House plan approval, How long to approve building of a house?

TSmindstorm
post Jan 25 2019, 10:39 PM, updated 7y ago

900 posts

Hi I really need some advice here from any sifu out there...

I have bought a piece of leasehold land(considered bungalow lot around 4000 sq feet) with a old run down house(in chinese kampung area) under MPSJ. I have engaged a consultant draftsman(whose name is in the recommended list given by MPSJ) to do the plans according to law. I will tear the old house down and rebuild a new double storey house on the land. The plans has been drawn up and I have signed on multiple very large plans and handed back to my consultant. He said will maybe take 5-6 months for approval as there are many departments to get approval from.
I have paid him an initial 3.5k when he asked for it but haven't given me any receipt. So far he still haven't bill me any further.

But now it has been like 9 months and he is telling me that there are still many departments to go through. And he is not giving me a timeline when everything can be completed.

I would like to know is this normal to take so long for approving just a simple double house plans?
Is there anyone of authority in the Government planning department that I can seek to clarify this matter?

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jan 25 2019, 10:40 PM
dannychen
post Jan 26 2019, 09:12 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 25 2019, 10:39 PM)
Hi I really need some advice here from any sifu out there...

I have bought a piece of leasehold land(considered bungalow lot around 4000 sq feet) with a old run down house(in chinese kampung area) under MPSJ. I have engaged a consultant draftsman(whose name is in the recommended list given by MPSJ) to do the plans according to law. I will tear the old house down and rebuild a new double storey house on the land. The plans has been drawn up and I have signed on multiple very large plans and handed back to my consultant. He said will maybe take 5-6 months for approval as there are many departments to get approval from.
I have paid him an initial 3.5k when he asked for it but haven't given me any receipt. So far he still haven't bill me any further.

But now it has been like 9 months and he is telling me that there are still many departments to go through. And he is not giving me a timeline when everything can be completed.

I would like to know is this normal to take so long for approving just a simple double house plans?
Is there anyone of authority in the Government planning department that I can seek to clarify this matter?
Once submitted, MPSJ should have issued "Bil Cagaran" and "Bil Pelan" and he should have paid it on your behalf upon submission. Try to ask him to show you his receipts.
TSmindstorm
post Jan 28 2019, 09:50 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jan 26 2019, 09:12 AM)
Once submitted, MPSJ should have issued "Bil Cagaran" and "Bil Pelan" and he should have paid it on your behalf upon submission. Try to ask him to show you his receipts.
Hi thanks for replying. My consultant says he havent come to that stage yet. He says got many departments need to submit first.

I would like to know is why is the process seems so complicated. If there are many departments... shouldnt all the submission be done simultaneously? I mean... this is only plans and approval, not even building. The process of approval is longer than the estimated time of building the house which i asked around... about 6 months. And its just
one double storey.

My consultant says he didn't know got so many departments he was asked to submit. Is this a new thing or any changes in mpsj submission recently?

I am really confused.
mini orchard
post Jan 28 2019, 12:08 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 28 2019, 09:50 AM)
Hi thanks for replying. My consultant says he havent come to that stage yet. He says got many departments need to submit first.

I would like to know is why is the process seems so complicated. If there are many departments... shouldnt all the submission be done simultaneously? I mean... this is only plans and approval, not even building. The process of approval is longer than the estimated time of building the house which i asked around... about 6 months. And its just
one double storey.

My consultant says he didn't know got so many departments he was asked to submit. Is this a new thing or any changes in mpsj submission recently?

I am really confused.
Why not you drive to MPSJ to enquire about the general procedures. Dont mention about your plan.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jan 28 2019, 12:09 PM
TSmindstorm
post Jan 29 2019, 12:50 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jan 28 2019, 12:08 PM)
Why not you drive to MPSJ to enquire about the general procedures. Dont mention about your plan.
Before I engaged the consultant, I have asked mpsj. They say that I need to engage a consultant. rclxub.gif
mini orchard
post Jan 29 2019, 06:14 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 29 2019, 12:50 AM)
Before I engaged the consultant, I have asked mpsj. They say that I need to engage a consultant. rclxub.gif
So what is the estmated time frame for approval? Public enquiry for info.

Did you asked this golden Q about after submission of plan by your consulltant during your first visit? Normally they will tell you the estimated timing.

Engaging a consultant is another thing.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jan 29 2019, 06:40 AM
TSmindstorm
post Jan 29 2019, 09:14 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jan 29 2019, 06:14 AM)
So what is the estmated time frame for approval? Public enquiry for info.

Did you asked this golden Q about after submission of plan by your consulltant during your first visit? Normally they will tell you the estimated timing.

Engaging a consultant is another thing.
It is my consultant that does the submission as he says there are many submissions to do for various departments. It is not just one submission. And he estimated 5-6 months to get final building approval. But now he says he many steps he wasnt aware and not giving me a deadline. Hence I started this to ask.

I find it very strange that no one can give me an answer and I can't seem to find any answers on the net.

