13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

fruitie
post Oct 21 2019, 06:32 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2019, 04:56 PM)
Load up with medicine and Vitamin Cs and you should able get well in 2 weeks no problem. Anyways, is not like people stop travelling when they are sick. On my flight back, I had a person behind constantly coughing and sneezing all 7 hrs at back until I can feel his breath at my head. Haha! lucky I didn't catch anything from him.

Ohh so you got APA Hotel. That's just a stone throw away from my AirBNB just beside Hotel Coure. Haha! Good choice as catching the trams, buses, & JR train is super convenient. Plus you can easy to buy the passes and tickets at Info Counter.
Yeah, I won't bother too and will continue travelling. Based on past experience, I should be all well within this week. Hopefully.

Yeah, so lucky to grab the last room because it was really difficult to find something near to the station. Correct, can buy passes easily too. Additional RM 80 is well spent. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cofin @ Oct 21 2019, 06:05 PM)
Can try fukutaro okonomiyaki osaka (2 Chome-3-17 Sennichimae, Chuo Ward, Osaka, 542-0074, Japan) .....i eat this shop many many times until i pokai ...expensive but yummy i tell the chef oishi he still laugh and say arigato ....then next day i went again he make special for me lol

I try many others okonomiyaki this is still the best even the one at expensive Namba by the sifu another student also lose to this

Downside need to queue lor ..... foreigner and local all eat

Remember order avocado tofu with wassabi starter ...very special starter
Alright! How expensive can it be? Though I try not to be stingy over food but still need to check our budget, cannot splurge every single meal. sweat.gif

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2019, 06:23 PM)
Beauty products my friend. Many of the stuff we even get in Malaysia is not available in China (or at least only in high class boutique shops at expensive prices). That's what my colleague told me before.
My travel partner is a cosmetic and facial products freak, I'm always her mule to buy and carry for her those high end stuff from Malaysia to China, she even left a CC for me to swipe for her stuff. laugh.gif For this Japan trip, she already asked if we can spend some time in these pharmacies, I was like sure, we can always stop by anytime you want. Girls are always girls. Maybe I'm the odd one. sweat.gif
fruitie
post Oct 22 2019, 08:17 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 21 2019, 10:43 PM)
fruitie
Don't forget that you can also buy the 1000yen Mt Inasa pass at the Info Counter too! You can probably get other tourist only deals as well so be sure to ask!
Yeah, thanks! I will remember to buy from there.
fruitie
post Oct 22 2019, 10:51 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 22 2019, 10:08 AM)
I checked the main website and it only shows tickets up to 21st November...

So its actually possible to purchase advanced ticket for the open air carriage (no. 5?)
Advanced ticket for car no. 5, no way.
fruitie
post Oct 22 2019, 10:59 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 22 2019, 10:57 AM)
Can't advance purchase? Means we gotta queue up in the morning for it then sad.gif
Yes, need to go queue up. I saw some photos people queue up as early as 6.00 5.00 a.m.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 22 2019, 11:01 AM
fruitie
post Oct 23 2019, 09:56 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 23 2019, 09:51 AM)
5am not really that early. I wake up 6am there, and its like 7am sunrise here. By 7am there its already quite bright. 5am is probably just a while before sunrise.
Well, not about the sunrise but about the timing... I cannot wake up at 5.00 a.m. to go out even it is already bright out there.
When I was in Europe, the sun went off at 10 p.m. and came out at 4.00 a.m., I still didn't go out so early la.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 23 2019, 09:56 AM
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 01:01 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth2 @ Oct 24 2019, 12:39 AM)
Hi guys, i am looking at the option of going to Tokyo via Cathay Pacific.

If i buy the ticket from Cathay Pacific official website, the return flight requires transit of only 1 hour and 5 minutes within the same terminal (terminal 1, that is). The flight between Narita and HK is Cathay Pacific (CX), while the flight between HK to KL is Cathay Dragon (KA)

Just want to be sure:
- is it correct to assume that when i check in my luggage in Narita, it will check thru all the way to KL without me needing to claim my luggage in between right? Understood that cathay pacific and cathay dragon is abang adik lah
- is 1 hour 5 mins of transit time enuf? i read that HK airport is very efficient and it should be enuf. but has anyone had such experience?

thanks!

Yes, luggage all the way from Tokyo to KL.

If they have such selection that means it is enough for you to transit. Assuming if due to delayed flight from Narita and you miss your connecting flight, Cathay will arrange you to board another flight, so no worries.
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 08:45 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

