Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V37, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

hashtag2016
post Feb 24 2019, 01:00 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(Orpheus1120 @ Feb 24 2019, 01:50 AM)
I signed up at TM point in JB. I was told by the CSO who signed me up that I only had to pay RM129 as it is just the internet package without any other services. I even received a SMS on that day I signed up that I don’t have to pay for the playtv (RM0/month).

Time to make a trip to TM point.
Maybe what u got is RM129 with Unifi playtv...which is RM99(internet)+RM30(Aneka/Ruby/Vernam) without set-top-box ,can only view through app .
so, nothing wrong. mega_shok.gif
If u want settopbox, u need to add another RM30 (so, total will become RM159) each month to sign up Ultimate tv plan.

hxxps://unifi.com.my/personal/home/fibre-broadband

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Feb 24 2019, 01:06 PM
hashtag2016
post Mar 16 2019, 02:32 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(xjoshualaw29 @ Mar 13 2019, 08:55 PM)
The technician said it was hardware version 3.01. However when i opened it, it's actually hardware version 1.0 but with some minor changes such as the network switch chip. Their firmware is the latest TP-LINK Malaysia Unifi firmware. I also changed it from the D-Link DIR-842 hardware version C2. I prefer that one and has bigger wifi coverage. I been using it for a week and no reboot issue compared to the first version TP-LINK from TM. Overall, this new one is already stable so yeah it's good.  biggrin.gif Refer to my post.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.phpshowtopic...post&p=91991746
thanks for sharing, fixed link:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91991746
hashtag2016
post Mar 20 2019, 04:39 PM

505 posts

--deleted--- seem problem solved...

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Mar 20 2019, 04:41 PM
hashtag2016
post Mar 20 2019, 04:47 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Mar 20 2019, 02:16 PM)
Old or new is just relative and general assumption only. Older models are usually lest modern than newer ones.

Wifi AC 5Ghz (802.11ac) is definitely newer than Wifi N 2.4Ghz (802.11n).
However, not all new devices support wifi AC 5Ghz. Even if it supports, there is also difference in speed supported due to antenna & chipset used inside the device.

Even some smartphones/laptops selling in 2018 or 2019 still 'skimp' on the wifi AC support, where they only use wifi N 2.4Ghz in the device to save cost and sell cheaper.
You should check the spec of the device to be sure. Just check the specs and models of your wifi USB dongle, Wifi cards (laptop), smartphone and the wifi router first. Every model is different in their own.
Older devices we can safely say are less modern. But we can't say this to all devices because old phones like Note5, galaxy s8, iPhone6/7 are still good on wifi AC 5Ghz speed because they were the high end models at their launch time (premium models and still going strong).

Like new cars, not all are given the extra features of push start button, keyless entry, reverse camera, 6 air bags, multi-port usb chargers, and all the fancy stuff. It depends on which tier you buy. More money put in, more features with latest techs.
But as time goes, all these basic features will slowly become a 'standard' if the manufacturer wants to do it for an added cost.
Maybe they just clearance the old chips.. Even some multifunction printer selling in 2018 or 2019 still cannot copy(or printing) A4 in full size(the page number will be truncated rclxub.gif ).. devil.gif
hashtag2016
post Mar 22 2019, 11:37 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Mar 22 2019, 04:11 PM)
its do not means new tech,

hopefully TM on right track to VDSL2 on G.fast, profile 35a or 35b
bangwall.gif
no, just moving forward to fibre optic , please... brows.gif
hashtag2016
post Mar 23 2019, 12:08 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Mar 22 2019, 11:42 PM)
nothing wrong with vdsl, check the country list. if keep only fibre, the subb forever streamyx

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VDSL_...SL2_deployments
nothing wrong if other Modern country use it, but not our country... u know.
The best way Malaysian get rid of the "beloved" streamyx is moving on to fibre optic, not that stupid copper "sound good" but not that "good, although-Turbo-ed-still-slows-and-expensive-internet"...
brows.gif

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Mar 23 2019, 12:10 AM
hashtag2016
post May 23 2019, 07:04 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ May 22 2019, 10:47 AM)
Did TM sell off our Unifi details to maxis?  dry.gif

I was doing some billing work stuff until I received a call from 03-5885 9335.

