. There are always people selling it, you just have to look out for it on photo forums. Tell your friends you have a Sony, and they will tell you if they see such offers. Even if they have another brand. biggrin.gif

I managed to get my 50mm F1.4 and beercan within one month of having the A100. Just keep an eye out, and look in those old camera shops.

The 50mm F1.7 on the Sony A100 will have SuperSteadyShot; the Canon and Nikon do not have such a thing. Pentax has Anti-Shake on the body, too, and a lot of great second-hand old lenses too.

As for noise on the A100, yes it is noisy, but still Photoshop-able, and you can set it to ISO 400 and leave the rest to SuperSteadyShot. Need to capture action? There are second-hand F1.4 lenses.

The Lo80 and Hi200 rocks, by the way. biggrin.gif Lo80 also sets the camera curves to save the shadows, while Hi200 saves the highlights from being blown out.

A Canon 300D user will complain about his ISO1600 also. Like hello! Tak puas.

The Nikon 55-200mm VR is darker, ending at F5.6. This will hamper your action shots where you need shutter speed, and VR won't help. The Nikkor 70-210mm F4 is a very rare thing indeed.

The closest Canon has to the beercan is the Canon 70-200mm F4L IS USM, which goes for around RM4000 if I remember.

Point-and-shoot and digital SLRs of the same brand CANNOT be compared. Some people with Nikon dSLRs prefer Canon P&S or Fujifilm P&S.

The Olympus 4/3rds lenses are very nice; they have a 7-14mm F4 (14-28mm equivalent) rectilinear lens which goes wider than everybody else except the Sigma 12-24mm on a Canon full-frame. They have F2.0 ZOOM lenses but those are way expensive, and you can be sure they will not be cheap or sold second-hand because 4/3rds is very new.

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:49 PM