Any simpler way to go to Ginkakuji from Kinkakuji or vice versa?
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 09:55 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 24 2019, 09:29 AM)
Show me your face picture then I told you the answer.  tongue.gif
It's OK. laugh.gif I'm already planning to skip Gingakuji because not accessible for me. tongue.gif
Just that I didn't manage to go last trip and this trip also seems like not possible. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Oct 24 2019, 09:51 AM)
Probably the most straightforward way is that Raku bus, might take a loooong time though  hmm.gif
Hmm.. I read about a bus route that takes long time, maybe this is the one...
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 10:20 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Oct 24 2019, 10:13 AM)
For me, Kinkakuji is easiest from Kitaoji station and Ginkakuji is easiest as the last stop on PP starting from Nanzenji.
It does mean 2 separate days but at least less time is spent on the bus  sweat.gif
I will have to see Ginkakuji is nearer to which other attractions and see if I can squeeze in some time. hmm.gif
fruitie
post Oct 24 2019, 11:32 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Oct 24 2019, 10:26 AM)
If you go from south to north, it will be Nanzenji > Eikando > Reikanji > Honen-in > Ginkakuji with PP starting somewhere from Eikando onwards.
You can do that route in half a day.
Thanks, let me plan first. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Nov 1 2019, 10:55 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Nov 1 2019, 10:44 AM)
guys nvr bring any food in ur bag to USJ...a bottle of drink will be fine. But definitely no food allowed. your bag will be check before you enter.
Will they check jacket? I will be wearing my jacket and plan to sneak in bun or onigiri if possible, of course I will have breakfast before I leave but just in case. blush.gif
fruitie
post Nov 1 2019, 11:37 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Nov 1 2019, 11:13 AM)
yes for bag...no for jacket...i only have a bottle of water in my bag and a pack of pocky. The lady just told me...please don't open and eat this inside ya....then i'm in. Cause I nvr plan to bring food cause I woke up late...i reach there already 9.30 or 10am.
Thanks for the tips! I will know what to do. tongue.gif
Can't wait, I will be travelling to Japan on next Monday. rclxms.gif
fruitie
post Nov 1 2019, 11:41 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Nov 1 2019, 11:38 AM)
Enjoy your trip...plenty of water fountain in USJ...just bring your bottle water to fill up if you wanna save on drinks
I enjoyed my time in USJ...esp the halloween horror night after 6pm
Too bad when I go no more Halloween horror night. sad.gif
fruitie
post Nov 1 2019, 02:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 1 2019, 12:12 PM)
Hope you have a nice trip. Stay away from the typhoons and recent storm flood hit areas.

One thing I accidentally found handy is to bring a sufficient sized plastic bag (I keep one in my wallet). It was handy as more and more supermarts are charging for plastic bags. I don't pay for one in Malaysia and I wasn't going to pay for one in Japan. lol!
Alright, I will keep one woven bag in my backpack. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Nov 5 2019, 02:09 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

Finally had the time to post here... Arrived in Japan on time and JR West was empty, quickly exchanged JR Pass and bought Kansai One Pass. thumbup.gif
fruitie
post Nov 5 2019, 05:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Nov 4 2019, 08:05 PM)
Guys... Airasia arrived at kansai airport around 10pm. Do train operate till late to go to dotonburi?
Got. My train was 10.50 last night, arrived on time but taxing took some time and went and did everything at JR office took a bit of time. My hotel is also near to Shinsaibashi. I used Nankai Express, not Rap:it.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 5 2019, 09:06 AM)
If I withdraw cash from 7 Bank, let's just say, 30,000Y. Would I get like 5,000 or 10,000 notes? Reason I'm asking is because I'm using a minimalist wallet and it shouldn't take too many notes.

And to confirm again that the total charges for the cash withdrawals from Maybank debit card is 1.6%?
Konnichiwa! tongue.gif How's the weather there?

Any issues withdrawing cash from Malaysian debit card at the 7 Bank? Also, is it possible to purchase Kansai One Pass using credit/debit card?
Sorry, I don't use debit cards to withdraw. I haven't withdrawn anything yet, only spent with cash and my BigPay card. Alipay is widely accepted here, so my BFF paid most of the payments. We try to use less cash here unless necessary.

Weather? Cold... Bring sufficient and correct clothing.

We paid with cash for Kansai One Pass, didn't notice but I supposed yes.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Nov 5 2019, 05:14 PM
fruitie
post Nov 7 2019, 12:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(apowerfulskill @ Nov 6 2019, 11:09 PM)
Ohh. Not concerned about getting from hotel to station etc. Am literally referring to the shinkansen train ride - is there actually space to store big luggages on the train. Hahah.
I'm in Shinkansen now, from Shin-Osaka to Hakata using Hello Kitty shinkansen. laugh.gif
Regarding the luggage space, it's limited... I only managed to get my seats at car 6 but luggage storage area at car 3 and 4. Top shelves cannot fit my luggage. Huge leg room space so can fit luggage if put in front of you but your legs may be tired if it's a long journey. We put ours at car 4 and went back to sit at car 6.

By the way, this train is so cute. laugh.gif I like it.
fruitie
post Nov 7 2019, 01:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Nov 7 2019, 01:22 PM)
Are you on the Kodama?
Yes, Kodama 741.
fruitie
post Nov 7 2019, 02:08 PM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Nov 7 2019, 01:43 PM)
It's gonna take quite long from Shin-O to Hakata right  ohmy.gif
Yeah, slightly more than 4H.. BFF insists and we are not rushing anyway..
Comfortable though.
fruitie
post Nov 9 2019, 08:30 AM

Rise and Shine
72,820 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Nov 8 2019, 12:36 AM)
Anyone been to USJ recently? Do they sell movies' theme sweater inside?
Just went on 6th.
Movies theme? Harry Potter, Minions, Spiderman, Jaws and etc. have sweaters. I think every theme has sweaters.

13 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0235sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:20 AM