The guy was asking if I am Mr xxx xxx xxx (my name).
When I said yes. He asked if I live at Lot xxxxxx (my EXACT home address!)
He even got my unifi subscription package correctly.  ohmy.gif

The moment he started to mention he is from Maxis, I stopped him and said I am still in contract with TM, can't change.
Then he said, "No, I am not promoting maxis fibre, I am calling to ask if you encounter slow speed, high latency and issue with TM Unifi. Company wants to verify if TM fibre is stable for your area as maxis fibre is making use of TM fibre"

I replied there is no issue with TM fibre so far other than the slowdown when the backbone fibre broke last time.

Then the guy said he will put a remark on their database that my taman area fibre connectivity is stable and that is all.

Something is fishy here..... hmm.gif
just a wild guess, maybe maxis hijack your sms info of unifi billing .. devil.gif devil.gif rclxms.gif
and they already have your address and other infos in their system. so , quite easy to know actually.

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: May 23 2019, 07:05 PM
hashtag2016
post May 23 2019, 07:11 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(wywy2020 @ May 23 2019, 12:46 PM)
i thought 30mbps is RM79 but limited 60GB.
secret words: Super Value 2019

Seems that they never learn their lesson at all ,and their website is still showing nothing.
and they keep creating ton of hidden cheaper plans like they had done at "beloved" streamyx .. drool.gif drool.gif

hashtag2016
post Jun 7 2019, 10:03 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jun 5 2019, 11:35 PM)
Got that say meh... maybe many years ago SG telco and MY telco got better agreement?
Now dont know how much...haha
Everyone using online call so only emergency call with offline call only..haha tongue.gif

Maybe from this article date start expensive?
many years ago my family always call with 02XXXXXXXX
https://www.soyacincau.com/2017/03/31/malay...e-discontinued/
AFAIK, only for JB area .With old fixed-line plan, u (used to be) can call singapore 02 numbers with local rates (from JB call to JB)..
At the same time, the national-wide calling rate is very expensive. if calling from JB to Muar or Muar to JB (although same in Johor), the calling rates is as expensive as calling from JB to USA (yes ,the international line, united states).

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jun 5 2019, 11:17 PM)
Iirc, it’s, probably not exact, RM0.10 per 3 seconds. After 7 or 8pm, is there still a reduced rate? About 50% less?
I think JB to SG is cheaper than rest of Malaysia. Is that still the case?
yes, it was. but no more 02 prefix since 2017.

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Jun 7 2019, 10:06 AM
hashtag2016
post Jul 16 2019, 06:38 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Jul 15 2019, 09:59 PM)
How are you brothers ?

just on curiosity we streaming from netflix server outside of malaysia or its located locally ? Pass 2 months i observered speedtest in netflix tv app did show above 90%..
But this month begining i noticed the speed result from netflix app not consistent.
However speedtest from Tmnet, ookla shows result 80 to 90mb..

I observed the content streaming in netflix the video rate takes time to reach the optimum..
Example HD content stops at 3.31mbps/1080
2160 4k content.. stops.at 11mbps , before this same video can reach 15.36mbps..
When the movie played the bitrate takes time to reach the optimum level, infact i never seen such lagging..

I tested with direct cable connection and 5g wireless both same.
I am not sure this is due to my bandwidth fluctuation or netflix server streaming content itself.

I did complained to UNIFI, they claimed speedtest result in browser are fine no issue and this could be streaming server itself. They did reset my port remotely but still same lag.
I did reported to NETFLIX support team they claimed all good and pointing to ISP.

Is there any chance Tm unifi throttle bandwidth for netflix streaming ?

Is anyone experiancing this kind of issue ?

How to address this kind matter, bandwidth issue or netflix server issue ?

Unifi 100mbps
Wireless router dlink DIR-842 c2
Rj45 cable connection

Maybe some areas got congestion already ,just like streamyx used to be...
Observed some traffice shapping behaviour between 8:00AM to 12:00AM(midnight)... http download speed drop to 1Mbps suddenly..Unifail it is...

This post has been edited by hashtag2016: Jul 16 2019, 06:39 PM

0.1657sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:27 PM