I just want to know... assuming the plans are all done correctly according to law and submission are carried timely(asumming some submissions can only be done after another submission is approved).. how long does the whole approval process takes from first submission?? Just for ONE double storey house to be built from ground up.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jan 29 2019, 09:15 AM
deviladrian10
post Jan 29 2019, 09:24 AM

53 posts

sounds like bulls*itting to me.. cant be taking so long for approval and stuff. maybe get your consultant to list out the processes and currently which part that is taking so long for approval? If there's some part in which they cannot approve then should just inform, or they expect you to pay more or etc.. as u said itis just a double storey.. even an architect dun need this long to draw you a design or plan rite.. gotta start chasing them.. n get black and white from the consultant for the payment you have made.. if the rm3500 is a consultant fee also he should have his own company or personal receipt as he is a mpsj recommended consultant. however he wanna do it its up to him, but you should have a record for yourself. or else you should just approach another consultant.
mini orchard
post Jan 29 2019, 10:10 AM

14,511 posts

Too long waiting process.

A consultant can be blacklisted or deregistered after appointnent.

TSmindstorm
post Jan 29 2019, 10:32 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(deviladrian10 @ Jan 29 2019, 09:24 AM)
sounds like bulls*itting to me.. cant be taking so long for approval and stuff. maybe get your consultant to list out the processes and currently which part that is taking so long for approval? If there's some part in which they cannot approve then should just inform, or they expect you to pay more or etc.. as u said itis just a double storey.. even an architect dun need this long to draw you a design or plan rite.. gotta start chasing them.. n get black and white from the consultant for the payment you have made.. if the rm3500 is a consultant fee also he should have his own company or personal receipt as he is a mpsj recommended consultant. however he wanna do it its up to him, but you should have a record for yourself. or else you should just approach another consultant.
I met him and he showed me a few submissions receipts since March,May etc lasty year. And also many engineering plans. He seems apologetic but told me he has to ask the engineer he engaged when his part of the work can be finished. He said not all the work is done by him. That is understandable. He said he can give me estimated time after CNY. I said dont say "AFTER". I need a BEFORE timeline. So I said ok... give me the timeline before end of feb. He said ok.

My assumption is that he may not be following up on the submissions as closely as he could. Meaning he may be sitting on some submission maybe he got other projects on hand too.

I am apt to think he is bullshitting but I can conclude that only if I have a reference to compare with. However from asking around and even in this tread... no one seems to have any answers either!
TSmindstorm
post Jan 29 2019, 10:33 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jan 29 2019, 10:10 AM)
Too long waiting process.

A consultant can be blacklisted or deregistered after appointnent.
How long is too long? That is what my question is.
mini orchard
post Jan 29 2019, 10:52 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 29 2019, 10:33 AM)
How long is too long? That is what my question is.
I did my house ext ... 1 Month.

That why i did ask you to go mpsj to ask the norm instead HERE.

If someone answer here later and said 2 years, can you accept is the general norm? Every case is different.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jan 29 2019, 10:58 AM
deviladrian10
post Jan 29 2019, 01:55 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jan 29 2019, 10:52 AM)
I did my house ext ... 1 Month.

That why i did ask you to go mpsj to ask the norm instead HERE.

If someone answer here later and said 2 years, can you accept is the general norm? Every case is different.
yeah.. i did my hse ext to and back mpsj also around that only.. 1mth +-.. from drawing to submission n approval etc.. so probably it depend then.. good luck to you
engchen85
post Jan 29 2019, 02:19 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(deviladrian10 @ Jan 29 2019, 01:55 PM)
yeah.. i did my hse ext to and back mpsj also around that only.. 1mth +-.. from drawing to submission n approval etc.. so probably it depend then.. good luck to you
The submission procedure for extension / renovation and building from scratch is different. I'm not 100% sure how MPSJ procedure is as i'm from Penang, but more or less its almost similar.

Over here when you start from scratch, or your extension exceeds 1000 sqft you are required to submit a Permohonan Kebenaran Merancang (PKM) /Development Order (DO) first. This submission will be circulated to the local authority internal and external departments. Internal department eg. Jabatan Kesihatan, Jabatan Bangunan etc and external departments JKR, JPS etc. You can check on MPSJ One Stop Center site they give a time frame for each approval. After PKM approval then you can submit your Building plans. As the project is just a Bungalow project you may resort to concurrent submission (Permohonan serentak).

Link for your reference MPSJ OSC

This post has been edited by engchen85: Jan 29 2019, 02:22 PM
engchen85
post Jan 29 2019, 02:28 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 29 2019, 10:32 AM)
I met him and he showed me a few submissions receipts since March,May etc lasty year. And also many engineering plans. He seems apologetic but told me he has to ask the engineer he engaged when his part of the work can be finished. He said not all the work is done by him. That is understandable. He said he can give me estimated time after CNY. I said dont say "AFTER". I need a BEFORE timeline. So I said ok... give me the timeline before end of feb. He said ok.

My assumption is that he may not be following up on the submissions as closely as he could. Meaning he may be sitting on some submission maybe he got other projects on hand too.

I am apt to think he is bullshitting but I can conclude that only if I have a reference to compare with. However from asking around and even in this tread... no one seems to have any answers either!
9 months is ridiculous as based on experience we can obtain approval for housing schemes from the planning stage till building stage within 6 months. But its hard to tell as there might sometimes be problematic departments.

0.0175sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:44 AM